215119 User submitted reviews online!!
Hickory Run Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (717) 336-5564
CGID2415

Hickory Run Campground

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$46



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   9   9   1   1   3   1   5   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$46
We enjoy camping here. We like the pull through sites on the hill near the pool. No sewer connection up here though, but very quiet. Most sites are shaded and spacious. The park is clean and everyone is very pleasant. A lot to do outside of it; Renaissance Fair, outlets, wineries, Green Dragon Flea Market etc. Also, off season it is very cheap to keep your trailer on site for a week. Loved going up the next weekend and not having to tow the trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$40
Overall, the campground is just okay. The roads are horrible. There are a lot of potholes on the entry road and throughout the campgrounds. The bathrooms were outdated. The free pancake breakfast on Saturday morning was a plus. Our full hookup site was big enough and easy to get into. We have camped here a few times over the last 25 years and the campground looks basically the same as it did 25 years ago. No real improvements at all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Over the past two years we have camped here several times a year. We have camped along Horseshoe Drive, and up in the pull through sites. We thoroughly enjoy the pull through sites (water/electric only). Nice, quiet and spacious. On the weekends they have ample activities. This weekend was Critter Weekend with a pet parade and contest along with a reptile show and Mill Creek Search & Rescue Demo which we learned a lot! The staff is very friendly, along with the seasonal campers. We will definitely return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$37
We have been camping here since 2006. We love it. The pool is spring fed so it's always cool. If you're looking for a fancy activity filled campground, this isn't it. It's basic camping with no frills. They do have scheduled activities. Bingo Fri. nights, hayrides for the kids, candy scramble, and some type of entertainment on Sat. nights. Movies on Sun. nights. Staff is friendly, and the store is stocked well. Some things are outdated, but it's comfortable. We camp here 2-4 times a season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2010
$45
My family decided to try this campground one more time. The family wanted to go since it was casino weekend. First off, no improvements were made once again to this campground. As for casino night, they had mostly college kids running the games that appeared and smelled drunk. It is amazing owners would allow this especially since this was for kids to enjoy too. After casino night when exiting, there was over two dozen golf carts parked all over the place with people on them yelling and drinking beer. Not a nice scene! Drinking and driving? Hmmm. Campsites lack gravel and grass was over 8 inches high at most spots. This was my last visit to this place. Not a safe environment if you have kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2009
$43
We gave this place a second chance: we were disappointed once again. Way too many golf carts racing around. They make noise all day long racing and tooting their horns. The worst thing about the golf carts is that this campground allows this to go on. Workers were present when this was going on. And the fact that half are drinking beer while driving them is ridiculous. The sites were still bare with no gravel and plenty of slop. If this owner laid gravel or stone these sites would not be half bad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
I have to agree with a lot of what was written in another June, 2009 review that I read. The most obvious thing about this campground is the fact that it appears the Owner puts very little back into the campground. The roads are a mess, the grass isn't cut, a lot of the amenities (mini golf, tennis courts, basketball court, ball field) are run down, etc... I will say that we had no problem with the seasonals while we were there; they were actually quite friendly and the place does have a very well stocked fishing pond. We also brought in our own firewood and had no problems. Probably won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$41
Not a family campground. If you have kids you will be afraid to let them walk or ride their bikes with all the beer drinking, golf cart riding seasonals. Very territorial seasonals and you must watch out for all the unleashed dogs. Seen a few fender benders on the golf carts while they were playing tag or bumper carts. Rules only seem to be enforced on transit campers. I have seen one seasonal camper with 8 dogs running wild. Roads are very rough and filled with pot holes. Many sites lack gravel and are mostly swamps when it rains. This owner needs more gravel laid. You have to pay for showers which is a joke. Avoid this campground unless you want to join a clique. This owner seems to have many seasonal sites for income and never puts anything back into the campground. The miniature golf is also a joke, and filled with bee's nests. You can tell they never take care of that. Small game room for the kids. The firewood is $4.50 a bundle and it contains mostly bark and boards. You must buy it there. While I was there, I have seen a few seasonals transporting pick up truck loads of wood for their own site. Never again for me. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2008
$39
Where we camped there was no sewer hookups, but there are dump stations which we used on the way out. The only issue we had was that we were with a group and were using a pavillon. Apparently the rules are really strict here. We moved some tables around to give us room to play a game. Someone came by on a golf cart and told us to put the tables back how they had them NOW! From that point on we felt we were being closely watched. However, we do plan on going back again next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2006
$31
Campground staff were pleasant. It appears that in season they have a security person in the booth as you enter, but it was empty when we arrived. Campground itself was average. Interior roads were gravel and could have used some maintenance. We were up it the "C" section. This appears where they put the overnighters in bigger rigs. There were no sewer hook ups available. The only sewer hook ups we saw were in the section for the seasonal folks. There was 2 dump stations with easy access. The sites in our section were level, well layed out, grassy, and fairly large. From the literature we saw, they do have a number of family type activities on the weekends (pig roasts, ice cream socials, etc.) It's a good base for exploring Amish Country. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$36
Campground is ok for me. The owner and staff are very nice, but the CG needs some work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$33
We liked this campground. It was pretty empty; even the permanent campers stayed at home this weekend. The park was quiet this weekend, except for a noisy BMX motorcycle rider from the rural neighborhood who thought it cool to see how fast he could fly on the road near the park. The park was clean, the staff was pleasant. They had security on site during the day, checking people who came in. The park employed several high school kids in the camp HQ, but they were respectful. The camp's gameroom is pretty small. The camp store wasn't too expensive and the snack bar portions were generous. The camp's swimming pool was clean, although small; not sure what it would be like if the park was full. There are other activities held for families during the day - they promoted each from the HQ with a big speaker system, which was nice. The biggest challenge for the park is its remote location. There is a narrow, widing road you have to take to get there. No fun for big rigs. We arrived in the early evening and left in the mid afternoon, so there was little traffic. Thank God. This is a nice place to stay if you want to see the Amish Country in northeastern Lancaster County. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2006
$31
Interior access roads were in poor shape, rough and potholed. Most sites were not level and sloped side to side. A lot of seasonal sites the weekend we camped, which made a lot of noise with loud gas carts, unleashed dogs, and fireworks. Security patrols were non-existent. It was kids weekend, but very few activities were scheduled. Pond was full of algae, and pool was closed all weekend. The ratings on this campground in Woodalls is overated. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$20
Nice area - lots of activities for the kids. Small fishing pond on site. Would go again. Nearby to outlets. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2004
$30
Nice clean place, good activities, Owner could be a little more friendly, very clickey group. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$36
I sort of resent having to shell out $36 bucks a night for 30 amp service and then being asked to pay for the showers as well. There were also no door locks on any of the Ladies' room bathroom stalls. Many seasonal sites scattered throughout, as well cabin rentals. Sites for other campers were not always the most level, contained varying amounts of gravel. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com