206669 User submitted reviews online!!
El Reno West KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (405) 884-2595
CGID2256

El Reno West KOA

Camp Information
Sites
77
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   9   7   7   10   10   5   3   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$35
Electricity was great 50AMP no issues. Easy access off the highway with rather smooth roads. WiFi was slow and the sites were too close together overall. Would be a good place to stop for a night to sleep but nothing more. Seemed to have a good park for children however. Not the best, but okay for a night's stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$34
When we saw it from the highway we thought we were looking at the RV storage area. The tightest sites we ever saw in 13 years 140,000 miles of camping. Our toad was about a foot from our neighbors slide and our right rear slide was 2 feet from a retaining wall. All the full hookups were very, very close together. We would never stay here again. But they had nice wooded partials, the nicest playground we have seen and it was neat and clean...just too tight!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$41
This is a clean and neat campground close to I-40 (although navigating through the parking lot of the adjacent travel center is a bit confusing). Pull-through sites for larger vehicles are extremely close together (you could probably hand things between your slide-out and your neighbor's slide-out window). For a single night, this wasn't a problem, but if I was going to stay for a longer period of time, I would suggest using one of the wooded sites in the rear of the campground. Although close to I-40, the road noise was not objectionable and we didn't have a problem sleeping (except for the severe thunderstorm that came through in the middle of the night, but that's hardly the campground's fault!). Wi-Fi was non-functional, but we're finding that tends to be the case in private campgrounds. The nearby travel center with resident bison and a souvenir shop was kitschy, but the kids liked it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
Stayed here overnight. Friendly check in. Clean and tidy. Walked up to the restaurant for a piece of excellent coconut pie. However, it was hard to get a good night sleep. I am a light sleeper, and it was too noisy with the freeway close by. We did not use the restrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$40
A decent park for an overnight stay. Most full hook ups taken by extended stay individuals working in the area. Nice area around the park for walking the dogs. Sites without full hook ups nicely dispersed in the trees, full hook up sites basically a parking lot. Far enough from the freeway to minimize any noise and has a fuel station and restaurant within easy walking distance (didn't try the restaurant). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$34
Excellent overnight spot with super easy on/off freeway. Very nice pull thru site next to a lake. At check in they tell you your receipt gives you a 10% discount at the Cherokee Restaurant next door. Wifi was very good. Overall excellent overnight park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$31
Farly level sites and easy walking access to a nice restaurant - the Cherokee Restaurant. A extremely nice gift store and gasoline station is also close. Somewhat hard to find the entrance around the trading post, gas pumps, and restaurant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$33
OK for overnight. Narrow but level paved lots. They have wooded lots with water and electric. Well maintained restrooms. Poor Wi-Fi. Our Verizon worked well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
This is probably the worst KOA we have ever stayed at. No site escort, as the owner is the only worker. Sites are entirely way too tight! Roads are wide enough, but the sites are right on top of each other. Our RV has 4 slides and you could barely walk between our rig and our neighbor's coach without ducking, because the slides were about a foot from touching.The laundry room/game room was filthy. The older restrooms by the pool are in very sad shape, as is the pool. There is a newer comfort station at the other end of the campground that is nicer but, unfortunately, it has no hot water for showers. The nicer sites, which is where the shade is, are water & electric only and mostly back-in. I-40 noise was not a problem, as there is no room for you to sit outside your RV. As stated in an earlier review, the dog area is a hike, it was easier just to walk them around the new comfort station. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2012
$38
Campground is well maintained but the pull throughs are too narrow. We had to move the picnic table and prop it on the railroad tie in order to accommodate our motor home and the fifth wheel parked next to us. The dog walking area requires you hike a hill to get to it and, since it's elevated 5-6' above the RV parking area it's not really dog owner friendly. We don't plan on staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2011
$33
