217671 User submitted reviews online!!
Maple Lakes Recreational Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (330) 336-2251
CGID2219

Maple Lakes Recreational Park

Camp Information
Sites
255
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   3   4   2   6   9   8   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$44
Could be a 10 but the owner is satisfied with average to almost below average. Once you turn off the main road slow WAY down. The roads are full of potholes. Bad enough to damage your rig if you are going faster than a crawl. The owner is aware of this but refuses to fix. Our site (160) was long, level and spacious. Can't say the same for all of them. Lot of seasonal campers but they keep their sites neat and add to the campground. Verizon was strong. WiFi was spotty at best. Pool was sparkling. Now for a rant: I get tired of reading reviews complaining about no place to walk their dog or nothing for kids to do. Ever considered calling and asking if it is that impt? Dumpster was a hike. Should have pickup, but unlikely given owners attitude. We would stay here again since it is only decent campground near Cleveland. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
GS rate. We don't have dogs and were just staying for one night so no gate key was needed. WiFi was good in site 150. Nice grassy site and it did take a little leveling but we were good front to back. Fairly close to I-71 and I-76 so it was easy to get to. I would stay here again. It does look like a summer place for families. Lake and pool but didn't fish and didn't swim. Just wanted a quiet place for the night and got it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
Pet friendly? NO! If you have dogs you cannot walk them! You have to drive down by the dumpsters in a 100' x 50' grassy area so they get no exercise. You need a $10.00 (refundable) access key to get in and out of the park. Problem was, it wasn't mentioned at check in. Would've been nice to know before we left for lunch and had to wave down someone to get back in. This also makes your departure linked to the office hours if you want your $10.00 back. Gated security in a rural area? Sites are gravel and not totally level; not bad but could use some dragging. Grounds are well kept, and it is a very nice park in that sense. Water pressure is just under 40 psi. Power is solid, but our 50 amp receptacle was cracked. EMS didn't go off line so it was still functional. Hook ups are nicely positioned, and our site was pretty large (#151). The WiFi was a no show; so slow it was useless. We would stay here again if they allow dog walking and get rid of the gates. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$22
Stayed a month. Nightly rates OK, but monthly was good and suited my needs. Nice enough place just kind of odd. Restrooms were OK but not disinfected. Superb grounds with lots of places to walk. Sites not level. Mowing never seems to stop here. Pool large & heated; however, no supervision or enforcement of the rules posted except the closing & opening time. Many permanent residents, like a trailer park, & kids who stay for summer and have no guidance. Lots of tent camping on the weekends and again no enforcement of their rules. Don't plan to stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
This is not an RV park. It is a mobile home park. They accept pets, but you can only walk them in your space. "No dog walking allowed.!" if your dog is trained not to pee at the campsite this is a major problem for him. Sites are small and close together. Shower house a long walk from site but was clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
Nice place for visiting relatives in the area. Very clean, though dated, rest rooms but nice updated laundry machines, though need basics like a folding table. Once again nice pictures of shaded sites, but all sites in non seasonal are in full sun in "the field" as usual with these private parks. Our site, #163 as with sites 162 and closer were a problem when it rains. The gravel pull though is nice for the rig, but the "patio area" is in a swamp when it rains as it drops into the drainage area from all other sites. We had to wade through a couple of inches of water just to get to our door one day when we returned from visiting the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$39
This is a large, well-groomed park with many seasonal units. We were in a pull-through site, and all the campsites within our view were neat and tidy. All utilities worked well, but the water did have some type of sediment in it (could see it in coffee.) Wi-Fi was slow at times. The park was quiet mid-week; I suspect weekends are a lot different. The park has a swimming pool and a couple of fishing ponds on site - we did not check them out. We would choose this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$16
This is a large, very well maintained park primarily populated by seasonal campers. Rate is based on the monthly rate; the daily rate of $39 is on the high end although probably worth it for families. As mentioned, there is a nice pool, playground, ball fields, pavilion, and store. Sites are gravel, mostly level, a mix of back-ins and pull-throughs, some rather large with shade. The pet policy is that you must keep your dog on your site: if you want to walk it you have to drive to the "non-camping" area. A hassle for dog owners, but for a change there was no danger of stepping on droppings, and we consider this policy a plus. The park is used for large parties and can be very noisy on weekends, especially holidays. The park Wi-Fi was often weak and intermittent, but Verizon cell and Aircard service were good. Our only complaints are that the workampers aren't careful when mowing and chipped our motor home's paint, and that the water, depending on the amount in the well, can smell terrible and leaves iron deposits. It is a very nicely maintained park and the owner and most of the staff were very friendly. The best park in the Cleveland area; easy access to I-71 and I-76. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
