215029 User submitted reviews online!!
Cascade Locks / Portland East KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 41 user reviews. Phone: (541) 374-8668
CGID2306

Cascade Locks / Portland East KOA

Camp Information
Sites
84
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   9   8   7   6   10   2   1   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$42
We really like this park. Although it's a KOA, the cost is not unreasonable. Staff is friendly and helpful, and the store seems well stocked. I would have given it more stars except for 2 things. The bathrooms, although clean, could do with an update and combinations put on the bathroom doors. Second, the dog area is a joke. It's only about 10x20 feet, fenced with chain link. It could easily be doubled or even tripled in size and it wouldn't take up any camp site area. Since we travel with our dogs, a good fenced dog area is always a plus. Will we stay here again when come thru the area, and we hope we find the dog area is increased in size. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Price reflects nightly rate with no KOA discount. We do not stay at many KOAs, but of the few we have, this is probably the worst. Very small, old run-down playground (and we don't even have kids and we noticed), small dog "park," very tight for big rigs, by train tracks (although we knew this going in), junk piled in a few places, not the friendliest staff, not even a book exchange - although they will sell books. Made us wonder if any campground can be a KOA (we assume KOA has some standards to its membership). Would we stay here again? Probably not. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
Shaded sites are TIGHT for big rigs. We made it w/ 34" MH and Dinghy. A 3-axle fifth wheel pulled along side of us tonight. Took several neighbors moving vehicles and a second lap around the loop, but we got him in. Very clean bathrooms. Too bad hot tub was closed by mid Sept. Quiet park. Grounds are spotless. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
This KOA is conveniently located off I-84 - 15 to 20 miles from Columbia Gorge waterfalls and the Mt. Hood area. The campground is in a nice wooded area with tall pines. Sites are not large, but are adequate. The trains do run along the side of the campground, but this is readily pointed out on the phone and during check-in. We did not find this to be a huge deal and used earplugs (provided) at night. The dog run area is small, but usable. A pancake breakfast is available on weekend days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$39
Another nice KOA park. The staff was friendly and hard working. The camp sites were well maintained and groomed due to the hard working staff. They were always working around the campground and helping folks, cleaning sites, escorting RVs to sites and even had time for a great pancake breakfast each day we were there. Nice place to stay while seeing the beautiful Columbia Gorge area. We would visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
The park was just fine, no problems, nice people, very helpful. Problem was the train crossing that is very close to the park exit. Our family likes trains but the whistles for the train crossings went on all night long. The tracks are directly adjacent to the park so the whistles are very loud. We probably won't revisit this park because of the noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
A beautiful campground with friendly staff and lots of lovely trees. The bathrooms were clean. The kids loved the game room. We loved the hot tub. The trains are a fact of life in the Columbia Gorge - both sides. And this KOA will give you a full refund if you decide, within the hour, that you just don't want to be there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$67
This place is very shaded, and very expensive. We drove the falls nearby and were very disappointed in the price. The pool is shaded. Even though this was the hottest day in Oregon all summer, we were freezing! This KOA is a dump. There is no grass (because it is in the shade). Keep driving! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Pool was falling apart. Dog waste everywhere. Railroad runs right next to park. Very noisy. Love KOA 's. Not this one. Gal at the desk was totally uninterested in you or people on phone inquiring about campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Paved pull through level site. Wi-Fi & cable work fine. Lovely trees. Roads are a bit narrow, requiring care in parking. Sites are not maintained as cleanly and neatly as we usually expect at a KOA. Trash around the site, cigarette butts in the fire place and on the ground. Ashes and burned charcoal on the ground around the grill. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2012
$41
This is an older campground that has a lot of nice trees, but they are very close in some of the sites. That is about all the good I can say. I had to try 3 different sites before I could fit my total 55 foot length in. The longer sites were taken by shorter rigs. 150 yards from my site, which was in the back, is the UPRR's mainline and trains run pretty frequently and it is NOT a horn ban zone! The rate was way too high for such a noisy campground. Had it not been for the high winds in the Columbia River gorge and the white knuckle ride, I would not have stayed here period! I was too tired to fight it anymore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Okay first off when everyone was saying trains I was like "yeah right, how bad can it be?" Well it was bad I mean really bad. Like the track ran right behind us and the trains must have a deal with the town to blow their horns all the way through town. If you want shade trees then this is the place for you but not for us. We were unable to get the satellite to work and couldn't get any channels with our antenna. They put us in a site we had to squeeze into while the open site next to us stayed vacant. All in all we would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
