218683 User submitted reviews online!!
Shelby / Mansfield KOA was rated 9 out of 10 based on 39 user reviews. Phone: (419) 347-1392
CGID2220

Shelby / Mansfield KOA

Camp Information
Sites
122
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$70



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   6   8   10   9   8   9   8   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$70
The $70 rate reflects a patio site. Well worth the extra money. Our site was on the other side of the lake under the trees. The patio sites come with either a concrete patio or, like our site, a wood deck. Also included is a patio table with 4 chairs and a large swing, which was a nice touch. The owners have put a lot of time and effort into this campground and it shows. Very nicely landscaped throughout. The pool was the perfect temperature, as was the hot tub. Good food at reasonable prices in the Kafe. Well stocked store. Firewood was well seasoned and dry. They deliver it to your site as well as ice. Nice touch. If you run into the owners, be sure and say hi. They are very friendly. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$74
Very nice park with many amenities and things for kids (and adults) to do. However, be prepared to pay for most of them. Very little is included with the fee you pay to camp there. They seem to nickel and dime you for any activity/amenity beyond swimming and play grounds. Mini golf, paddle boats, laser tag, zip line, jumping pillow - all fun things to do but each has an admission price. That's over and above the $5 fee you pay per person per day if you come with more than two people in your party. And if you travel with more than one vehicle - there's a $3 charge for that as well. I highly recommend that if you make reservations here, do so over the phone with someone at the actual resort instead of the KOA web site. I was given the impression that only one site type was available and consequently selected it. Naturally, it was one of the most expensive sites they offer, patio with swing and grill. However, when we got there we discovered there were several less expensive sites still available. But since we already set up camp, it wasn't worth making a fuss about once we discovered all the cheaper vacant spaces. Most of the park is maintained well. The exception to this is the mini-golf course. I imagine when it was initially put in, it was very nice. However it seems as though years of neglect and weeds have overrun it. Playing there was a disappointment especially when it cost $4.50/person. The laser tag is a great feature but the barely trained kid(s) running it need to explain the equipment and rules better to the people that paid $7/ea to play it. They basically said, "Here's your gun. Aim for your opponents head band. Ready, set, go!" Definitely a huge waste of money. All in all the campground has a lot to offer and is for the most part well run, clean, and professional. It's just a shame that they gouge their guests for so much. And since they're in the middle of nowhere, they seem to have a monopolistic attitude when it comes to pricing items in their general store. One thing that was nice was the fact that check out isn't until 2:00. That let us not feel as though we were rushed to leave like so many other campgrounds that have 11:00 or 12:00 check out. We will likely camp here again, but not more than once per season as this campground is truly one of the more expensive ones out there after you factor in all the additional expenses. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
Very nice and clean park with variety of activities. Very distant from major highways and in middle of farm country. Poor cell coverage and pay WiFi has limited range. Trash pick up at site, but trash will stay in front of your site all day. Has nice dog park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
Friendly hands-on KOA owner. We had a beautiful site. No loud highways or trains, and we disagree with a former reviewer: it was easy to find, and right on our chosen route. Great showers, though we are not fans of those automatic shut-off handles we've been seeing lately. Strong 4G Mi-Fi. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$50
One of the nicest campgrounds I have ever stayed in. Clean, attractive (flowers everywhere),well-planned and well-organized. Lots of amenities such as a dog park (with dog agility equipment), cafe with real food plus treats like ice cream, gym (not a very good one), etc. Also many organized activities for families. The negative about this excellent KOA is the location - it is miles from a major highway. It takes a long time to get here and it is hard to find. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$60
A little disappointed that the "heated" pool and hot tub were already closed for the season. Very large pull-through sites. Also had some deluxe RV sites with concrete stamped pad, table and chairs, gas grill, chiminea, fire pit, and glider. Doggie playground area too. Nice store and restaurant. A+ on the restrooms/showers. Lots of activities for grand kids. Surrounded by corn fields in the middle of nowhere: very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$48
Nice park out in the middle of gods country. Lots of activities for the kids to do. The pull-throughs have small tress and the back-ins are not big rig friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$57
