219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort Stevens State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 85 user reviews. Phone: (503) 861-1671
CGID2334

Fort Stevens State Park

Camp Information
Sites
508
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   9   7   9   8   7   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
This park is HUGE!!!!! Beautiful park, and we would stay here again! Stayed here in a 36 ft 4th wheel. Had a pull-thru site! Lots of mosquito's, is the downfall. But, come prepared, with bug spray, you are good! Great shade! it rained buckets when we stayed here, so we didn't get to enjoy the park to it's fullest, but would stay again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
Beautiful park with lots to see and do. We lucked out and got a site with lots of grass and sunlight. Sites around the loops typically are more shady so not so much grass or ground cover. There is no WiFi or Cable and cell reception (Verizon) was so so. However, we really like this place as it is a WONDERFUL bike riding area with lots of trails. The kids were able to ride their bikes around the loops without too much concern for vehicles. I have never seen so many bike riders in a campground. The rangers in the office were very helpful and accommodating. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$36
Great Park, be advised, only half of the campground loops have a sewer hookup, so verify in your reservations if that is what you want. Lots of things to do, great tours of the Military historical area. They have, i believe around 15 miles of bike/hiking trails, campgrounds are within a mile of the beach. They also have a great dumping facility, can handle 3 vehicles at a time, so rarely backed up. Campgrounds themselves are fairly private, all have fire rings and picnic tables, most are pretty flat, although with over five hundred sites, not all are perfect. Restrooms and showers are stocked several times during the day, and always found them to be clean. This has to be one of my favorite parks/campgrounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$23
We camped here in RV and part of our group stayed in a deluxe cabin. This is a large park and they just built the deluxe cabins. The sites are private and have a good variety of pull through and back in sites. In October the Discovery season begins and the price is lowered to $23. There are many trails and many miles of great beach walking. The deluxe cabins are nicely constructed with sleeping for about 6 people; you must bring your own linens. The cabins include a small kitchen with microwave, fridge, and there is a gas BBQ outside. There is a TV and DVD but no reception you could hook up your own satellite. Deluxe cabins run $62 per night during discovery season, an excellent value. Clean and very well maintained park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
We camped in the M loop which was very busy, but privacy was pretty good and people observed quiet hours. The online reservation system allows you to actually see the site you are choosing and gives you dimensions. Our 25' travel trailer and megacab truck fit just fine hitched, and there was adequate room on the very shady site. It was, however, very damp while we were there, and nothing ever quite dried out. The park is huge, but has wonderful, mostly flat, mostly paved trails for biking and hiking, and a most interesting historical area in addition to good beach access. Our loop hosts delivered wood right to our site and were very helpful and friendly. Bear in mind that this is Oregon coastal territory and if you want sun, you may need to go inland a bit. There are many museums and historical sites nearby. Our Verizon Wi-Fi worked fine, but ATT phones not so much. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
Outstanding state park! Lots of paved bike trails to take you all over the park and to the beach. The RV sites are all shaded with huge trees and the park rules were observed, with respect to quiet hours. This is well worth a visit. Will go again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$27
A very large park with lots of campers and hosts. There's plenty to see and do in the area. Vegetation and trees abound in amongst the sites, which are somewhat close together but not bad. We enjoyed the historical aspects of the old military fort located here (there was a wonderful event being held here this weekend too, with WW II displays and persons dressed in American and German costumes available for answering questions -- it was a terrific addition to our stay in this State Park). While we didn't have our bikes along, there are many paved trails for riding. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$27
For a state park, this is still a great place with the bike trails and beach access. But it's so big that the restrooms, and especially the showers, get trashed by kids, families. We enjoyed a rare warm, sunny day and 3 cloudy ones but won't be back for awhile. Gets to be a zoo here in the busy summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
This is the largest state park west of the Mississippi River according to park rangers. And the size is both an advantage and disadvantage. The advantage is there are many wonderful programs for both kids and adults. There is a great beach with a shipwreck, historical site, ocean viewing area of the Columbia River Mouth and more. At the military museum, there are tours on an old Army "duce-and-a-half" truck that is great. The park's Coffenbury Lake offers fishing, swimming and Kyaking (by registration with the rangers). It is within a few miles of shopping at Costco, Fred Meyer, and some fast food places. Nearby Astoria is also a great place to visit as is Ft. Clatsop, where Lewis & Clark wintered. The bad news -- it is crowded, especially in the summer. Entire loops are reserved for family reunions and church retreats. As a result, it is hard to keep up with maintaining the bathrooms and showers. Volunteers try hard and are friendly. Depending on the group you are near, it can be quite noisy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