I stayed here for 1 day. Campground elevation is 1,501 feet. Maneuvering my 40 footer towing a dinghy in the park was no problem. Roads and patios are asphalt and patio is grass/dirt. Site spacing is fair. Pull through sites hold a 40 foot motorhome and tow. My site 68 offered 30/50 amp service & full hookups. Wi-Fi and Cable were included in daily rate. I was able to receive AT&T Wireless G3 Internet & Cellular service. I received Dish Network 110/119 Satellite TV from dish on roof of motorhome. Campground is pet friendly. WalMart and major grocery are 10 miles away. I am unable to comment on other amenities due to not using them. Campground gets some I-40 road noise. Not bad for an overnight stay. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
This is adequate for an overnight stop on I-40. Although they have 70+ sites, only about a dozen are good for over nighter who want the ease of FHU pull-through sites for their short stay. Most sites are small and in the trees and about 20 in the open are taken by area workers. The cable has 40 channels and the Wi-Fi worked OK for us. They have a newer bathroom/laundry building in addition to the facilities in the standard KOA office structure. For me, this addition is the park's best feature. The only other things at this exit are the gas station/restaurant/gift shop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
This is a basic RV Park for occasional use. The parking sites are too close for this to be a long term park for us. For a night or two it is fine. The facility is well maintained, the bathrooms are clean and neat, and the electric, sewer, and water are adequate. The Wi-Fi was slow at times. The road noise is not too bad. There is a restaurant that you drive by to get into the park and there is fuel available at this exit. The restaurant is fine but the fuel is cheaper as you get closer to OK City. We will stay at this park again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This campground is OK but not great. The staff is friendly and the facilities are maintained and in good condition. But the pull-through, full hookup sites are crammed together and barely big enough to extend your slides and park your towed vehicle. The ambiance is definitely "parking lot." That's probably a bit harsh. This KOA is really a decent park and fine for a short stay. We spent two nights here and it met our need completely. If I was staying longer, I'd look for a park with a bit more space. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
First of all, this park is not in El Reno, it is twelve or so miles west of El Reno. And yes, sites are a bit close together but as we did not have neighbors it was negligible. The dog walk is a bit difficult to access (my reason for the 8 rating). It's a nice grassy hillside with a five foot or taller railroad tie retaining wall with access only from south end. If your pooch doesn't weigh much one could lift him/her up to the grassy area and walk beside the wall. My pooch would not stay up there unless I climbed up too! Cable TV was good. Wi-Fi was a bit spotty at times. Staff at check-in was friendly. The Cherokee Trading Post at top of hill is undergoing remodeling. There is a gift shop and separate restaurant. Most of the overnight spots are in full sun. Highway noise did not bother us. No problems and would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
This was our second stay here. This is a nice little campground with easy access to I-40 and well removed from the urban sprawl of Oklahoma City. I'll agree with one of the other revues that most of the transient sites are fairly narrow. We, however, lucked up this time and got a nice wide one and more than long enough. Management is very friendly. All utilities worked well with the exception of the cable TV which was very grainy. Traffic noise is virtually unnoticeable. There's a big Shawnee Trading Post at the top of the hill along with a filling station. All in all, a good place to overnight, albeit a little pricey. If you're traveling through Oklahoma City, SLOW DOWN! The road surfaces through town are atrocious. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$37
Pull-through sites are very narrow; get two rigs side by side and the slides are too close for our peace of mind. A good overnight stay place, but a little bit too much money for the parking lot with hookups for the pull-through sites. Back-in sites are not full hookup. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$35
This is a nice park right near the I-40. There is some moderate hwy noise but it is certainly not enough to lose any sleep over. The WiFi worked great and cell phone service was 5 bars on our Verizon unit. The cable TV service was very good with a perfect picture. The spaces are a little close but would not be a problem for any unit no matter how far their slides extended. The water and sewer hookups were very convenient for our Class A. At the top of the hill, as you drive towards the campground, there is a nice restaurant, which offers good food at good prices. There is also fuel at this exit. The parking site that we had was paved asphalt, as was the entrance road. There was a grass area between sites that was about 5' wide. They do have a dog walk area for your pets. This is a great park for an overnight stay, or even longer. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay in this park again when in this area. This park is NOT in the location as given by the map, or in the location given by Google Maps. It is just NORTH of I-40 at exit 108 and closer to Calumet, OK than El Reno, OK. You turn into the Cherokee Restaurant parking lot and follow the KOA arrows on the pavement. It is about 1/4 mile past the restaurant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Roads and pads were gravel and dirt. Sites are very narrow, raising concerns if your unit has slideouts. The management was very friendly and admitted this was a very old park. Good for overnight stay only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$38
