224137 User submitted reviews online!!
Nehalem Bay State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (503) 368-5943
CGID2351

Nehalem Bay State Park

Camp Information
Sites
298
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   9   9   9   9   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$29
$29 per night (plus an $8 reservation fee) was for a level asphalt pad site with 30A electric, water, picnic table, and fire ring. Most sites have shade at some point during the day while others are in full sun. This lovely campground is located along a spit of land separating the ocean from the Nehalem Bay and is near the scenic Pacific coast highway 101. This is bicycle country so there are many miles of trails for riding/ walking/hiking. The campground is so quiet you can hear the surf that is ¼ mile away and beyond the dunes. This campground also offers equestrian sites and a few fly-in/primitive sites near the airport. If you like beaches and the activities they offer, including crabbing, you’ll really like this park. The park is close to several coastal towns where there are plenty of restaurants, other shopping venues, and lots of opportunities if you’re historically inclined. AT&T cell service was four bars LTE and our Milliencom jetpack was getting two bars of 4G LTE so both could be used for internet access. There were several OTA TV stations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$33
Beautiful state park with beach access right out of the park. Sites were large, level and easy to access, with water and electric (dump station available). Great location for exploring the north coast of Oregon. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$24
Great Oregon State Park on ocean. Have stayed before and will stay again. A bit tight for big rigs. Easy beach access. Hot, free showers. Very nice staff & volunteers. Clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
The nightly rate reflects a motorhome with toad and the $8 fee ReserveAmerica tacks on for reservations. This was a nice campground with nicely spaced sites, good water and electric. We stayed in the C loop. The only gripe we had was the check-in process. Registration booth attendants were very chatty with folks who appeared to walk up and engage them in conversation while a line of various RV rigs waited to check in. Other than that, this was a nice park with beach access and lots of wooded trails. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$24
Super state park, just south of Manzanita. Can ride your bike to town on safe path, and also on a loop road around the park. Several beach access trails in sand, huge beach. Sites are narrow blacktop with trees in some, others wide open. Didn't want to reserve, so came on a Wednesday at 1pm in mid-July. No problem getting a good site, assigned by Ranger, but given choices on map. Many families here, kids playing in street, etc. Restrooms in good shape, plenty of hot water. Overall, a better experience than other campgrounds. Liked this place a lot! Surprised to have strong Verizon signal for cell and internet. Will have to come back here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$24
Rate includes reservation fee. Extremely nice Oregon State Park. Very close to the beach, just a short walk. Our group took three showers total and two of them were quite clean, but mine had some trash in the shower stall and enough hair in there that the shower started to fill with water while I was showering. I may have just hit the shower at an unusual time because my experience seems to be unusual. We have a long travel trailer and tow vehicle but had no troubles navigating the roads and pulled easily into our site. The map is very clear about the length of the sites. I do want to note that since the previous review in January, they have cut back the trees so there was no scraping on our RV or tow vehicle. If this park had sewer connections it would be a 10. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$21
This is a great Oregon State Park that is located right next to the beach. The volunteers do a great job in keeping the facilities spotless clean. I did not see one bit of litter anywhere. The bathrooms are older, but as I stated, spotless clean. BEWARE!!! This campground is extremely overgrown with trees and if you have a larger rig, you "WILL" come into contact with overhanging branches. I suggest walking the loops first to asses your access if you are fussy about your rig. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$23
This is a very nice Oregon State Park, providing hookups for RVs. The sites are heavily covered with trees, so only a few sites get satellite, but our Verizon air card and phone worked well. The beach is great for walking and there are wonderful trails and bike paths in the area. In the winter, one loop is for reservation, but there are two very large loops for first-come. Having two large loops open is great in that you can spread out and not be right next to someone. We will definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$24
Great park and the best beaches just a short trek through the dunes. But, watch out, the coastal trees are short and grow across the paved RV parking spaces. The Ranger in charge of the park thinks it is OK for branches to lay on your roof or against your rig sides when you are trying to get in or out. About 70% of the sites are not good for tall 5th wheels. Most the sites will work fine for shorter travel trailers but the reservation system does not indicate which sites might work and the park will not trade sites for you. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
This park has a great vibe. The campsite roads are very narrow for a 40' motorhome. Sites were pretty level and rather large. Overall people seemed to be having a great time and observed the quiet hours. This state park would be awesome if they would spend a few hours and trim tree branches to make it more useable to all types of camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$23
Over all this was an excellent campground, staff were very helpful and any questions we had they were very pleasant and answered them. The campsite had plenty of room for our RV and horse trailer. We had a wonderful time riding the the beach that was close by. We also had one of our horses get away and a fellow camper helped us track him down. The stall was big enough for 4 horses. Very clean campground and looking forward to our next visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
We stayed 5 nights and really enjoyed it. It was our second visit to this State Park and again a great experience. The hosts kept the restrooms more or less clean and they were all tiled and therefore were OK. After all, you are in a Sate Park and not in a 5 star resort. Most of the days it rained pretty heavy and nevertheless the grounds were still OK as the trails are paved. The wind can sometimes really shake your RV. There are plenty of deer walking through the park. Virgin mobile worked very well in the park. Hookups include water and power with a central dump station. We will definitely return next time we travel the Oregon coast. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