Good things: Large clean campground - large sites - nice personnel - clean restrooms - nice beach - excellent cell phone reception (Verizon). Bad things: Long distance to beach (1.5 miles from our campsite), shower facilities were clean but very old with the G loop having very lower water pressure and no ability to control water temp (some of the other loops had newer facilities). For those that camp on Oregon Coast this campground is nice but not in same league as Beverly Beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$23
We arrived on Thanksgiving and the park was busy. We even had to change sites for the 2nd night due to a reservation. The sites are mostly in the trees; however, I was able to run my satellite on the one site, not on the other. In winter time, I prefer the more open sites for more sunshine, but it was OK for us. Our Virgin Mobile didn't work here. The sites are pretty level on asphalt, but could be wider. Depending on the length of your RV, your choices are smaller the longer your RV is. The restrooms weren't clean on Thanksgiving because of too many people, but were much better afterwards. We loved the biking trails and used every one. Also, the visits to the Historic sites is well worth a visit if you are a little bit into history. We spent 5 nights and will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$23
This is a great campground with lots of things to do in the area. When we were there, off-season, there were only three loops open, one for reservations, one with full hookups, and one with water and electricity. Most of the sites are in very wooded, dark areas. As it was overcast and rainy and as we wanted to get satellite, we opted for one of the few open sites that happened to be in the water and electric sites. This site worked fine for us as we were only there three nights. The park has some great bicycle trails which we really enjoyed. Our Verizon phone and data card worked well here. Astoria is only a short distance away with lots of things to do. We only started to explore the area and will certainly try to make our way back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$24
What a gigantic campground. Well laid out, well maintained. Some spaces are very private and others are fully exposed, but that can be expected in a campground with 500 spaces. Restrooms are in every loop, but showers are in every other loop. Showers included with camp fees. Had free Wi-Fi at the Marlin Ave. laundromat in Warrenton which was a nice clean place to catch up on our dirty laundry and next to Fred Meyers grocery/dept store/gas station. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$23
This park is huge. We stayed in the H loop. Since it rained everyday we were there,we didn't go thru the other loops, except I which was very similar to H. There is very little grass here & so it was really muddy. The pads are narrow, so you end up stepping out of the rv into the mud. The H sites that back to the road were the best for grass. There is a beach & museum on the park site itself & you have easy access to many places for sightseeing, and plenty of shopping within 10 miles or less. We got good cell & our own wifi service in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
Very nice State park. Superior to California State Parks in general. Weather great during our stay. Spacious pull through site for our 40 ft coach. No cable, or WiFi. 30amps at our site. Picnic table and fire ring at site. Very helpful at check in. Stayed in a walk-in site, did not make reservation. Camp nearly full but very quite in the full hook up area we were in. Bat wing antenna reception good but only one network channel. Satellite not likely due to trees. Lots of day time activities available. Hiking, fishing, beach combing, wind surfing, bird watching. Great shopping close by. Well equipped RV supply store in town. Stayed three nights. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$3
Our 2nd stay here, previous was 15 years ago. Typical Ore SP- very nice & much better kept than Washington or Calif SP's. Long, correctly angled back-in site that would have been a breeze to get into if the knucklehead across the road hadn't left his mini-van parked in the road instead of his site. Weather was lousy, but that's not the park's fault. Water flow button in the shower didn't work. First time I've ever had a problem in an Ore SP. Only real issue was the trash- 1 drop site for a huge park, but it was the same @ South Beach earlier in the week, so it seems to be a budget thing that affects all the parks. Not fatal, just a hassle if you're there more than a couple days- we weren't. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
Very nice State Park with the best paved biking trails anywhere around. Mosquitos about ate us alive, so make sure you bring lots of repellent! Beach area is "ok" with a small parking lot. Cool retired Fort with some old gun turrets and buildings with a nice museum. Can't obviously give it a 10 because there is no pool or other amentities We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
