223434 User submitted reviews online!!
Waldport / Newport KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 41 user reviews. Phone: (541) 563-2250
CGID2390

Waldport / Newport KOA

Camp Information
Sites
88
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   9   7   7   9   8   5   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$44
After looking at other parks in the area, we settled here, and it was good for an overnight, even though it was priced at the higher end. Although the staff were not very outgoing we didn't find them intrusive. One of the other RV parks was way overrated and too many permanent residents; this KOA felt much more comfortable. Cable was sketchy and stations were limited. No overnight noise that impacted us. Sites were level, we didn't even have to unhook. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$53
Coming in on a holiday week, there was some misunderstanding in that my telcon quoted rate was $17 less per nite than when I got to the resort. Due to a holiday week (they charged holiday rates Thurs thru Sunday, it was considerably more than I anticipated! Told them they should have told me before we drove 900 miles.) Anyway, the staff for check in were wonderful. Site was okay, but at night they ran something that sounded like water running from 10 p.m. to 4 a.m. It was unnerving for a 5 night stay! Although there was plenty of available sites, there was a rule of only 1 car per site. Understandable since there's not a lot of room for navigating. The sites on the water had extra vehicles the entire stay AND did not display their placards to show which site they were assigned. The final indignity was the last day, when I had to make a quick trip to the store by myself. My placard fell off my mirror and I couldn't reach it to replace. Two of the older male staffers chased me down and asked why I wasn't displaying my site#! Really? We had been there for 5 NIGHTS! We will not be back, nor would I recommend it other than a stopover point until they get their stuff together! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$49
This is a nice, cozy CG at the base of Alsea Bridge overlooking the bay. We stayed over Labor Day so the CG was packed. The office staff was outstanding. They told us to come in early on Friday to make it easier to get into our space. They were right. Our back in space was on the high side of the CG and we could see the water but other sites are not as nice visually. There is ample space between the sites separated by a hedge. The walking paths to the beach and the easy access to the walkway on the bridge are right outside the campground. Don't miss the wild blackberries on the paths. There are some good restaurants near the public dock outside of the center of town. We did have some problem with the 30 amps and the WiFi was a little slow but the CG was filled to capacity. Again, the staff was outstanding! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$53
Nicely kept campground with friendly and courteous staff. Our RV is 43' and turns were tight but site fit coach and tow disconnected. Sites are gravel and raked but can be uneven. We needed wood under one wheel. Nice water view for many sites. Reason for 7 is price is high as are many KOAs, but this campground did not have the amenities of many KOAs. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$49
Shore Services are good. We only had 30 amp. Sewer is good but has a small opening not a normal 3" connection. Water is 80psi but sustains about 30psi. WiFi is strong at my location, but I did not use it. Sprint and Verizon 3G internet are good. AT&T is good here, also. Have cable at our location but did not use it. DirecTV Satellite is accessible but trees can be a problem at some sites. Sites are very wide and most are very long. Many sites are made two RV's deep so they can park back to back. There is a hedge separating each site giving you nice privacy. If you have a very long RV you can use both sites. I like the restrooms/showers. They are rooms that contain a shower, sink and toilet ,and you lock the door until you are finished using it. My camp site was nice and level. It was only dirt which was nicely raked before we arrived. This reduces the rating for me because it causes a lot of dirt to be tracked into your RV and mud if it rains. Otherwise it is OK. The road to the campground is good. The road inside the campground is useable. It is a combination of oil over gravel and asphalt as a patchwork. Not real rough but better than dirt or gravel. There are some Long term tenants but their sites are well kept. Payment can be by credit card. The rate of $49 per night for 30amp is way out of line. We stayed here because everything in the Newport area was reserved, and they had one site open at the time for the majority length of time we wanted to stay in the area. If we were in the area and the only place to stay was here we would stay here, but the price is what would make us look for a different place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
This was a nice campsite for a KOA. The sites were well laid out and comfortably large enough. Utilities were fine, but we only had 30 amp available. We would rank this as one of the nicer KOA's. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$53