Beautiful, clean, well run park with great beach access just a walk away. Stayed in site c32 and had plenty of room and privacy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$24
This is a great park. When we were here it was full and every campsite had at least 2-3 dogs(hopefully you are dog friendly). This was one of the quietest parks we have been in, we were amazed. Just a short walk over the dunes and you are on a beautiful beach. The weather was beautiful...fog in the am and beautiful in the afternoon. Verizon worked very well. Sites were nice size but not real private, but that didn't present a problem for us. We stayed for 3 days and would have liked to stay a couple more. Roads are paved and can be tight in some places, but overall just fine. The only thing missing was sewer, but no big deal for a few days. Will be back for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$24
Nice ocean side state park, meets the high standards of the OR state parks. Asphalt sites are reasonably level. No sewer and just two lanes at the dump station at the entrance. Walk to small town Manzanita for basic services, or back to highway 101 to reach more. Watch out for low hanging scrub pines at sites. I did not see sites for big rigs, considering the narrow loop roads and trees all about. Very busy in the summer: reservations are a must. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
Nice park. Lots of trails for walking or bike riding. Each site has a table and fire ring. Fairly quiet and dark at night. Long beach to explore. Trails to the beach are steep and sandy, making it difficult for people with heart or breathing problems to access beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
Another beautiful SP on the Northwest Coast of OR. Just 5-7 minutes over a dune to ocean, and 10 minutes via paved bike/hike trail to Nehalem Bay, from which large crabs were pulled while we were there (need a boat though)! Lots of Shore pines, and huckleberries, blackberries for your picking pleasure. Hiking/biking abound here. Manzanita is a quaint little village. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
Only thing missing is a pool! Easy beach access. Pet friendly. Just wish they enforced quiet time as we had lots of kids screaming and playing well past 11pm. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
This is our first time staying at Nehalem Bay State Park and was surprised at the lack of privacy in most of the campsites. Thankfully we had driven thru here our last trip down the coast and marked several sites we thought would be good. After staying here site B37 was a good choice! Had bushes that sort of blocked the roadway and in between the campsites. A lot of the others were just right on top of each other. Other than the privacy issue campground was very nice. Clean bathrooms and showers and pretty quiet for such a big campground. Several play areas for kids, beach was very nice and close, and deer roaming around. If you have horses they even had an area for you and your trailers to camp at! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
I had a pleasant stay at this campground. Our site was paved and level and surrounded by trees. I found the trail to the beach a bit tiring as it was a steep climb over the soft sand dunes. There could be more trails created with easier beach access. The beach itself was not unique: plain with no tide pools or rock formations, except for a distant out cropping. I made an on-line reservation for this campground through the contracted Reserve America system. The system showed the campground was full, except for just two sites next to one another, for the whole month of September. I thought that unusual, so I telephoned the campground to check with the ranger on actual site availability. I was told yes the campground was full and if I had found an open site I should reserve it right away. The day I arrived at the campground I discovered that many sites were still open. The ranger said that 1/2 of the campsites were on a first come first serve bases for the entire month of September. Online rules indicated that the first come first serve practice did not begin until October. I questioned the ranger about why that information was not available on line. He did not seem to know about the reservation process. I told the ranger instead of raising the campsite rates as the state is going to do, it might be better to consider the reservation system display the correct site availability instead of indicating full when the campground is not. That would probably generate more revenue than raising the rates, and make us campers happier too. I could have saved the $6 reservation fee if I had known about the first come first serve policy for September. The ranger did not show any concern or indicate he would bring the matter to attention of his superiors. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
This is the 3rd or 4th time we've stayed here and it's been a good experience every time, well, we did get chased out last January by a severe weather warning for ice and snow storm, but that's to be expected. It's a great location for visiting the area of the coast from Tillamook up to Astoria and there is a great little winery up the river from Wheeler.The only problem that I had was that there were single tents in some of the longer sites and that cuts them out for the bigger rigs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$16
A beautiful location right next to the beach. Excellent camp hosts: friendly and armed with good dog treats! They even drive a little cart around to sell you firewood--how convenient! It turned out to be too windy for us to enjoy having one, but handy service. This would be a great place to spend some time, given the proximity of the beach and the great little towns in the area. We picked up some of the freshest fish ever at Ecola Market in Cannon Beach (don't miss this) to have at our campsite. Perfection! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$16
This campground never fails to please. On our latest visit it would appear that all the hard surface areas have been re-sealed and are in great condition. There are no shortage of sites to accommodate large rigs and because most of the sites have trees that top out just about roof height, satellite dishes on top of a rig work great. Wireless internet is available in nearby Manzanita (about a 5 minute drive from the park) at the public library either inside or in their parking lot when they are closed. We also found other "hot spots" around town one could use as well. If you plan to visit during the busy summer months you had better make reservations early. The park can also be a real zoo during the busy months which is why we prefer to visit in January or February. We had the park mostly to ourselves besides the campground hosts. This is just one of those parks that keeps us coming back time and time again. Also, be sure to visit Doogers Restaurant in nearby Cannon Beach for great seafood and awesome clam chowder. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$18