We stayed here in May and again in June. May was wonderful. The place was only about 1/2 full and it was like camping in a forest that has real bathrooms. I was rainy, but this is the NW Oregon coast and it rains a lot here. June's trip found the place warmer and filled with lots of people on bikes, kids all over and dogs having fun. There were also billions of huge hungry mosquitoes everywhere. They really put a damper on things. We had lots of bug spray but weren’t terribly enthused about having to live covered in chemicals. The Ft Stevens area is filled with history and many interesting things to visit and there are small towns near by and the Oregon coast is just a “stone’s throw” from the park. We really like it there and will be going back in the cooler, mosquito-free times of the year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Very large park near Astoria. We had booked 2 nights here but only stayed one. The initial drive into the park leads you to believe its a huge grassy campground, but quite different at the loop we were in. It was very crowded and we were sandwiched between loud noisy all-night party groups. Spaces in our section were extremely close, all mud and weeds, and very noisy. Was eaten alive by mosquitos the minute I got out of the car. The area is very marshy and buggy. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$23
We stayed in H loop and all these sites were level and paved. Had lots of rain the first couple days we were here and our site was a mud pit. But overall we loved the park with lots of hike/bike trails. We managed to get 6 channels with the antenna. Lots of things to do close by besides Fort Stevens and the beach. Horseback riding was available @ $25/hour, which was available at the KOA campgrounds across the street. Astoria had the Column and the Maratime Museum with Seaside a close 15 minute drive south of Astoria. And Tillamook cheese factory is a tad over an hour south. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$23
The Fall is some of the best time to be on the Oregon coast campgrounds, great weather and also a slight discount in camp fees. This park is one of our favorites. Well actually, all the Oregon coast campgrounds are our favorites. We usually start down the coast around October 1st and end up in Brookings around the end of the month. I like this park because you have great access to the beach with the Jeep and some good clamming. Full Hookups and a great price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$23
Absolutely great state park! Beautiful sites of every type available. All paved roads and full hook ups. There are numerous trails throughout that go to the beach about 1/2 mile away. Plenty of room for every size rig. Rangers very friendly. Very few people this time of year so you have your pick of lots of sites. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$27
Gorgeous trails and overall nicely maintained. Beach access is not handy from most sites but getting there on the trails is part of the fun. Some are bike trails, paved. Verizon cellular service available, at least in H-loop. Would visit again and stay longer to further explore the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
This is a huge campground and was full for the night we stayed there. The staff and hosts proved very helpful. Recommended highly! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
Really like this huge park and the bike trails & beach but when it's busy, things get crazy in the campground. We were lucky to get a site without a reservation, but the campers nearby were rather rude. Kept walking AND bicycling through our site to the restrooms- we had to ask them not to, and also put up a sign on the picnic table. One woman was walking her dog without a leash for 2 days and even took him into the restroom. Told the hosts, but they never toured the loop- seemed pretty overwhelmed anyway by all the people. Sites were jam-packed with families and tents. Bathroom ran out of toilet paper; was pretty messy. Will come back and hope for better ambiance in loop, and even some sun. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
This is a very busy, very well run park. It was crowded, but extremely organized. Campsites were roomy and well placed for privacy. Definitely family friendly. Excellent camp hosts - firewood is delivered to your site. Bicycles seem to be the main mode of transportation. Fantastic beach is an easy one-mile walk from the campground. Very interesting historic fort site and interpretive center. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
We love Oregon state parks. We were able to stay at three during our June trip up the coast with no reservations. This was our third. It is a beautiful park with nice hiking and biking trails and a gorgeous beach. The park rangers are very friendly and helpful, and the sites are nice. If you can live without Wi-Fi (or bring your own 3G card) and laundry facilities for a little while, these parks are the way to go, and you can't beat the price. The only other downside is the showers which, like most state parks, use the "push button" system where one temperature fits all. I am also downgrading Fort Stevens from a "9" to an "8" because of the mosquitos. Swarms of them attacked us each morning and evening. They were the worst of any park I have visited. But I don't know if all of the sites have this problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$29
An excellent park with all the amenities. Close to the beach and fishing in the Columbia River. Lots of hiking and biking trails. Favorite park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
