220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Cape Lookout State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (503) 842-4981
CGID2385

Cape Lookout State Park

Camp Information
Sites
231
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   7   7   8   9   6   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$31
We actually paid zero because my husband is a disabled vet. Nice park but for mosquitos. We stayed inside. The sites are fairly close and some sites had to share fire pits. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$22
Watch out for the potholes on the county road leading to the park. Park roads and site pads paved (good condition). There was a pretty beat up table on the site as well. There is a notice posted that budget cuts have forced some deferral of maintenance. Our site pad was not level, but I was able to fix that. All hookups worked fine. No Wi-Fi or TV. That hardly mattered as this place is for relaxing and walking the beach. For that it gets a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
Paved roads and sites. Good power. They have shut down the loops by the beach for the winter but the loops with power and sewer are still open. The rate reflects the winter rate. Verizion MiFi works well here. This CG is well located to check out the sites in the area. The showers were clean but it was just a push button shower and all I can say was that it was warm but the ambient tempature bathroom did not encourage you to hang out in the shower too long. The trash is located by the front gate so it's a bit of a walk to the reycyling center. I'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$27
Rate include reservation fee. Visited park in a very extreme storm with 50 mph gales. The sites do hold water and there can be blowing sand, but good wind break. Road to entry (Whiskey Road?) is somewhat difficult to drive, but may have been the weather. Park is somewhat isolated. No Direct TV signal and weak AT&T cell/air card. Am sure the beach is nice, but was confined to RV due to weather for three days! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$24
Stayed here for one night after a horrible stay in another park. Stayed in D-loop with awesome access to the beach. Site was a bit tight to get into due to brush, but at the same time, the brush provided privacy. Rangers were helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$20
The county road leading to the park has definitely deteriorated since our last visit here two years ago. The state park roads appear to have been repaved for some of the loops. Our site in D loop was a paved back-in and needed some boards for levelling. All utilities worked fine. No cable or local TV, but satellite TV from our site (D9) worked fine. Some maintenance around the park has not been done due to government cuts. Due to the fantastic beach and superlative natural areas this is one park we will always want to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$20
This is a great Oregon State campground with full hook-ups. During the winter one of the loops is reservable and the other is first-come. One of the loops is closed because it floods. The roads are a little tight but not bad. There are only a few sites with satellite access, but our Verizon phone and air card worked well here. The beach and trails are wonderful for walking and there are many activities in the area. We would definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$20
Great location, but needs some maintenance especially pruning. Many older trees were hanging too low and into the loop road where we camped and some sites one could really scratch your RV if you're not careful. Sites are faintly close together and maneuverability is okay but fairly compact. We got the last site which had our sewer right next to the picnic table and fire ring - what a view. The non-hookup sites were newer, cleaner, had grass and fewer trees which would be nicer during cool or rainy weather, so pick your site carefully. They'd closed some of the loops closest to the ocean for the season, prematurely I think, as all the hookup sites were full on a weeknight. No comment on the bathrooms as I didn't check them out. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$16
Great Oregon state park -- very popular. The RV sites were all taken so we stayed in a site that didn't have any hookups. No big deal since we only stayed a couple of days and the site was great as it was close to the beach and large enough to comfortably handle our 29 foot rig. Access to the beach requires you to walk over 20 yards of ankle breaker rocks. Depending on your ability it might be something to consider. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$20
We stayed here for 5 nights and very much enjoyed it. However, coming from Nehalem Bay State Park we realized that this is an older park. Nothing wrong with the sites, they even had sewer, but the restrooms are definitely dated. They were about as clean as you can reasonably keep them but the overall picture definitely makes you keep your flip-flops on in the shower. The Virgin mobile service really sucked and almost only past midnight I was able to get some data through (phone and internet). The beach access is great, the roads are all paved, some sites have more trees and some sites are pretty open. Wind and rain can be a real hassle on certain November days as we had to find out. For bigger rigs you might have to search for a long enough site for your RV and tow, however, we didn't have a problem with a 35' 5th-wheel. The hookups worked fine and are the usual style as you find in state parks. We will certainly return if again in this area but will choose another provider for our phone and internet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
Another great park at an excellent price. Not far from Tillamook if you want to take some side trips. We had full hookups with sewer, some sites are electric and water only. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$19
Did not have reservations so had to take a 'dry' site, which was fine. Convenient beach access and good Verizon service in the A-loop. Not as scenic as some other Oregon State Parks and off the beaten path so may be not worth the drive for just one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$19