This review is based on our 1st visit to this KOA. Overall, I think the price per night is a little expensive but this place is very nice, clean and they had many activities scheduled throughout the day. Pool, showers, lakes are all maintained very well. The game room is good idea, but it has more gumball machines than games in it. The campsite reviews will vary based on where your located. Most of the older part of the park is dedicated to seasonal campers. We were lucky enough to be located in the small older loop section on Site 81 which had Full Hook-up and backed up to a stream. It was a little tight to back into, but was able to manage it with help from the staff who escorted me to the site. Once setup, the site was good size with good tall shade trees and adequate space between sites. The newer section adjacent to the banquet hall and parking lot which is were the majority of the weekend campers stay only have small trees and the sites a little more bunched together. These sites are better suited for big rigs and those who prefer pull-throughs. I would stay here again but will probably not make it a yearly stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
This park is in the country miles away from any village or town. Interior roads and pads are gravel with good green space between sites. Our rate reflects 50 amp electric and water pull-through site. Office staff was very friendly. We were escorted to our site. Most the facilities are new or recently updated. Two ponds on the grounds in addition to the swimming pool. We stayed in newer section which has small trees. Verizon cell was good and satellite TV was no problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$70
This campground was fantastic! We stayed during the 4th of July weekend. The park was immaculately clean. This is a terrific peaceful family park. Our pull through full hook up site was very large and private. The pool was wonderful. There are 3 playgrounds, a fishing lake, and paddle boating lake, a great putt putt course, golf carts to rent, a cafe and general store and much much more. The staff was fantastic and very helpful. They delivered firewood and ice, and picked up our garbage bags a few times a day from our site. There were tons of activities to engage our children. We were thoroughly impressed with this park and will definitely camp here again. Excellent and highly recommended! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$55
This is a very pretty park, however, it has very poor water pressure at campsite in late evening, could not shower. Lots of activities, but most cost an additional fee. Have been there 3 years in a row and would have to say the previous two years were a much better experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
One of the best, everyone was polite and couldn't do enough for us. I'm in a wheel chair and every thing was with in reach. Thank you for a great stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$55
This is a wonderful campground. We had a heavily wooded site with water and electric on a level gravel pad. Even though there was a creek in front of the site, bugs were almost non-existent. Showers and restrooms were very clean and close. Nice sized pool with a hot tub. Nice playgrounds for children of all ages. Well equipped store with reasonable prices. They deliver firewood and ice to your site which is a nice touch. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Well off the beaten path yet easy to get to. I will surely camp here again. I might even try out one of the many cabins they have for rent. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$160
We only stayed 1 night, but would like to come back. There were a lot of activities for the kids and a good little restaurant inside the camp. The lodge/cabin we stayed in could use some updating. The park would have been rated higher if they were in a little better condition. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
This is the best campground by far we have ever seen for children. I don't think Disney has as much going on for kids as this place does. Very clean and well organized. My only gripe was the extra charge for WiFi. At these prices it should be free. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$54
This is a great campground. We stayed here four years ago and it was nice then, but several improvements have since been made. Nice, grassy sites and they are level. There is a lake for kids with electric boats that shoot out water, a beautiful putt putt golf course, fishing lake, rental bikes and activities too numerous to mention. Also, a cute cafe with great ice cream and many food selections and snacks. The store is well stocked and the pool is clean and has an adult swim from 9a-10a. People were catching fish in the catch and release pond. The owners are constantly working on the grounds and keep the place clean! The camping cabins are cute, too. We talked to some "seasonal" campers who had nothing but good things to say about the place. There is a large, two area fenced in dog playground that is also well maintained. We will return! The rate reflects our KOA discount, but this is worth the few extra dollars you pay. WiFi is free every 10 hours for one hour usage or $2.50 for a 24 hour period. There is also trash pick up twice daily: a nice touch! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$44
We loved this campground. There was more than enough to keep our two young children active during the day and ready for a hard sleep at night. The new section has very large sites, but absolutely no shade. The more central area is shaded, but has some mosquito issues. Store and snack shop were great. Big scoops of ice cream for very reasonable prices! Laundromat in new section only has two washers and two dryers. A bit rough for a family of four with two very young kids. On the other hand, the activities available are bringing us back again this year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