Very large park, but well-organized. Staff and hosts were very helpful. Close to many attractions, including great beach access. Especially liked the site layouts in small loops with shower/restrooms in the middle. Great paved hiking/bike trails. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
Very, very busy. Lots of kids. Nice sites. Showers are usually sandy (can't really be helped!). No Wi-Fi. I would go there again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
WOW! What a great campground. We camped here for a week and loved every minute. The paved bike trails were a huge hit with our kids. The Jr. Ranger program was a blast and the kids just loved playing for hours on the beach. The restroom/shower facilities were always clean and the park staff very helpful. We had such a great time we plan on making this an annual vacation. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$29
It is a nice park and even though it was full, the restrooms were fairly clean. Lots of dirt and include the rain, can be muddy. I only give the park a 5 because we had our cooler full of beer stolen along with 5 others in nearby campsites. There is a public road above where we were situated that gives these kids easy access. Apparently this happens 4 or 5 times a year by the local kids. They should really close this road off at night. I would recommend going there for the day. Lots to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
We had a tight to get into, back-in spot in the O loop, but with neighbors moving their tow vehicles, we got in. Our site was a 90 degree entry, where the other side of the road were angled for a much easier back-in. We had a w/e site, no sky for satellite TV. It was the July 4th holiday weekend, so the campground was FULL!!! Most sites had at least 4 tents. Kids, bikes, people everywhere; but a great campground. The showers were dirty, nasty human waste, but the staff did a good job trying to keep up with cleaning up. I felt sorry for them. The location was wonderful to tour Astoria and all the historical sites in the area. We enjoyed riding our bikes, of course, you really need to ride to get around, the park is huge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
Beautiful park. Very well designed to maximize individual site privacy. If you can do without cable TV, WiFi and phone service (Verizon did not work), then this is a great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
This campground was our maiden voyage in our new trailer. Nice facility which was pretty well maintained. Lots of shade trees which made the trailer get nasty pretty quick with the kids going in and out. Nice beaches are within a mile of the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
All the good stuff of other posters. It is a big lovely park. Being in the trees the picnic tables get moss & other stuff that likes damp & dark surfaces to grow on. Giving the tables a pressure washing a couple times a year would be a big help. Also, with all the variations of fire rings out there the ones here are all but useless. They are nothing but a section of steel pipe with a grate welded over half of the top. A cut out front would make a world of difference for effectiveness. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$18
Fort Stevens is a large state park located on the Pacific Ocean at the mouth of the Columbia River. Its 12 camping loops contain 174 full hookup and 302 electrical sites. Nearly all sites are shaded. The park offers miles of paved bike / hiking trails and easy access to the sandy Pacific beach at several points. The Fort, built to protect access to the Columbia has a small museum and several self-guided walking tours are available. Convenient to Astoria and the many historic sites in the area, the park makes an excellent base for exploration of the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$18
Beautiful park & campground! I wish all parks were like this one. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
Nice park overall. Clean and well maintained. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
We have been full-timing since 2005. This was our premier RV experience. Our 37', 2-slide RV plus tow fit (though barely) on the pull-thru site. Everything grew steadily better after that. This was our first trip to Oregon, so we were amazed at the lushness and privacy of the sites. Miles and miles of nearly empty and pristine beaches awaited us. Paved hiker-biker trails looked so inviting. There is fishing and a fresh water beach for non-ocean swimming. Part of the beach, away from people, is designated for motor vehicles. There is parking where the disabled can sit in their cars to watch the sunset over the Pacific. If you like to see the power of the ocean, go to the overlook at the waves crashing into the jetty. You can sign up to have wood delivered to your site, or flag down the golf cart that comes through a couple of times an evening carrying wood. Good Verizon reception for both phone and our Internet card. What a park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
Fort Stevens is a wonderful place to stay and enjoy biking, walking and relaxing. The scenery is amazing. The staff was friendly. The sites were all wooded and gave enough room so as not to feel crowded. Since there are 100's of sites, there are a lot of people, but it did not seem crowded. The only drawback to the large number of sites was that the bathrooms were both too small and too far apart to accommodate that large number of people, especially since many were tent campers. We would stay here again and enjoy the great Oregon coast. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
