214654 User submitted reviews online!!
Valley of the Rogue State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 68 user reviews. Phone: (541) 582-1118
CGID2324

Valley of the Rogue State Park

Camp Information
Sites
174
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   9   1   7   8   8   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$28
This is my one of my favorite campgrounds! The sites are paved, level, and well spaced. The staff and hosts are very friendly. The restrooms were clean; so were the laundry facilities. We absolutely love this park and stay whenever we can! That said, be careful walking the trails by the river. Our two small dogs picked up a lot of ticks walking in the tall grass by the river (I should have known better!). The rangers said they've been pretty bad this year. To be clear, the ticks are NOT in the campground part of the park and had the timing worked out, we would have stayed at the park on our return trip (CA to WA and back). This is an outstanding park and we cannot wait to visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
Wonderful RV park. Nice long pull-through sites. You can stay connected to your dingy if you want. Great separation from other sites. Beautifully maintained. We always stay here when we can. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
We were very fortunate that our campsite was close to the river (B-24) and the roar of the water drowned out the roar of the Interstate. There had been flooding in the area earlier and the trails needed grooming, but we enjoyed them. We were able to hook up with others for a paddling trip on the Rogue River. In this CG a lot would depend on where you are located. We had no noise issues and would have enjoyed staying longer. I believe the rate is $24 per night but we only paid $12 as it was State Parks Day and we got one night free. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
A very nice, peaceful and convenient state park next to I-5. There are plenty of trails, an especially nice one next to the river, good for dog walking. Pull-throughs are available. There are posted signs warning of ticks, all for a good reason; they seemed to be especially prevalent in the wooded areas by the river in the spring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2013
$24
Don't bother. Beautiful area, but right under the interstate with a rest area beside it. Terrible doesn't even begin to describe. What was Oregon thinking? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
The rate reflects a "Discovery" (off season) rate. This is one of the harder campground reviews that I have done, because the rating depends so much on what you are looking for. First of all, it is very convenient to Interstate 5, so if you are traveling I-5 and want a place to stop for the night this place is for you. That, however, is its negative, the continual noise from I-5. We were there when it was cooler and wet, so we kept the windows closed, so it was not too bad when we were inside. However, once you step outside, you will know that you are interstate close. If you can tolerate the noise, the rest of the park is good. It is along the Rogue River, but the river is not really a major feature of the park since it is hidden in the bushes. In some sites you can somewhat hear it over the roar of the Interstate. There are some full hookup sites and the sites are spacious, however without a lot of privacy. There is a very nice 4 mile bike path that goes through the park. The hosts are nice and the park is well maintained. So, for a night or two, this park will work. However, for use, it is definitely not a destination park because of the proximity to the Interstate and the resulting noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
Among the positives are very spacious sites, clean facilities, mature shade trees and the beautiful Rogue River. The negatives are that river access is very limited by brush and the campground is adjacent to the rest area, which gave me a less "secure" feeling than I typically experience from camping only facilities. We stayed a week and will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$22
Great park along I-5. We have stayed here several time and will stay here again. Park staff and host are friendly. This is a good place to stay while visiting Medford (30miles) and Grants Pass (20 miles). Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
After experiencing other Oregon State Parks we were a little disappointed with Valley of the Rogue State Park. Even though it is just yards from the Rogue River, in short it was dry and worn out and our site had limited shade. If you are a river rafter then this park might meet your needs. We were just passing through and decided to stay only one night. The park has full hook ups available, but not at all sites. Our problem was finding a site that was long enough to accommodate our 25' trailer and still have full hook ups. We were unlucky on that account. There is a dump station for those who don't have full hook ups. Still if you are a fisherman or rafter you most likely will enjoy this park. We will not be returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
We selected this park for it's proximity to Crater Lake, which is just under a 2 hour drive. Nevertheless, this is a very nice park. We were in B-18 which backed up to the Rogue River. Not much of a view because of the brush; however, close enough to be lulled to sleep by the sound. The sites in F-loop were large, but not spacious. Verizon data and cell were very good, but no TV via antenna. There is a nice bike path in the Park that goes to Rogue City. The path is bordered with blackberry bushes with tons of ripe berries ready for picking. Grants Pass is just 15 minutes away and has most retail stores you would need. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
