214826 User submitted reviews online!!
Pecan Grove RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (870) 265-3005
CGID236

Pecan Grove RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
94
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   3   3   7   8   4   6   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$26
If you are looking for the amenities and ambiance of a high end destination resort then you need to go somewhere and else pay three times as much. If you want a decent park for an overnight stay for a good price, then this is the place to stop. This park is literally across the highway from a very large and attractive lake, so for boaters or fisherman this could be paradise. Our spot was near the highway so we had a beautiful sunrise view. This came at the cost of having some highway noise, but we didn't lose any sleep. Easy access from either direction. Lots of huge shade trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2014
$32
Our site was rutted and not level. The electrical box was rusty and went out at night. We had to run our own long extension cord to the empty site next door. They did not have anyone to help us. Will never stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2014
$26
Office personnel very nice. Park has many permanent campers, with their stuff all over their sites. Very close sites. Was crowded and very noisy when we camped there. Road noise is constant. First and last time here for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$26
Check-in is easy: drive in, find a site, park and set up. Check in when the office is open. This is a very mature pecan orchard with large trees. Sites are grass and level. There is some road noise at night as the highway goes to the bridge over the Mississippi River to Greenville, MS but not bad. The electric is good and steady, the WiFi and cable worked well. The restrooms were a surprise--bright, tiled very clean and odor free, not what is expected from the "rustic" outside. Not a lot of activities in the area but is a good park for 1 or 2 nights. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$26
Nice campground. Easy in and out. Next to Hwy 65. We used this for an overnight stay while traveling and was very convenient. Sites are mostly pull-through on grassy surface. No trouble leveling on dry ground and site long enough not have to unhook toad. Friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$29
The RV park is easy to enter and exit, although 65 is a busy road. The office person was friendly but did not know which sites were 50 or 30 amps. They did not give us a map or assign a site to us. We were told to check the shape of the box. A little odd to us. It was adequate for a 1 night stay. We did not use the laundry or rest rooms. The cable worked well and had additional channels not on the list. We thought it was OK for overnight but be careful in bad weather as the trees need trimming. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
This park was only used for a overnight stay. This is the only reason we would use it. It had only the basic needs we wanted which is full hookups while on a longer trip. It is an easy access off of US Hwy. 65. The roads are gravel and the pads are grass. i was concerned about the pads being hard enough after an overnight rain, but we were able to drive right out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$29
Convenient one night stay with pull-through sites and utilities. Didn't use facilities. I would be leery of some sites during a storm as the pecan trees are old and the limbs heavy. You can see a couple that have broken recently. Easy in and out and we would stay here again but only as an overnight stop. People were friendly and could really make this a nice park. Many long term sites were apparent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
We ended up in this park as we were trying to avoid tornado warnings. Park is old, but well maintained. Everyone friendly, although many are permanent residents. We thought pecan tree shade would be an advantage; but during a thunderstorm, a branch fell on an RV. Okay for overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
Great owners. They make wonderful fresh products, be sure to buy some (and they let you taste first!) They are animal lovers and it shows. Campground is great for overnight or a few days and is situated underneath Pecan trees. We could pick as much pecans as we could find. Big pull through sites and everything worked well. Had good WiFi. We noticed no road noise. Sure we will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
It was easy to get in. We were 64 ft.long pulling a trailer. Grass was cut but a lot of old run down campers are left at the park. This park could be nice but needs a lot of TLC. It looks like they are doing some clean up across the highway at their dock area at the lake. That's a start, but be careful on the dock; many rotted boards. A good paint job on the buildings and it might look pretty good. OK for overnight. Lots of big pecan trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
Convenient place if you are looking for quick overnight off very busy highway 65. Has WIFI, which was on again/off again, cable, 50 amp, good water pressure and sewer hookups. Long pull throughs making it easy in and out. The bad: Horribly busy highway 65 with all night truck traffic. Long gone pecan trees are mostly dead and offer very little shade, as it was 104 degrees the 2 days we were here. Dogs are allowed to run wild everywhere and no one picks up after the "doo-doos" which are everywhere. Bathrooms were absolutely filthy. Had not been cleaned in months, and had piles of dead bugs all over the sinks and trash everywhere in them. Laundry room also dirty, but cheap (2 washers and 2 dryers) at a buck a load. Park is across the busy highway from the lake, so no real "waterfront" here. Only grocery store in town is overpriced and really gross. Sites are weedy grass with some gravel, but full of ants and "doo doos". Our sewer hookup had no cover and was just an open pipe. Would never stay here again, but did check out Chicot State Park 8 miles down the road and was very impressed. Will go there next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
We liked this place best in Alpine. It has a charming, old time feel with small but private and shaded, (guess by what: Pecan trees!) sites on the outskirts of town. Cute and friendly overall. Not as fancy or new as the Lost Alaskan, but that's sort of why we wanted to give it a try. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$26
Easy access at the entrance for our big rig. Roads are gravel, sites are dirt and grass. We need a pull-through site at least 70' long and they were able to accommodate us. In fact, the site was closer to 85'. Good 50 amp electric and adequate water pressure. We were able to connect our roof TV dish without any obstructions. Wi-Fi very weak, unable to maintain connection. 90+ temperature: very muggy and buggy. We never use on site laundry or bathrooms, so I cannot comment. Looks like there are a few permanent residents. Park is fine for an overnight, but definitely not a destination park. We would stay here again when passing through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