This KOA looks good, and the sites are level. The site we were in only has one small tree that doesn't offer any shade. The day we were here, the jacuzzi was not working, but no one bothered to put an out-of-order sign on it. The bathrooms and showers were very clean, but are on a timer. The lights are apparently on a motion sensor, and if you're short, it can't see you when you're in the shower, so the lights kept going out. Wi-Fi is only free for one hour. Hardly enough time for two people. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$55
This park is a great park! We camped in the newer section where there wasn't a lot of trees, the old section does have a lot of trees. The restrooms are spectacular in this section and the entire campground is maintained very well. Owners on site and very friendly! Dog park, activities galore (not all cost money and ones that do are low $). Had a great time and we will camp here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$49
Disappointed upon arrival because reserved a back in site and was escorted to a pull through (site#91) that they call a back in because of a large tree that prevents it from being a pull through. This site was immediately next to a cabin and was tight so they moved us to the new section of the campground which felt disconnected from the campground but it was still nice with roomy, long grassy sites. The staff came to our site shortly after escorting us there and checked in on us to see how we were doing and gave us a free ice cream cone card, nice touch! Very nice, clean, friendly park, we would definitely return. A lot of nice amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
In the 7 years of full timing, this is the nicest KOA that we have been to and, on top of that; worth the price. The sites in the new section are long, wide and have short trees, so no problem with any rooftop dishes. It takes a while to get here since it is not on the beaten path, but it's well worth it. Quiet and peaceful, meaning no trains or freeway noise. They even have a small Kafe open pretty much the whole day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$53
This is really a fantastic campground. It has a very nice playground and pool. There were lots of staff members around wearing KOA shirts, and they were all very helpful. The site we stayed in was a pull-through site, and it was huge. It even had a small tree on it that did provide a little shade. We really had a perfect camping experience in this campground. We will definitely go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
This is by far the best KOA we've ever camped at! We go to this place at least once per summer. There are so many activities for the kids - fishing, swimming (excellent heated pool), golf, rental pedal karts, and a nice playground. The owners and staff are phenomenal - nice, accommodating, but not intrusive. Bathrooms are spotless, sites are large, and the store is well-equipped. After staying at many KOA's, this one is money well spent. Highly recommended!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
This was an excellent campground. We stayed on their 40th year in business and went to their "birthday party" which was a free chicken & rib dinner (very nice)! It has typical KOA sites that are small; however, our site was quite large for a KOA. They do charge for extras (paddle boats, putt putt, etc.), but we expected that. Those are the down sides, if you can even call them that. The campground is meticulously clean, every staff person was friendly, and there was a lot to do for the kids. They even had a wine and cheese party for the adults. My daughter and son want to make it a annual camping trip, which we plan on doing. All in all had a great time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$49
Campground was full for the Mothers' Day weekend/KOA camp 1 night, get 1 night free. The sites are typically close for a KOA. The pull through area looks like it used to be a field that they paved (no trees or other privacy in that area). Nice playgrounds and ponds. Fishing pond was well stocked for catch/release. Lots of staff and activities. Firewood for purchase was wet/smokey. Restrooms were nice. Liked the ada/family restroom. Nice campground with lots to do. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$61
We just stayed 3 nights at this campground over the Memorial Day weekend with 2 other motorhomes. It was our first time there and we were not disappointed. The park was very clean with flowers everywhere. The camp store had just about everything you could need. We stayed on a patio site on a holiday which is why the price was high. They brought us a paper every morning (included with a patio site). The staff and owners were very friendly and always on site if you needed anything. The 6 of us (all adults)played the miniature golf two different times. There were many children activities scheduled throughout the days. We had a pull through spot out in the newer section, cable, water and electric. Very clean park and ample room for big rigs. We will go back again this year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
Picture perfect campground. Clean, clean, clean. Well manicured. The pool was a little small. Nice camp store, friendly workers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$50
