221634 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Catherine State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (501) 844-4176
CGID229

Lake Catherine State Park

Camp Information
Sites
69
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   10   10   8   10   7   8   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
Very nice campground. Reception desk personnel were extremely friendly and nice. Sites were well spaced and very well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$17
After the long 12 miles from the interstate we enjoyed the park. The sites were mostly level. We stayed in the water & electric only area with gravel pads, not asphalt like the E/W/S area. A lot of tent campers in our area but the park was clean and quiet at night. Beautiful park with plenty of shade. We were able to receive a few antenna channels. There was AT&T cell coverage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
This is the first time we've state in an Arkansas State Park & we've been very impressed. We're in the A loop, site 6 & do have satellite connection. Our mifi doesn't get a real strong connection but we can use it. Our site is concrete,level, has full hookups & is very spacious. We can see the lake thru the trees when we're outside. It's very quiet here during the week (so far). They have a swimming beach & a marina. This past Sunday they offered a free boat trip on the lake & the Park Ranger gave us information about the area. We haven't used the rest rooms, so can't comment on that. I do know they have a safe room in a couple of the rest rooms because we were during a heavy thunderstorm & I asked where to go in case of emergency. We would definitely recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$34
Phenomenal park. This is among the very best maintained parks we have visited. Sewer, water and electric facilities are well laid out and worked perfectly. The sites are concrete, level and have plenty of room between. Most are either lake-front or have a lake view. Absolutely no complaints about anything. One tip: Wi-Fi is offered through an independent resource at $5 per day. While we achieved 4 Mbps speed during the day, the evening was much, much slower. Don't expect to stream content. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
I wanted a nice place to overnight off of I-30. Once off the highway, there is about a 12 mile drive on a pretty narrow road, but there was room and it wasn't that bad for about 8 miles, then it is repaved and nice for the last four miles to the park. We got here after five, so we were on our own as far as getting to our site. We had made a reservation and I called to confirm the site and confirm that it was a pull through and might get satellite. Our reserved site was a back in, and did not have a reserved sign on it so we picked another site. Loop C is updated and the sites are pretty nice. We have a view of the lake and satellite is working. This is a pretty nice park. If you don't mind the 15-20 minute jaunt off interstate 30, I would go for it. Quiet, nice and relaxing and I would do it again even for one night. Sewer hook up Is pretty far back. You might need a hose extension if you are in a MH. We camped in a 40ft with a toad and had no problem navigating the roads. Unhook the toad at the front of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$30
This is our "go to" park when visiting the Hot Springs area. It is so convenient to all that the Hot Springs area has to offer. We love the park and the staff is so helpful and friendly. The newly remodeled part of the park offers full hookups and extremely level sites. We were in site #62 and we didn't need to level "side to side" at all. During the springtime, the park really shines with all the beautiful foliage. They also have very nice hiking trails. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$27
Nice state park on Lake Catherine. Office people are not friendly nor helpful. Told us to go find a spot and that anything that didn't have a reserved sign was OK. Also said they didn't know what sites could get satellite. Found a spot, parked and set up, went up to pay and they said that spot was reserved so we had to move even though it didn't have a reserved sign. Not easy to get to from main highways. Park is set up strangely so it is hard to find sites without driving through areas you don't need to be in with a MH pulling a toad. While it was a beautiful place, we would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
Beautiful park. Our site was 43, very unlevel. Blocks were under jacks and wheels, and our front wheels were still off the ground. We had a beautiful view of the lake and a very nice sitting area. The steam plant across the lake didn't bother us at all. Everyone was friendly and having a good time. We loved having roads and sites paved. Antenna TV was good, but no wi-fi anywhere in the park. We enjoyed the area and plan to come back but hope to have a different site that is a little more level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$19
This is a very rustic campground set in the woods, some 30amps and some 50amps. Helpful and friendly staff at check in. Easy access and the road is paved. The pad is concrete and there is plenty of space and and privacy around the RV. The lake is small and you can see the ugly steam generating plant across the lake very clearly. Grill and fire ring are old, filthy dirty and falling apart. Restrooms are adequate and clean. We were here in June: too many unsupervised screaming kids, loud music playing, motor bikes revving, and junky trailers with lines of washing hanging outside. After reading all the great reviews on this campground, the actual place was a major disappointment, we would never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$31
Positives are that the campground is close to Hot Springs and all of the attractions. Restrooms were very clean and the campground was well maintained. The park has 3 nice hiking trails and is directly on Lake Catherine. Beach is very nice, clean water and sand all the way out. Nice marina to rent canoes, kayaks, and motorboats. The biggest negative is that there is a steam generating plant directly across the lake which operates 24/7 emitting a white noise. The lake is fairly small and narrow so the plant is "in your face" so to speak. The sewer hookups are at the far corner of the sites which required a sewer extension. We camped here for nine nights and feel there are better alternatives in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