This is a spectacularly beautiful campground. The views from just about anywhere are of trees, mountains, wildflowers. There is a paved path that runs next to the Rogue which you can bike or walk into the City of Rogue River. The park is well maintained and very reasonably priced. The sites are pretty well separated and most are shaded. It doesn't have Wi-Fi or cable TV, but that's not a big deal to us. The only thing that prevents me from giving it a rating of 10 is the freeway noise. We have stayed three times and we will certainly go back. Lots to do around here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
On an absolute scale of state parks we can't rate this park any higher than a "7". The staff were pleasant, the site was pretty easy to back into, but we were here when it was full and there is little privacy and the constant road noise from I-5 is annoying. Unless you know you are in a state park this CG is no different than many private parks--narrow sites, close to each other. At $24 for a full hookup I agree that is a good deal, but the place lacks the ambiance we expect when we stay in a state or national park. The Verizon cell service is decent, but getting satellite TV reception will depend on which site you have and whether or not your dish can be moved or is permanently mounted. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
Valley of the Rogue State Park is a perfect place to stay if you want clean, beautiful and quiet accommodations close to Grants Pass or Medford Oregon. We stayed for 5 nights. The staff was great and they kept the park extremely clean. Interstate 5 runs along the length of the park. The sites are set back far enough away from the road and close enough to the Rogue River to not be an issue. I highly recommend this park for anyone traveling along the I-5 corridor whether you need to stay awhile or just want to stop in for a night or two on your travels. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
Very nice park with large pull through sites, good roads. Well treed and nice ambiance. Only negative is constant road noise which is disruptive when you are outside. Rate was for full hookups, winter season. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$24
This park is right off the I-5 so there was some freeway noise, but it did not bother us. You were on the honor system to fill out a registration card and make a payment after choosing your site. Pad was level asphalt and no privacy between sites. Lots of green grass and a nice walking trail that tracked along the river. Water pressure and electrical voltage were both good. Good for a quick overnight stay but not a destination park whatsoever. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
Huge sites! We stayed in the f loop and it was great! Was able to sett up our Direct TV dish in site f24. Great paved bike path along the Rogue river. Plenty to do and see in the area (we went to Crater lake for the day). the only negative is that it's right on I-5 and there is some traffic noise, other than that this is a great park! We'll be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$24
Rating is 7 only because the park has so much highway noise as it is situated along I-5. The campground is very park-like with nice grass, great walking and bike trails and all the sites have tables and fire rings. Loops B-E have sewer hook-ups but the sites are very congested. A loop is tent camping only . We stayed in F loop where sites are more spacious but have no sewer. Pads are paved but not level. Great staff and park rangers. We have stayed here before and will stay again if we return to this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$1
Rate is based on Oregon's vet-free for five days (this web site apparently doesn't accept "$0"). My rating may be higher than others because I had everything I wanted and they aren't available at all sites. My site was a long, level pull through that afforded me the smallest sliver of open sky which allowed my satellite to work for the TV. Cell service was outstanding but there is no longer any Wi-Fi as there used to be several years ago. The staff and volunteers were excellent (as usual) and kept the campground neat, clean and orderly. There was a healthy mix of RVers and tents (especially over Memorial Day weekend) with none of the noise frequently noted in state/local parks. The kids seemed to be well behaved and having fun. This is my favorite state park in the country and it lived up to my expectation - again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$24
A great state park. Easy access to the Grants Pass and Medford areas. This is our third time to stay here. Close to I-5, but is quiet at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$1
Overnight here (both ways) for the gazillion time on our way from Olympia to Calif & back. First time in "E" loop as most of the park still closed for the winter. Nice, level pull thru close to the bath/shower. Maybe too level, when we got up in the morning our site was a lake 3-6" deep. Aberration? It's been a La Nina winter everywhere! Best state park shower I've ever been in. We'll definitely stop here again, and again...Rate is disabled-Vet discount, standard is $20. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
Nice nice state park. Easy to get to and easy to get around in. Lots of grass and park-like setting. Met many nice people here and several had kids. This is an especially great place for kids as there's lots of room for them to run and play on the grass. Will stay again on our yearly trip! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
We love staying at the Valley Of the Rouge State Park. They take very good care of it. And the hosts are so nice. We enjoy going each year, and will be stying there on our way back home. So if you have not stayed here you will be and are missing a wonderful State Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
Not sure where the sewer sites were as they weren't in the F loop where we stayed. We had a nice long big site, we were visiting friends in the area so convenient. Very clean and well kept up, sprinklers were run on empty campsites and as soon as one became empty to keep the place nice and green. They had WiFi until July 1st but had so many complaints about it not working that they took it out. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
