206485 User submitted reviews online!!
Maumee Bay State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 42 user reviews. Phone: (419) 836-7758
CGID2208

Maumee Bay State Park

Camp Information
Sites
256
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$13



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   9   10   10   9   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$13
Lovely state park and lots of activates. Would give it a 10 if we had water and sewer on site. Had to fill fresh water tank before going to site and then dumped upon leaving. Would love to stay here again for a week, only one night this time. Rate reflects Passport America discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$22
Really like this state park. Forty-five Ft MH will have no problems in majority of sites. A great family stay or a one night way point. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
Great sites with easy access for hookups. Quiet and nice trees all around area. Just stayed over nite but would return for a third time in near future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$23
As novice RVers this was our first outing with our new rig. This has to be one of the nicest parks in the state. The sites were spacious with plenty of room in between and trees to assure privacy. The staff was friendly and helpful. There are a lot of things to do here, from walking the lakefront to following paths for biking and running or watching wildlife. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
This is a very nice state park. The sites are spacious. They have level asphalt pads, picnic table, fire ring. Each site is surrounded by shrubs and tall grasses which allows for some privacy. There are water spigots in each loop as well as designated drains to dump grey water. The restrooms and showers were very clean and well maintained. We camped in September and had a large choice of sites available. They offer bicycles for rent and the park lends itself well to biking. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$21
Ohio has great State Parks and this is one of them. The sites are large, level, paved, far apart from one another often with bushes in between. Park has gray water area for dishwater dumping. Clean showers, restrooms. Friendly staff. Every site is electric. Hated to leave. Rate reflects fall discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
Pros: well maintained park, electric sites with 30 amp and 20 amp outlets, paved roads, paved sites, paved bike trails, grass and green plant buffers between sites, clean well maintained bath houses with showers, quite country environment, satellite friendly sites, Verizon cellphone and hotspot signal was excellent. Office with friendly staff, two dump stations & fresh water fills near office with wide access for all sized RV’s, air compressor on site. State Park has a large swimming lake and beach. Picnic tables throughout park some with pavilions. Restaurant in Lodge is nice but a little pricey for campers. Cons: no full hook-up sites, no 50 amp electric sites, using a Y adapter on the 30 & 20 amp outlets to get 50 amp service causes the 20 amp GFI circuit to trip instantly. One fresh water fill per camper road section. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$24
Very nice state park. Wide open with little shade but widely spaced long sites. Power system, only 30-amp, looks old and needs to be updated but we managed with no problems. No water or sewer at sites but that's what holding tanks are for in motorhomes. Phone coverage was spotty and kept dropping calls (Verizon) but computer connection through Verizon was OK. We rate this one high because it is a beautiful park and the many other facilities besides camping are great. The lodge is beautiful and has a good restaurant, although a bit $$. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
This park was great. Although we would have preferred to have full hookups, the park's beauty and spaciousness more than offset the lack of full hookups. All of our family was able to have fun. The trails are extensive and many are shaded. The beach is beautiful and the fishing is also great. The nature center was very nice and at the time of our visit there was a deer in the back observation area eating some bird food. The boardwalk was perfect for an easy walk for the grandparents. Our site was just perfect. Our dogs had plenty of space. As in any park, be mindful of the ticks in the area. Overall, our experience in this park was EXCELLENT and will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
We really enjoyed this public campground not too far from Toledo on Lake Erie. Stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed the peacefulness, privacy, and beauty of park. It would be a little better if water spigots were at the sites but it wasn't a problem. The state of Ohio is doing a great job with this location. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
What an absolutely lovely state park. Located on the shores of Lake Erie with two nice beaches, this campground built around a marsh area is a wonderfully peaceful place to spend time. Camp staff is friendly and courteous. Shower houses, while not necessarily plentiful, are clean. Bike paths are paved. Other amenities have been mentioned in the other reviews. Picked up 69 TV stations with a Winegard w/Wingman. Sites are huge. One thing worth noting...if you are allergic to tree pollen, there are some very large poplar trees that spew lots of cottonwood seeds in May and early June. We love it here and will be back many times. Would be a 10 if things weren't so spread out...although that is probably why the sites are so quiet and peaceful. But the beach is quite a haul from the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