We have stayed at this campground several times and always enjoyed it. This last time there seemed to be more Canadian geese than before. We attempted to make sure our dogs did not come in contact with either the geese or their droppings. A few days after we left both dogs got sick. Took almost a month on a RX to get them well. Can not say for sure it was from the geese, but we probably won't camp here again and take that chance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$10
We came with out reservations and the staff was very helpful they put us in the overflow area with electricity in view of the lake, we definitely will return and stay a while. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$10
Rate reflects half-price for Arkansas resident senior citizen. Note that there are 2 types of sites, $20 for 30 amp and water, $30 for 30/50 amp, water, and sewer. The $30 sites are absolutely level and concrete pads, while the $20 sites are asphalt and slightly off-level, but not bad. The restrooms were spotless and nice and warm (it got down into the upper 30's during our stay) and the showers were adequately warm, but not adjustable in temperature. There are some excellent hiking trails in this park, and the sites themselves have a nice view of the lake and lots of space between adjacent sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
These sites are HUGE. If I could rate this park as 11, I would. It's an absolute gem. We need to send Texas Parks & Wildlife to Arkansas to learn how to operate a state park. A paved, level, full hookup site with a lake view, mobile hotspot reception, a full service marina, and a great staff. If this park could be made better, let me know how. It's 10 miles from Hot Springs, but we aren't tourists. Since we are in the area, we drove over and checked out Lake Ouachita SP and it looks just as nice. If I had to have a complaint, it would be that my wife didn't drive her car and pull my fishing boat. I will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
We camped here for 2 nights and were extremely happy with our stay. The first site they had us at was too difficult to get into, but they accommodated us very well and gave us another site. We did not know that with the Arkansas state parks you could actually pick the site you would like to be on, a year in advance. It is advisable to call the park and they will direct you to the best site for your trailer. The website for the state parks do not let you pick out your site yet. The staff made up greatly for that oversight. Very quiet and relaxing park. We were not able to hike, but we will definitely be back. Restrooms and park are very clean. Lake front campsites are very nice. We will be back. Hot Springs less than 30 minutes away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$28
Stayed here over Spring Break 2011. VERY NICE sites if you pay extra for the sewer (AAA sites) in the new camping area. In-laws chose not to pay the extra $10 a night and barely got their 5th wheel down the sloping site they got. The AAA sites are level w/ asphalt drive, concrete picnic area w/table and leveled, graveled fire pit and tent areas. Connections for water, electric and sewer were all conveniently at the back of the slot on the correct side. OVERALL a beautiful park w/ playgrounds and activities for kids, right on the lake and just a few minutes from downtown Hot Springs. PS: Garvan Woodland Gardens is a MUST SEE!!! Just wear good walking shoes and find all the side trails you can! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
Lake Catherine has become one of our favorite Arkansas State Parks. We spent a week at the park during Thanksgiving and had an incredible time in the area. The park staff is wonderful and the facility is first rate. We needed directions to one of the local attractions and they were more than helpful in pointing out additional sights we needed to take in while in the area. We stayed in one of the newly redone sites that had a very level concrete pad. We loved the full hookups (water, sewer and electricity). Many of the RVers staying in the park had decorated for Thanksgiving giving the park a festive feel to it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
Most of my opinion is based on shower/restroom condition. If you are self contained you may have a different opinion. Great staff, great site, and the showers/bathrooms are perfect!! I counted it, the facilities were cleaned 5 times in one day! The couple that does the cleaning do a fantastic job! The site I stayed in was concrete with a large adjacent area covered in pea gravel. I was with an Aliner group and we all had perfect spots for set up. This is a perfect spot for a pop up camper. I will be back!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
Wonderful park,we stayed in 68. Lot was large and was easy to back in. Took my mother and she loved it. Plenty of ducks and geese and plenty of motorboats with water skiers to watch. Stayed 10 days and would gladly have stayed longer. Park seemed to stay full. Would gladly stay here again even though it was a way into Hot Springs. Good cell reception. Staff was excellent and friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$23
It is a great park! Beautifully maintained and one of the largest and best laid out sites we have experienced. Lot 68 was right on the lake but didn't have much shade. We would go for lot 70 next time. We only got to stay one night due to availability but would have loved to stay an extra night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$19
First impression was perfect. Just absolutely friendly staff. Very clean and pretty camp grounds. We were lucky and was assigned spot 27. This spot is located on a peninsula with about a 25' pier and sandy area to swim in with lots of room between us and the neighbor. They have inexpensive boat rentals and horse back riding. Take all the food you need, town is about 20 miles away. P.s., the showers are tricky. there is a single button to press to get the shower going. Turn that same button to regulate the water temperature. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$22
We enjoyed our stay here for Thanksgiving week. We drove 9 hours to stay at this park. This campground has a couple of nice hiking trails, although one was closed due to hunting season. The water level is intentionally dropped very low in the winter so the lake was not as pretty as it could be. Some of the sites are short and very unlevel so you have to be careful with larger rigs. Overall we like the campground, but it probably wasn't worth the 9 hour drive. Next time we will try another park, but will definitely visit Arkansas again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$27