Great place to stay traveling down I-5. No need for reservations Sun - Thursday. Easy access. Full hookup sites are predominately back-in, some pull through. Quiet for location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
Very nice state park; nice hiking trail along the river; grass aplenty and paved sites; FHUs; friendly hosts and staff; will definitely stay there again; We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2010
$22
Arrived at midnight and left at 8am. No power to the site. Host said 1st day F loop open and many sites still shut down, although not supposed to be. Restroom was fine. Have used this park many times for I-5 overnight and will continue to do so. No gas on freeway for 20+ miles south. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$16
Oregon state parks are all very nice and well maintained. We would notice the highway sounds (I-5) during the day, but the volume dropped at night and not a problem. Wi-Fi in section D/E was very good; however there is an extra charge - One hour, daily, weekly or monthly. It make a great location to see the Ashland/Medford area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$16
One of my favorite parks in the country. Large paved sites surrounded by grass and mature trees. In season, lots of wild blackberries to pick. Very good electric power--it didn't sag much under load. There is a well maintained trail along the river. Excellent Verizon EVDO signal. Note: Wi-Fi is not available in the campground, only in the adjacent rest area. We stop at this park whenever traveling down I-5 in southern Oregon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
Nicely done state park. Large sites, lots of grass/trees/bushes, room to roam, a river, wildlife, trails, etc. Everything a state RV park should be EXCEPT the park is too close to I-5. The sites nearer the freeway can be very loud. NO site in the park, even the furthest from the highway is immune to roar off of I-5. Bummer - a super park except for this one major flaw. I would stay here again but only in the sites furthest from the road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
We loved our stay at Valley of the Rogue State Park and we cannot wait to return. The camp sites, restrooms, free showers, and coin laundry were all clean and well kept. The camp hosts were friendly and helpful. Although the campground is located on I-5, a large berm prevents nearly all traffic noise and from our camp site in C loop, we could not hear any traffic. A very nice trail runs along the river with access points for fishing, or if you're brave enough, swimming. The only down side is that the WiFi for this campground only seemed to work in the Rest Area, not in the actual campground. Overall, it is an excellent campground and we cannot wait to stay again! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
This is a very clean park - nice walking/jogging trail along the river. Large shaded sites. 88 full hookup - 59 electric & water and 21 tent sites. They also have yurts to rent; and according to website, 3 group tent areas. We enjoyed our 3 night stay very much. Be sure to make a reservation if you want full hook up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$15
Great RV facility except there is no TV, not even on your atenna. If you have satellite TV is available only if you are not blocked by trees. I rated this park a 9 only because of this reason. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
This RV Park is one of the nicest we have stayed in. We were very pleasantly surprised in every respect. The sites were huge and sealed as were the roads. The campground was beautifully laid out and maintained and very peaceful. The lawns between the sites were mowed and cleaned. There were back-in sites as well as pull through sites. We got very good Wi-Fi on our site but we were within short distance of the Wi-Fi antenna. The cost of the Wi-Fi was $8.00 per week or less per day. This is an ideal RV park for resting up when traveling from California into Oregon or as a destination park. We have done both. One can also travel from Valley of the Rogue straight through to Crater Lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
This campground is a wonderful stop. The facilities are very clean, the custodians are helpful, and we enjoyed the surrounding hiking and geocaching. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$15
Park had 1.25 walking trail along river. There are 88 full hookup sites, 59 electrical, 21 tent sites and 6 yurts. Most sites have 50 amp. Some sites are pull-throughs. Most are heavily shaded though in F Loop outside sites back onto a meadow providing for full sun. Lawns in between spaces. WiFi available for $7.99 week through roadconnect. Signal was weak to non existence at times. We arrived a day before reservation and host was friendly but not helpful in getting us to a site. Later a ranger came by and was very helpful in getting things changes so we could stay in same site for both days. Wonderful place to camp and right off I-5. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$20
Stayed here two weeks. Loved this park because sites were large with plenty of grass. Park was well maintained. Staff extremely helpful. All were camper and dog friendly. Some hiking trails nearby. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$18
Can't beat this park for a peaceful overnight while traveling down I-5. Sites are spacious, park is green. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$20
A really awesome state park. Many big rig friendly sites, as well as sites for smaller rigs. One of the few state parks I have seen with Wi-Fi service (fee). Caution on picking your site. There is NO cable TV here, and antenna will bring you ONE channel. So if you bring your satellite dish, bring the portable one, so you can move it out of the trees to get a signal. Great berry picking in season (August), and river trails along the Rogue River. Very friendly staff too. We love this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