Nice state park that is really close to the beach. Sites are grassy with paved pads to park on. Vegetation separates you from your neighbor. Unfortunately the spots are very tight and difficult to get in. Our spot was at right angles to the roadway and with people across the way we had an extremely hard time getting in. Fortunately getting out was easy because the people across the way had left. This is not a big rig friendly park and we are only 36 feet! For someone with a smaller rig it would be a wonderful park to stay in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
We love Oregon state parks. We were able to stay at three during our June trip up the coast with no reservations. This was our second one, and we had the beach just a couple of hundred yards behind our site. The park rangers are very friendly and helpful, and the sites are beautiful. If you can live without Wi-Fi (or bring your own 3G card) and laundry facilities for a little while, these parks are the way to go, and you can't beat the price. The only other downside is the showers which, like most state parks, use the "push button" system where one temperature fits all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$20
Rate shown is for winter season. Site was a paved back-in and not level. No TV off antenna or WI-FI available. Some sites in D loop are open enough for satellite TV. We managed to get a cell phone signal from our campsite. Our site in D loop a short walk from the beach. When we arrived the wind was blowing so strong it almost blew me over, but by evening it had calmed and we experienced another lovely Oregon coast sunset. C loop campsites are more sheltered, but in the trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
We were notified a few months after making our reservation that our site would not accommodate tents. What we were not told, however, was that site C57 had a huge tree stump on one site, and another very large tree on the other side. Site description was not accurate as our fifth wheel has four slides and an awning that we couldn't fully open, due to the stump placement. It was challenging at best, and a nightmare backing in as this was perhaps the most narrow spot in the park. The park itself was well maintained; beach access was okay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
Nice state park campground. We were in C loop and the sites were large but close together. Sort walk to an amazing beach, many trails nearby, and the campsite was very quiet at night. Hosts drove around frequently selling firewood and helping out. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
The weather was terrible, so we didn't get to see much of the park. It was close to the dunes and beach. The showers were not in the best shape. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
Best thing about this SP: it's just a 3 minute walk to ocean. FHU are too few so we had to move sites during our stay to a primitive site; next time we'll choose a primitive site in the long loop (A&B) parallel to beach for more room. VZ card for internet worked fine. Oh, with a big rig go THROUGH Tillamook toward Netarts (there is a cut-off just before Netarts proper). The 101 South to the Sand Lake Road (like google directed) is narrow, windy and dippy: very hard on nerves and rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
Nice park located close to the ocean. However you need to buy tokens to take showers. Overall though, a great park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
We love this park, ocean is a two minute walk away. Sites can be difficult to back into, but it can be done. Another excellent Oregon State Park, as always the staff and hosts are friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$16
We stayed here during our kid's spring break for a week (7nights). We stayed at campsite # C28, with full hookups. The site had a 30AMP hookup with a 110 plug in. Trails to the restrooms/showers were well maintained. The hosts were very friendly. We went here to do the cheese factory, which was only about 15 minutes away (short drive). Since we were here in April, the weather wasn't too favorable, but ended the week on a sunny and warm day. I did manage to find a glass ball on the beach, but found it about 3.5 miles north of the campgrounds, the point was about a 4.5 miles to the north. Towards the end of the week, we managed to see paragliders: about 7 of them come from the cliff face off to the south, what a sight (awesome) and then later landed on the beach where we were. We would do this again, but during the summer months. Can't wait to get back to this place. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$16
Someone stated that there is cable hookup. There is NOT. It's a lovely park for beach-going, and it's close to Tillamook, so it's a nice clean place to camp if you're cruising through to taste some cheese! Full hookup site for $16. Parking spots are a little backwards, so if the park is full, you'll have to go the wrong way in order to park. They also have Yurts available for rental for $45 per night. Very cute. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$16
Wow! Full hook-ups with level asphalt pads for $16/night! Plus, we were close enough to the ocean to hear the roar of the surf coming over the dunes. The camp hosts were helpful and friendly. Our campsite was large and private with a fire ring and picnic table. The beach near the campground is gorgeous, although the weather was a little cold while we were there. It hailed in addition to raining. On the downside, the signage could be better. It wasn’t obvious which sites had hook-ups and which didn’t, how to get out of the park, or where to throw the garbage. But, we found very little to complain about and had a wonderful visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$18
Stayed here for 4 days after Thanksgiving. it was very nice. Oregon State parks are just great places to camp, and so economical. the site was fairly good size. It rained a bit. Mentioned it was in November right. but 2 of the days were beautiful. Great hiking on the cape lookout trail. Close enough to drive to Tillamook cheese factory as well as Pacific City for eats, and the Civil War game. Watch the fog. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$17
During the winter A & B loops are closed. C loop sites can be reserved, but D loop is first come first serve. Personally I prefer D loop as some of the sites are more open. Noticed a couple of permanently fixed satellite dishes in site D13? so that may be the cable TV shown in the park info? There is no off the air TV available. Pay phone is now close to the ranger station. There are no dumpsters in the loops. You have to take your garbage to the recycle center near the registration booth. The scenery and isolation here make this park one of the best in the state park system. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$26
