221698 User submitted reviews online!!
WT Family Camping was rated 5 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (570) 646-9255
CGID2405

WT Family Camping

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
July 2010
Latest Rate
$54



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   9   8   3   2   8   10   1   3   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2010
$54
We stayed here over race weekend and for a campground that is 2 miles from the track it should have been packed, but it was not full at all. We had to move to a different site because the one we were in was uneven and the auto level for the motorhome wouldn't level us. The second site wasn't much better but we leveled. The site itself was tight and we had no space on the side to set up chairs. With only 20 amp service you can't run electric water heater and a/c without blowing a fuse. We were only able to get 3 channels on TV via the antenna.The roads are narrow and to exit our site to leave campground I had to back up twice in order to make the turn. The interior roads are in need of some repairs.Some people who were registered guests had to leave their car in parking lot and walk to there site because there was no one to let them in when they returned from race at 7 o'clock. The campground made no arrangements to get these people in. The mini golf course is poorly maintained and not worth the money to play. If you are going to the race and do not have to spend to much time in the campground, this place will be OK, otherwise I would find someplace else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
We just arrived home from our camping trip in the Poconos. We had a great time at the campground. The bathrooms were super clean and the staff were very friendly. I love going to a campground that has trees and is not a field. This was a true campground and allowed us to really enjoy nature. We even saw some deer, lots of chipmunks, turkeys, and rabbits during our stay. The sites can be tight if you do not know how to back in and it did take us a couple tries to get into our site, but it was very worth it. Our site had a beautiful rock wall and fire pit. My kids had a great time too. We hiked up to the tower and once you get up there, there are so many hiking trails to take. The swimming pool is only open for the afternoon, but the weather isn't really warm enough to go in the evening or morning. We had a great time and we booked another weekend for August. I would recommend this campground to anyone! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
If being in the woods is what you like in a campground then this is the campground for you. The sites are of various sizes and shapes and blend well with the geography of the area. The pool is also very nice. They have gated access and card keys are available for a deposit on non-race weekends. If you don't wish to leave a deposit for a key you must walk in to your site after office hours. The proximity to Pocono Raceway seems to dictate much policy at this campground, but a non-race weekend is very serene. The staff was friendly and they have a full service RV store. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
Campsites were extremely difficult to get into, very tight. Campsites were also very small and were enclosed with stone walls; not much room for chairs and grills and such. There was only one hiking trail and it led to a lookout tower that had been closed for safety reasons so we couldn't go up it. It was also very steep, rough and short. The campground was gated and not always staffed so sometimes you had to wait for someone to show up to let you in. We had a couple come down to visit us and the park charged each a $7 "visitors fee". The also issued wrist bands so they could check to make sure you weren't sneaking in although how you would do that with the gate system I don't know. I couldn't figure out why they needed that kind of security and to be charged for day visitors seemed really excessive. One of our group had a broken sewer line so he couldn't use it (most of the lines were above ground) and although he reported it, they never fixed it so he couldn't use his sewer hook up. Ours was hidden under a rock and at a 45' angle and up against another large rock so none of our fittings would work although we could pump out if we held the hose into the sewer line. I didn't care for the campground and will most likely not be returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
This campground is not friendy at all, and very rude to their guests! When my children did not show up on the 2nd day of our stay, I asked for a refund for the money I had paid for them and I was told since it was the 2nd day, I would not get a refund. Not only would I not get a refund, since I wasn't wearing the required "wristband" to identify me as a "paid" camper, I was told not to return to this campground. Not only will I not return, I will make sure that everyone I know that camps will not stay here. The sites are very hard to get in to with a big camper and the staff is not accommodating at all. Apparently they don't need any more business. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