We stayed here on the beginning of our "101" trip. We are a family of 5 with 3 children ages 8 and under. What a fantastic park! The bike paths were absolutely the best! You can bike out to the old military site on a paved path and tour their museum and old jail then continue on to the beach and see the Peter Iredale shipwreck. All are within a 7-mile ride and all paved. The sites are all very well groomed and you don't have the feeling of being in a campground as big as it is because each section has it's own "loop" off the main road. There are some shrubs and trees in-between sites, but honestly not a ton of privacy from space to space. That was the only drawback. Still, much better than some of the sites we have stayed at that are out in the wide open. Although we didn't stay in a "full hookup" site, they do have some available and they also had a fantastic dumping station available to use. We would definitely stay here again! So very impressed with the Oregon State Parks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
Very large and busy Oregon State Park. Do not try to go without reservations in the busy season! It was very busy with lots of families, kids and bicycles all over. If kids bother you I would suggest you find somewhere else. There are around 7 miles of paved bike trails mostly fairly flat. Sites are paved, close to level and very shaded. Noted a lot of folks appeared to be having problems locating their satellite dishes. Most of the sewer hook-ups are the older style where the 90 angle is on the pipe and the hose needs to be put straight in to the pipe. Not a lot of screening between sites. Very gray and damp weather while we were there but very few problems with bugs. Real quiet at night but traffic noise started fairly early in the morning due to the proximity of sites to the loop road. Oregon State Parks have moved all their refuse containers to a central location: in our case, it was too far to walk to the location. Everything seemed neat and clean. $6.00 reservation fee for online reservations. Would stay here again. The Maritime museum in Astoria is worthwhile: figure a couple of hours to do it all. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
This is our favorite campground. We have stayed here every year since buying our trailer. We love being nestled under the tall pines. The park rangers and volunteer staff are all knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. We enjoy all of the activities the area has to offer. We recommend this park to everyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
Sites not as spacious as some of the Oregon State Parks we've visited, but this place has it all. A nice little lake, stunning beach, miles of hiking and biking trails, close to Astoria, a very interesting town, and a very well run and clean place. We were lucky to get in as it is very popular. Weather was pretty wet for mid June, apparently that is not unusual. Highly recommended, particular for the hiker/biker. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Great family campground destination. The campground was full the two days we stayed there, so making reservations is best. We were in the full hook ups in Loop-I. Some sites are level and some are not, just luck of the draw unless you've been here before. Lots of trees, but we still received five antenna TV channels. Wifi Cafe across the street from the Park entrance is operated by KOA at $5 per 30 minutes, ugh. Better to go into Astoria, there are three coffee shops on Commercial Street that have free Wifi. Looking for a seafood lunch or dinner, try the Ship Inn Restaurant on 2nd Street in Astoria, it was great. Family campground, so kids on bikes everywhere. Restrooms and showers were clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
Nice park, trails, beach access, overviews of the river and ocean. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
Great park and location. Lots of bike/walk trails. Can walk to lake with lots of picnic areas. Used satellite with no problems, however, friends with a Motorhome were unable to get satellite reception. Got a couple channels with regular antenna. Many different types of sites to accommodate all types of rigs. We didn't have a full hook up so it took a while to dump at the dump station at the park. That was the only downside. The best shower ever: hot and lots of pressure. Close to Astoria and Seaside. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2009
$22
Very pretty, wooded park. We had one of the few pull-thru sites but it was not great for privacy because of this. Park was very crowded and we found it to be excessively noisy. Did not allow us to stay outside much. We ended up leaving most of the days and seeing the Fort nearby, canoed on the lake and went into Astoria for dinner as well. Great location with lots to do but not a great place to go if you are looking to enjoy some quiet outdoors. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$18
Oregon State Parks are the Best. This park lies pretty close to the mouth of the Columbia River. It has great campsites, and close to Astoria, if you need a town to visit. What a bargain; I'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2008
$18
Many sites are small and will not accommodate larger rigs. Do not expect to get satellite reception, even with a portable dish. After several hours of searching for a signal with my portable dish, the park ranger came by and moved it because my cable went across a path next to our site (even though I secured the cable to prevent anyone from tripping). And, TV reception with the bat wing antennae was terrible. It is a nice park within walking distance to the beach, just be sure to consider the downsides if you want to watch TV during your stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
