223426 User submitted reviews online!!
Foss State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (580) 592-4433
CGID2258

Foss State Park

Camp Information
Sites
145
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   8   6   9   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$23
Sites are well-spaced, with water and electric and a level concrete pad. Some sites were nestled in trees, others were out in the open. All had a lovely view of the lake. Nice clean restrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
Lakefront campsites though the water level is way down. Great overnight stop close to I-40. Excellent dog walking area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$25
The Foss State Park was a pleasant campground. The site was very level and paved. Lots of shade trees. Camp host was very friendly. Fishing and Boating was available. We stayed for two days and would stay here again. We were in the Cedar Campground, which is on the lake. Cottonwood Campground was not on the lake but had many more trees and protection from the wind. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$23
If you are looking for a great stop near I-40 in Western Oklahoma, this is it! The park has 5-6 campgrounds offering different levels of services and site types. We stay at Cottonwood Campground (formerly called Southside) which is located inside the south entrance. There are 10 full hookup pull thru sites located in the back of the campground. The sites are fairly level with a gravel surface. Since this was a one night transit stop for us we did not look around the park which has a nice lake, marina, and beach. It seems like a nice spot for one night or a relaxing longer stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$23
We wanted a full hookup site and the sites down by the lake were not full hookup with a beautiful setting and scenery. We were on site 1 and were disappointed with the size. It was really too small as a pull thru for our 45 ft with tow. No security or gate and our BBQ and fire pit were full of trash. The park personnel to check us in was very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$23
Still a beautiful place...we rode out two of those infamous Oklahoma thunder boomers..man...anyway the park host is friendly and the ranger is also..a nice place to stay...if they had sewer hookups, and Wi-Fi, it would be a 12..but a strong 9 is good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
This is located north of Interstate 40 in the western part of the OK on the largest reservoir in Panhandle. Easy drive to get to it. The park is only on part of the 60 mile lake. The dam is over three miles long and there are over eight campgrounds within the park. Prior to statehood, the area was part of the Cheyenne-Arapaho Indian Reservation, many still living in the surrounding area. The Great Western Cattle Trail also ran through the area. There is a small herd of bison still roaming a 480 pasture at the park. We drove north from the interstate for about 6.5 miles and the entrance is right to the left. You drive in and find a spot then wait until the host visits you. You really need a map to know where all the campgrounds are. It was confusing when we drove in because we did not see an entrance office but they do have one just past the park entrance. We had to ask another camper what to do. You find a spot and we did at Cedar Point Campground which has 15 semi-modern RV sites with water and electricity, most with great views of the lake. Very pretty. The host showed up within an hour and was very informative about the area, the park and gave us a map of the park itself. You pay the host $25 per night for water and electric, or $23 as a senior citizen. This campground is one of the most popular and if it wasn’t a Sunday we might not have found a site but we would have found a site somewhere in the park. There are over 137 sites, ten with full hookups and included in that count are 42 tent sites. Nice park in a beautiful area of OK. At the park one can hike, bike, horseback ride but not rental, fish, boating, and swimming . We enjoyed our day here right on the lake in a nice pull-through site with lots of shade. The bath house was nice with showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$24
We camped at the Cedar Point campground, where there are no sewer connections but a dump on the way out. First come, first served, no reservations. By late Friday afternoon all sites were taken. The sites are well situated, good space between for the spaces on the first row on the lake. The next row has reasonable views and even more space than the first. Great shade trees. It was fairly windy (a steady 25+ MPH) the first two days, so we couldn't get out on the water, but the last day was perfect. If you like water sports, this is the place to stay when traveling between Amarillo and OKC. We rented a boat at the marina (pricey - $125 for 2 hours). History buff? Take a 1 1/2 hour drive to the Washita Battlefield NPS Monument. Great displays, knowledgeable staff. Would have rated higher if we had Wi-Fi and sewer. (Some reviewers say other camps on the lake have sewer but we didn't check them out.) Our Verizon iPhone hotspot worked well. Rate includes $1/ day Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$23
Would give it a 10 if they install Wi-Fi, but a beautiful place. And the place is clean. Nice people and a nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$23