This is a wonderful campground. The sites are spacious and there is growth between sites for privacy. The only thing keeping it from a 10 is the bathroom. It was cleaned, but it needed renovating. I am glad I had enough water in my tank to shower. We look foward to going back because it is so beautiful. It is spread out, so this would be a good place to bring bikes for the whole family. Also, being by Lake Erie, it can get windy, so be prepared for that. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$14
Very nice large sites that are well kept. Campground was well laid out. Very clean restrooms. We stayed with a Golden Buckeye discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
This is still one of our favored camp grounds. The sites are large and very private. The parking pads are level. I wish it was updated with water and 50 amp service, but we love it anyway. It's great for bike riding. You can swim along the beach of Lake Erie or in an inland alcove. There is a mile long boardwalk nature walk, a golf course, a lodge with great dining, and outdoor activities for all ages. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
The campground is not located close to the lake. We expected to be able to walk to the swimming area. There are very few sites that have any shade. The park is clean and well maintained. The staff is very polite. We would not stay here again in the summer- not enough shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
This is a nice State park facility. Has great jogging and biking trails, a beautiful lodge restaurant, great beach on man made lake for kids and lots of kid activities. Located near Toledo where there is an excellent science activity for all age children-Imagination Station. Also, there are other museums and the Toledo Mud Hens ballpark. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
Nice sized and secluded sites. The park was clean and quiet with many bike/hike trails throughout. The facilities were clean as well. Not recommended for those who want to swim as the beach water didn't appear to be clean. This park is also within 20 miles of a prison so that was a little uncomfortable. The only other thing which may have been just the season was the mosquitoes were thick. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$26
The sites are fabulous! They look newly repaved, are level, easy to back into, and most look plenty long. The sites are private, with foliage separating most sites. There are a number of loops with 25 or so sites on each loop, so you feel you are in a very small campground. In October, it was very pretty and extremely quiet. Great wildlife watching. Very well maintained. Loved that they had city water available, and gray water dump locations on each loop. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$31
This is a clean park with lots to do. A nature center, golf course, Lodge with restaurant, well stocked store, hiking paths, sites with foliage between, paved bike paths, lake beaches, and close to many area sites. That is just the beginning. Clean shower houses with laundry. Well taken care of with friendly camper hosts and store people. Though there are 256 sites there are 4 conveniently placed shower houses. Check out time is 1:00 pm. I will definitely come back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
One of the prettiest campgrounds we've stayed in! The campground was almost empty during the 3 week days we were there. The store is very well stocked and the people were very friendly and helpful. There are several miles of fantastic bicycle trails which we really enjoyed. The laundry room was well equipped and very reasonably priced. We would definitely return here! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
So clean! Manicured entrance was impressive, and the roomy sites did not disappoint. While some sites have small trees, all sites were separated by brushy areas that provided nice privacy. The parking sites and roads were level and great for walking. No alcohol policy, and neighbors were wonderful families our our loop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
This is a nice state park. Very clean. Spacious sites. The restrooms are the cleanest I've ever seen at a state park. The showers are all ceramic tile and very nice. They had a Hawaiian luau the weekend we were here and had a pig roast, along with a dance which was a lot of fun. The inland beach is spacious and clean. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
Almost no shade. Paved sites (sites are black and get VERY hot in the sun), fairly level, often with bushes in between. You'll need a bike or car to get anywhere or have a lot of time; the beach and lodge and such are a mile or two away. Weekend activities galore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
We've stayed at the marina before but never at the campground. Really enjoyed the campground. Large, easily accessed sites. Well maintained. There were plenty of activities the weekend we were there - ice cream social, outdoor family movies Fri. and Sat. nights, fireworks display and car show on Sat. We golfed at the links-style golf course and really enjoyed it although I thought it was a little pricey ($21.50 for 9 holes) The State park is exceptional, also. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$27