TRAINS, trains and more TRAINS. Sounds like a freight train coming through the RV. Never, ever try to stay here!!! Has nice surroundings but every 15-30 minutes you get a wakeup call. Shame on KOA for allowing this park to use their name. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Site felt very tired. Gravel and paved sites. Trains run along side of RV park ALL day and night. Didn't have a good night's sleep while we were here! Would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
We really like the place except for a couple of things. One was NOT the trains; lots of places have trains. And we had a great site. But our fireplace grate was gone. Not that we wanted it or would use it but there was this very messy hole where it had been. It could have been cleaned up at least. And someone before us must have had a bad sewer connection as there was evidence of such on the ground. Had they been checking sites at all they would have noticed and taken care of these things. The WiFi was slow; no question. But it went down one night at 10pm and came back on precisely at 6am. I asked them if they shut it down every night and they said no. They also insisted that it was not down the night before. But it was: no WiFi spots even showed on the selection screen. Their company may have shut down for a maintenance thing: I do not have a problem with that. But they could have been honest about it and told me it was just a one time deal. The following two nights it was fine. We would come here again, however. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
This KOA is in a good location to visit the Columbia Gorge area. It is easy to get to from the interstate. We did not have a problem getting around the campground in our 40 footer. Our site was clean, paved, level, long and wide. We had a back-in site on the end, so lots of room and privacy. There are too many trees to get a satellite signal. The Wi-Fi was very slow most of the time. The dog run is just a very small fenced area that is not large enough for our big dog to run at all. I didn't see any dogs using it while we were here. There are blackberry bushes full of ripe berries to pick. The pool is cold, small, crowded and full of leaf parts. The hot tub is not accessible from the pool area, they have the gate locked. You have to leave the pool area and walk the length of the pool to get into the hot tub. The showers are good, but the bathrooms themselves need to be cleaned. There is a very strong mildew smell in the bathrooms. There is a handicapped bathroom and shower in it's own building, but it is locked with a code, so it can only be used by handicapped people. There is a $5 per child per night charge. Even though I liked our site, I would not stay here again. I did not get any sleep for three nights because the train tracks were right next to the campground. The trains are frequent all through the night, and they blow their whistle many times. In addition, there is the loud squealing metal on metal sound. Every time a train came by, you could not hear anything else whether it be the TV, a conversation inside the RV or a phone call. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
Yes there are trains, yes there are kids at the pool, yes the spots can be a little tight and yes this is a nice family campground. We were here for a week as there is a lot to do in this area. We got use to the trains, like the other reviewer said, aren't all campgrounds next to train tracks? Had a good time and enjoyed the pancake breakfast. On the down side you won't get satellite, cable is limited and the water pressure drops in the morning. The Wi-Fi worked fine all week. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Friendly hosts, roomy spot for my truck and camper. Everything worked. Wireless internet worked fine, the hosts let me use a table near the back deck of the office at night with my lantern. The table had a nearby a cord with a plug in for my laptop computer. I camped there two nights, Monday July 26 and then again Wednesday July 28. I was very pleased with showers and restrooms too. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$56
It was in a convenient location but too pricey. Very little sun exposure because of the tall trees. The railroad was adjacent to the property and the trains ran frequently. The restrooms and showers were clean. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. There were pull through sites and the staff assisted us in entering the site. They had a very nice pancake breakfast on the weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Park was clean and well kept. Restrooms, laundry facilities and pool/hot pool were older but very clean and kept clean all day. Pool/hot pool were covered every night. Park hosts (possibly at least 3 working couples) were visible quite a bit of the time, good feeling of security. Free WiFi but not secure (no password required). Campfires allowed, fire ring in each site. Stayed in space #78, which was more than adequate. It was adjacent to urban street which overall was very quiet and had a landscaped barrier so not visible. Maneuvering into space was a bit tight as most of these sites (76-87) had a demarcation tree or large boulder at both sides of site front. We had an occupied pull-through site across from our site, so many back-and-forths to get the trailer into the site. Park does have many pull throughs, most are on asphalt, sites 76-91 (and possibly others, didn't take notes on other part of RV Park), are on grass. Could hear train that runs on opposite side of RV Park, it was never an issue. Park is very well treed (but trimmed high) but during shoulder season or colder summer you will want sites toward Forest Lane and not deep into the park, for some sun. Cascade Locks area during parts of shoulder season will be overcast in the morning, in fact the morning mist on the local hills was very beautiful. We traveled to Hood River most often and gained a minimum 5 to 10 degrees in weather. KOA was very convenient for our Columbia River visit. We would utilize this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Park is perfect location to visit the waterfalls. Sites are long and level. Very shaded. Super nice staff. Our only complaint is that I told them I needed 50 amp when I made my reservation. When we arrived we were told they only had 30 amp left. They have a few 50 amp sites, but they were all full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This campground is the first one that we just kept going. During our call to make the reservation, the clerk had to ask us to hold while a train blew its whistle. As we drove toward the campground, trains were everywhere. As we entered the narrow road to the campground: more trains and whistles. Upon check in a train blew its whistle for such a long time, and so close the campground that we reconsidered. We drove through our pull through and kept going. This park is right on a very busy train line. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