Overnight stay for us. It is obvious they are working on this one a lot. Pond on grounds for fishing is pretty nice. Even though next to I-40 noise isn't bad. Must have improved Wi-Fi because my signal is great in the middle of the grounds. Just up the hill is the gas station and trading post/restaurant. We would definitely stay here again. Not sure how a huge rig would fit as spaces are a bit tight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$27
The big plus for diesel pushers: you can fill up at the top of the hill before checking in. The sites were close together. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2009
$27
The proprietor was quite friendly and helpful. The pull-through sites are narrow and not very level. The pavement needs repair. There are uncapped sewer ports. The WIFI so weak as to be practically unusable even though we were right next to the office. We got a good signal on Verizon Broad Band, however. There is a large "liveaboard" population. Considerable road noise came from I-40. Overall the park appeard to be in rather shabby shape. We will find another spot next time through the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$29
This campground isn't normally open during winter months but it is now due to some semi-permanent oil field workers. With that said it is a great place for and overnight stay. A little highway noise, but otherwise, it's quiet during the night. Sites are a bit narrow, but adequate for a rig with slide outs. It's a no frills type of park. We stay here every time we go through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$29
This is a good overnight place to stay when going through Oklahoma. It's far enough out of OKC to be out of the traffic. It's just a basic old style KOA, but we use it every time we go through Oklahoma and have to stop overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
Area amenities were nice - could walk to a restaurant and trading post. There were some kid-friendly features like a jumping pillow, go carts and two live bison. The staff were very friendly. Unfortunately, there were general maintenance issues. The dump holes were uncapped and smelly. The showers were in bad shape with broken doors, locks and shower heads. The site was not level. Overall, we were disappointed with the facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
Easy access from I-40. Level asphalt pads large enough for the biggest rigs with toads. There is a small pond on site, if fishing is your fancy. Large grass areas for dog walking. There are treed sites for tent campers and smaller rigs. A decent restaurant is within walking distance and you get a 10% discount with your KOA receipt, and there is a trinket store / Indian collectibles on both sides of the freeway. Would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Very friendly staff, lots of trees, clean with level sites. Had no problems as mentioned previously. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$33
The staff was very friendly. the park had problems with the electric, which kept going out. The answer was, that the transformer was getting too hot and shutting down or we are working on it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2006
$26
We stayed at this campground on 6/1/06. No one was in the office when we arrived so we had to find our campsite ourselves. The way around the park is not marked very good and we had to negotiate some very tiny roads and low hanging trees. We finally found our site among a couple of groups of migrant workers. The sites were narrow and extra parking was non-existant. When the office staff arrived they were very friendly and helpful. When I commented about the poor marking I was told others had the same comments but there just wasn't enough time in a day. The morning after arrival we found the migrant workers had most campers blocked in as there were more than one vehicle per campsite. They charge for Wi-Fi. It is available in the office. The facilities were as advertised. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$28
We travel to the east coast frequently and this is a great place to over-night. Super staff and has a huge grassy area for our three labs to shake out the cob webs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$22
A great stopover on our way home from Las Vegas to Florida. Staff was very friendly and place was very peaceful and clean. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$24
Clean park just off the interstate. Easy access pull-throughs for overnighters separated from other campsites. Nice campground for either overnight or longer stays. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com