219083 User submitted reviews online!!
Farewell Bend State Recreation Area was rated 8 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (541) 869-2365
CGID2336

Farewell Bend State Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
123
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   7   9   8   8   7   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
Rate includes online reservation fee. As others have said, lots of grass, close to the historic Snake River, easy access to/from I-84, but very quiet. The B loop has mature hedges between most of the sites, which provides some modicum of privacy, but not a lot. We could get no antenna TV, our satellite would not connect, Verizon phone had frequent dropouts, Internet via our Verizon hotspot worked but was very slow. I wouldn't call this a "destination" resort but rather a nice place for overnight or so. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$17
Winter rate in October, so it was really great, only about 6 sites in use. Very pretty, clean, quiet HOWEVER - part of the park closes at the end of October. No amenities near by, 25 miles for gas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$17
Camping among nice tall trees and grassy area. Sights are on or close to the river. Close to the expressway but quiet. A family park. Easy to maneuver in and out. Lots of play areas. No internet and fair phone reception. In the area we camped in (Antelope loop) there were only two potties and two showers for 40 campsites. This is why I only rate them an 8. Looks like good fishing and do have fish cleaning area. They do recycle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$22
We have a 40' motorhome and stayed in the Catfish Loop. The Brownlee Loop has more trees and 10' hedges along the sites giving some privacy but for a big rig we would recommended the more open, Catfish Loop. We only had 30A and it was 90 degrees so 50A would have been better for our two air conditioners. We had good Verizon phone and internet. The river/reservoir was very low at this time of year. There is a dump station and boat ramp. The park is one mile from the interstate making it a good overnight stop. However, other than fishing there isn't much else to do in the park or the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$1
Nice park; camp hosts were very friendly. Does not have sewer connection but has an easy to access dump site. Plenty of grass and an enclosed off-leash dog run. Sites were easy to access; the lower sites on the river was closed due to time of year when we were there. Only downside was lots of stickers to get stuck in dogs fur, but nature is nature. Didn't try to access satellite TV, so no idea if that's available. Rate is for disabled vets; if you are a disabled Vet, Oregon's state Parks have a great FREE program for in or out of state veterans We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
A very nice campground with a nice layout for all types of recreational vehicles. Level, paved roads and sites with picnic table; I'm not a big fan of bugs and there were many, as the Park is located near a reservoir. I've stayed at a couple of Oregon State Parks and I feel the state does a good job at maintaining them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
We've stayed here several times on our way through this part of Oregon. This is a large park with several campground loops, each with its own character. We like to stay in the loop that is closest to the river because so many of its sites have great views across the river to the hills on the other side. It can be quite windy in this loop though because it is more open than the other loops. This is an historically interesting park because it is situated on the spot where the early pioneers on the Oregon Trail left the Snake River and thus it became known as Farewell Bend. We would stay here again for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
This is a nice campground with access to the river. Restrooms and showers were okay, but there are a lot of kids in the park this weekend. RV spots are very nicely spaced apart and big. We have stayed here before and use this as a park to stop on our way home from a long day's drive. Highly recommend if you are planning to simply relax and enjoy the outdoors. No city or businesses to get supplies. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$17
We stayed here for a night. The park is easy to get to and from I-84. The park was quiet; there weren't a lot of campers since it was the off season. The interior roads and sites are paved. The road in the main loop is narrow due to bushes encroaching. The majority of the pull through sites are on the inside of the main loop. There were two located along the closed loop. There are only a few that are level (74, 77, 55, 120, & 80). The back in sites are on the outside of the main loop. They would be difficult to get into and out of due the angle and narrow road. Sites only have water & electricity (50A), no sewer hook ups. They all had a campfire ring and outside table. Not much privacy between the sites. The main loop is shaded with trees everywhere. The trees encroach on the road and sites. Opening slides could be difficult. Some sites (previously identified) offer a view of the southern sky to get satellite reception. Verizon internet was weak and it was really slow. There is a fenced pet area. It was a grass area located down in the day use area at the other end of the park from the campground. It had containers for waste disposal. The geese had adopted the area. There were paths along the river for walking the dogs. We didn't use the showers or laundry room. The park is satisfactory for a short stay while traveling along I-84 but we recommend only those sites previously identified. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$17
Another great Oregon state park. Sites are spacious, shaded with both back-ins and pull throughs - all large enough for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$17
Great value in late March at 17.00 per night. Very scenic. Convenient to the interstate but removed enough from it to avoid the road noise. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
We have stayed at this park during the off season when most of it is closed, as well as stopping for a lunch break in the day use area. This time we were able to take advantage of the other camp area and found it to be a great place to stop. The staff is very helpful and friendly, recycling bins are provided in the camp area, and the sites are nicely kept up. Our site was a back-in, and our traveling companion used a pull-through (22' motorhome with a 20' car trailer...no problem with the length). There were many campers with boats, and also some people fishing. One of the camping loops was quite full, probably because there were many large shade trees, but the furthest loop, where we camped, was very quiet and pleasant. The "swimming beach" is marginal and very rocky, but still enjoyable for a quick dip. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$22