With the natural prairie flowers in bloom and the excellent (they get a 10+ for this) maintenance of the grounds, this is a lovely place to camp. The staff is very helpful and nice. The walk to the lodge, beach and nature center is paved and wheelchair accessible. We did not stay during a weekend, so we missed out on the family activities planned. We enjoyed seeing a mother deer and her two fawns and a couple skunks (campers with dogs beware!). This campground missed a rating of 10 because the shower situation. Since all the sites are electric only, the bathrooms were not adequate for the amount of campsites. Our bathroom (2 showers, 3 toilets) was shared with 60+ campsites. Since we camped during the week, not all the sites were filled which meant less campers. Also, the bathrooms were cleaned at a time that didn't make sense: between 7 and 10 AM during the week. Other than that, we had a very nice and relaxing time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
There are wide paved spaces. It is very roomy and private yet there are no trees to duck. It could use water and sewer but is really nice. We were at a rally so have no idea of rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$26
The campground and park are very well maintained with spacious grassy sites. There is vegetation between most sites that provide a nice privacy buffer. The state park has a large paved biking/walking trail and a very interesting boardwalk type trail that goes 2 miles through and around a marsh/swamp area. We enjoyed both of these. There is beach swimming on lake Erie and an inland lake. The Inland lake beach has life guards but has unusual hard and dirty clay/pebble sand that we didn't like. Also, its posted on signs around the beach that the water has elevated levels of bacteria so caution should be used when swimming if sick/elderly/baby. Lake Erie is dirty and we avoided that beach altogether. Even though the campgrounds itself was nice, we will not return. When we take a vacation in July we want to be able to swim and play on a nice clean sandy beach and this park did not offer what we were looking for in that. If your not interested in using the beach area, You will enjoy this campground as it is very nice, clean and scenic. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
This is one of favorite places to grab a quick weekend away from home. Only about 10 miles from our doorstep. The sites are large by campground standards, and whomever designed this campground really knew what they were doing. The sites are grassy and wide with paved and level parking areas, lined along drives that radiate in a curve from a center main drive that runs roughly through the center of the campground. Each site gives you as much privacy as can be expected. The one drawback is that there are only electric hookups. Not a problem for a weekend trip but a longer stay could be inconvenient, I'm not sure if they have a honey dipper service allowed in the park or not. There are water spigots and dishwater dumping recepticles scattered along each loop. The shower/bath houses have always been clean every time we have been there.It has a camp store that can supply the forgotten essentails, or there are many diffent stores available within 5 miles of the campground. The actual park, of which the campground is about 1/10 of the space, has bike trails and a beach,which is a long way,about 1/4- 1/2 mile, from the campground,a nature center and 3 mile long board walk through the nature preserve. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
One of the best state parks we've been to. There's lots of space between sites and great walking trails. We'd stay again in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
This campground gets our highest rating. We stayed twice on a recent trip. Spacious sites, with plantings on either side for privacy. Very walkable as area is very flat. Immaculate bath houses -- no campsite is far from one. Golden Buckeye card yields a 50% discount on weekdays and 10% on weekends. Not too many tall trees yet so shade is at a premium. If you arrive on a weekday, you can take your time to drive around to find a site that suits you. Electric only hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
One of the nicest state parks we have been in. Campground directories are misleading on site size. The sites here are big with a buffer zone (brush, vegetation) between sites. They are also paved with very nice grass around the pavement. This park also has a very nice golf course as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
GREAT biking, awesome coastal location, BIRD variety like no other. Ohio's longest boardwalk (about 1.5 miles) through cattail swamps and wildlife galore. Nature center teeming with stuff for the kids. Wind off Lake Erie makes kite flying AWESOME; bring your heaviest kite - it'll fly! Electric sites, no water (get it on your way in), bike trails are almost all level. Quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
Good paved bike trail about 5 miles total. Site was paved and level. Access to Bay and also a small man made lake is available for swimming. Garbage disposal is at entrance to campgrounds. Friendly and helpful staff. Some sites are shaded but the trees are mostly small because of ash borer problems. Showers were clean. Camp was quiet with friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
We had a great time camping here. This is the best thought out campground that I have ever been to. Really perfect in so many ways. The campsites are located in loops off of a main road and the loops are very spread out. There are 252 campsite but could be 400+ if they wanted to make this like most campgrounds. There is not much shade but there are tall grasses, bushes, small trees, etc. in between each campsite so that you really don't even know you have a neighbor in some cases. Plus with the loops so spread out there is never anyone behind you. Sites are as big as they are anywhere. The staff is beyond helpful by being so friendly and they are always thinking about the camper. We were staying 5 days and leaving on a Friday but wanted to stay the weekend if we could. The office helped us find an open site which was difficult because it was their Hawaiian Luau weekend and they