218848 User submitted reviews online!!
Locust Lake State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (570) 467-2404
CGID2401

Locust Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
282
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   6   9   5   8   6   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$27
The park itself is very nice. There is a great hiking trail that goes all the way around the lake. The park store seemed adequate. The only issue I had was that one of the restrooms smelled worse than the worst vault toilet I've ever found. Some of the sites weren't very level, but we can leave those for the tent campers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
Nice State Park, walking path around lake. Quiet setting. Easy access from RT 81. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
Very pretty campground. No good for a 38 ft motorhome. Reserved a site that was up a hill. Most sites in this loop are not level at all. Had to disconnect and drive back to the entrance to get a different site. It was still hard to get into. 50A power is good. I was warned by the c/g host to be quick about it or I might get a ticket for leaving my motorhome by the bath house. It is maybe 5 miles off of I-81 down a long grade part of the way. Roads are typical PA back roads, rough. Not many radio stations, no chance of getting satellite TV. Verizon phone and 3G worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$21
This is a pretty campground, well kept, with clean bathrooms and showers. The lake is beautiful with a very nice walking/bike path surrounding it. There are some nice and one bit more challenging hiking paths. The sites can be tight for larger RV's. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$23
This campground would be kind of nice if there were no people around. Unfortunately it gets packed easily. The campsites are poorly laid out, packing everyone on top of each other. I would never camp here again. Poor experience for us. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$38
Clean bathrooms, wooded camp sites. Lots of hiking trails and a paved bike trail around the lake. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
This state park is somewhat remote from the Interstate. If you have a big rig, use Exit 131B and call for instructions. You can make reservations at this state park. If you have a larger rig, let them know (We got our 40' MH into site 68.) Many of the sites are difficult to get into in this heavily forested park. Come with tanks empty and with plenty of fresh water. Pads are gravel. Roads are somewhat paved. There is a large lake with a wonderful walking path around it. This park is in a valley, and there is no telephone service. There is no television (not by antenna nor satellite). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
We enjoyed our stay here, but the park was nearly empty. Some of the sites are close together so it may feel crowded when the park is full. Tents and RV's can be side by side. Water is available but not at your site. The campground is heavily wooded. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$22
Cost $22 with senior discount. I have always heard good things about this campground and it is beautiful. The lake is on 52 acres and all sites are in the woods with the lake nearby. Tuscarora State Park is just above Locust Lake but there is no camping there. These two parks allow boating, fishing, swimming, hiking and both have playgrounds and picnic areas. At Locust Lake there is a nice 1.3 mile paved bike trail that goes around the lake by the boat docks, playgrounds, swimming area, and fishing holes. There is even a compass course that was an eagle scout project for a local boy scout on the lake. Our site was close enough so that we could have walked our kayak down to the water’s edge. One of the campers next to us kept his fishing skiff tied up to a tree there. The bike trail was three steps away from our site and the trail is very enjoyable because it is level and you can always see the lake . The campsites – I have not found the PA parks big rig friendly. Our RV is only 25 feet so we can fit into almost every site but none of these sites were level. How some of the trailers and RV’s fit into some of the sites was amazing. The roads into the parks are not big rig friendly either. The lake is great for fishing and swimming and we would return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
This campground is ok, but be aware that some of the sites are not level causing a dangerous leveling problem. The sites are close to each other and the store is dirty, but the ice cream is good! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Nice CG. The sites were a little too close with not enough vegetation to give much privacy. We had a lakefront site ( big mistake ) There is a neat little trail that goes around the lake. Nice to walk but a little uncomfortable trying to eat dinner with everybody walking by. There were some pretty nice sites in the furthest ring though. The fishing was pretty good with a lot of trout in the lake. If you've read any of my other reviews you'll see I like to fish so a good fishing lake always gets a higher rating from me. Overall I would recommend this CG. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$26
The setting is outstanding and the park is very peaceful. We stopped for an overnight, but will plan to go back for a longer visit. Sites are large and shady and fairly well spaced out. Some, however, are on slopes, so plan to level your unit when setting up. There is no water at the sites, so you need to having your freshwater fairly full, if you plan to use it. Good camp store with prepared food options - but with limited overall supplies. Road in is a bit of a challenge, so be careful -- that said, a short drive from I-81. We recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$23
It being late season, they only had the first RV loop open, but plenty of room. However, many sites were not very level since this loop is on a hillside on suth side of lake. Lots of trees and well kept. Rate was $22.50 for non-resident with electric. They have a Senior rate that is $4 less. Easy access from I-81 if you have a GPS, otherwise signs are hard to see and several twists and turns. We set up in site 30 because it was long and flat, then discovered it was for handicapped, but stayed anyway. Nice park. Dump station is dual sided. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$26
This is a nice park, but it was very crowded on the weekend. Once the weekenders cleared out it was much more peaceful. Nice hiking trails. Great paved bicycle trail around the lake. Nice camp store. My continuing complaint about Pennsylvania state parks is that they only allow dogs on a few sites, and they concentrate those sites all in one area. It would be much nicer to have the dog sites scattered throughout the park so that pet owners don't feel like they're camping at a kennel. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$15
Nice Campground once we found it. There is no clear sign indicating where the turn is when you come off I-81 North. You have to take a left on the road that is between the interstate exit, and the railroad bridge on the west bound side. It's a very short approach. Make sure your fresh water is full, and your grey and black water is empty before you get there. You need to verify that the site will fit your rig. We had reserved a site that was big enough, but the entrance was bordered by two trees that would have made parking difficult. Fortunately there was a nearby empty site that had 50 AMP power that we did fit into. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
We love this state park. It has a really really nice bike path around the lake. Nice woods sites. Very quiet. We love the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$16
We like state parks because of the atmosphere, but this park seemed to pack people everywhere. we were surrounded on both sides as close as 15 feet away. The lake swimming was also a disappointment, lots of debris floating around and the bottem had leaves and vegetation all around. We swam about 10 min. and got out for fear of stepping on something. Penn parks also had no water hookups which means lots of water hauling...NOT FUN.. We stayed one night and were outta there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
This is a very nice State park on a lake with good access roads. Most of the sites are quite private. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the park is quite pleasant. The only negative, except the park lacks full services, was the pet restrictions. Pets are restricted to one loop area only, and some of the other campers are on the lookout for the slightest infraction. One semi-permanent camper near the rest room will register a complaint if your dog puts one foot off of the pavement. This is not a pet friendly place. We stayed in a truck camper. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$14
Great campground with wooded sites, large lake with boating, fishing and swimming. Hiking and bike trails are excellent. Bathrooms are few and "rustic" but otherwise acceptable. The electric sites looked a bit crowded compared to some of the other sites. We stayed in site 132 and all sites along the outer loop were very large and in great shape. Definitely going back next year. All staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$17
What a wonderful State Park. It's a completely wooded area with a 52 acre lake. Hiking trails, beach, bike paths. Can't go wrong for the price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com