This was a wonderful campground. We found that it had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. We had a site with water, power and sewer. It was very quiet and the sites are very nicely sized! Everyone is very friendly and there was excellent access to the beach and some great walking paths. The bathrooms were clean and well maintained. The only drag for us was the spotty Cell phone coverage, but you know, that can be a blessing too. :-) If you want a place to relax, this is the place. If you want to have a place where you can keep a constant eye on the kids, the KOA might be a better place. If you want them to go explore, this is the place to be. If you want a place free of dirt, you won't even find that at the KOA so you may need to go to some place in Astoria, but if you don't mind a little dirt (sandy in texture) this is the place for you. We will definitely be back here again, next time for longer than 3 days! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
Very large park. You need a couple of days to fully explore just the park. We also went into historic Astoria, excellent maritime museum. Park is well treed as mentioned. Keeps things cool, some would say cold. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
Wonderful camp area with old growth trees, asphalt walking/biking trails, very clean bath/showers and tons of things to see. Our site was nestled in the trees and shrubs, couldn't put out the canopy, but we didn't need to! The shade is so dense that it is several degrees cooler here than in the sun. Campground was pretty full, but it was very peaceful and quiet. A host comes around everyday with firewood to purchase, how convenient! The only draw back to the sites is that they slope toward the front, making leveling a bit more difficult. But the view out the windows gives you the feel of being deep in the forest - just breathtaking. The beach is a bit of a walk down a paved path and the reward is a super nice beach with the shipwreck of the Peter Iredale on the shore. There is a lighthouse up the way and a lovely lake. Bikes are very popular around here and everything is very well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2008
$27
Some would rate this campground a 10, and others much like I have. We got the last site at noon on a Thursday, and could only book for one night. That was no problem. There is no clear sky for DirecTV, poor Sprint phone service and our site was much like most state parks and tipping in one or another direction. Not all sites this park are like that however. It was very quiet with no barking dogs as in many parks. We are in a 38 foot motorhome. As travelers and not campers - we would not come back here or stop at any Oregon State Campgrounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$22
One of our favorite state parks to camp in both Oregon and Washington States. Great access to the beach and miles of bike/walking trails. Lots of attractions at Fort Stevens and it's military museum. Short drive to Astoria, Seaside, and Cannon beach. Large grocery/retail stores within a 10 minute drive. Camp sites can be muddy when it rains. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$22
This park is huge! I thought that the campsites were a bit too close together and the beach is far away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
Our last trip to Fort Stevens was in the mid 1980s. On this trip we were in the old part of the park, and not much has changed over 20 years. The new entrance center office and parking lot is very nice. The staff was very friendly and efficient in checking us in and changing one of our reserved campsites to get our group closer together. Our sites had water and electricity only, which was fine given that there are sink water disposal basins spread throughout the loop. Carrying a few buckets of gray water when necessary is fine with us as long as the distance is short. The centralized garbage and recycling was new to us, as there used to be garbage cans spread around the loops. The restroom in our loop didn't have showers, and it was about as clean as possible given its age, traffic level and reduced park staffing. We have always considered the Oregon state parks to be some of the best, and this visit to Fort Stevens supported that opinion. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
This is one of the best campgrounds I've ever been in. The roads and the spaces are paved. There's over 15 miles of hiking/biking trails. Reservations are a must on weekends but during the week should not be a problem. I would have given them a 10 rating if they had WiFi/Cable but you really don't need it, you're going to be busy enjoying yourself. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$23
We enjoy this park for all the trails to walk the dogs or ride the bikes. If you don't want to be around tons of kids this is not the park for you. It's a huge place with great wildlife. We stayed a week and still didn't have enough time to see everything. All the sits have lots of bushes and trees around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
Very nice park in the Astoria area. The only place to stay in this area of the coast. Very clean for a state park, with check in staff very helpful and courteous We would definitely stay here again, the M loop seems to be one of the best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
One of the best State parks we have stayed in! Pull throughs will accommodate big rigs (we have a 37 foot 5'er and my brother a 40 foot Class A). Plenty of grass for pets. Lots of things to do and see in the area. No cable TV or Wi-Fi is why this park doesn't get a 10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
