223434 User submitted reviews online!!
Bellefonte / State College KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (814) 355-7912
CGID2403

Bellefonte / State College KOA

Camp Information
Sites
163
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$52



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   8   9   8   9   9   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$52
I will preface this by stating that we are KOA Kamp Kard holders and typically look for KOA Kampgrounds if available for short stays or layovers. This is a good place for an overnight layover. The spots are very tight, even by KOA standards. Also they may advertise a certain length, but a good portion of the total length is a pretty steep incline to a short level patch. Any unit of medium to considerable length needed an insane number of blocking materials to get under the leveling jacks to get level. The bathrooms are some of the best we have seen in a KOA. Unfortunately it takes forever to get lukewarm water and then it is only a misting, not a stream of water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$85
We are not the target market for KOA parks and typically do not like or stay in them. However, while a bit too expensive for us, this is our second favorite KOA in the U.S. Quiet, nice staff, nice sites for large rigs, they agreed to trim some trees for us, nice dog park and pool area. On the negative side, the roads are dusty, I saw a couple of lose dogs several times and a large group was partying until 2 a.m. and were very noisy. Onsite staff should have stopped it, as many other campers were bothered by it. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$42
First time here and it seemed to be just fine. The only thing is the sites are slanted uphill and was hard to level. Everyone was very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$54
Rate reflects KOA discount and weeknight rate. Nice quiet campground. We were in site #3. Sites are level gravel, but very close together. So much so that there was not much room for our tow vehicle. Back in and pull through available. Access roads are gravel, as well. Friendly staff, nice store, well kept pool. Wi-Fi strong. Bathrooms clean and up to date. Only 2 miles from the Interstate and seems to be a popular over night stop for those passing through the area. We would return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$64
Very nice campground with a very nice pool. Most sites are arranged along 5 rows and "tiered" above one an other. A little close together and the water hookups are on the opposite side of the electric and sewer which was bizarre. Price reflects KOA member discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$50
We stayed here July 4th for 5 days. Very clean, very quiet park. Each site has a table and fire ring. We were given site 29 first and there was no way we could use this site, uphill site which made it hard to get level. The picnic table was next to the sewage hole of the next site, yuck! We notice several like that. They were very accommodating and we found 64 to be much better. If you decide to stay here, look at where the hook ups are located too. Some are on the correct side and some are not. Luckily we have extra water, elec and cable so it wasn't an issue with us. We are staying here again next month and would recommend it. We have requested certain site #. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$46
Very nice park. Some sites are a little small. The restrooms were very clean. The pool, store, and pavilion all were very nice. I would definitely visit this park again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$50
Friendly campground with super owners and staff. It is a beautiful area and other campers are always nice as well. We have been coming for years and as long as we continue to live, will keep coming. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$55
We ordinarily avoid KOA. Most of them weren't built for big-rigs, but this one looked good on paper and was in the right location. It was very nice: excellent front desk guy; nice sites; some open, some shaded (our satellite dishes worked); clean and well-kept grounds. This campground caters to all sizes and types of RVs as well as tents and Kamper Kabins. We'd stay here again, even though it was a little pricey. But that's the other reason we avoid KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$45
Overall this was a very nice campground. We only stayed one night passing through, but it was a little pricey. The site was a pull through and gravel which is nice. It was still early spring, so it was not crowded at all. The sites and bathrooms were very clean, and I saw staff cleaning everywhere I looked. My 5 year old enjoyed the play areas and "exploring" the wooded areas. It was nice, but would have preferred to pay a little less. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
We stayed for 3 nights in a tent. Only distraction I can really comment on is the noise from I-80, but after the first night you really get used to it. Our campsite T35 was located right across from the restroom/showers, tucked back in the woods. Very quiet. Pool was great. They offer a hay ride every night and a free movie in the pavilion. Lots of activities for the kids. I noticed 2 different play areas, one with swings etc, the other with volleyball net, badminton net, horseshoe pits (2), tether ball, a basketball hoop. On the weekends (Fri through Sun) there is a small cafe located in the pavilion open for dinner and breakfast. The office and general store is well stocked. We enjoyed exploring Penn's Cave, Woodward Cave, Bald eagle state park, downtown Bellefonte and on our way home we even showed Penn State University to our son. Great place to camp. Staff very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