This is a very pretty campground. The only reason I gave it the rating I did was because I was only here briefly for one night and could not take advantage of the facilities and activities. The campground is clean and well maintained with level gravel sites and patio areas. I was in a pull-through, it was easily accessible and I did not have to unhook my tow vehicle. It is only 2-3 miles from the interstate which means it is quiet but convenient. There is a heated pool and there are 2 fishing ponds a playground. The host was very pleasant and welcoming. I would definitely come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$39
Friendly owners, not very friendly seasonal campers. Way over-priced for only gravel roads and average amenities. Wi-Fi barely works. Sites are average size, but grounds are spacious. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$39
A nice campground but they have absurd dog rules. NO dog walking. That's right, you have to confine your dog to your site or drive your dog 1/2 mile down the road by the ball field to exercise and let your dog do his business. Cannot walk your dog there. We weren't told of these rules, nor are they posted in any campground books or the Ohio travel guide so we didn't know about it until we paid $39.00 a night and later read the print on the brochure. We thought it was a joke, and asked a worker: were told that it might be ok to walk the dog since the kids weren't here yet for the season. However we were reported for walking our dog by another worker, and told this was not allowed. Told the reason for this rule was that most people don't pick up after their dog. I would avoid this park if you have a dog and enjoy walking it. Some people have their dogs in pens, but that's not for us! We will never endorse this place again! Also the Wi-Fi connection was very poor. We were right behind the bathhouse where the antenna was located, and couldn't get on the internet all evening. Maybe they only have a few ports for the many permanents in this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Our rate was based on monthly stay. The staff is super friendly and access is very easy from both I-76 and I-71. The newer sites are pull through and wifi is good from them. There is no cable so make sure you can handle air TV or satellite. Summer weekends are rowdy and very noisy with owners turning a deaf ear to all the activity even after hours. There is very little concern for those seasonal people when the weekend crush starts. The park water is from a well and contains very Hard minerals that fouled our water heater, so use a softener if your going to camp here for any length of time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
This is a "one of a kind" gem hidden in the woods. Some are here for a night, others for the whole summer and still others are permanent. I will definitely return and stay longer. Very friendly staff, beautiful facility, a little tight for big rigs but with care it can be handled. The ONLY drawback, I was parked near the activity center and there were tons on young people dancing and having a great time but the music was very loud and quiet time isn’t until 11:00 PM so don’t plan on going to bed early. If you are in the area this is a “must visit”. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$38
We camped here for a 1-night stay on our trip. Owners are super-friendly and nice! Sites and park roads are gravel. Sites are fairly level. There are lots of seasonal rentals there. It's on a bit of a hill, so we had some nice views. Pets are welcome at sites or at the dog run, but the rule is that you must transport them down to the dog run, no walking them down. Seemed a little odd, but it likely is a good way to keep things more quiet. We will stay here again when passing through! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
The check in person was very friendly and helpful. We got a pull through for our one night stop across from the laundry as we had to do some today. The laundry had good machines but the area was not very clean. As they are closing after this weekend, that may have been a factor. There are lots of seasonal campers here but our site was level and long enough so we didn't have to unhook the towed. The Wi-Fi was as good as any we've experienced and free. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
We arrived late here (7:00ish), and they had our reservation written in their book for the next weekend, but they had a site open for us although it was not one with sewer. They do have a dump station so it was not a problem. Our site was on the edge of a big grassy field, and we had problems figuring out where to pull in, and had to go back to ask the owners to come and help us. This campground has a lot of seasonal/permanent campers. They also have a rule that you cannot walk your dog outside of your campsite boundary. They have a dog run, but you have to drive the dogs to the dog run. We stayed for one night, and for that it was not bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$33
This was the 2nd time staying at this park. There are a considerable amount of permanent trailers here, some very old and not kept up very well. The grounds are very well maintained. It was very quiet. Restrooms are old but kept clean, however there was a distinct "damp" odor. There was what I thought to be a very strange rule listed and that is: you cannot walk your dog through the park, You must walk your dog within your assigned site. I have never encountered that type of rule before. There did not appear to be any activity here. Perhaps it was because they will be closing at the end of the month. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2007