We stayed here 4 nights on 2 different occasions in July. Each night we were charged a different price. They were over matched with kids during our first stay heading into the fourth of July. The second stay 3 weeks later was much quieter. Staff was very helpful and friendly and the park was very clean. Would definitely stay at this KOA again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
Have to agree with the poster who commented on the tight maneuverability. We were given a pull thru space, but had to back up and pull ahead several times due to the tightness of the turn to get in the space. We have a 40' motor home, so obviously we had to un-hook the toad. We were expecting 50 amp, but only 30 was available. We were given a space right next to the restrooms and had to keep our door closed because of the disinfectant smell. Beautiful shade trees, and yes, the train, always the train. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$39
The monthly rent was $600.00 and the electricity was included in the rental fee. Our big problem with this park besides the price of the rent was that each weekend tent campers would camp and fill every tent space! They were very loud and the management rarely did anything to quiet them. There are also 11 small one room cabins and most of the renters remember to bring there stereo's with them! Again, the management does not quiet them. The park itself is very beautiful for a crowded RV Park and of course the Cascade Locks area is just breathtaking! The swimming pool was kept clean and the public hot tub is off limits to children and teenagers which is nice. The bathrooms are very small and the toilet stalls are so small that even children have a difficult time fitting in them. The shower stalls were also very small and not very nice but the water was hot. The bathrooms appeared to be rarely cleaned but a lot of that was probably due to the tent campers constantly washing there dishes in the sinks. For the most part the camp hosts were very friendly and the park was a pet friendly park also. The park is very crowded and congested but still a big rig can manage to back in with a bit of patience. The laundry room was nice, I wish more RV Parks had a laundry room like this one. There were several washers and only three dryers but the dryers are super sized so that they hold two to three loads and they actually dry them! If you choose to go to this park I think that it would be best to not tent camp as the tent sites are all clustered together on one huge grass area. No privacy, just a crowded and closely clustered mess. There is also a very active train route that goes directly beside the park and it is loud! So loud that it will awaken you with a scare and that is when you are inside of your RV! The train also comes by about every twenty minutes, 24 hours a day so don't camp here if you can't stand the noise. Other then that though the area scenery is beautiful and will most likely make up for the crowded noisy campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
We are a 45' motorhome towing and were pleasantly surprised that this campground was easy to maneuver. Tall trees, but trimmed high. Ample room on turns. Yes, there was a train, but aren't all RV campgrounds near train tracks? : -) Friendly staff and kid friendly with pool and bike rental. Lots to do nearby (Bonneville Dam, Multnomah Falls, etc), so even if you're passing through I'd suggest spending two nights here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
Great campground, one where everyone is welcome. The management was very friendly and helpful. In addition to the swimming pool and hot tub they had a children's play area and rental bikes. They even serve breakfast a couple days a week. Unfortunately the park is next to the train tracks and the trains use their whistle when traveling through the area. This may happen several times a night. We have stayed here before and will do so again if in the area. The train noise is a minor issue. The Columbia River Gorge is a great place to visit with lots to see and do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$33
Trains. Park allowed neighbor kids to ride bikes all over campground, in & out of sites. Hard to maneuver big rigs around park. TERRIBLE WI-FI. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Sure there were trains, but after being on the road for half a day, checking in, leaving the trailer and driving around to Stevenson Museum (right across the 1.00 toll bridge in Washington) when the trains came by at night they blew their whistle and were gone into the night. The staff was friendly and after we checked in left us alone! I thought it was a great park and quiet except for the occasional train. I would recommend that if you are going to see Multnomah Falls you either stop at the rest area on I-84 and walk the few hundred feet to the falls and visitors center or do as we did and drop the trailer and drive there in your tow vehicle or truck. The roads are hardly wide enough for two Honda civics side by side. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
Information on this park indicated that it was "big rig friendly" which was not exactly the case. There are some "pull through" spots for larger motorhomes but most are taken by longer term tenants. We were traveling with friends and both of us have 40' coaches with toads. The campground is an older area and is located in an area of mature shade trees, very pretty but a nightmare for maneuvering a larger coach. We were placed in an area that required dropping the toads first just to make the road turns, and then back and forth jostling just to get into the site. The campground has a small pool, well populated with largely unsupervised children who also enjoyed riding bicycles through occupied sites. The campground also states that is has a "dog run area". This turned out to be a fenced 4' x 8' area in the far reaches of the campground. The trains were just icing on the cake. I don't believe that we will be returning though the area is beautiful with much to see. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