This is a very nice campground, but the price was a little high. The owners were very nice and run a very nice park. Wi-Fi wouldn't work but the cable TV was great. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
This is not a big rig friendly park. Many of the 50 amp sites are impossible to get a big rig into. There are intentional barriers placed in spots that protect the grass but make RV driving hazardous. It seems KOAs are more interested in protecting their grass than doing harm to your RV. I have seen this now a several KOAs, and I am now avoiding them all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
As with most KOA's we've stayed at, this campground was well-run, the staff friendly & helpful and the site clean and level. While a bit pricey, we'd stay there again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$44
The park was mostly empty this time of year so we had our pick of spaces so chose one overlooking Alsea Bay Bridge. Park was clean and organized, although the people in charge didn't seem to know their space details very well as we were directed to a site that obviously was too short for our 38' rig. Convenient to Waldport but there's not much to do there. Few restaurants and/or services. Would stay again, but probably only for an overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
Facilities were certainly clean and well maintained. Beach was accessible but not really large enough as a destination point. Wi-Fi only worked near the office and as a special warning to dog owners, there was a lot of spear grass and ticks. We were in a very congested area, sites were pretty tight. We read the reviews beforehand but were disappointed with our stay. Just expected more, I guess. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$55
Nice park!!! Semi small view sites. We had a change of plans, called to see if they could get 2 35' motorhomes into view sites. They did a great job! Sites are very clean; restrooms are cleaned all the time. Wi-Fi was spotty till I hooked up our extra antenna, and all was good. Super nice staff! Enterprise car rental picked us up easy. Toured the area for 2 days.. Nice. Great views. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$48
It is a nice small park with ample room and all the hookups. I honestly feel they shouldn't advertise Newport! They are 14 miles from the southern most edge of Newport so it's 20-30 minutes to get into Newport. I sprung for a view site and they do have a great view but it's a hike to the beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$56
This was an excellent KOA. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. The roads are paved and slightly bumpy in parts but not bad enough to cause any sort of problems. The corners are a little on the tighter side but we had no problem navigating with a 33' + trailer. The campsites are gravel (which is rakes smooth after the previous camper leaves) with hook-ups spaced out a little. The staff will guide you to your spot and help you get in position for setting up. The little store has all the standard camping store fare and a few extra RV parts and supplies. The views are great and the campsite is positioned so that it has easy access to the bay, the bridge and the beach. We walked all around the area as a result of its convenient location. While we were there, the weather was excellent with log fog prevalent in the mornings and evenings. There are not many biking trails in the area but some of the nearby roads are relatively quite and provide routes for some nice biking. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will likely camp here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$45
We love this campground. We started coming here right after the new owners bought the park a few years ago. They have made tremendous improvements. The park is quiet and is right on the Alsea Bay. The site we always stay in backs to the creek and bay. Most sites also have privacy hedges. The views are wonderful. There is also a trail to the bay. The owners, are very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$41
This is a beautiful park. If you are going to be here for any length of time, spring for the view site. A gorgeous bluff overlooking the bay and the ocean in the distance. Run by the nicest couple we have met while RV'ing. Shower rooms are nice, but need an outlet for those of us who blow dry our hair. Very quiet. TV and Wi-Fi work great. Superb park. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$50
The view overlooking the ocean bay and bridge was quite scenic. The sites are graveled and full service with Wi-Fi and cable. Laundry facilities are available and access to town is over the bridge. Waldport is a small tourist town which is very relaxing. We stayed for a few days just to wind down in the middle of our trip. There is great access from Waldport to Newport and then on to Corvallis and Portland. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$52
We had a nice spot with view of Alsea Bay and Bridge. We spent 5 nights there, and had an enjoyable time. The park staff were very friendly. The spaces were very close together but after all it is a KOA. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$55