We stayed in the "F" loop. I would stay in the F loop again. It does not have sewer (as the other loops do for the same price) but it has bigger spots and is quieter. All the spots in this park are really great. Paved spots surrounded by lots of grass, trees and brush and the near by (1/4 mile walk) Rogue river. Loved our stay here definitely would come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
This one of everyone's favorite Oregon State Parks and with good reason. Although close to the I-5 freeway, the sense is that you are in a particularly nice neck of the woods with wonderful trees and grassy spaces stretched out along the scenic Rogue River. This is a place that just demands you slow down and relax. It's not new. It's not super duper spotless clean. It's very comfy and seems to attract happy campers. Lots to do in the area but also a good place to hunker down. But beware! Make sure you check for ticks if you go out hiking. This can be Tick City when the conditions are right. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$18
Very nice and clean state park. We stayed in E loop which had huge spaces. Restrooms and showers very clean. Only downside was the park is right next to I-5 which at times was noisy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$16
Very nice park with access to the Rogue River. Convenient to both Medford and Grants Pass. The restrooms and showers were immaculate and the park was very well kept. The only negative is that there is some freeway noise, but it is not bad in the evening when the traffic dies down. We would certainly recommend this park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
We thought this was the best State run park we've ever stayed at. The staff were very nice, and the entire park was clean and well looked after. We were well rested after our stay here. Beautiful sounds from the river flowing by and there were plenty of berries to be picked from the bushes. Right off of the freeway but the noise from the traffic was not noticeable. I wish there was a dog run for the boys but there was plenty of space to walk them. We'll be back next year even though it was a little out of the way from where our family lives. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
Our favorite place on I-5. Huge spaces. Lots of trees. Big rig friendly with easy access and wide roads. One mile trail along the river. I recommend reservations through September if you have a big rig. It was full by 4pm on a Thursday. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
We have stayed here several times and will be back. It does have some traffic and train noise - but not enough to wake you up. WIFI does cost about $4 /day with a very weak signal (not worth it). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$26
This is a great state park. Even though the campground is right off of I-5, we could not hear the traffic. Plenty of green grass and large sites. Some have shade. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
We spent two night here. Very nice and well kept. Spacious sites. The only problem we had, and it was taken care of very well by the Rangers, were other dogs. Our 12 year old Eskimo was attacked by a little dog (on a long leash tied to a lawn chair). Luckily for me our dog was fine however, had he not been as hairy as he is the other dog may have broken through to the skin. Very scary. The Camp Hosts and the Rangers dealt with the culprits very professionally and came by several times to ensure our dog was okay. There were other dogs off leash as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$22
Though I almost hate to increase the demand for it, what a great park! First, I need to mention that there is Internet for the RV loops aside from F loop. You can get more information from the provider: http://www.roadconnect.net/. We payed a bit over a buck a day for a one-week subscription. This park has all the attributes you'd expect from a major public campground, lots of trees and grass, lots of space between spaces and loops, river access, and miles of trails. There are full hookups on all of the RV loops except F, which has electricity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$20
Great campground. The grass was a little toasty in spots. Large sites with plenty of room for slide outs. Each loop has several large pull throughs. Very large campground with good paved roads and paved sites. Not all sites have sewer hookups. TV is not very good. Even if you get a site that doesn't have shade it cools down at night. Nice place to ride a bike. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$20
Beautiful park! Friendly staff. Spacious sites, grass, trees, paved and nearly level. Only draw backs were site was soggy from watering the grass and not positioned well for satellite access. Wi-Fi access is available for $2 per hour, $4 per day or weekly/monthly rates. River is not seen or heard but easy access. We will absolutely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
Great park, friendly rangers, clean restrooms. The walk to the river was nice. We had a very sunny site, so had to use AC a lot. Would go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
Great park, friendly rangers, clean restrooms. The walk to the river was nice. We had a very sunny site, so had to use AC a lot. Would go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$22
Fantastic state park. Clean, well manicured and maintained. Helpful staff. Most sites large, lots of space between you and your neighbors. Great park hosts. WE LOVE THIS PLACE and have stayed here many, many times. Plenty of large, deep spaces for large rigs (ours is 42'). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$20
Wonderful State Park . Quiet and shady. Easy off and on the freeway. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$22
