220376 User submitted reviews online!!
Grand Lake St Marys State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (419) 394-3611
CGID2225

Grand Lake St Marys State Park

Camp Information
Sites
204
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   7   7   10   8   10   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$28
New full-hook up sites, wide, with very narrow road and parking pad so kind of tricky backing in. LOTS of locals who let their dogs run but if you aren't local don't try it, you may get a ticket (we don't have a dog but saw one couple ticketed while we were there). In short, not traveler friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$25
We paid $12.50 per night for their off season discount. Camp hosts were wonderful. They had inexpensive laundry facilities. Everything was clean and well kept. There was a dump station and potable water available. The only problem was that the lake was off limits for swimming due to alga pollution. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$12
Very nice park. Dump station has easy access, water supply is close to dump off road. Showers cleanliness make up for the lack of sewers at camp sites. Pull through camping sites are "bellied" down in center making leveling for a short motorhome a bit hard. Rate is special 50% off pricing due to low occupancy at present. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
I'm sure this is a great place for a family outing/weekend, but I have to point out (as an overnighter, just passing through): 1. Reservations fee $7.25? Really? Fee above reflects base camping fee. With reservation, it's $32.25. Too much for a park with only electric hookups. 2. Web site says there is an off-leash dog park. Nothing listed on map. 3. No warning until arrival that park has a no alcohol policy. Just would be nice to know. (You have to sit through all kinds of warnings about cancellations, etc. when you call for a reservation. You'd think this would be in the list.) 4. When you click on "Get Directions" on the web site's camping page, it gives you directions to the west end of the lake. The campground is on the east end. It's a big lake. Then when you call, the person may not even know how to give directions. 5. When the park is empty, why would someone assign an overnighter to a spot farthest from the lake? I guess I should've pulled up the map to pick my own spot, but I was on a poor Internet connection, so I relied on the phone reservations fellow's advice. Bad idea. Pick your own spot. 6. And when you do have a reservation, it'd be really great to move the heavy picnic table out of the site pad, so when tired travelers arrive in the evening, they don't have to do the heavy lifting themselves. Harumph. End of rant. Think I'll put on my shoes and go for a walk. It IS pretty here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
This is a very nice, clean quiet park in a lovely setting. Friendly staff. Excellent state park facility. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$26
Wonderful State Park. Restrooms and showers kept clean all weekend, lots well tended, plenty of water spigots and water drains throughout the park, park staff friendly and helpful. Camp hosts very friendly, had activities for children and movie night on Saturday evening. Beach was closed due to water quality unfortunately. Would give this campground a 10 but it was a little too "wide-open", there are plenty of shade trees, but it isn't as private as some places we've been, the lots are decent sized, but there isn't much / any privacy between the lots. WiFi is fast, but does not reach very far into the campground. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$24
Lots to do in a clean, well kept state park. Sand volleyball, lake swimming, 2 playgrounds, horse shoes, basketball, nature center, weekend movies, hiking paths, boat rentals, bike rentals, mini golf. Courtesy boat docks for campers! Shade and semi open sites. We saw a fair amount of 40' rigs as well as pop ups and tents. Campers were friendly and quiet in the evenings. There were convenient laundry facilities in each of the shower house. The host campers were helpful and available for questions. The park is great to bike in too. Not too hilly for the little ones. Restaurants on the lake for those with boats. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$22
A state park is Passport America! Three nights of our stay were only $11. Beautiful park, wide spots, helpful staff. Guest marina steps from campground. Lake swimming available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$23
Very nice park, good sized sites. Had many activities for the kids: outdoor movies, planned activities like scavenger hunts and craft projects. The lake was not very clean, but the kids did not seem to mind. Nice play areas and interior roads. This park also had a laundry mat. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$24
We were pleasantly surprised with this state park campground. We stayed at site 169 and it was right by the lake; a pull through with moderate slope. The grounds were well kept. Even though we dont have small children the playground equipment looked very nice. The bathrooms were some of the cleanest we have seen in a state park. The young lady working in the campground office was very polite and made the experience a good one. This is not a large campground; but a very nice one. We will go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$22
This is a very nice state park, with lots to do. There is a boat ramp for the campers, and boat docks also. They have a putt-putt course, basketball and a sand volleyball court. They also have bike and canoe rentals. The bathrooms and showers were very clean. Most of the sites are large and roomy, with plenty of space between you and your neighbors. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2004
$21
Unfortunatly we were very dissappointed with Grand Lake St Marys State Park. We made our reservations online and found the descriptions of each site to be very misleading. Although the sites are good in size, there are barely any trees for privacy. The campground reminded us of a parking lot of RV's. The bathrooms were clean, but there are no hooks for towels or shelves to set anything on. We would not recommend this state park to anyone. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$17
This is a fantastic State Park Campground. We make 1 or 2 trips each year for over 25 years... Boat ramp and docks to as they claim ''One of Ohio's other Great Lakes''. there is a beach for swimming, sand volleyball court, putt-putt golf, playgrounds, bike rental and week-end movies shown. Many activities for both young and old. Join their ''Cardinal Club'' at check-in and receive a 15% discount. The park is well maintained and the staff are friendly. They do not take telephone reservations, and this park is normally full by Friday morning, all summer long. Unless you arrive many days early, forget trying to camp here over a Holiday Week-end... I will definitely continue using this nice campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$17
Grand Lake St. Marys State Park is very near the town, but is isolated due to trees and landscape. The park is next to the very large (13,500 acre) lake. There is swimming, water activities, fishing, boating, athletic, minature golf, and playgrounds for the campers use. There are also excellent opportunities to ride bicycles in the park area. There are excellent roads to enter and drive within the park. The facility will handle any size vehicle. It is near U.S. 33 and about 30 minutes from I-75. The park does not have a high occupancy rate during the week, but begans to fill rapidly on Wednesday. The staff takes great pride in the facility and will work hard to make your stay enjoyable. Restaurants and grocery stores are within 1 mile. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com