218902 User submitted reviews online!!
Caesar Creek State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (937) 488-4595
CGID2232

Caesar Creek State Park

Camp Information
Sites
285
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   4   5   5   7   5   7   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
We stayed for two nights and despite the large number of reservations, there were not that many other campers in the park. The facilities were well used and showing their age, but mostly clean. Our electrical hookup had some issue – one half of the 15amp duplex outlet was damaged (not uncommon I suppose) but the other worked just fine. In the past, the park has had issues with power supply, especially during the hotter months of the year, but they recently removed electrical service from a number of sites and improved the wiring – we had no issues at all with it while we were there. The grass around our spot was well maintained (not too tall, etc.) and there was a decent amount of space between us and our neighbors, although there was nothing to block the view between spots (not that big of a deal to us, but some people don’t like that.) There was also plenty of room to setup equipment on either side of the space, play games, etc. The fire pit was in good shape and was not overly filled with trash or ashes from previous campers. The parking space, as well as the park roads, well paved, but were showing a good deal of use (and abuse), although nothing that would cause an issue – no potholes, etc., just a lot of cracks and rough edges. Ours was completely level, which was nice, and from what I could see all the others were like this as well. All of the spots where we were were were pull in – back out, but there could be pull-through spots elsewhere in another loop. We did not have an issue with this since our camper is a van conversion and fairly easy to maneuver. The bathrooms were clean and in reasonably good condition, although the showers looked fairly old and were showing a lot of rust in places. The bathroom nearest us had a fair number of facilities (showers, toilets, sinks, etc.) but I can see people queuing up if the park were full. The park sold wood, but we did not buy any so I’m not certain how much they charged. There were numerous locations to get water (but no hook-ups in our loop), to manually dump waste water (buckets, etc.) and trash. The staff were all friendly and courteous at all times and we never saw any trash or litter of any kind on the ground while we were there, in any part of the park, but we never saw more than two park employees the whole time (and no camp host.) There were some small trails between the loops and a short trail that led to a large lake (the main attraction in this area), but little else to do in the park itself. We did visit a nearby park to do some hiking (Caesar Creek Gorge) and there is a very quaint little town just down the road from the park that is well worth a visit. If you like to bicycle there is a rails-to-trails path just outside the park that is also very, very nice. We enjoyed our stay, but I’m not sure if this is a park that we would go back to unless it was along our path on a longer trip and we just needed to stay overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$27
This was our second weekend trip out, and we wanted to go somewhere close by. We live in Florence, KY and this was an easy drive up 71 to Waynesville, OH. Although the middle of April, the weather was still cold and breezy, so there were not many campers in this HUGE campground. Our site (#89) we thought was perfect, and there was enough space for several more campers between ours site and our friends who stayed at #88. The site was fairly level and had a view of the lake. A short hike down a trail directly behind us brought you to the lake shore. The ground was wet and muddy from lots of recent rain but hard enough that it wasn’t mucky. Nice grass at the sites too. Checking in was fine. There were very few campers this weekend, but we still had to wait for the dumping station at checkout time. I can’t imagine the lines when that place is full (only 2 stations for 289 campsites). No places for trash that we could find anywhere on the grounds, and we drove around looking, so we ended up having to haul our trash home. Bathrooms were clean, but not heated, and the shower house was open on the ladies side, but not the men’s. I did not shower there due to the cold temps, and no heat in the restrooms, so I cannot comment on the water temp. Our friends inquired about a later checkout but the staff declined (several times). We thought this was silly since there were so few campers, and really, although they said they required the “cleanup” time, we found some trash on most of the empty sites. After a short drive, we had an interesting time checking out the Pioneer Village (recommended) which sadly was not yet open, but there were people there getting ready for the season, dressed in historic garb. Once gracious couple invited us into their period home-built in 1814. Another “indentured servant” explained details about her historic home, and how it was used as part of the Underground Railroad. The volunteers can “live” in these historic homes as care takers for up to 1 week and they learn about the home’s history to share with visitors. The Nature Center was very accommodating as well. We hiked to the Horseshoe Falls and Crawdad Falls and found the trails to be very easy. We also stopped by the Visitor’s Center (make sure you do). It was lovely, set up like a small museum, and had very nice staff and very clean restrooms. There are hiking trails everywhere but sadly, when you must pull out by 1:00, there are not a lot of options for parking with a trailer behind you. We really wanted to enjoy the rest of the day there, but were limited. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