were booked. On Sunday they change the lanes that are leading out of the campground for people who don't need the dump station, post signs for what the wait will be from certain points (there was no one waiting when we left) and have sewer hoses hooked up to speed things up. There are two lakes in the campground for campers only to fish in. The rest of the state park has a boating beach on Lake Erie and an inland beach for swimming. There is a lodge and cabins, boat rental, they showed a movie on Friday night and sold pop and popcorn and sold coffee and donuts on Saturday and Sunday morning. Unusual for a state park. In the area I would recommend the Toledo Zoo, Toledo Mudhens baseball, Tony Packo's restaurant, the Toledo Museum of Art and the restaurants along the Maumee River. It was a great trip and we plan on a nine day stay next year. Bathrooms and showers are located on each loop and there are only 2 showers per so there was some waiting but that was a small price to pay. All showers clean and tiled. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
The sites were very large. There are asphalt pads to park your camper and vehicle on. The grass is well maintained and each site has a firepit and picnic table. There is very little shade on most sites. There were only two showers in our shower house and we had to wait both days to shower. The park ranger we encountered was very rude and unhelpful. The staff at the store however was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$24
This is an extremely well set up, well run and popular state park. It is almost impossible to get a reserved site on the weekends during the summer, unless you plan well in advance, which we never do. What you can do is move into one of about 30 first-come first served sites during the week. Then you can stay for as much as two weeks. The dump station accommodates two rigs at a time and is excellent -- they even supply the sewer hoses to make the dump process faster. With 252 sites, it can get a bit backed up. Lots of activities and several miles of bicycle trail within the park, more in the town of Oregon. The only issue I had with this park was in the swimming area on Lake Erie, where the jet skis and power boats were allowed in the same area where (many!) people were swimming. This struck me as an accident waiting to happen, and I mentioned it to the park rangers when we left. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$27
The sites as well as roads in the park are paved and in good condition. We had site #200 and it worked out very well for our 30 ft class A. It was level and while it didn't have privacy greenery on both sides it was quite large with a fire pit and picnic table. We had a lot of rain one afternoon during our stay but everything drained well. The showers were not very close to our site so we did not use them. Dump station area is easy in and out with air, two ports, trash dumpsters and fresh water fill areas. Park has a golf course and a very nice beach and day use area nearby. Campground was full but not rowdy over the weekend, overall a very nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$27
We love this State Park. It has a wonderful bike or walking path that goes along Lake Erie to the Lodge. There is a beach near the Lodge and a wooden walk path through the wetlands. The campground is very clean and nice. We have stayed here twice and each time was great. Great for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$20
We loved this park! The sites were wonderful; everything was neat and clean; the bathrooms were excellent; the office folks were pleasant. Even though the campground was pretty well full, we never got the feeling of "crowded" actually, it was probably the most quiet state park we have been to for its size. We didn't see anything about this SP we didn't like, except the mesquitos! There are miles of paved bike trails; plenty of grills and picnic tables, all in very good shape. Some of the other state parks in Ohio could take some lessons from this one! The only one thing we thought was somewhat bad was they charge 25 bucks to rent a bicycle, which we thought was steep; but again the bikes were in excellent condition. We will most definitely be back to this park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$15
Awesome park! Very large sites with enough natural flora to be private. Planned children's activities, ice cream socials, morning breakfast, crafts, miles of bike trails, fishing, and the beach - almost all for no additional fee! Bring a bike though - the walk to the restrooms can be pretty far. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$20
We only stayed one night but it was quiet and very nice. The spaces are fairly open but most have at least an area with shade on it. It is close to Maumee Bay on Lake Erie and has a lake within a mile for swimming with a beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Maumee Bay State Park is the premier camping facility in the Ohio State Park System. The park has a beach on Lake Erie, a swimming lake that is outstanding, wildlife, a golf course, a lodge, an amphitheater, fishing, bicycle trails, and many other activities. The area is well know for its birding activities. A modern nature center and trails encourage campers to learn about the local wildlife. The camping area is a unique design that seperates the 252 sites. There are large ponds in the camping area that add to the privacy. The sites are very large and will easily handle the largest units on the road. The park is only about 10 miles from Toledo, Ohio. Visitors from outside the area may wish to visit the Toledo Zoo and try the famous Tony Packo's Restaurant. This is a great location to spend an extended visit in your RV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com