One of my favorite parks. Very quiet and had a river view. Pulled in a few over the air tv stations from Boise. If you have a boat, this is one of the places to be. There are so many campsites from which to choose that I've never had to make a reservation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$22
Our first stay here. What a relaxing park. Easy to get around in, sites are spacious and very well spaced. A nice river view or a site in the trees. We will definitely come back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$21
This park has limited electric sites. Has lots of flies in October. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
Very quiet park. We like the Catfish loop the best because it has good views of the Snake River. Water is incredibly low this summer though, so was a bit disappointed. Horses kept wandering though the campsites this time around. Fun! Water and electric are good, no sewers, but there is a dump. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
Nice for a state campground, paved sites, quiet and private. No TV stations, or WiFi but we were only over nighting. Beware of the rattlesnakes, a big one with 13 rattles was found the week before we were here so be sure what you pick up is your hose or electrical cord and not a snake. Walk around at night at your own risk. If in the area we would stay here again, but inside at nights! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$22
For a state park where most sites only have 20 amp power, a little pricey. The inside sites of Antelope loop are a bit tight for a larger rig but the outside ones are plenty long enough & roomy. Each site is separated by a 7-9' hedge, but open to the back, giving great privacy. Wonderful camp hosts when we were there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$13
We stayed here three nights. Antelope Loop is the only loop available during the winter, on a first-come, first-served basis. We had a nice W/E site next to the showers. Use of showers included in the rate. Camp hosts and rangers available if needed. Firewood available. Dump station available for a donation. We enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$17
Very nice setting. Paved roads and sites with plenty of grass. From the site we were in, we had a good view of the river. We have stayed here before and will every chance we get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$22
A nice park with a convenient location for folks traveling along I-84. many of the folks in the park were fishermen and judging by the catfish we saw at the fish cleaning station, they were enjoying success on the Snake River. Mosquitoes were a bit of a bother especially during times of calm wind. During our 2 day visit, most all spaces were full including some occupied by large tenting groups which at times were a bit noisy. There are two principle campground sections for RVs. The older Brownlee Loop is much more woodsy with mature vegetation. The newer Catfish Loop is far more exposed and less charming but had bigger sites, an important note since the older section sites required adept maneuvering to back into and many were suitable only for smaller rigs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$15
As with all Oregon state parks, this one is another winner! Very large with rolling green lawns, a veritable forest of trees and open sites looking out over the Snake River. There is a huge boat ramp and docks available for boating and fishing on the Snake as well as lots of beach shoreline for bank fishing and just plain wading and walking barefoot. Lots of folks flying kites here over the river from the sites above. This is a very important historical site as well for the Oregon Trail and is chronicled in the park. One can also camp overnight in a teepee or a covered wagon. Beautiful and relaxing place! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$17
Nice park on the Snake River. Sites were spacious and some were shaded. Must be a popular place as many spaces were reserved for the upcoming weekend. Fenced pet exercise area is too far from the camp area to be at all useful. Would have rated it higher but the mosquitos were vicious! I expected some since camping near water but a control system needs to be instituted. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$14
Great State Park sited where the emmigrants left the Snake River and began a long overland journey to the Blue Mountains of Washington and Oregon. The CG is near the Oregon Trail Interpretive Center out of Baker City, Oregon, which should not be missed. Also is the "Gateway" to Hells Canyon and a mecca for rockhounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2006
$13
In winter months, much of this park is closed. Even when it's open, it doesn't appear there are more than one or two pull-thru spots. We found a corner, back-in spot we could use as a pull-thru. Arriving after dark makes finding a suitable spot very challenging and the camp host was off duty. This park is far enough off the highway to be peaceful and the river-front location with plenty of trees is lovely. There were 30+ campsites on the loop that remains open during the off season and only one bathroom with one toilet and shower (one M one F), so it appears access could be an issue when more than a handful of sites are occupied. This makes a nice overnight stop and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$18
This CG is in a great location with views of the Snake River. Many sites are large and well separated from neighboring sites. Highway and train noise is minimal. The only major negative was the poorly engineered dump station. Many larger RV's will be angled away from the dump location due to the location on the brink of a hill. Otherwise this is an excellent park in an area of few other choices. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$22
Enjoyable park, 1 mi. off I-80. Fuel & truck stop near-by. Great scenary off wind swept valley of snake river. Park is located at pioneer crossing site of snake river. Great cat fishing! B loop can be very windy and is newer section. A-loop heavly treed but too tight for big rig to park. Staff at park very friendly. I've stayed here numerous times and never seen the park full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$17
This park is near Ontario, Oregon. It has lots of recreation with a boat launching area. It was very windy and only some sites have any shade. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$13
Typical outstanding Oregon State Park. Very large sites with grassy areas. This review for Loop B only, the only loop open in April. Loop A was closed, but is much greener and shadier. Only 5 occupants on my visit. Great view of wide Snake River..railroad across the river gave nostalgic and soothing sounds at night, waterfowl and songbirds in the morning. Only drawback...they were cleaning the restrooms at 7:30 AM, what I considered a high volume time. I was going to say something until I saw the word "inmate" across the back of their uniforms...maintenance apparently performed by nearby corrections facility. They do a great job. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com