This camp ground needs much work and needs to be cleaned up. Restrooms and laundry was not cleaned the three days we were here and were filthy. The sites are level however weeds all around utility hookups. Would not stay here again unless could not go any farther and only for one night. Good Sam rating of this park way off. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$21
Easy access for a big rig. Level site. Across from Lake Chicot. Large pecan trees, but not a problem at our site. Only complaint was that we asked for 50 amps, the plug was for 50 amp, but it was only wired for 120 volt and our front air conditioner, washer/dryer etc. had no power. It was extremely hot and uncomfortable in our 40' motor home. It is a nice park, but needs to have adequate electric for larger rigs. Price reflects our 10% Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
This is okay for a one or two night stay. We stayed two nights, one one the way out and one on the way back. Lots of skeeters. Lots of contruction in front of the park but that is just temporary. Owners are friendly and the park is clean. Sites for an evening only are near the entrance but still quiet. We'd stay again for a night only since it's convenient when we leave the state by the southeast. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$21
We did not see any dogs outside but saw where no one had picked up after them. There was a $1.10 charge for cable TV. The staff was pleasant. We would stay here again . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$20
This was a pretty basic park with minimally paved roads and level sites. There are quite a few trees to maneuver around but it was not that big of a deal. The Wi-Fi worked as long as you were near the owners house. It was a pleasant park and quiet. The only complaint I had with the park was that the owner allowed his three medium sized dogs to run loose and obviously no one was cleaning up after them. I did talk with the owner and they graciously kept their dogs inside for the rest of our overnight stay. We would stay there again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2009
$24
The park was nasty! I got sick and I'm not sure if it was from the smell of the mold in the area or what! The owners are very strange. We stayed here as a group and they chased a few of our group members away. I will never come back to this mold infestation again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
The park’s property is on highway 65 and 82. The pull-through sites are more than adequate to accommodate a large rig with the only drawback in a few cases would be the pecan trees may hinder the position of an awning or slide. However, the majority of the sites will not cause a problem. The roads are gravel and the sites are dirt/grass with a picnic table at each site. The road noise may be a bother to some since the park fronts the highway. The staff is friendly and the park is clean. Nothing fancy here, just an easy access park and a nice place to stay while passing through. We would stay again. For a little entertainment, Harlow’s Resort and Casino in Greenville, MS is about a 15 minute drive from the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
This is a very nice stop for a night. It’s on Highway 65, so there is a lot of road noise, but we had no trouble ignoring it. The owners/managers are friendly, the sites are spacious and level, and the grounds are attractive with large trees and pretty flowers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$20
Good overnight stop: if I were a fisherman, might even be a great campground. Located across the road from the Lake. Campground is laid out in a Pecan Grove, straight rows of Trees and straight rows of RV sites. Rather different. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2008
$19
We stopped here overnight on our way to Huntsville for our daughters wedding. Most sites appear to be pull through and was laid out in a reasonable manner. Across the street from Lake Chicot with a wonderful view of the lake. Not much to do here but very nice just as a stop over or a weekend getaway. Has some long term tenants but was not a problem and they keep their sites in good order. Would stop here again if in the area. Price reflects Good Sam rate. Very peaceful here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
This is a nice older campground in a grove of pecan trees. The office staff is very nice, and the area has things of interest: Lake Chicot, casino across river, and Lakeport Plantation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$20
Level sites, good wifi and cable. Terrible mosquito problem. We could not go outside our coach without getting bit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2007
$20
Level gravel sites with 50 amp service and easy access sewer and water. Cable available for an additional $1.00. We stayed in site #19, which allowed for satellite TV usage. The buildings and picnic tables are in need of repair and maintenance. There are several driveways to route 65 and if you enter from one of these with a 40 footer it will be difficult to maneuver. The entrance is the southern most driveway. The sign to this entrance is on the opposite side of the road. If you have cat allergies, as I do, use caution since they have multiple cats in the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2006
$17
Sites were large enough to put up a screened-in room next to your motorhome/5th wheel. If you're smart, you'll have one. The gnats/bugs were awful! Couldn't sit on my chair outside until I had swept the dead gnats onto the ground. The pecan trees offered a good amount of shade, but the leaf clusters that dropped from the trees coated my awning and had to be washed and swept before putting away. Park had a rec room/group kitchen area, but looked like no one had been in there to clean in years. A good play ground for kids. Far too many dogs on the loose without leashes. One small child whose free running dog was barking at my dogs told me "he just doesn't get along well with other dogs." There was a large group there for Memorial Day and some have been going there for eight years. To be fair, one long-time visitor said that the gnats have never been this bad. Management was very friendly. Satellite TV reception was good, but had trouble getting a good satellite internet signal through the trees. Because of problems I have mentioned, we probably won't be going back there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$16
Good overnight park with large sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2002
$20
This has become a permanent resident type rv park since our last visit. Some rigs are very delapidated and strewn with junk. There are better parks in Alpine. The only redeeming quality was the exceptionally clean bathhouse We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$17
Very nice little park, only reason for 7 and not higher was mud, but it had poured rain from huricane for days so what would you expect. Excellent fishing lake just across road, sites are not lake side, but only 50 yard walk. Launching ramp and fishing pier for use only by campers. I plan on taking boat and going back for longer stay. Large trees everywhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com