The staff were friendly and helpful. However, there were NOT enough washrooms/showers for the 88 sites (only 8 stalls). The showers and washrooms weren't filthy, but could be cleaner. Floors were full of sand, and the toilet covers were a bit dirty. Overall OK, considering it's still a campsite. The dish washing sink was a nice touch. The campsite is in need of more trees. There was not enough privacy; the picnic tables in front of cabins were in open, no privacy at all. The beach was a joke... not a nice one. Overall, not that impressed with KOA on our very first visit, considering it's supposed to be a premium camp site. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
We stayed at this campground for two nights while visiting the Oregon Coast. Very nice, quiet campground with a great playground for the kids. Gravel sites - some with views. Nice store. Small laundry facility but reasonably priced. Everything stays damp because of the coastal weather so beware. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
This is our third visit to the Waldport KOA. What a surprise to find that this park has gone through a renovation. Many sites are now gravel. Previously, sites were dirt & grass. Many more cabins added to the park. New playground equipment has been added. This park has a great view of the bay, bridge & of Waldport. Hope to come here for a fourth visit... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$43
Very clean campground with ocean/bay views and trails to the beach. The sites are gravel, but the hookups are in pristine condition. Stayed here on July 4th and could see the fireworks from our site. Very neat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
I should have known not to book a reservation here when their main website didn't show pictures of the actual sites. It's in a nice area, but the campsites are quite small. Might return if we had to spend one night, but definitely no more than that. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$38
This is a picture perfect location. You're up on a cliff overlooking the Alsea Bay along with the beautiful bay bridge with the ocean in the background. We like this location as it does not get as windy and/or foggy as being right on the beach. However, there is a quick path down to the beach. It appears that the new owners are doing everything they can to make this a 10 Star resort. They don't have concrete sites (they're gravel), but I actually think that would detract from the feeling of camping in a treed park that you get when you're here. They must have fixed the Wi-Fi problem noted in previous posts as works and it is very fast. In addition, our satellite works well and they give you cable. They don't have a pool, but there's always the ocean! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$40
Could not believe this was a KOA. Really could not believe they charged KOA prices. No Wi-Fi at sites, they say they tried to have it fixed. The rec room has a single table to put your laptop and work. Nothing for recreation, nothing but a basic playground for the kids. Did enjoy seeing the seals. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$34
Wonderful staff and a great location even if it's not right on the beach. We really needed the wifi to work, but it was very unreliable. The owners did try to keep it running, but most of the time it did not work well. The walk across the bridge into town was fun, and the park is well located for visits to Newport as well. We would stay here again, but only after calling ahead about the wifi. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$37
Even though it does not have a pool, I had to give it a 10 for the view. It's not right on the water, but there is a path down to the water at the bay. Unlike some KOAs they escort you to your site and will collect your trash. These are new owners and it appears that they want to turn the park in to a family resort with a beautiful view of the bay and the bridge. Sites are pull-through and back in and they have two full park models and at least 10 kabins. The only full-time residents are the owners and I like that. It is very well-located between Newport and Waldport with all the restaurants and shops close. Bease access is just a few blocks away. If you're looking for a beautiful setting without all the direct beach wind and people, this is it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$37
Wow! What a view!! I had read negative reviews on this place but realized they were mostly about crowding issues in the summer, which would probably not be applicable to us in Oct./Nov. And they weren't! There were only a few other RVs and a couple of folks using the Kabins. Whether by park manager design or happy coincidence, no rigs were put in sites in front of us, which would've obliterated our wonderful view. Because this KOA is on a bluff, it's possible to get great views of the Alsea Bay Bridge and the bay. The camp manager and staff were very friendly and helpful. And some of their kids even went RV to RV on Halloween night GIVING out little bags of candy!! We're sorry to be leaving. This is the first campground that has inspired me to sign up and do reviews! The price I quoted was including the KOA member 10% discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$48