We stayed here 2 nights on our way to Gettysburg. It was very cold and we did see flurries the day we were leaving, therefore there was no water at the site. We were told in advance that the water would probably not be on when we arrived. Our site was D 11, which was fairly level with 20 amp electric, sewer, and water in warmer weather. All the fire places were made of the pinkish colored stone from the mountain. Many of the site were outlined with the same stone made into small walls. The few seasonal sites were very neat and clean. The showers and bathrooms were spotless. We loved the wooded sites and the hiking trails up to the fire lookout tower. We like quiet peaceful campgrounds and this fit the bill perfectly. The roads were a little rough in spots, but if you went slow, it was OK. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stopped over for one night on our return trip. We hope to visit the WT Family Campground again during race season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
This has to be one of the nicest campgrounds in the area. We arrived having just had a bad experience in Bloomsburg, Pa., so were ready to settle for an "okay" campground. We were pleased to find this gem of a campground which has one of the cleanest and roomiest rest/shower rooms we've seen, as well as ample and private campsites. This provided a very welcome and restful end to a 30-day road trip. We didn't use the pool but checked it out and found it to be larger than many campground pools and very pristine. I would recommend this to any camper, from tent to big-rig RVs. It's in a beautiful area of Pennsylvania and there would be a lot of nice side trips. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$45
We were scheduled to camp at this campground for the Pocono's 500 race and my vehicle broke down before we left home. We ended up going there in a car with a tent but since we reserved an RV site, they canceled our reservation after they charged us $45. Friends of ours stayed there and reported to us there we many empty sites despite being told the campground was full. Very disappointing to go a long way and not be able to use the site we paid for 6-7 months ago, in full. NOT A RACE FRIENDLY CAMPGROUND. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS FACILITY. They could have extended a courtesy and put us in a tent site, even though we paid for a RV site. AGAIN, NOT RACE FRIENDLY. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2006
$38
A very basic campground. Here's a quick rundown: - Low water pressure - Short pool hours - Staff sometimes rude or 'waiting to be angered' - Terrible roads - Not enough electric to run my A/C - Not much in the way of supplies at the camp store I can tolerate many disappointments, but an unexplainable rude staff will ruin your weekend or vacation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$34
We camped in a travel trailer Memorial weekend. We had a wonderful private campsite. The owners were very pleasant. Seasonal sites and owners were very friendly. The campground doesn't have many activities for children but campground is very quiet and private. We are hoping to go back during a race weekend next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2006
$33
Called and asked about noise and availability. They said it was very quiet and only had 2 sites available. They are right on a major road with truck and car traffic all night. Place was only about 30% full. Pool was heated, to about 70 degrees at most. Dirty pool, hours only 12-5. Poor and run-down play area for kids. Very few activities on a holiday weekend. Advertised a fireplace in the gameroom, there was none! Mini-golf course was unusable due to debree. Restrooms dirty. ONLY 3 SHOWERS for entire campground. The only place to put your shower goods is the wet floor. Very poorly maintained facilities. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$29
We visited the campground over Memorial Day weekend this past year and although the weather was rainy for all 3 days we had a great time. The restrooms were spotless even with the muddy traffic. My kids (ages 5,7,9) participated in the activities and although some were canceled due to the inclimate weather, the campground managed to change a few so that the kids had something to do. They also gave us a coupon for 50% off the site fee for another trip because it rained. We then went a second time for the July NASCAR race at Pocono Speedway, which they are located 2 miles away from. Again with the entire campground packed we had a great time. The sites are nicely shaded and private. The family that owns the campground were always smiling and friendly. The campground is very family oriented. They enforce the quiet hour even on Raceweekend which makes it nice for families who would like to sleep at night. On our first trip there was no one at the security gate, but there is a intercom system that you use to communicate with the office to go through the gate and since we decided to go out to dinner late we got a gate card which we then could use that to enter the camp. The playground equipment could use an expansion for larger amounts of children, but there was still something for the kids to do. Overall the campground met all of my family's expectations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2003
$34
For a family campground, they sure don't like children. Very nasty staff. Very small sites. Roads are worn out and very hilly. Sewer on trailer got damaged. Showers run too hot then ice cold. Nothing for the kids to do. Bad experience. Never going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com