We like this campground. The site we had was very nice. It would be nice to see the restrooms upgraded. They are old and dingy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Park is clean and well maintained. Some of the sites are rather close together without much privacy, but all of the campers were well behaved and the campground was quiet at night. The pool was well maintained and the bathrooms were cleaned twice a day. I would be happy to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
We pulled into this campground to stay a couple nights on our way home from Hershey Park. We pulled out after one night. This campground is one big hill. We had a pull-thru site that wasn't even long enough to let our truck sit by our camper. We had to park on a vacant site beside us, we were lucky they were not busy or we would have had nowhere to park. Sites are really small, sewer, water, and cable hook-ups are too far away, take extra hoses!! The only thing we liked about this campground was the pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
Agreed with previous posters about sites. Some of the longer pull-throughs have a steep up-slope to get into them, and it may be tough to find a site in which a longer rig can remain hitched up. All sites are terraced, as the campground is on a hillside. Otherwise, clean and decent CG, with very friendly and helpful owners. Small (narrow) sites typical of many KOAs. Beautiful landscaping and some nice wooded sites at the top of the property. We'd stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$46
Nice to find this park. The only complaint is the sites are not level. Other then that, it has friendly staff and is a nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$64
The good: has shady sites, a nice staff, and is a pretty campground. Has a decent store. The bad: the sites are very cramped. Our slides were almost touching the neighbor's awning. Sites are VERY uneven/hilly. This was the most uneven site we have ever camped on and most were just as bad. Lots of maneuvering/blocks etc., needed. Constantly tripping on the tree roots around the site. The campground itself is on a hill. Utilities are set-up oddly. We shared water with the next door neighbor. I felt bad for them as our hoses ran right in front of their camper. No other way to do it. Has a small pool. Not much going on. You can hear I-80 at night: did bother my husband. Three of the toilets in women's restroom were having some sort of problem. Had to wait in line to use the functioning ones. Will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$40
Nice people, quiet surroundings. It had rained and the area around our site was muddy and tracked into Motor Home. Had to watch where you walked. Would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
Sites were adequate but a little cramped. The traffic noise from I-80 was distracting in the evening. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$53
Sites way too small and crammed together. About 2 feet between our canopy and next-door's slideout. Utilities poorly placed. Next door's septic outlet was next to our picnic table. Majority of big rigs pulling into pullthroughs would ground out as the hill was too steep. Beware! There was a nice walking area and the facilities/activities were good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
Beautiful entrance which belies the condition of the park. The sites are tight, not well maintained and very peculiar in their set up. You share water posts and cable with neighbors and they are not in the center between the sites which means you had better have a long hose and an even longer cable connection. It is a nice setting but there is much room for improvement. It is the KOA President's Award for 2008, but obviously they did it over the phone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
The staff was nice and they had great activities for the kids, for all ages which was nice. The recreation area was great with the horseshoe pits, volleyball, and basketball court. We did not use the pool, but it looked clean. The sites are extremely small and tight. There is not enough room to fit into the sites for those who had a tow vehicle. Many of those vehicles blocked the very narrow roads to get into the sites and trying to get by on the one way streets. It was extremely packed and noisy with dogs and screaming kids. We stayed here in a 34 motorhome and would probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$45
Quiet peaceful campground. Seems to be a typical KOA. Easy access to sites, close to interstate, and PSU. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