Pretty spartan for almost $30 per night. Water is shared at a stake, no sewage sites, and electric only. Camp hosts were friendly, sites were large, restrooms were clean as was the rest of the campground. Staying after Labor Day will mean not seeing any staff per se, no amenities here, just a place to park your rig and rough it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$26
We have visited this park in the past but the first time with our 32 ft trailer. All sites are paved but too short for longer trailers and motorhomes. Vehicles have to park across the end of the pad or in the grass. Lots of grass in the park and very few trees. Most sites in the sun. The showers are very small and the maintenance is very disappointing. There was no one in the check-in station for 3 days. We paid upon leaving. Didn't see a ranger or VIP (volunteer in park) during our 2 day stay. This is a good location when visiting the Sauerkraut Festival in Waynesville. When they make some improvement in the showers and extent the site pads (they have the room to do it), we might return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
This is a great park to go and relax, nothing fancy. They have movies on the weekends for the kids. We enjoyed the beach. The restrooms are not that great, but it's a state park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
Nice place. Not much shade. Nice large sites. Small beach area. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
This campground is very large & could be so much better! The sites are very nice although shade is hard to find in some loops. The bath houses are outdated & were not cleaned while we were there. Only one shower stall in women's worked (by site 145) & it was scalding water only. There are @ 3 water fill up points per loop which makes it easy to fill your tanks. The grounds were well kept, playgrounds left much to be desired. Movies were played at dusk in the amphitheater & were somewhat family oriented (Old Dogs- new release). The beach looked awful, it could've been due to recent rains but doubtful due to other maintenance issues. Sad thing is that there was a lot of things to do in the area & the campground could make a killing if they'd add water to sites & charge more. This would help pay for the updates needed. Will probably not come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
We stayed here for two nights on site #55. The site was large, little shade which is common in this campground but the sites were level. Our site was nice because there was no other site on one side of us. We found that this was a really quiet campground though all the sites were full the first night. There are several hiking trails that wind in and around the campground itself. You could hear a few boats now and then but we were situated far enough away that this was never an issue. The shower house restroom at our end of the park was older and not very clean. There were two showers per men and women sides but there was never enough hot water. We all tried to time our showers around the crowds however all five of us ended up with a freezing cold shower. The cleanliness of the restroom/shower left a lot to be desired. Someone had been sick in the ladies side and supposedly they cleaned it but the smell afterwards even a day later told me that it wasn't cleaned well and we avoided using that stall. If they would upgrade the shower houses and keep them cleaner, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
Campsites were huge and well spaced apart. We stayed Sun-Tuesday, so it was almost empty. Restrooms and showers were good. Only downsides: (1) The raccoons. They were way to friendly, were under the camper, next to us by the fire, etc. Many, many of them and they were not afraid to climb on and around our stuff. (2) Gate is open all night, and had a couple of trucks full of locals come speeding into the campground one night and hang out in an unoccupied loop. We'll go back to this campground next year! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
Its been a while since we stayed here and we were pleasantly surprised at some improvements that have been made over the past few years. First of all an additional two-lane dump station has been built. This was greatly needed to handle the sellout weekend crowds during the peak season. Water faucets throughout the campground have also been rebuilt. A number of the small trees that we remembered being between each campsite have matured to a nice size and we actually had some decent shade in the afternoon, though there is still plenty of sun. When I checked the restrooms for this review they were not very clean, which was disappointing because this time of year the campground was not very busy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