Campground excellent, trains which pass all night --brutal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
As other reviewers have pointed out, this park is next to a fairly active train track. We too are not usually bothered by trains going by; however, many blew their whistles during the day which added to the noise! It is an older park that was very crowded with lots of children on bicycles and skateboards, many seemingly unsupervised. We requested a different site from the one we were assigned (next to the noisy pool) as there were other sites not yet taken, but the park management was unwilling to change the assigned site. Although the Wi-Fi did work, the DSL modem was down and thus there was no access to the internet. The bathrooms were clean, but nothing special. The Bridge of the Gods over the Columbia River was worth the $1 toll each way, and the interpretive museum near Stevenson, WA (just east of the bridge) was worth a visit. We camped 1 night in a 25-foot travel trailer with no pets. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$37
Called ahead to confirm a site but the lady said not to worry that there would be a site here for us and that the rate was $26 less the discount. This rate was based on the size of our trailer and the number of people in our family, etc. When we went to register a site they said it was $37. I told them about what the lady quoted me and they asked what her name was. I don't take names in every situation in life but I guess I should have ! Oh well, we went ahead and stayed anyway. Warning to anyone with a GPS, the satellite will tell you exit 47 but you actually exit at 44. Then when you get here the GPS will tell you the campground is on the right but in fact it is about 500 ft up the road. Campground has nice shaded sites with level parking. One thing they should do is fix the playground. There is one teeter-totter that looks to be broken (missing) for a long time. Also a tether ball that the kids love, is missing. The wire rope is there but no ball. Such small items to repair which would make the playground so much nicer. Train goes by a lot but that cannot be helped and you really don't notice it. Would camp here again if they give me the rate that they originally quoted me. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2006
$23
The interior roads are a bit snug for a big rig towing, but negotiable. The roads are paved as is our site. There are railroad tracks immediately behind the campground, but the trains weren't a distraction to us, nor did they cause us any lost sleep. While we are only staying two nights, we will come back to this campground when we decide to spend some real time in the Portland area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2005
$27
Access thru residential area off I-84. Very tight for big rigs. Narrow paved roads. Trees located at entrances to most spaces. Big leaf maple trees over- head. These trees can lose branches in wind storms, and this is the columbia river gorge which is notorious for high winds. A/C voltage 110V with 40% occupancy and colder temps. i.e. not a lot a electricity being used during stay. Some paved spaces, most dirt with little gravel. New subdivison next door, and it appears kids from there use parks facilities. Train noise is very loud. Whistle blown by train as it enters town next to park. Manager friendly. Broken urinal in mens room. Laundry room appears to have older equipment $1.50 washer, $.25 per 7 minutes dryer. Internet connect located in laundry room. Would not reccomend this park with larger rigs with night time arrival. Children would enjoy this park with it's pool, video arcade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2005
$27
An excellent campground if it were not for the frequent trains all night long. We were warned about them but were told that if we are on the street side of the park, away from the tracks, the trains would not be a problem. Not so. The trains came by every 40 - 60 minutes all night long. We were unable to get any rest. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
Nice, clean stopover campground. Very nice owners. Too close to the train for our taste, but our neighbors in a fifth wheel said it wasn't bad. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$32
Nice looking campground and its close to many of the sites in the gorge area. The only complaint I have is: it's right next to the train tracks. The train likes to come through at least twice a night and blow its horn. So its not easy to sleep there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
Very well kept park conveniently located in a quaint town with everything you will need. Nice paved, shaded sites. Only major negative is the railroad, but did not bother us inside MH. Other negative is that the many tree prevented sattelite reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2005
$25
This park is one of the better KOAs. It is well maintained. Roads are paved. About half the sites are paved, the others are grass/gravel/dirt. Sites are reasonably level. There are lots of trees and most sites are shaded. Most of the trees are trimmed and don't pose any problems. WiFi works only in the office/laundry building. There is a railroad track right next to the park. There are lots of trains sounding their whistles at all hours. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2004
$28
If this park were located away from the railroad tracks it would be a 8 or 9. However the Union Pacific main line runs just outside the fence. As if the rumble isn't bad enough, there is a road crossing nearby that the trains whistle for and they run all night long! It is hard to find a peaceful camping site anywhere in the Columbia Gorge due to the trains and the highway but this has to be one of the noisiest. Bring ear plugs if you come! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com