214792 User submitted reviews online!!
Dillon State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (740) 452-1083
CGID2203

Dillon State Park

Camp Information
Sites
244
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   8   7   8   9   8   8   9   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$22
Lovely state park! The campsites are well spaced and the one we had was long enough for our rig and toad. It was also pretty level. We stayed in site 37 and had a wooded area behind us. We only stayed one night as we were passing through, but we will go back at some point for a longer stay. The park has lots of outdoor activities. We stayed mid-week and the campground was only about one fourth full. We were told that it was full the previous weekend which was a holiday weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$24
We stopped here looking for an electrical hookup for the air conditioning in light of the hot temperatures. The camp store staff was very accommodating in finding a good site for us. During a weekday stopover, there were many sites open, so we were assigned one with a nice view and closeness to a water spigot. Electrical service was all that was available, no water, no sewer. While we only stopped overnight while heading west, our site would have been nice for a longer stay. We found this a good place for a stopover on our way west. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
This is one of my favorite State Parks. There is lots of hiking, biking and activities for the kids. The campsites are mostly shaded. The shower houses are somewhat clean, but you may find the shower heads questionable, some work well some don't. It has a really nice camp store and free wifi. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$23
Picked a site on the top tier overlooking the lake. Some sites longer that others and they have extended a few. The showers, as usual, are not maintained very well. Don't think they were cleaned during our 4 day visit. There is Wi-Fi at the very well stocked camp store. This is a good location for visiting the Longaberger Basket Factory and Homestead. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$14
Sites are large and many are well shaded with mature trees. Pets are allowed on two of the three loops. If you don't have levelers take plenty of blocks since many sites, although paved, follow the contour of the ground. Our single axle trailer required about 1 1/2" to 2" under the one tire. The shade trees do not permit a good growth of sod. Straw was scattered over the dirt. Showers were clean, had hooks and a small bench in the private dressing area. The store was adequately stocked with basic canned goods and all types of snacks. The only things we did not find were milk and the wax cupcake like fire starters. This was a destination park for us. We stayed 3 nights on site 31 and would go again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$23
Since when does a state park sell ice cream and fudge? And have laundry facilities? Nice park! Great price for the money! I have been to state parks in other states that were more expensive and didn't have all this! The laundry facility is at the main station. It's a bit of a hike from any of the three loops! Most likely have to drive your toad to the laundry station. My comments on the bathroom and showers pertain to the B loop, can't speak for the A and C loop. All three loops have camp hosts. Good spacing between the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
Very nice campground. Specific sites may be reserved, which is a nice feature. All paved roads. Large sites. Sites are situated at an angle from the roads which made backing in very easy. Water spigots are available in a few places in each area, so you need to be sure to reserve a site within reach of your water hose to refill your tank. If there were more water spigots, I would have given this park a 9 or 10. Camp store is very well stocked. If you like to bike or run, there are nicely paved trails. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$11
We had visited Dillon last season and were anxious to return in our own TT. This was our maiden trip and selected this park because it looked so nice when we last visited it. It was very comfortable - the store is well stocked and sites are well designed and maintained. We had a site with lots of mud but otherwise, we enjoyed our first night out - we stayed for three nights. We had a campfire nightly with our neighbors and found the entire experience to be very comfortable. There were tenters, class B campers and huge motorhomes in the park - all were very comfortably cared for. If you are looking for a quiet escape from the world, this is the place to visit. There was quiet 24 hours of the day - it was wonderful. There were playgrounds for the children and paved roads for the walkers and bikers. We would return to this campground without hesitation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
This was our first camping trip to a state park, and we were pleasantly surprised! The site we had was very wide, as most of the sites seemed to be. The atmosphere here was fun but family friendly - lots of people sitting out at night laughing around the fire, but it quieted down by 11:00 or so. The bathrooms were good, having some bugs and cobwebs but otherwise clean and with private changing areas outside the showers. We'll definitely be back! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
Very busy campground in the summer months. Noise levels are high very late into the night. We camped across from a family who constantly worked on their cars and screamed at the top of their lungs at their young children. They also had several visitors throughout the long weekend, sometimes there would be as many as 40 people & kids on their campsite. The restrooms need updating and the toilets were often clogged. A lot of people "cruise" the campground, so there is constantly traffic in front of your site which makes it dangerous for children to ride their bikes. They do have nice hiking trails that are well marked. The sites are an "ok" size, but there is not much privacy. There is a nice sized beach for swimming and a small splash pool for young children, but the splash pool was often overrun with older children/teens. We would not stay at this campground again, though it would be ideal for large groups who don't mind all of the noise. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$66
We spent a winter weekend at Dillon and were pleasantly pleased with the cabin cottages. They were very comfortable and had many comforts of home at our fingertips. New electric appliances in the complete kitchen, gas fireplace, and cable TV with DVD/VCR combo made it an acceptable getaway. Screens on porch were torn and there was no key drop off box. We had to wait until the camp store opened and that was rather troublesome. Overall, I would recommend the cottages. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
Wonderful State Park! We camp there on a regular basis and have only good things to say about the park. We really enjoy the convenience of booking on line. The Cardinal Card has been a great cost saver. Restrooms and shower houses are very clean. The park in general is extremely clean. Friendly staff, it's always quiet in the evenings. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$25
Minimum 2-night stay in Ohio state parks on weekends. We joined the Cardinal Camper club to save money throughout the year. Dillon was a great park. We stayed here with our 16-month-old daughter and two dogs in a Class C. The other folks were friendly and nice. My only complaint would be that there is a big dirt patch at almost every site right where you step out of the camper. It rained the first night, and the mud was a problem. The playground was nice - check out each area. Some of the playgrounds at the other areas were more "deluxe" than ours. We stayed at or near site 116. The bathhouse was clean - my daughter and I went down for a shower. It has a curtained-off space for clothes and towels in each shower. We had a couple mature trees on our site. Usual state park quality - underground electric, paved pads. Also a short drive to Blackhand Nature Preserve, which is a really nice long paved trail great for cycling or hiking with a stroller. Nice camp store with lots of snacks. Laundromat. Also good mountain biking trails. The beach is nice and there is a kiddie pool at the beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2000
$16
Nice, small state park. Located close to Zanesville, Zane Grey Museum,& famous pottery markets. Has lakeview, rentable cabins with heat, a/c, cable, LR, DR, BA with linens,towels & kitchen utensils furnished. Large, clean swimming beach. 1st come sites (as with all OH state parks), with separate area for no pets. Short, easy walk trails. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com