We stayed on a site in Loop D in the Cul-De-Sac. Sites were very spacious compared to other state parks. Sites are 20-30 amp electric only. Water spigot was between our site and the next, which was convenient. There is about one spigot and grey water drain spaced every 8-10 sites. I don't think I would have liked staying in the non cul-de-sac section, as there is no shade there. All but about 10 sites on the street were taken. Restrooms were rather clean for the amount of people there. The worst part is that it is about 8 miles to the main part of the park from the campground, with major road construction in between. Park does have lots of things to see and do though, when you get there. I would definitely return for a 2-3 night stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Stayed here one night while on the road on I-71. We drove around a while trying to find a good spot. Most sites are in full sun. A lot of the roads in the loops are straight so the sites are lined up on each side of the road one after another. There is plenty of space between each site, but it's not a pleasing layout. Sites are paved and mostly level. Picnic tables and fire rings are provided. Water is available close by in shared faucets, one for about every 10 sites. Grass was in serious need of being mowed. Saw graffiti on the door at one bath house. Did not use toilets or showers so can't comment. Would not make this a destination unlike many other Ohio state parks, but would stop again as an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
We stayed at Caesar Creek State Park Campground during Memorial Day weekend of 2007. When we arrived at the campground, it was very clean, neat, and well-kept (including the bathrooms). We stayed at a site in D Loop which was quiet and very spacious, nestled in a nice cul-de-sac. However, a few hours after we arrived, the spotless bathrooms turned into a complete mess. You see, the campground was now completely to its full capacity because of the holiday weekend, and there were now tons of people with tons of kids running around. The bathrooms went from clean and neat to having fecal matter smeared across the bathroom stall walls, soggy dog food sitting in the sink, wet piles of toilet paper on the floor, urine all over the toilet seats, and many more repulsive things I will not mention. It made me angry every time I went to the bathroom because of the selfish ignorance people seemed to have when going to the bathroom. I felt bad for the poor campground janitors who had to constantly clean up the disgusting messes left by people with no common sense or consideration for anyone else. Literally 30 minutes after the bathrooms were cleaned on Sunday, there was fresh fecal matter smeared on the bathroom stall walls again, urine once again all over the seats, unflushed clogged toilets, and wet toilet paper all over the floor. I do not blame the campground for this as they worked hard to constantly clean up what messes were made. Other than that, the campground was large and quiet and the lake was great for fishing, swimming, and boating. The campground even offered church on Sunday and evening Disney movies outdoors for families to watch. I would definitely go back there to stay, just not during a full capacity holiday weekend. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$24
We stayed here during the Renaissance Festival. Park was very clean and family friendly. The sites we saw were kind of out in the open backing up to trees. The showers and restrooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly. We plan to stay here again for the festival. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
We stayed here because it was pretty close to Kings Island. The campsite we had was great! It was paved, large and had a small shelter built over the picnic table. Raccoons visited us every night around the campfire and the bathrooms were pretty clean. This campground is located beside a lake and has a convenient boat ramp. I couldn't find a good place to fish off the shore at the campground because it's located on a hill above the lake. This was a nice campground, but it didn't offer much unless you wanted to play on the lake. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$12
Lots of space between spaces, clean and quiet during the week. Will stay here again, very nice! Passport America discount Sun thru Wed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$20
Nice area with lots of lake activities. Camp sites were nice except for a lack of trees at site. Restrooms were cleaned daily and were not that bad. Will stop again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$22
This park is famous for getting crowded on weekends and having little shade. Make reservations. Other reviews sum it up pretty well. There is a boat ramp and small beach for campers only. Some planned activities for kids. Poison ivy is everywhere. We always bring some mechanic's hand cleaner which will remove the poison ivy oil and prevent the rash if used soon after contact. Lots of somewhat domesticated raccoons and skunks come out of the woods at dusk looking for handouts. A lot of people feed them with no problem, but they are wild animals so be careful. Aggressive dogs often get sprayed by the skunks because they get too excited. Keep your dog on a short leash or put it inside when the skunks show up. We use our trailer bathroom and shower and I suggest you do the same. Because of maximum capacity being reached on most weekends, the bathrooms tend to be pretty nasty by Sunday morning. An inside source tells me that the VIP (camp host) in "D" Loop is a real pain, and suggests you avoid that loop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$20
Nice room between sites, State DNR pass thru area every 4 or 5 hours, Paved sites and pritty level, Had a few late night visiters checking out the trash, Stayed here for 3 night in a 35' Class A, Will be going back again !!! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Most of the open paved sites are level. A few of the sites have a shelter over the picnic table. We had 3 skunks and a stray cat visit our site at dusk and remain nearby for a couple of hours. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com