223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Beaver's Bend Resort Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (580) 494-6300
CGID2246

Beaver's Bend Resort Park

Camp Information
Sites
213
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   3   7   8   8   5   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$38
It was a little confusing to find but once we did we had a great time. They only have 41 sites that they reserve and that area is called Buckeye so that is the only area I can review. Very big and beautiful is how I would describe this place. The sites were concrete and level with a patch of ground that was mostly level, a picnic table, fire ring, grill and lantern post which we used as a trash bag hanger instead. There is a street light situated so that every 3-4 sites have light so we didn't need our lantern at all. Lots of shade--all sites are under a canopy of 70 foot trees all trimmed high and nice. The water was only about 200 feet away with very clear view. The only reasons I didn't give it a 10 were no over the air TV reception. Even if you had DirecTV the tree canopy would stop that. No Wi-Fi, no phone service. We plan to return again later We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$20
We went at the end of winter and had a super time. We camped on the interior loop near the river but not riverfront. It was in the woods and we could walk to the river. Nearby playground and open field for playing ball was a big hit with the kids. Also pretty creeks to walk by scenic views of the cliffs along the fork river. Quite a wind comes off the river so not recommended to be riverfront in winter. Had no TV channels and no cell service/WiFi so we were forced to be technology free and enjoy the outdoors. Looked to have lots to do in summer months but most activities were spread out from campsite so would probably have to drive to swim, ride horses etc. We will go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$23
We stayed at Fern campground, but we drove through all the RV sites at Beavers Bend State Park. Fern, Acorn and Buckeye are the RV campgrounds with electricity & water, but none have sewer. Fern sits up higher on the banks of the Little Mt. River and is closer to the "Beavers Bend" of the river and has very huge sites (practically four sites to one RV), while both Buckeye and Acorn are more level with the river, further downstream and spaced a little tighter. Both parks get A+ on views. Fern was very hard to get into (we're 26') because of the road culvert in relation to the site. Recommend Fern for shorter RV's (if you're a pro a fifth-wheel, but very hard for a motor home in Fern). While Acorn and Buckeye can handle both easily. All three sites I had 3 or 4 bars on my AT&T, while DH's (Dear/Damned Honey/Husband) Verizon had no bars. Warning: the local provider is stingy with service and although AT&T gets bars, there's a limit, go over it and the local provider will kick you off. I took a look at the showers, and they were clean, but old and in need of update (this is reason for 9 rating and not 10). Rate reflects old-folks discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
Sorely disappointed in so many ways with this park that our group of four rv's stayed one night and left the next day. Muddy, cramped, tight, overgrown sites. Mosquito's such that we couldn't sit outside. No cell, sat or cable or OTA tv service. I scratched my brand new rv getting in and/or out... (couldn't tell until after I got it washed it was so muddy!) but I was lucky - saw damaged trees right on the inside of the narrow turns that must have taken out some rv's ! We won't go back - but I will temper this review saying we haven't done the tent thing in 30 years - not into that any longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$28
The main attraction to this park is the natural beauty of the area. Facilities are old and there is no sewer hookup available. Fixtures in restrooms and showers were clean, but walls and floors have accumulated dirt, spider webs, etc. Only 31 sites can be reserved and there is nothing on website showing how to do this. Staff was friendly, but could only tell us which area we were in - not which site was reserved for us. We had to drive until we found our name on a post. No TV, Wi-Fi or cell reception. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Agree with the Feb 2013 review. 3/4 bars AT&T on (E)tended service which seems improved from prior visit. Trout fishing was great as usual. This is a State park with no entrance fees and the Fern loop may get a bit more day use traffic than the other loops. Did I say the fishing was good! Been here 5/6 times. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$25
Fabulous state park with great fishing, beautiful river access, wooded sites. Stayed in Fern Loop, on the river. Spacious sites, stone fire ring, very level site, concrete picnic table. Raccoons were a nuisance; garbage cans need lids. Bathhouse was cleaned daily with a quick mop, but mirrors, sinks, shower rooms were dirty. Park rangers very knowledgeable, check in staff was friendly and helpful with local knowledge. Dump station at Fern needs updating and garbage can nearby for dumping gloves, etc. Overall, a hidden jewel park in southeast corner of Oklahoma! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
This large park has a wide variety of sites spread over multiple areas but limited information to help the visitor choose among them. Reservations are accepted for some sites, but the park office and the internet disagree regarding the season for this. Interior roads are in poor shape and narrow. Water and 30 amp electric were available at the site we ended up in. AT&T phone reception was poor, data service was not available. Restrooms/showers were old but reasonably clean given the very large concentration of campers they served. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$23
We stayed 6 nights at Beaver's Bend State Park in the Buckeye Campground. The campground only has 30 amp service and we have a 50 amp 5th wheel. We were able to use our converter and adjust some vents and use a fan in order to stay cool throughout the RV at night. Buckeye is the only reservable campground. The others are first come,first served. The campground was very clean and spacious and heavily treed.We had to turn the lights on to see in the morning. It had great water pressure. We found the bathroom/showers to be slightly in need of care and cleaning. We prefered to use our own facilities in the RV. The river flows to the side of the campground but no swimming, wading or boating is allowed due to the rapid rise in water from the release of water from the dam daily and the violent undertow. Sad to say, two people drowned in the next campground over from us while we were there. There is, however, a great swimming area with ice cold water and wonderful creeks for trout fishing and fishing in general. The creeks are something out of a fairytale with cascading waterfalls over smooth rocks. There is canoe/kayak/paddle boat rental, horseback riding, a small train ride, hiking trails and a restaurant. They also have cabin rentals and a lodge. This was a CCC built park and reflects the quality and craftsmanship that was lost with that great generation. We also saw several pileated woodpeckers. There is 50 amp service available in the Acorn Campground. Beautiful place. Hope to return soon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
