214868 User submitted reviews online!!
Sequoyah State Park & Lodge (formerly Western Hills Guest Ranch) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (918) 772-2046
CGID2285

Sequoyah State Park & Lodge (formerly Western Hills Guest Ranch)

Camp Information
Sites
479
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   8   9   8   10   9   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
We have camped at both Seminole and Cherokee areas. Seminole is by far my favorite with cement pads and wide, shaded spots facing the lake. Both Full hook-up and water/electric only are available. Beautiful area especially in the fall. Camp host is very helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$25
Sequoyah Bay State Park is different from Sequoyah State Park. Western Hills is in Sequoyah State Park, but there are campgrounds other than Western Hills. Seminole and Choctaw campgrounds have full service, while Choctaw has a lot of 50 amp sites. I didn't see any 50 amps at Seminole, but big 5ers there so some were 50 amps. The closer you get to the water, there are no sewer sites. Limited (3 or 4 bars) Verizon and AT&T. Sites were more organized and modern on Seminole than Choctaw. The Seminole sites are on the East side of water (for great sunsets). Choctaw sites are on right side (for great sunrises). Sites are easy to negotiate, although most are back-in sites, some in Seminole and Choctaw are lake side, about 30 yrds from lake's edge. Admin note: Western Hills now called Sequoyah Lodge We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$22
This is a beautiful lake and the Seminole campsite had beautiful views of the lake. We were just a few yards up hill of the shore. We had the place to ourselves (quiet in the winter, I guess) but we felt perfectly safe as the host was nearby. The restroom-shower building seemed small but pretty clean. I liked having the toilet area heated but couldn't bring myself to shower as it was unheated (plus costs 50-cents for 3 minutes). Luckily we have a shower in our trailer. The actual sites were very level slabs with lots of room. I really like that they had a fire ring on the ground, plus a charcoal upright grill as well. Wonderful area for the kids to play. It is next to the pavilion, which I picture families gathering to eat and watch the kids. I'd definitely come back here. I suspect it is immensely popular in the summer, but quite beautiful in January as well, I feel. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
This is a fine park. We stayed in the Seminole area. The sites are large and well separated. We stayed in one of the W&E sites. The grounds are in excellent shape. The only negative I have about the place is the restrooms. They are a little bit tacky and out of date. You also have to pay to use the shower. I wouldn't have expected that in a park of this quality. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$23
This was a delightful experience for us and the dogs. We stayed in the Cherokee area which has only W&E, but camped on a "premier" site that was a concrete slab and very level. There is a dump at this section of the park. We were nearly alone in the park and had a great view as well as easy access to the lake. Our charge reflects the Senior discount. I would have given them a 10 if wi-fi were available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
This is a beautiful park. They have many trails with lots of wildlife. The kids also enjoyed the nature center. The campgrounds are well maintained will definitely be going back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$18
We camped in the newly remodeled Seminole Camp area. The park has spent a lot of money updating this site. All sites have concrete pads and paved approaches. Some sites have full hookups, we stayed in water and electric only, so to have a great view of the lake. Sites have concrete tables and you have a lot of space between each site. Nice newly paved road through this area of RV sites. The best area used to be Cherokee, but now Seminole has far surpassed it and we will camp here often. The park is under new management and it can been seen by the recent improvements: from paved hiking trails, the food and the lodge has improved. I'm a happy camper for the changes in this park that have been needed for sometime. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$21
We stayed in the Choctaw camping area. We drove through Cherokee and Seminole, and they appear to be more up to date. Choctaw is the most secluded and wooded of the 3, which is why we chose it. Some of the sites were dirt, and some had concrete strips to park the wheels. Ours also had a concrete patio. Our site was level. The water was on the wrong side. During the weekend, we must have had a dozen deer stroll through our site! We saw over 40 deer during our walks, and driving through the park. This is a very nice park, and we will definitely come back. The staff were also very helpful. Two of them helped me back into our spot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
Beautiful park on Fort Gibson Lake. We were scheduled to stay in the Choctaw full hookup area, but had concerns with the sites. You had to hit small concrete pads and some sites would not allow the use of slides since trees were close. Water faucets were on the wrong side. Gravel drive was rough and washed out in some areas. We moved to the Cherokee area which had better sites closer to the water. This area has some nice sites with fewer trees. All of the picnic tables do not have covers. Gravel roads again are rough. Our kids enjoyed swimming in the lake and pool. Nice pool with deep and shallow ends. The pool did not have a diving board, so the kids thought it was boring. Area has a small kiddie pool. Fishing was good. Caught several white bass from the shoreline as well as catfish at night. Whites seem to school near the boat ramp at Cherokee and in the adjacent cove in the mornings. Boat ramps in the Cherokee camping area were not in good shape: very rough. While we were here one person had trouble getting boat out of water due to running off ramp. Overall this is a nice park with several options for families. However it needs some maintenance work especially if you venture off the main paved roadways. A person who stayed with us rented a cabin and was very pleased with the level of service and space. We would stay here again. Lots of wildlife. Deer are everywhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$16
Rate is senior rate for Cherokee campsite with 30 Amp and no sewer. We checked out the full hookup 50 Amp sites at Choctaw but did not like them. The sites are all back-ins lined up close together. The sites were so shaded it seemed dark and gloomy. Also, there is no view of the lake! We preferred the Cherokee area. It is more open and every site has a view of the lake. Our pull-thru site and many others had concrete pads. Other sites are mostly dirt. Because of high water, many sites were unavailable. We enjoyed our stay very much. The view and the lake are wonderful. We enjoyed riding our bikes throughout this very large park. It also has a restaurant and golf course. We would love to return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$19
We camped in the Choctaw campground within the park which had full hook-up and 50amp electricity. The other campgrounds had water and electricity not sure had 50amp. Sites although large could do with some improvements as currently only two concrete runways. Water faucets were on wrong side of pad so had to take water hose under unit. Electricity and water pressure good. Nice location by lake. Very quiet and lots of wildlife. Has golf course, tennis courts, hiking trails and swimming pool within the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2005
$19
Sequoyah State Park has 5 separate camping areas. Dates we stayed only 2 were open. The nicest one of these was the Cherokee Area. We pulled in at about 5 PM and had to slowly drive thru a heard of deer waiting for the camp host to feed!! Quite a site for a first time state park campers (us)! Red rock roads between sites and paved perimter road. There are several sites with full concrete pads that were large enought to support my landing gear and rear jacks on my 34 Ft. 5th wheel. Sufficent water pressure and 30 Amp service. Rock beach, boat ramp and loading dock to get the family into boat without having to wade in the lake. Terraced sites all with a pretty good view. Most spots have some shade. Will go back again. Fee for the perferred sites (concrete pads) is 14.00 plus a 5.00 utility fee. Others are 12.00. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$18
Seq. State Park is on a 3 mile long penninsula on Fort Gibson Lake and has 6 camping areas. Choctaw area is the only one with full hookups. The rest of the park is water/elec. only. The Cherokee area has several waterfront sites. At this time, the water front sites are not paved, but most of the sites in Cherokee are paved. The Guest Ranch consists of cabins and a lodge with a restaurant. There is a pool and tennis courts at the lodge. The park has a very nice 18 hole golf course that is quite a challenge. The park also has a horse stable for rides and often has hayrides in the summer. Everytime we have been to the park, it is very clean. Fishing and water sports abound on Fort Gibson Lake. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com