We are here for a short stay, and we love it. It's a bit of a drive out here, and the road to the park is pretty bad (stuff flew everywhere...) but the park is awesome, very secluded, nice, well kept. It's right off the coast too, we walked to the beach from the site in just a couple of minutes, and we are in the interior. The showers at 9pm were too cold to use, so we used our own. We used a FULL hookup site, which is right by the bathrooms, and services worked well. My verizon broadband card had 2 bars here, and good speed, so no wifi needed. I'd stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
We had a great site in the back of the park, where there was a lot of shade. Sites nearer the beach were more open and probably more affected by wind. We also noticed a lot of mosquitoes near the beach at twilight, but none at our camp. Kayaking on Netarts Bay was OK--but be sure to check the tide tables because a lot of the bay is mud flats at low tide. I launched my kayak from a site about 3-4 miles from the camp. I think I would have enjoyed it more (and had deeper water) if I'd gone all the way in to the little town of Netarts to launch, about 6 miles away. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$30
My favorite campground on Oregon's mid coast. Clean restrooms, nice wooded sites. The ones near the dune are close enough to ocean to hear the waves crashing. Oregon parks have a great Junior ranger program. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$16
Beautiful beach and a very stormy place when we stayed there. A lot of the tent sites are closed for the winter. Hookup sites in D loop are not reservable from what I was told, but in C loop they are. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
Our third stop on our recent family vacation was the outstanding Cape Lookout State Park on the Three Capes drive south of Tillamook. Hwy 101 curves inland for Tillamook Bay and stays away from the coast for forty miles until it reaches the Lincoln City area. Cape Lookout is on a side road, the Three Capes scenic drive that stretches south of Tillamook along the coast. The campground has over 175 sites. Only 38 have hookups and they are for the most part randomly spaced along electrical and water lines to the bathrooms. This campground is often booked early so you should think about reservations. Cape Lookout is well worth it. Start with the beach--a beautiful stretch of sandy beach near a three mile sand spit that is virtually untouched by commercial development. If you like your destinations more natural this is the place for you. There are also miles of great hiking trails in the park, especially the 2.4 mile trail to the cape. But if you like to drive and visit places, Cape Lookout is a great home base too. To the north is Cape Meares SP with a very nice lighthouse and Netarts Bay with crabbing and shellfish. Tillamook is only seven miles north of the park and is large enough to have all services. The two big tourist attractions are the Tillamook Cheese Factory and the Air Museum. I love the cheese, but really how fun is it to watch cheese being made? The tour is pricey, samples minimal, and the cheese is usually cheaper at the local Safeway. Within fifty miles you can visit Cannon Beach. To the south is the nice town of Pacific City. The Pelican Brewery there has a great restaurant right on the beach near Cape Kiwanda SP with amazing sandstone formations. Only twenty miles south is Lincoln City and more great beaches. We loved Cape Lookout. It is a peaceful, calm place to be. We will return soon and hope to see you there. We stayed in the back of the D loop in a nicely wooded spot with reasonable privacy. There are three large loops at Cape Lookout. The A/B loop runs parallel to the beach. Some sites are 100 feet away. The sites at the far end are some of the best in the park. Closer to the beginning of the loop it is just a large grassy meadow with no privacy between sites. The B loop sites along the back are the best there I think. Both the C and D loops are perpendicular to the beach, but even where we were at the back it was an easy five minute walk to the beach. They are wooded and many are fairly private. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
This says their are ocean view sites, we never saw them. There is a sand dune in front of the sites we saw blocking the view, perhaps further down but I didn't see them. The overall sites were great. Nice and level, a little small for our trailer and pickup but we got last spot that day so we were not complaining. The beach is fantastic and beautiful. Kids had an excellent time. Wish we could have spent longer at this park. As usual the state parks in Oregon are great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2005
$22
This is a great State Park. We have been here several times and always enjoy ourselves. There are all kinds of trails to walk. The beaches are very nice. You have enough space and screening between sites to have a sense of privacy. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$20
One of our favorite campgrounds. Located 12 miles out of Tillamook, Oregon in a coastal rainforest. There are 38 hookup sites, 1 electric, 176 tent, 10 yurts, and 3 cabins. Rates for hookup sites during prime season (May-Sept) are $20 night, $16 the rest of year. Can be reserved up to 9 months ahead. The campground is behind sand dunes and has one of the most lovely white sand beaches anywhere. Loops A & B are directly behind the dunes and do not have trees. Loops C & D are in the coastal forest and have privacy shrubs between them. All sites are back-ins. Each loop has clean restrooms and unisex showers. Several lovely hiking trails in the area. This is a wonderful place! We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$16
Nice park on the Oregon coast. wide flat sandy beach, family style shower rooms, very clean restrooms. only has 38 full hookups (all back-ins and some are tight axcess and fills up fast on weekends and summers recommend reservations. The "tent" dry sites near the beach are nice . There is a free dumpsite just outside the campground entrance. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com