Rate includes senior discount. Very nice state park. The staff we met were very nice, both the ranger and in the office. They were very knowledgeable about the area, the park and the flora/fauna in the park. They have several head of bison roaming a section of the park, you can usually see them in the afternoon right around the office area. But as stated in previous reviews, campsites are not cleaned between visitors, fire pits do have trash. However there are only four staff persons here and no camp host, so that’s probably why. If everyone would clean their site when they left, it wouldn't be an issue. Electric stays on steady and water pressure is OK. There are several different campgrounds here, we stayed in the Cedar Point area, which have large pull-throughs; all lake views. If you have a motorhome, your windshield is facing the lake. Gorgeous views and sunsets. Sites are level, 50/30 amp with water but no sewer. There is a dump station as you exit the loop. There is a section called Southern Campground which has a mix of 30/50 amp sites, about 10 do have sewer but they are pretty close together and don’t appear that level, no view of the lake and you can see the main highway. There is another section across the lake, Sandy Beach, 30/50 amp with water; good views and an area called North Campground, 30 amp with water. No problem getting a view of the lake from this section either. Showers/restrooms and laundry room are clean. The showers are “pay” showers, cost depending on the length of your shower. There is a restaurant on the park, but it was still closed for the season. Probably opens end of April. Park wasn’t that busy when we were here, but apparently it is very busy in the late spring/summer. No reservations taken, it’s 1st come/1st serve. We would definitely stay here again. Great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Nice state park. Lots are level cement pads about 30' apart and there is room to park your tow vehicle on the side. Picnic tables and fire pits along with a lantern pole. If you want a pull-through on the lake, I would recommend the Cedar Point area. 30/50 amp electric and water. However, there appears to be a lot of full-timers here so getting here early in the week would give you the best chance of getting a lot in this part. We got here Thursday and there were 3 sites open. By late Friday morning, they were full. Second choice would be the Sandy Beach area. I don't remember if there is lake view there or not but there are pull throughs and sewer hookup. As a previous poster said, they don't clean the sites after someone has left. There are cig butts and can tabs all over the place, plus the firepit is full. Didn't bother us because it was too windy to have a fire anyway. Restrooms are up the hill: not very close to the campsites. Nearest shopping is in Elk City, about 12 miles away. There are 3 or 4 geocaches nearby including one at the office that you can grab while your significant other checks in! Also a small herd of bison that come to visit at the office in the afternoon. We would stay here again if passing through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$23
I would have given it a 9-10, but the fire rings hadn't been cleaned in a while. It appears, the park is still one of the better ones in Oklahoma. The Host was nice and the park is in good shape. They need rain in the lake, because the lake level is dropping, but still a beautiful place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
This park made a great overnight spot as we are not into watersports. Foss lake is a State park with a man made lake, great for all types of water activities including water skiing and swimming. The sites were spacious for a state park and had very easy access from the park loop. The entrance to the park was a bit hard to find with our GPS, but fortunately the park host could see us and tracked us down. He suggested a lovely spot along the lakeside that suited us just fine. If you only find the 30 amp camping section, keep looking for the 50 amps sites, they are closer to the lake and much much nicer (and are the same price). BTW, it was quite warm here in July, with the daytime high 108 degrees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$18
Very nice state park. We stayed two nights right on the water. Large open sites. Marina and boat launch. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
The park appears to be in great shape. Has nice, level pads, good water pressure and clean. The Oklahoma Ranger was extra nice when he collected the money. Beautiful Oklahoma State Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$23
We visit this park every year. The park was in the worst shape we've ever seen it. The grass was unmown, trees limbs on ground from where they trimmed but failed to pick up and trash in the BBQ & fire ring. Site had a table, but it was in very poor shape. Park is big rig friendly as we visited in 45' coach with tow. Sites are long enough & wide enough for any size RV with any number of slides. Roads are blacktop and sites are concrete. Utilities are modern & well placed. Beautiful view of lake from RV. We hope the maintenance is better when we return next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$23
Probably OK on a summer weekend, but over priced for this area in October. $25 for 50 amp and water site, $23 for one of the 10 sewer sites with 30 amps and water or $20 for 30 amps and water. $2 discount for seniors. No Verizon cell or broadband, TV via batwing was OK until the wind picked up and rocked the motorhome. This park has several campgrounds, the good reviews are for the new section Cedar Point with the 50 amp and water sites on concrete slabs. We spent two nights and only 3 or 4 sites were filled. It was empty during the day. The South campground nearby is much older with dated hookups and has the 10 sewer sites. Sites in this area are grass or gravel and tight, but it was empty. There is also a tent area between the two. There are also camp sites on the north end of the dam. We did not go there. Foss has nothing, no gas or corner store, nothing. Our cell phones did not work there either. Clinton has a few big chain fast food places and lots of Mexican places. The Route 66 museum is in Clinton. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