Beautiful park well cared for. We would stay there again. Close to the beach but well sheltered from the wind. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$16
A beautiful state park with lots of trees and great access directly to the beach. Apparently, reservations are required for the "A" loop (which is the closest to the beach) year round, even if it doesn't look busy. If you don't have reservations, the signs specify that you are to proceed to the other loops (even though at this time of year it is "self-registration"). When I was there, half the spots in the "A" loop were empty. I obeyed the signs and picked a site in the "C" loop. Later, I asked the camp host if the "reservations required for A loop" is enforced when it's not busy, I was told that the requirement is enforced. (There is a valid reason for it.) The sites, which are all paved blacktop, are water and electric only, 30 and 20 amp. However, if you are towing a car, not all spaces have room to park the car. All vehicles must be parked on the blacktop, and that is where you won't have much room for a tow car. Each site has a picnic table and fire ring. If you are planning to stay more than a couple of nights, you might want to consider using a plastic tub for washing your dishes. The park provides "sink water pit drains" for throwing your sink water out. Some of the sites (too many to list) are near the walkways to the showers. Try to avoid those sites, although it is not a big issue in the off season. Showers are free! They were adequate, about what you would expect in a state park. My only complaint about the showers is that the showers themselves didn't have a curtain. My dry clothing got splattered in the small changing area outside the shower. The park has a pay phone in case your cell phone doesn't work in this area. If you aren't carrying a satellite, you still get great reception from six "over the air" channels in this area. Lastly, this park has a great recycling station to help cut down the garbage for those that like to contribute to this ecological effort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$20
The campground is well designed and it is only a short walk to the beautiful beach. Although the campsites are spacious, there is very little in the way of shrubbery to separate the sites. With a full campground and many big rigs and extra vehicles, some areas seemed very crowded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
This is a great park. We have not been hear in a long time and the trees have really come in and shaded the sites, and added privacy. The close walk over the dune to the beach is great. Also having Manzanita so close you can be in town in 5 minutes. Can't wait to take my trailer here next time. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
Reservations are essential virtually any day of the week. We arrived on a Thursday, with a reservation for Friday through Sunday, and were lucky to get in. Sites are well spaced and private side to side. The bathrooms and showers are immaculate and quite close to all the campsites in a given loop. Would definitely stay here again. With electric and water hookups, this is a top notch state park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$26
This was a great state park. Sites are spacious and trees are trimmed nicely for easy parking. The beach is very nice. This is a very busy park with hundreds of kids on bikes! There is even a nice playground for the younger ones. The amphitheater provided "Ranger Talks" while we were there and some acoustic bluegrass musicians put on an impromtu concert. There are no sewer hookups but the dump station is big and easily accessable. We would return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
This was a great state park, one of our favorites. There were kids everywhere, but we wanted that since we have three under ten. Our kids rode their bikes around and I felt safe letting them do so. In back of our site, our kids found what they called an "enchanted forest" which was really a neat spot under a cluster of trees. Everyone was friendly. My only wish is that it was closer to the ocean. There is a trail over the dune but it is a tough hike through deep sand, which can be strenous holding a toddler, lawn chairs, beach toys and cooler. There are no ocean view sites and we couldn't hear the ocean at night. But all in all, it was a great campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
We enjoyed this park, but parking our 38' motorhome in our 49' site was a chore. The trees had not been trimmed lately, and were hanging over the site. We got special permission to park with our right side wheels on the ground so that we could put our slide out. We had a great location, with the beach right behind us, on the other side of a sand dune. Leaving the park was also a problem, as the trees were hanging over the road. On a good note, the entrance and the parking area were definitely big rig friendly. It was the campground itself that was not, in my opinion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
A beautiful state park - our favorite. Many of the sites are long enough for big rigs. Just have to watch the overhead branches. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$18
The park is very scenic, lots to see. The fact that you can take your horse is a big plus. That feature enables me to go further and see much that I physically couldn't do on my own. Fishing and crabbing are nearby. Very nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$20
Great place to camp - quiet, spacious sites, easy access to beach, lots of biking - only downside is no sewer hookup for extended stays. Recommended. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$22
State Park that puts RVs next to tents. In the four days we stayed at this park we had new tent neighbors each day on both sides. The sites have little or no screening so the sites seem to be one large dirt site. Because there are no defined borders, people just walk through the middle of your site. LOUD, DIRTY and NOISY. This could be a nice park if they would segregate the tents from the RV's Will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$20
Our new favorite Oregon State Park. Most sites are moderately isolated. Bathrooms and showers are clean and the water is hot. Nice bike trails. Big ampitheater. Playgrounds. And best of all close access to the beach. Our kids found a "secret" path to a "secret" spot to overlook the beach. We watched the sunset there. Incredible is to simple a word to describe the sight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com