This is an OK park located on the side of a hill. Sites are located on rows of terraces. Gravel roads and site pads. I had a pull-through site but it was so uneven that I couldn't leave my toad attached to the motorhome. Gravel bed was so narrow that I had to dig out a cavity in the dirt to allow my steps to extend completely. I had a full hook-up site. The water and cable were on a shared post with the right-hand neighbor while the sewer and power were on the left side of the rig. I had to run water and cable under the motorhome to make attachments. Power was OK but sewer connection required 25 feet of hose. Looked like the rig was on life-support! Neighbors fire ring was 5 feet from my RV. Plenty of noise from near-by I-80. Mostly smaller campers and pop-ups here and campground was at near capacity. As I was leaving, one fifth-wheel owner had left his truck attached to his rig and the truck was sticking out in the street. This forced me to squeeze between his bumper and the next terrace. Inches to spare. I would have thought the management would ask him to disconnect but it did not. Close to State College, I will probably go back unless I find something better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$53
First time at this CG. We were pleased with all of the activities for kids. The staff were great at accommodating us, and getting us a full hookup after a cancellation. The sites are rather small and close, but they are shaded and were easy to get into. We had full hookup with a concrete patio pad. The pool was nice, although when they say heated it means barely heated. The price was a little high, and I don't like when CG's charge for every person. This is a family experience, yet they charged me a surcharge per adult and child. The staff was very nice. One night we ordered pizza and they delivered it to our site. They have a nice little restaurant with decent prices. The one negative was that you share water and cable with the site next to you. Basically there is 1 water water connection per every two sites. This was a pain because the water connection was on our entrance side and everytime we went to walk through the woods behind us someone tripped on cable or water lines. This was a pain because we were along a tree line that had a path to the activities behind us. We watch several other people trip and fall down on our cable line. There is a a lot of cool things to do outside of the CG. Penn State is very close, Bellefonte is a neat little town and Penn's Cave was awesome. We definitely enjoyed ourselves here. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$44
Nice campground tucked in on the side of a hill. Our site was spacious, level and near a bathhouse. The bathhouse was always clean. The restaurant was really nice. We had breakfast and dinner there. Great food and very reasonable prices. The store is well stocked with lots of knick knacks and souvenirs. Everyone was friendly and helpful with directions to get around. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
We did not like this campground. There weren't many activities for the kids. The sites were very small and VERY unlevel. We had an awful time getting our camper level. They DO NOT enforce QUIET TIME. There were people behind us up partying until after midnight. The laundry facilities were old and smelled like sour laundry. I will say the restrooms were clean and the pool was nice. We will NOT be going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$38
We like this park for its convenience to State College and the area trout fishing. We have stayed when it was over run with kids and when it is empty. The staff seem courteous. I do not care for their waterless urinals as they cause the bathrooms to stink. I noticed this both times we stayed there. The wifi is adequate when the park is not busy, but it seems really slow when the park is crowded. It is a tad expensive and there is a fair amount of distant road noise as Rte 80 is across the valley. I am sure it is a mad house on football weekends and at the Arts Fest. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
Quiet and small campground, nice people, not much for kids to do inside park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$35
Nice C.G. with good access to State College. Everything was clean and well maintained except for the sites themselves. Our site (#12) was a muddy mess and needs stone added. Others nearby seemed similar. The staff was great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2006
$34
This park overrated as a 5. Many sites are really unlevel and not very long. Manager tried to charge me more than what my reservation had confirmed. Also, while they advertise free wifi, I was only 3 rows from the office and couldn't get a strong enough signal. This was disappointing becuse free wifi was the reason I picked this park. $34 was too much for off season rates. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$38
We stayed overnight. It was ok for overnight, but it took more than the leveling jacks to get us level. We were in a pull-through site and it appeared the back- in sites were pretty level. The staff was friendly and the pool was clean. It was an easy trip off Route 80 and it is in a very nice area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$35
Lots of very unlevel sites. Some of the contraptions I saw other campers had to level their trailers would have made Rube Goldberg proud! Staff was very friendly. Lots of rain made lots of mud. Only some sites had a cement pad: Ours didn't. The place is only a few minutes off of I-80 and good for a quick overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com