Great Park with hiking trails, lake front and good access to Hot Springs. Great Camping Experience We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$27
This was our first experience camping in a state park and we were impressed. The park staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The view (lakefront site) was serene and we enjoyed the quiet each night. I hope to camp there again in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Lake Catherine was a very peaceful and serene place to spend our vacation. We stayed in area C at the far end of the campground. There was just an abundance of different wildlife in the park. We saw geese, ducks, squirrels, deer, woodpeckers and other birds. We were even visited at night by the clever racoons. We were able to receive a few digital TV stations on our RV antenna. The showers were very clean and neat, but could use a shelf to place your shampoo and soap. The few drawbacks were that the other guests felt compelled to just walk through your campsite to get to the walking trails on the south end of the park. They had no regard for the people that were trying to enjoy themselves. The other small drawback was the view of the power plant across the other side of the lake, but it was not a major problem. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$27
The campground has just this season completed renovating the last of the camping loops. The sites were very large in the loop we were in (loop A),the only loop not right on the The other two loops have sites that are a bit closer together but not horrid. There is a swimming lagoon as well as boat rental. The sites are large and well set up. Even with kids running around the park sprawls enough that your not running over each other. This is why I loved camping as a kid places like this. As with all things some sites were more level than others and while the bath houses were new and shiny the showers were metered and I had to keep hitting the button to get a hot shower. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$14
This is a wonderful state park that combines waterfront sites, great hiking/wilderness activities with close proximity to Hot Springs. The sites were level and well maintained. The staff was absolutely delightful. I don't think we hit a special time or were treated out of the ordinary. All of the "state park of the year" commendation plaques in the main office would indicate that they have been doing a great job for a long time. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$14
Nice hiking trails. Roads and pads all asphalt and concrete. Large, shady camp sites. Most are not level so be prepared to spend a little more time setting up. The new hookups in areas A and C are great. The only problem was that the sewer is at the very back corner of the pad. I camped 3 nights. All the employees that I spoke with were friendly and helpful. The rate was half price, winter rates. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$17
We camped at the park for 2 nights while visiting my wife's parents. The park staff at check-in were very friendly and helpful. What an incredible gem of a park! The new renovations to the park that have been made are fantastic. We'll definitely stay at the park again very soon. Our site was right on the lake, #33. The site is highly recommended. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$26
Over half of the park has been reworked. Sewer and 50 amp has been added. New pavement, tables, fire pits and tent area. Campground stays full you will need to call ahead for reservation. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$14
A very nice park set on top of a mountain. View is beautiful. Showers and restrooms are very clean. Sites are level, concrete pads. The lodge has a great breakfast buffet. We will definitely stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2007
$8
This older park has friendly staff but is beginning to show her age. A lot of the sites are extremely unlevel and the hookups are on the wrong side. If you need big rig access, use caution, because the roads are one-way and turns can be a little tight. The nightly rate was reduced off-season. Trash could have been collected more often. Even though there's a Walmart one exit away, we'll try other state parks in the area before choosing this one again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$22
Driving in to this park was interesting, but once inside, it's beautiful, until you spot the electric plant on the opposite side of the lake. We had a waterfront spot, and when I say waterfront, I mean waterfront! The dogs had a ball chasing each other through the mud at the edge of the lake. Large spaces and friendly workers quickly came to our rescue when we couldn't get the electric to work. The electric plant was quite a disappointment, and a little noisy. Lots of great hiking trails and very quiet. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$17
This is one of the most beautiful parks I have in Arkansas. We stayed in the preferred sites and nearly backed up to the lake. It was gorgeous, and the lake was high. It is well taken care of, and everyone was so friendly. The people there were great. It doesn't have sewer but we intend to go back in the Spring when the crappie are bedding. This is one of the BEST parks we have ever stayed at! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$12
Beautiful park, super clean bathrooms, small but clean beach, lots of ants! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2005
$15
This is a old campground and as a result has non-friendly hook ups with the water being on the wrong side for RV's and unlevel sites. I was informed by the lady at the office that it was built before RV's became popular and the state will start a complete rebuild on most of the sites this and next winter. The staff was friendly. It is located about 8 miles west of I-30, 30 miles south of Little Rock, 10 miles north of Hot Springs. The lake was full and beautiful and I would still recommend it to anyone for a night or a extended stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$14
This is a beautiful state park that also has camping cabins. We loved it and will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com