Very nice check in, and great interior roads. They even have Yurts. Some shower buildings are new some are older, so it is hit or miss. They were clean, and the showers are free, and in our building very hot. Renovations are going on, but some sites will be tight for a large rig. All sites I saw are under trees so expect droppings and messy sites with leaves and flowers/seeds but still a nice park We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$24
This is not really a campground for a Big Rig. Yes, you can get around, and yes, you can get into a site; however, the paved area is the same width as your rig and the rest, when it rains, is mud. Not a good situation for keeping your "home" clean. The delightful part is being able to enjoy a campfire and quiet time with your spouse. There are also interesting things in the area to see. We would not do it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$26
This was a really nice state park! Sites were big enough for slide-outs and fairly private from neighboring sites. Easy access. The beach is a mile or so away so we drove. Many rode bikes. We were in site L51. Ample trails to walk. Lots of kids! We would return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
Great park, lots of paved trails to ride bikes. Bring lots of bug spray and recommend several mosquito repelling candles or products. Fred Meyer and Costco are close but were sold out of bug stuff. We loved the camp ground and neighbors were friendly and respected boundaries. Quiet at night. We camped in Loop N. From what we heard N and O are the most "buggy". We'll stay away from these loops in the future. Rained most of the time. West side of loop timbered and dark. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
It just doesn't get much better than this. Fort Stevens is a must see if going to Oregon. There are great bike trails, an enormous beach with easy access by bike or car, and the sites are laid out with plenty of privacy. Astoria is a short drive away. Our family of 5 loved it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
We camped here for 2 nights and enjoyed it very much - except for the mosquitos! Tons of them all day and night long! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
Part of the world class Oregon State Parks, Fort Stevens is probably as good as it gets for combining recreation and camping. There are miles of bike trails, miles of ocean access, acres of nature, a lake, fishing, ancient archeological sites. Amazing. Even though this park is as big as it gets in Oregon, you will still be camping. Don't expect to find paved everything, and do expect to find trees that will probably block that satellite TV, though regular TV works in most if not all of the park. The new showers/restrooms are wonderful, but the old cinderblock jobs are always cleaned many times a day. Camp hosts clean every site when you leave, so the sites are always tidy. And there is a host in every loop, so things never get too out of hand. Those who make a racket can expect a Ranger visit during quiet times. We had a group of teens who got the boot during our stay. No fooling around here! The mosquitos are in fact merciless - but some good spray will deal them a blow. Choose sites that have wind and sun, like we do, and they go away. Fort Stevens is a social event, so if you don't like people, you may not like it here. Expect kids, dogs, cool retro RV's (they are all the rage in Portland) Expect to meet some folks, and get your RV checked out by bikers, walkers, and the occasional squirrel. Bring your bike! If you don't have one, you are missing out on a big part of what this Park has to offer. The KOA up the road rents them - but we haven't tried them. Ride the trolley: There is is trolley in nearby Astoria that is an absolute hoot to ride. Your kid or kid inside will LOVE it. Park at one of several public lots along this waterfront line and ride the whole route. Tons of fun. I suggest parking at the Maritime Museum. Take that in, then go for a ride. Eat lunch at any of the trolley stops. Safeway has good sandwiches for about $4.99 as a suggestion. (We like them.) Children can be a challenge to contain. There are so many kids in the park that yours will want to check out the neighbors, and play play play. This park has bigger loops, and a wide center spline, thus some drivers go too fast. Keep an eye on your little ones as they enjoy their playing - and seniors should be more aware of this hazard. We can go three days with our set-up, so we seldom do a full hook site, as they are harder to get into, and are more "well loved". With electric and water sites there is much less wear. Of note - don't believe the prices quoted on some of the reviews here - there are only two for RV camping: $18 off peak and $22 during peak. Check the OPRD website for details. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$34
Very nice park but when we were there; there were kids everywhere. Each RV section has a host and they are very nice. The only negative comment I'd make are the bugs, but then again there isn't much you can do about that. Check in was easy and it was nice to see a host driving around with firewood for sale. My wife and I love camping here and have done it many times. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$16
Huge, well-run SP. The facilities were fine and the trails maintained. Though the kids could be noisy on occasion, the park is big enough to get away from everything if you wish. Price-wise, it's a bargain and a good base to sightsee the surrounding area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
