223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Punderson State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (440) 564-2279
CGID2205

Punderson State Park

Camp Information
Sites
201
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   7   6   6   9   3   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$27
Sites are not level going north to south. Restrooms and showers are not clean and the water pressure is poor. Hot water got to warm on 3 of the 4 showers I took. Now the good--the park is well groomed and the sites are very wide. The park is about 45 minutes from downtown Cleveland. Cell service and satellite worked great. We camped here in a 40' motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
We stayed here at the peak of the turning leaf colors this year and loved it. The campground is very clean, very shaded, and just downright pretty. The most negative thing I can say is some of the sites are pretty close to one another. We stayed in site 18 which looks out on the lake and really enjoyed it. Water is available at numerous places throughout the park and easily accessible. The surrounding area if also beautiful. Make sure to visit Chagrin Falls area which is an older town. Beware also that the only sites with 30 amp are the handful of full hookups. The rest of the sites only have 20 amp electric which was fine since we didn't need AC. We will definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
This is a pretty park with a very large campground. However, big rig sites are a small percentage of the total and there are only a handful of full hookups available. We have been to the park during the peak season and it is very full and not a good place to stay. This time we reserved a full-hookup site and were one of eight rigs in the entire park. We were in site 5 and had to work a bit to level the rig. But otherwise the site was great and positioned well for satellite TV. The park offers three lakes, some hiking trails and an inn with a restaurant. We enjoyed our week-long stay. Our rating is definitely an off-season rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
Apparently no one has reviewed this campground since my last review a year ago! We were here a month earlier this time and they had all sites open. Some of same issues as before on the sites: not all level, the sites on the side of the road dangerous for parking and getting out of vehicle; shower curtains separating shower areas not overly private. But restrooms and showers were cleaned daily while we were there. Other than the 5 or 6 full service RV sites, all others have only 20amp service, no water. Fall colors are magnificent and rangers in the office very friendly and helpful. Bath house was not warm by most standards, but enough heat to take off the chill. Our return after last year indicates that despite issues raised, it is a good place to camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2011
$23
We camped here at the beginning of winter season so only 1/2 campground was open and only one bath house. The dump station and potable water was available. I agree with previous reviews that park is NOT big-rig friendly and that many sites are NOT level and are narrow. We took Site 23 which is ON the water (yes, I walked to the edge of the lake) and it was beautiful. I pulled straight in to have the lake out our front window, no problems hooking up to the 20 amp breaker. Showers are old and handles are not intuitive as to which way to turn for hot, leading to a chilly start and long wait for hot. Older plastic curtains separate one set from next, so privacy is minimal. I rated bathroom not clean as I put some trash in the bin in the restroom on Day 1 and 4 days later it was still there, with more added. So in winter, no one is cleaning up. Showers were clean on Day 1 and little used by others (only 3 other rigs in park.) The dump station is good and allows for 2-way traffic on each side and there are 2 potable water sites to fill the tank. Some issues besides the level, width and cleanliness are: we were never once visited by Park official (sure hope they got the check I left!), and to make more room, they have sites set up parallel to the road for longer rigs. Open you door and you are either in the grass and drainage area OR you step out into the road (already narrow.) Not a safe site. And they have several of these. This was a good choice for our needs as the bathhouse was reasonably warm and we had electric with nice view and no competition for sites. Not sure I'd pay the higher rate in summer for this park when there are many others around at close to same price with more to offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
We stayed one of the full service sites. It was unfortunate that the sites were so un-level. We could not get level even with front wheels off the ground. Also the pad was barely wide enough for the RV so we were stepping into the mucky grass instead of onto the pad when we exited the RV. It was very rainy during our stay which made the situation much worse. There were many good level sites in the park if you did not require full service. The full service sites were better for trailers as they would be easier to level. Staff were courteous. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
I've camped at this State Park for over 15 years, and have always liked staying here. They have a good variety of sites from back-in sites for RVs (shady and sunny) to sites up in the woods for tent campers. Camp pads are generally level. Info about individual campsites is on their website, which is handy. Facilities are generally clean, but could use updating. Nice beach area, marina, and lodge on the the other side of the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