Very clean! Very family friendly! Nice staff! Way over priced considering you can get beach front for $35 down the road. Road noise is present from the bridge. We booked 4 nights until we saw the water view was not the ocean but the bay (our fault for not asking in more detail) and the price we were paying. Semi level gravel pads. We ended up only stay 1 night and loosing 1 night just to get to the beach front we were hoping for. If you have a family this is great, if not, there are a few RV grounds around there that are very nice with beach front views. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2008
$35
Nice location to the Alsea River and ocean. Would stay at the facility again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$33
Wish I'd read the reviews before I stayed here. Not the greatest, kind of dumpy, and really tight. Staff was friendly, but we probably won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$32
Cable TV and WIFI reception excellent. On line reservation rates are $3 cheaper than just coming off the road and getting a site. Considering that most other Oregon coast campgrounds have much lower rates in the winter, I think this KOA is overpriced. The office manager told me they still fill up weekends this time of year so I guess they can charge it. Weekdays must be different as there were only four occupied sites when we were there. The office open only limited hours in the winter. Good view of Alsea Bay and the bridge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
Probably the least favorite of the 6 parks we stayed at on the Oregon coast portion of our trip. It did, however, meet our needs/wants for the night - FHU, decent cable (35 ch.), and WIFI. Laundry was expensive. I can live with cramped and crowded for a night but I think big RV with or without toads would have problems both in the park and getting into sites when this park is crowded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$50
Wedged in like cattle, wireless only half way worked, a lot on "range children", free roaming. Laundry room is very small, tough to get two people in there. If you can get one of the bat view sites, the view in great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2006
$32
Campground was barely OK in my opinion. Maintenance has been neglected. Garbage disposal consisted of a dump trailer (landscaper style) that smelled like it hadn't been emptied for a month. Commercial dumpster was roped off with instructions to use trailer (owned by the park). Site assigned was too small for my travel trailer. Clerk had no clue as to the layout of the park. There are 5 or 6 spaces that have view of the bay. Rent for premium price. Rest of park is so-so. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$40
We returned to this KOA since they were very accommodating in 2004. Had a great time, no complaints. Hey, it's a KOA whadaya want? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$39
Nice KOA with excellent setting on the bay. Check in was fast. Staff helpful. This was our 2nd visit. We will return when back in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2004
$32
This is an average KOA on an excellent piece of property. We came in with no lofty expectations. Park was recommended based on location, on beach and bay. Campsites are soft dirt and we needed to put blocks under the jacks. But, it was just nice to relax. Park was busy at office/restroom area but quiet at our campsite. No problem parking our 37' MH. Just be sure to tell them what you have when you make a reservation. Restrooms needed regular cleaning due to constant use. Very busy but we had expected that. Wi-Fi was free very very unreliable to use. (That appears to be the norm for RV park Wi-Fi) Staff was extremely accommodating, even when we had to leave due to a family emergnecy. Gave full refund for unused time. We would go back again. Awesome location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$37
Typical overpriced KOA. They can charge higher fees because not much else in the area. Older park with LOTS of noisy kids. Quiet hours not enforced nor is the noise. Paved roads with dirt sites. Was very windy while we were there. Very little upkeep-garbage was overflowing, restrooms dirty, trash left in sites. They also rent 3-wheel "trikes" so kids can race around the park dodging people trying to take a peaceful stroll! Bad idea to rent these! Loud kids and campers at midnight even though "quiet hours" are from 10pm-7am. Some sites have an ocean "view" but are not waterfront sites. We won't go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$38
Lots of sites that require public restroom and not many restrooms, showers and toilet mostly conbined so that if you want to use the toilet you might have to wait while someone finishes their shower, not all sites are good, check where they are going to put you before you pay, nice location on the bay, good interior roads, pricy. I'd stay there again if we could get a good spot, otherwise, down the road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$32
The park has a beautiful location overlooking river and ocean. Very few spaces have this view and they are $10 more a night. Walk to river and town across bridge. Spaces are close but separated by hedge and trees. Lots of kids during our stay. Only negative is they will permit tents in any site and therefore we ended up with tents on each side with lots of loud kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com