Beautiful campground. Hiking trails, fishing, playgrounds and dune access. Excellent for a family with any age children. No OHV access to dunes after May 1st though and tickets are given to those who try. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$22
Very pretty park. Nice restroom/showers. Early season so not in full operation. Some road noise from I-5, but no trains to disturb sleep. EZ on-line reservation system. We'd definitely stay here again, either as overnighter or longer stay. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2006
$16
Even though some of the park was closed for tree removal and rehab ,there were still enough sites to go around. The park is always maintained in excellent condition. Never have I had a problem fitting my rig is a site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$16
Paved pads, large grassy sites with mature trees. I-5 can be heard but it did seem muffled a bit. Loop F has laundry facilities, something I haven't seen at a state park. River trail and access for fishing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2005
$20
We camped here for one night on the way back from the coast. It may have been a long weekend, but the place was not as well-kept as we would have expected. The trash cans were all over-flowing. There were cigarette butts all over our site, and the lawn had not been mowed in a while. We were a little disappointed due to Oregon Parks high reputation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$20
This is a beautiful, clean and well-maintained state park, very convenient to Interstate 5 near Grants Pass. It seems to be very popular and was a good base for visiting Crater Lake and Oregon Caves National Monument. Very nice place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$21
This is a fabulous campground, especially for families. It has direct access to dunes for ATV and an awesome playground. It's a short walk to Cleawox Lake which has sandboarding areas,a swimming beach and dock, paddle boat and canoe rentals, and a convenience store. My kids loved it so much, we're going back next year in our new tent trailer. It also has yurts available. You can reserve your spot online through Reserveamerica and actually pick your location. We were very pleased. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2003
$21
Another great Oregon State Park. Summer season has boat rentals, fresh water fishing, swimming, Sand Dune Recreation. Has fire pits, playground and access to Salmon fishing. Winter provides access to the sand dunes from the back of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$22
This is an absolutely beautiful park. Manicured grass. Large sites. Clean. BUT, the traffic noise from I5 is unbearable during the night. I spent most of the night listening to trucks. It is a real shame as this is one of the most beautiful parks we have ever been in. Given the traffic noise we will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$20
Beautiful state park. Clean, large sites. Nice trails for walks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$20
This is the epitome of the Oregon State Parks.This is probably one of the nicest places I've ever stayed,ever.There are Yurts,nice tent sites and easy backin sites. Have stayed here in a tent,tent trailer and twice in the TT and will do so any time I can..Easy on and off the Freeway and great interior roads...Also easy access to the Rogue River for tubing and great fishing... BD41 We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$21
A fabulous park (but not on the beach). It's located 3 miles south of the Florence bridge and has so much going for it that you can forgive it for not being on the beach. Very large park, great for families. Have the kids (or you) bring bikes. Lots bike trails. Nice lake in the park with swimming beach, pedal boat rentals, kayak rentals and sno-saucer rentals. Yep, sno-saucers because on one side of the lake there are sand dunes that go straight down into the lake. It's great to trudge up the sand dune and then have a wild ride down into the lake! Small store with some supplies located in the Honeyman Lodge at the Cleawox Lake swimming beach. Some RV sites with hook-ups. Bathroom buildings (flush toilets!) located around the park. Some with showers. A couple of playgrounds located in the park. Nature center with Naturalist (in summer) with activities for the kids. Firewood sold in park. We always preferred to make our reservations in what we call the "older section" of the park. It just has more character and landscaping. All in all, a very beautiful park. Florence is a great destination. Located close enough to the Heceta Head Lighthouse, Sea Lion Caves, Newport Aquarium for day trips. Also real close to Dune City and sand dune buggie rentals. I don't recommend trying to navigate one yourself unless you are experienced at it. It's better to ride one of the 3 to 5 passenger vehicles where there is a driver who takes you on a delighfully wild ride to the tops of sand dunes and close enough to the ocean's edge to spray water in the air. Between the park and the Florence bridge, there is a great restaurant called Morgan's. Another good one is the Blue Hen Restaurant at the northern edge of town. Florence also has an "Old Town Florence" area that is full of great little shops to browse, great for kids and husbands too. Plus they have BJ's Ice Cream store there with fabulous homemade ice cream and the world famous MO's Restaurant. Try the small riverboat cruise up the Suislaw River, very nice. At the north end of town is a super-sized Fred Myers store with groceries. A nice Safeway store in town also. We have camped here for many, many years in tents, tent trailers and 5th wheels. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$24
Great park. We were by the entrance to the sand dunes. BIG hit with the kids. Good way to wear them out too. Lots to do and nice trails to walk along. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$24
Nice spaces. Lots of kids since there are lakes for swimming and fishing. Good access roads ans nice sized rv spaces. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com