218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Goose Lake State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (541) 783-2471
CGID2341

Goose Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
48
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   7   8   9   9   9   6   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
Electrical is a 15 amp connection which was placed awkwardly so it was difficult to use our portable surge protector with the required 15 to 30 amp adapter, so we hooked up without it. Fairly level gravel spot with grass adjacent. Spaces are nicely spaced and good sized. Nothing spectacular here except that it is nice and quiet and the crowd was older and there were not the usual children running about that you find this time of the year. We were greeted by the friendly camp host. A nice quiet place to spend the night. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
What a beautiful campground! Private spaces on the perimeter with lawn area under shade trees and a view out to the mountains and the valley - perfect. Too bad the restrooms and showers are not kept clean. Must have been a week's worth of paper in the trash container in the restroom, and bits of toilet paper stuck to the floor. There are two sets of hosts on site for a rather small campground so I would expect the restrooms cleaned more frequently. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
Great stop-over Oregon state park. Electric at the sites is 110V20A; however site #15 has a 30 amp plug (only one). Lots of wildlife around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
Like any Oregon SP, it is nice, this one is very quiet; but also a quieter part of Oregon. It is located just West of Hwy 395 right at the border with California (Little community calls itself New Pine). It is Big rig friendly with 20 amp service, water, and a dump station. There are 'resident' mulies [deer] who love the apple trees, as well as California Quail. We went in search of Sunstones [Oregon State Gemstone] -- note, use directions from the BLM website as if you were coming from South if you go there..that route is well-marked; we tried from the North and got lost and about ruined our jeep tires! Not to be missed is the rockshop across 395 from the CG. It has glorious obisidian (rainbow, blue, pink lady); staff's knowledgeable, fun and helpful ... oh, did I mention reasonable prices for obsidian specimans. We so enjoyed our visit there that we did NOT go to the public Modoc rockhound area in California like we had intended! Also just to the South a mile or so is a quaint 'Wild Plum Winery' ... with wine tasting in a cute barn-like building, again reasonably priced and tastings are free. The Rock Shop isn't big rig friendly, just go in your dinghy; but you can pull an RV (ours is 40') right into the Plum Winery. We certainly enjoyed our 3-day stay and will be back should we ever happen to this area again. Restrooms are as clean as can be given the poor condition of the tiling in showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
Although the restrooms are very, very run down (indicative of almost nonexistent state funding), this park is extremely serene and quiet. About 1/2 mile before park entrance is a private home /garden oasis on the south side of the road. The lady there sells fresh veggies and eggs. Yummy: we bought beans, tomatoes, cukes and eggs. Stock up there rather than the Safeway in town. Farm fresh! Camp sites are shaded. It was after Labor Day when we camped, so the park was relatively empty. If is was full, it might be a bit too crowded. Avoid the vault toilet behind site 22. It is a mess!!! Use the shower/flush toilets by the camp hosts. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
We just completed a month here as camp hosts. Our first time in the area, but there is so much to do a month is hardly enough time. Rock hounds will like this park as a home base. Obsidian and Sun Stones are only two of the rocks available. Great fishing in nearby CA lakes. Wi-Fi is really iffy as is cell service unless your have Verizon. Super quiet park. Lots of green grass early in the summer. Can dry out as irrigation water stops flowing. Fall is a great time to watch the deer waiting for apples from some of the parks trees. Lots of shady spots for even the largest MH's We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
This is a very nice, clean, quiet, pleasant State Park Campground. It does not seem to be used as a destination CG, but one where campers stay one night, then move on. It is easy access off of 395 and easy to get to and maneuver in. Take an evening stroll down to Goose Lake to watch the birds or stroll around on some of the easy trails in the park. The park staff and camp hosts are very pleasant and helpful. Other reviewers noted unlevel sites, but we certainly had no problem in a nice long, level site. We would defiantly stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
Nice State Park. Lots of green grass and very quiet. We stayed only one night because we were on our way to Idaho, so really didn't get to do much in the way of recreation. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$23
This is a very isolated state park in the high desert of eastern Oregon. When the literature says reservations are never needed it means just that. We were there during a holiday weekend and the park was about one quarter full. Weather was bad with wind and light snow but talking to the locals this is not unusual for this area in May. Sites are long and wide but do require some leveling. 20 amp service and water at each site. There is little to do in the area but bird watch and relax. One note of caution regarding the access road. The park is about 1 mile from hwy 395 right on the OR/CA state line. About half a mile in from the main highway there is a sloping power line crossing the road. My rig is slightly over 13 ft high and going inbound to the park I did not notice it but when riding my bike out the road I saw that it sloped enough that it might have been a problem if I stuck to the south side of the road going out. When I headed outbound I just slid over to the opposite side of the road when I approached the line and encountered no problem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$16
We stayed here for one night. This is a beautiful, quiet state campground. The campgrounds are in a loop and you choose an unoccupied site and deposit the fee in an envelope. I was pleasantly surprised to find water and 20 amp service at the site. I expected nothing. There is a dump station that has a clean out hose at the entrance. It was sparsely occupied at the time, but the leaves were changing colors which made for a nice sight and deer were seen all around. I just wanted a place to rest for a night before driving on, but I wish we had stayed longer. The sight was long enough to leave my truck hooked up and not be in the road. I definitely would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$23
This was a very nice campground. I stopped here on my motorcycle and the hosts were very friendly and accommodating. The host came by and we chatted for hours about our trips to different places. The park was clean and well kept. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$16
As earlier visitors have noted this a non reservation CG but doesn't get the traffic on 395 to usually be a concern. Others have commented accurately on the amenities. Spring and Fall are great times to be here as Goose Lake is about 200 yards away and the air and water are full of migratory birds. Not a bad base to use to explore the region. Park has added some interior trails since we were here last. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$16
Nice secluded area within walking distance of lake. Well kept up, no reservations, sewer dump available at site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$12
Very nice park. The park has a wilderness feel, lot's of deer, birds, etc. Great territorial views of mountains and lake. Dump station has good access. Roads and sites are paved. Each site has a fire ring, 20 amp. electrical service, water and picnic table. Park is actually located in the town of New Pine Creek,OR. 15 miles south of lakeview,OR. Park closes for season on 10/10/2005. Reservations are not needed because very little use being in the middle of boonies. Park is one mile west of hwy 395. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2005
$16
Very scenic, lots of birds to entertain you. Quite windy when we were there. We chose a protected site to make it tolerable. Showers had great water pressure and adjustible temperature. Middle of summer would probably be a better time to visit. Dump station available in park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2004
$12
This is a wonderful park. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Its not a busy park, we had it to ourselves for a couple of nights. Lots of wildlife. We stayed here close to closing for the season. We will go back to this park. They do have a dump station also. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$21
This is a State Park that would be very crowded if it were near any population centers. It is beautiful park with trees, grass and the lake nearby. Never more than a handfull of campers so it is really quiet. If your driving up/down US395, stop here! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com