What a gem. Drive the 7 miles off the Interstate and treat yourself to camping done right. Unlike most Oklahoma State Parks, this one is worth the effort. Superb sites in the developed campgrounds. More rustic, but well done ones in the lesser developed area. Friendly rangers check you in at your site (seniors get a discount). And the maintenance people are diligent about keeping things clean. A new, tornado-proof bathhouse was nearly finished when we were there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
Nice park! We used this as an overnight on our way through. Large park with lots of older, mature hardwood trees! Plenty of space between sites. For $20 we got water and electric. We were only 60 seconds walk from the bath house. Interestingly, one side was the men's and women's bathroom with sinks and toilets. On the other side of the building were 5 or 6 unisex showers. Each shower had a door directly to the outside. Each shower room was large, but required the dreaded quarters to operate. Nice place. If we lived in the area, we would definitely come here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$22
This is the nicest state park facility we have found. The park will accommodate any size rig with any number of slides. The interior roads are blacktop & in good condition. The sites are concrete. Each site has a grass area that was well mowed. There is also a BBQ, table & fire ring. The utilities are modern & well placed. Since there is no sewer at site they do have a two-RV dump station that is top notch. Site and park were very clean. The ranger collects the fee at the site & was very friendly. The lake view is wonderful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$21
First of realize that this campsite is between two large windfarms, that means there will probably be strong winds. This is also western Oklahoma which is known for powerful thunderstorms. One of the family came a day early to setup camp. That person had to deal with the high winds and storms that night which managed to snap a fiberglass pole on a dome tent. The next morning they were convinced by several friends to move from the tent area to some pull thru motorhome sites which had more wind blocks. The restroom facilities in our area were modern with pay showers. These facilities were clean but be aware that the toilet side is badly situated. When it rains the runoff comes down an asphalt embankment and runs under the doors. There are drains in the toilet area so the water drains but it will still be wet. It should be noted that the campground host was extremely helpful and courteous. I would definitely camp here again even though it sounds like we had a bad time. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$23
This is as good a state park as one will ever find. We stayed in the Cedarpoint campground with water & 50 amp electricity. The roads are blacktop & in good repair. The sites are wide with concrete patio pads. This park can accommodate any size coach with any number of slides. The utilities are modern and well placed. The park was very clean with no trash. Sites vary from wide open (satellite friendly) to tree shaded. Trash dumpsters are very convenient. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2008
$18
Very large state park 6 miles from I40. Several camping areas controlled from one office on the way in. No limited or secure access but the facilities were nice. Just stayed overnight for a night on the way through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$14
We happened upon Foss Lake by accident. We had come from the east and were unable to find a place to stop. Then we saw Foss Lake Campground. We were delighted to find a nice clean park, with full hookups. It is quiet and relaxing. There is a lake nearby where you can swim...no lifeguards of course. It has been our mid-trip stop for a number of years and we always look forward to spending a night or so there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$16
Price included a senior discount. There are 6 Campgrounds within the park with 110 RV sites. There are only 10 sites with sewer and 50 amp hook-ups but no waterfront views. No reservations accepted. Really nice park. We would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$18
Visited park in 40' motorhome. Park was recently redone. Interior roads and sites have been redone with new blacktop. Each site has a beautiful view of the lake. Each site has concrete pad, table and bbq. Park was clean, but the bbq in my site contained trash. Big rig and satellite friendly. Sites will accommodate any size coach with any number of slides. Restrooms were clean, but rather old fashioned. We will continue to visit this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2004
$18
Visited park in 40' motorhome. Park was very big rig friendly-roads were blacktop, trees trimmed, & wide private sites with concrete pad. Sites were level, utilities well placed, private and wide enough for any number of slides. Each site had a table, bbq and small unobtrusive trees. Park was satellite friendly. Campground was located on edge of beautiful lake. A very friendly ranger collected fee at site. Will visit park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2004
$16
There are a couple of different locations for camping. We chose the water/electric sites right on the lake. It was a large site with a wonderful view. The bath house was very clean. The large flock of permanent Canada Geese was the only problem. The 100 or more birds are fun to watch, but all the droppings are becoming a problem. I will stay here again but watch where I walk. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com