No phone service, no availability on our WiFi. I know: go camping, escape the everyday, but if you have to remain in contact, it just makes it impossible. The first night, and several times through our stay, we heard a loud horn and siren. We thought we were being air raided! We found out it was an alarm indicating the gates were open on the dam. Just wish we would have known before it went off so we would not have been so worried. Our park hosts were pretty new and they were a little control freaks. We were here 20 minutes and they come by wanting money, we told them we were going to pay at the office and they told us they would be back later checking receipts! We have never had that happen before. Think it might just have been that they were new to camp hosting. Pretty place, beautiful example of Gods creation. We might be back if we want to escape our phones and TV! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$23
Very narrow interior roads with no shoulder and quick drop off of 1'plus except at entrance to each campsite. No cellular service and heavy tree cover which meant, no satellite TV and no satellite internet access with on board systems. Deer every where at night and during the day. Nice park to get away from it all, which we try not to do, but did this time to meet up with several friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$18
Very nice park, wooded, secluded, loved it! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$23
This is a very beautiful park. Trees, Trails and Trout is the slogan here and they have them all. The mountains are nice and the river inviting. It is a big higher than most State Parks when you consider it doesn't have sewer hookups and no 50 amps, however it is appealing. Go here during the week and it's fairly quiet. It fills up quickly on the weekend and it's mostly first come, first serve. For big rigs the A loop and some in the B loop (which are reservable, but one will have to call 14 days in advance) will do just fine. The C loop and most of F loop will require a shoe horn and some axle grease to get in the sites and negotiate the roads with anything larger than 30 feet. Will definitely go here again and recommend it to any and all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2007
$18
Very beautiful park but is run down, crowded, and disorganized. Park officials seem to be helpful and answer questions but the information they give out is often wrong. Poor signage and lack of accurate information made first time visit very aggravating. Only one area is reserveable resulting in people hawking over you when you start to leave hoping to get your spot. If you find a spot and put a pop up tent on it then it is yours up to 14 days. This results in people putting up tents, paying for the space, and then it is not used for up to two weeks! It is extremely frustrating driving by all those premium spots with nobody in them! Camp hosts all seemed to be irritated for some reason and some of the host areas looked more like a scene from Sanford and Sons than a state park. Fantastic trails/scenery will bring me back to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
Very nice state park but do not like that they do not take reservations. Get there early but if booked then wait and someone might be leaving. Checkout is 5:00 pm. 12 miles of hiking trails and cold water swimming. Canoeing, paddle boats, miniature golf. A lot to do and keep busy. Sites by the river are nice. Going back very soon. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
I was disappointed that we could not reserve a spot at this park. There are activities for all ages, providing you have a vehicle to drive to them. Folks seem to like these parks as they are usually full, even with no sewer connections. We probably won't go back because the few full hookup sites cannot be reserved. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2007
$27
Camped here during spring break. We stayed in the only location that takes reservations, and had to resesrve 6 months in advance. For this lake to be so beautiful we were extremely disappointed in the filthy bathrooms and extremely unpleasant camp hosts. Camp hosts acted as though they were being inconvenienced when asked questions, such as where to find the nearest store or firewood. River front spots are so poorly designed that there is no way to enjoy the beautiful view you've been given access to. In the open camping area, the sites are so close together you may be lucky to find a place to park your tow vehicle. Will never go back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$18
The RV sites are very close together, but this is a pretty park, with great places to hike. They have a decent camp store and a restaurant. It was a little disappointing about the sites and if we had slideouts, it really would have been difficult. I probably wouldn't camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$18
What an incredible area! We camped 7 nights and can't wait to return. The park's facilities are great, there is so much to do, a railroad, horseback riding, trout fishing, you name it. We highly recommend the "F" loop. The odd numbered sites face the river and gives you a beautiful view of nature. We camped in F3 which is a huge site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2004
$16
This is our favorite campground! We have camped at Beaver's Bend for five years now, and will be returning next month. We camp right on the Mountain Fork River in area "A". In the fall, there is nothing more beautiful than the changing colors of the trees. The Camp Host is always there to help and encourage and the folks that camp here are wonderful. We look forward to making new friends and meeting up with old friends each time we visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$12
Beaver's Bend consists of camping below the dam and camping on the lake (formerly Hochatown S.P.). There are approx. 180 sites below the dam. This is where we stayed. So many trees, little sunlight get through -- could be good or bad. Few rv sites are paved and level, most are old, broken asphalt and uneven. Trout fishing is touted as best around, but the spillway gates were open the entire time and river was too high and too fast to fish. Great fishing on the lake. There was only one dump station in the lower area and it was about 1/2 mile away. Some sites are reservable. Very few sites have full hookups, but never saw them. If you are looking for "out in the woods away from anywhere," this is it. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com