This state park was okay, but not the best. We ended up spending most of our time outside the park. There's a great maritime museum in Astoria with the best fish & chips stand right across the street. But the park itself wasn't as well maintained as I expected for an award winning park. The bathrooms were a bit rank and the sites were a bit too forested. Perhaps when it's not raining and it's warmer, it's a more enjoyable place. But I won't be going back. I'll find another spot to camp when in the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
This park is by far the nicest and largest of the Oregon State Parks we visited. It is gorgeous. Nice bike and walking trails go throughout the park. We had a very level, large, private pull thru site. Although this park was large, it was very quiet. Bring mosquito spray and a lot of it if you plan to stay here. The activities near by are perfect distance too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$24
We had site #231, a paved back-in with some slope just big enough for our 30 ft class A; 50 amp electric and water. Our loop was jam packed every single night (we arrived on a Wed) so it was crowded and noisy. Other loops were not nearly as crowded the weekend we stayed but when we made our reservations there were only a couple of loops available so they ended up being very cramped with absolutely no privacy whatever. The Lewis and Clark NP sites are easy to visit from this park. The dump station was easy to access and well set-up with three dump ports but very busy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2006
$27
Kids kids everywhere! Kids and parents did not respect boundary of campsites. They rode their bikes, and walked to the restrooms and showers unapologetically, all over our site. Oregon has some great state parks -- this was definitely one of the most beautiful. But if you are in a high-line motorhome and want your space -- this is not for you. Ours is a $.5million rig and there were lots of gawkers who walked right up to the rig -- even some kids camped out right outside watching our movies through the windows, and many kids riding their bikes too close onto our site for comfort -- reminded us of a cheap KOA. Reminds us of why we usually choose private RV parks and resorts! Moved after one day. WOULD DEFINITELY NOT RETURN. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
This is a very nice State Park with a store and laundry facilities. Fairly roomy sites although we didn't have any privacy like you can have in some campgrounds. There was no road noise which was nice. The sites in the N loop were back-ins with only tall trees between sites. Lots of things to see in the area and a good area to shop if you need to stock up. There's a Costco in Warrenton with great gas prices, Fred Meyers is just down the street with good prices too. I would have given this a 10 if there had been some sort of barrier between sites. We would come back here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
Stupendous! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2005
$20
One of the best state parks on the west coast. Great for cycling. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$22
We LOVED this campground. Bring your bikes! We wish we had! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$22
This is a great park for anyone: families, small groups, fishing buddies, and so on. Sites are numerous, divided from the rest by shrubs and brush in most cases. Miles of bike paths, lots of Ranger activities for the kids as well adults. Easy walk or bike ride to the beach. Historical site of Ft. Stevens is nearby. Great fun and lots to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2005
$24
We have camped here 5 years in a row. Each time there was a problem with campers around us. We experienced loud parties late into the night, people drinking and then throwing up in the bushes, large dogs running loose and attacking other dogs, fights, racing motors and scary behavior. The rangers (and their aides) do not monitor camper behavior. They leave it to the Oregon State Troopers. The troopers do come when called but their response is not timely. We gave up trying to stay here and now stay across the street at a private campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2005
$18
Great state park. Good sized sites. Park is well maintained. Restrooms and shower rooms were clean. Have stayed here a couple times. Will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$18
Very friendly staff/volunteers being this was our first trip we needed help. Volunteers were more than happy to help. Camp grounds are clean and well maintained. Wife and I stayed here with friends for three days (April 2004). Take plenty of bug spray, lots of mosquitoes. Only negative comments: Dump station was DIRTY, garbage cans are not located nearby, you have to drive down to them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$20
This is Oregon's flagship state park and it is huge. Sites are a nice size with lots of trees and bushes. There are an incredible array of activities to fill your days- fishing, biking, beachcombing, fort tours, Lewis and Clarke fort exhibit, lake swimming, and much more. Also towns of Cannon Beach, Astoria, and Seaside all close and worth a visit. Obviously, this is a VERY popular campground so don't even try on summer weekend without reservations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
1999
$20
This is a great place on the Oregon coast. It is packed in the summer so reservations are a must or you may not get in. Tons of trees. Hiking and biking trails. Lakes nearby. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com