$41
This park is okay, but I'm guessing it will be much worse in the coming months/years. It looks like it is transitioning quickly to a permanent resident trailer park. I'd say it's about 1/2 way there now. The park is quite pretty and has two very nice lakes for fishing/swimming. It also has a nice playground and swimming pool. The sites were basically level and easy to access, and were larger than your average site. All of the hookups worked, but that is also were one of our three biggest complaints come in. Our biggest complaint was the water. It was black: literally. You fill the kitchen sink and you couldn't see the bottom. And it smelt/tasted awful, so we used bottled water during our stay. Second, it is expensive. The base rate was for 2 people and we have three kids, so we had to pay $6 extra. At $41 a night we didn't get much. I'm writing this review from an $18 a night park that is much nicer. Third, they have restricted access gates. When you arrive you have to pay $10 for a card if you are going to come and go either before 8a or after 8pm. That's the STATED policy anyway. I knew we would be after 8pm a couple of nights, so I bought the card (price refunded at end of stay). Good thing I did, since they were often not in the office, and without a card I would not have been able to get back in the campground. That really annoyed me. The staff was friendly though, and for now the park is well maintained (except for that disgusting water). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$29
Nice family park. Great pool. Well kept grounds We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$40
We just returned from a week's stay at this campground. From the brochure, it appears that there is a lot to do.. However, there is not. We have two boys and they brought their fishing poles and tackle boxes because the brochure states there are two fishing ponds. Well, it's hard to fish among cat tails and weeds! The boys put their poles and tackle boxes away (after losing several lures caught on the weeds) and never had the desire to fish the rest of the week. The store was not within close distance. You either had to bike there, drive your vehicle there or walk a ways. The store (if you want to call it that) didn't have a grocery section as other campground stores had we've been to. No little souveniers or postcards or anything like that. The only food items sold were pop and candy. So don't forget anything or you'll have to do what we did - go to a store in town! When you check in, you are given the option to put a $10 down payment on a gate card that gives you access to come back in to the park due to the locked gates. When you check-out, you get the $10 back. I'd have to say that I did like the fact that there were locked gates. There was also mention that dogs were allowed but had to be kept at the campsite. Well, there were people walking their dogs. I didn't really see any security patrolling the park. My husband did report some rowdy teenagers who were going through our site and others one evening. One bright spot of the campground is the laundry facility. Very clean with lots of washers and dryers. To wash a load of laundry was $1.50 and to dry was $1.00. Very reasonable!! The pool was nice. No lifeguard though so you swim at your own risk. Some of the teens (and adults) got quite rowdy in the pool. My boys were also disappointed with the game room. The store hours are not every day so when the store is closed, so is the game room. On Friday, for example, the store was open 5pm - 11pm so if they wanted to play a game of pool, they had to wait til Friday evening. I believe the store was closed on Wednesdays and Thursdays. I've never been to a campground that had store hours like this place. The garbage dumpsters were at the bottom of a hill that you would use when you arrive and leave the campground so that was convenient. We would just toss the garbage on our truck and drop it off on our way out. Everyone working on the lawn mowers, tractors and at the store were very friendly and would always wave. However, improvements need to be made starting with the ponds. They need to be cleared out so that people (especially children) can catch 'the big one'. Overall, it's a nice campground if you want to just go somewhere and relax. If you are looking for a campground with lots to do, this is not the campground for you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
I think this is an excellent campground. The lots are the largest that I have ever seen - about 2 or 3 times a normal campsite size! This is a gated CG - very nice touch! The owners live adjacent to the CG and they are very helpful and nice. We did not use the showers, but they are clean, as are the restrooms. The only negative thing I can say about this CG, is there are no soap dispensers in the bathrooms. They have a laundromat. There is a fishing lake, baseball diamond, swimming pool, basketball court, and play area. Very clean and well maintained campground. We will definitely return for a longer visit! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$26
While we did not use it, we checked the pool and it was clean. Some sites are shaded and some not. Not all are full hook-up. Only negative is there are some park units that need some attention in the park otherwise I would have rated the park higher. Not bad just a little tacky. Campground is fairly far away from the interstate and is quiet. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com