This could be a great campground, but it needs a lot of work. We stayed in one of the 5 full service sites. None of them were anywhere near level, and extremely difficult to become level! The site approach and site itself is asphalt and is very narrow. Difficult to walk on it when the RV is parked on it. It down poured several times while we were there and the RV entrance/picnic table area at our site was nothing but deep muddy muck. No gravel and poor drainage. The staff was great. The restrooms/showers were clean but could use a up date and the showers could use more privacy. Walk thru one shower area to get to the next. There are not waterfront campsites and there are no pull thrus for big rigs. And the sites are all to close together. Not many were very level and some were down right scary in that you could fall over a bank when getting out of your RV. We stayed there in a 36' Motorhome in site 11. Backed in as far as I could and our toad, a Ford Focus, was sticking out into the road. Not exactly big rig friendly! No way can I give Punderson State Park a decent review. Wish I could because the location and setting is great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$21
Fantastic camping here and we will be back. Sites are well spaced, nature center is awesome, and the lake offers great fishing for the family. Golf course is very well maintained and the staff is very helpful. Great area for bikes, general store is always well stocked, and available fire wood is well cut and you get your $ worth. We will be back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Nice campground. Level site. Plenty to do at the park. Boat rentals available at lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
We used this campgrounds as a staging area for visiting the Rock and Roll Museum (aprox 1 hour drive) so the site selection was not too important for us. That being said, this is a run of the mil State Park. It is somewhat remote requiring a drive to find anything to do. The sites themselves were adequately sized and spaced but you should know that for most sites anyway, only 20amp electric is available. We were able to run our AC on low for awhile as long we had nothing else on -both refrigerator and water heater had to be on propane. Just something to be aware of. Also the playground equipment was old, broken, and dangerous -broken rungs with sharp pointed pieces remaining- to the point that I would not let the 6YO play on it. Overall, it is neither a great park nor a bad park -except for the playground equipment- but unless we had another reason to stay here, we probably wouldn't bother. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
Very nice clean, quiet campground, right on a small lake. Hiking trails, small store. Paved, level sites, most with electric only, and only a few with full hook-ups. We enjoyed our stay; the only complaint is that the mosquitoes were vicious the night we were there. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
This is a very nice Ohio State Park that we have stayed at before. The staff was great as always. They had a ice cream social and very nice nature programs for all, including a night nature walk. We will be back before years end. This park would get a 10 if it had 50 amp service and the rest rooms had a face lift, though the bath houses were very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
We enjoyed our stay at Punderson State Park. Many sites are for tents only, and there are only five full hook-up sites. Park has only 20 amp service, so you had be careful not to have the a/c and coffee maker on at the same time. The restrooms and showers were clean but like the electric service it is in need of updating. The big plus was the staff and the parks nature programs. Both top rated. They have nature programs every weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$23
All sites have 20 amp power; no water at sites other than the five full hookup sites. Potable water at dump station. Sites are generally shaded, well spaced, and private. Few obstructions to complicate back-ins. Some pull throughs. Picnic tables and fire rings. Tables are now OK. Some water views. Friendly and helpful staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
We stayed 8 nights. We rented a car in Chardon and they picked us up promptly to get the car. We stayed in a full-hookup site, which was OK. Rather unlevel and not very private, but quite large. Numbers 11 and 13 were the best. The downside was that we arrive 2 hours before check-in, and even though our site was available, they would not let us proceed, so we had to stay in the parking lot. The people running the campground were apologetic about it, and very nice. Be sure to visit Mangamanga (sp?) restaurant for very good Italian food at very reasonable prices! It's about a mile from the campground. We ate there three times. The lunch menu was around $7 per entree. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$33
This was a beautiful campground. Nice paved access roads and paved fairly level large sites. We had one of the five full hookup sites. I would recommend site 11 for the most level of the five full hook up sites. Site 13 is the largest of the five. Many beautiful sites throughout the park if full hooks are not a consideration. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$18
Would be an excellent campground if they took every other site out. Most sites are to close together. Pads have enough room for a pickup truck and a 30' travel trailer. Staff friendly and helpful. Picnic tables, old and rotten. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com