Stayed in a beautiful patio site. Extra large with fireplace. Landscaping was beautiful around the campground. The staff was always friendly and helpful. We ate at the cafe and found the food to be very good and reasonably priced. Immaculate facilities. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$40
This was an extremely clean park. The care and maintenance here is amazing. Trash is picked up from your site numerous times a day, grass is mowed daily, and landscaping is nice. Other than the clean atmosphere, the customer service is the other great thing. Upon arriving, friendly staff greeted me, and I was escorted to my site by a nice man on a golf cart, who made sure we got set up okay. There are many planned activities for kids and adults, especially on the weekend. Nice restaurant there, as well as a little store. Pool was well maintained, as was the hottub. Lakes were nice for fishing, we caught many fish. The only thing we did not like was that we had to pay $5 extra a night per kid. So we paid $10 a night more than what was the listed price. That is the only reason I gave it a 9 instead of a 10. But is is still worth the extra money. Without a doubt, the nicest campground I have ever stayed at in Ohio. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$43
Words cannot fully describe this campground and give it justice. This was the cleanest, best kept, most variety of activities campground I have ever stayed at. Owner's and staff were very friendly. Attention to every detail was obvious from the minute we arrived and were escorted to our site. Bathroom / Shower facilities were routinely spotless along with music and fresh flowers. On site restaurant had plenty of choices and store was well stocked. We will definitely camp here annually. A great value for our money! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$33
We have camped at many campgrounds through out Ohio. We found this campsite about a month ago and decided to stay for a week. WELL, we can't rave about this campground enough. First of all when you pull in, you will notice how CLEAN and well kept the grounds are. The showers are the best we have ever seen in a campground. CLEAN. The camp store is stocked with everything you need. A GREAT pool. The staff and the owner Vickie are SO helpful with whatever you need. I give this campground the best rating that we have visited in Ohio. We will be back for sure. We are so glad we decided to spend a week here. Thanks We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$40
We really enjoyed this campground although we only stayed one night in our motorhome. The staff was friendly. The owner even helped us fix our cable wiring when we couldn't get it working. We utilized the pool which offers an "adult" swim and it was very relaxing and the pool is clean and well maintained. There is also a jacuzzi in the pool area. We fished in the stocked lake which has a gazebo area and lots of green space. There is a nice little restaurant/ice cream shop offering snacks, sandwiches and deserts! Some of the sites have wooden swings and cement areas as well. We stayed in the newer section. Our site was level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$48
This campground was very well maintained with friendly staff and owners. Camp store was a bit high priced but well stocked. More frequent mosquito spraying would have been nice as there was a couple of hours in the evening that you could not be outside with them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$41
This was the nicest campground I've ever stayed at! They have a sparkling pool, along with a wading pool for kids and a hot tub for grown ups. They even offer "adult only" swims morning and night. With a recreational pond, fishing pond, mini-golf, bike/boat rental, basketball, volleyball, and multiple playgrounds we were never at a loss for something to do. They also had planned activities nearly every hour on Saturday. We will definitely return here! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$44
We have camped here multiple times and keep returning because our kids absolutely love it! Sites are clean and nice, bathrooms are IMMACULATE, loads of activities for kids, and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The owners are always around to help if needed as well. The price is up there, but we feel you get what you pay for - we'll be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2005
$44
This was my fourth time here. Windy again. The restrooms were clean as usual. Very nice place, but the price is getting out of hand. I had full hook up, pull thru site, and one child. $44 for one night. Luckily, one night was free. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2004
$30
We have been here 3 times. Every time has been windy. Great place. Catfish in the pond. Awesome miniture golf course. Clean restrooms. New sites are big, no shade. Older sites have shade, but not as big (still big enough for a 32' tt). We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$36
Nice family oriented campground in a rural area. Staff was great and had many planned activities for children. The only compliant was that some sites are rather close together so you had better know your neighbor. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$28
Nice campground, clean. Recreation pond, fishing pond, pool. Breakfast menu, hot sandwiches, ice cream, etc. Quiet rural area, golf nearby. Some seasonal sites. Would visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com