220021 User submitted reviews online!!
Outdoor World / Gettysburg Farm Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (717) 292-7191
CGID2417

Outdoor World / Gettysburg Farm Campground

Camp Information
Sites
265
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$0



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   9   5   9   10   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$0
Thousand Trails member rate. The campground could rate higher if there was an effort made to deal with drainage of rainwater runoff. With heavy rains many of the sites are under water (inches) and are slow to drain when the rain stops. This is a working farm with lots of animals (petting yard) including alpaca and llama. There is lots going on here and families have a ball. The volleyball court was a pool during our two week stay. Staff is courteous and helpful. During summer this is a busy place with lots of families camping for weekends. Gettysburg Battlefield/Park is nearby. Allow lots of time to do the tours. Seasonal fresh produce from all the surrounding farms. This really is a pleasant campground, in spite of the run-off problem with heavy rains. 50 amp sites go quickly, so arrive as early as possible. We would return when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$0
Staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a back-in on grass/gravel, more grass then gravel. We had a full hook up with 50 amp electric. The site was fairly level. We had a picnic table and fire ring. We needed 30 foot of sewer hose to connect to the sewer hookup, and this is common in many of the sites. So bring enough sewer hose. There were a few large trees at our site. Very active schedule, like most Thousand Trails parks. There is a large pool, clubhouse, mini golf, etc, etc. This is a country atmosphere resort with many farm animals. There are goats, horses, cows, chickens, ducks, pigs, etc. 4 o'clock is feeding time, and the kids can help feed. The club house is very country with a large stone fireplace. About 250 sites with 20 rental cabins. There is a very clean laundry in the clubhouse. Our Verizon phone worked very well. Not sure about Wi-Fi. Over the air TV we receive all major networks. Dog Friendly. Very large park with many areas to walk a dog. Very low light at night. Very quiet even though the park was full while we were there. Small book exchange in the clubhouse. It is out in the country and about 8-10 miles from grocery shopping and many Restaurants. A few small restaurants about six miles. About 15 miles from downtown York with many factory tours in the area. 18 miles from Gettysburg National Park. The park is a great location for touring the area. We will try to get back to do some of the factory tours. The park sits along the Conestoga Creek. We did have some very heavy rains while there. The ground was already saturated and some of the sites down toward the creek had 2-3 inches of water laying around them for a day or two. There are a limited number of 50 amp sites. They let you choose your own site, like most Thousand Trails Parks, but it burns my butt when I see a pop up with a 20 amp cord on a 50 amp site and a large 5th wheel or motor home have to take a 30 amp site. There are many seasonal/annual sites on the limited 50 amp sites. The park was nearly full for the 12 days we were here. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$1
We really enjoyed this park. We are Thousand Trails members and this is one of the nicest campgrounds we've been to in the system. Would stay here again if we're ever in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$1
We love this park. The staff is friendly and helpful, the facilities are beautifully maintained, the sites are spacious, and the animals are fun to watch. Lots of baby animals. The activity center is pure country, with a big stone fireplace at one end and tables set up on raised platforms along both sides of the room. There are big wooden country cutouts along the chair rails. There are three playgrounds, a nice, fenced outdoor basketball court, pool and gameroom. On weekends they have pony rides and petting zoo. Good TV reception, and we have shade and satellite. There is Tengo Internet available for a charge. We would definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
This CG was lacking in a lot of areas, beginning with the rudeness of the office staff. They do have a lot of activities planned throughout the week. The bathrooms near us were filthy, and remained that way the entire 5 days we were there. The only ventilation in the bathroom was a box fan plugged in next to the sink. Not sure how safe that is. The pool was warm, but dirty. It was only cleaned in the early morning. Hookups are at the far rear of the site. Sites are small and cramped. There are a lot of very unfriendly members and seasonals who think they own the place. It was really neat to have a pasture, corn fields, and petting zoo as part of the facility. The best part of the CG is that it was centrally located within 45 min of Lancaster, Hershey, and Gettysburg. If you plan to stay in the near future, beware of a bridge that's out next door to the CG. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$1
We stayed here with our Outdoor World membership through Thousand Trails. The stay was free with the membership. They have a gated security that is staffed most of the time. We were here during the Memorial Day weekend 2009 and the park was almost 100% full. The main roads are paved up to the area where the sites are. The roads to the sites are all gravel. The sites have a gravel drive. They are level and very spacious and most come with a fire ring and a barbeque. We were on a full service site with 50/30 Amp service, water and sewer. There are a lot of sites by the rive as well, but they do not have sewer. The park offers free honey due service at no charge. We have a satellite dish. If you do, you will need to watch for a site that is open to the southwest. We had no problem doing that. They do not allow golf carts here. I use ours due to my disabilities, but could not use it here. They do allow a scooter or power chair if you have one of those. There is a nice pool, free mini golf, basketball courts and playgrounds. There is a petting zoo for the kids. Great RV park for the kids. The office has camping supplies and a small food store with the basics. The staff runs a lot of activities on the weekend. The grounds are well kept. The park is located between Gettysburg and Lancaster. A lot of stuff to see and do in the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$1
We just bought a Thousand Trails membership, and Thousand Trails has just acquired Outdoor World. This was our first use of the TTN/Outdoor World system. We just love this place. Right from the start, we were greeted with neatly manicured and landscaped surroundings. The office staff was very friendly and helpful. We were told to pick out a site to our liking, and then return to the office to let them know where we'll be. The sites are long and level, and spaced nicely apart from neighboring sites. There is a nice variety of farm animals here: fun for adults and kids alike. Can't say enough about this place. We'll definitely return! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
This is a wonderful campground. The campground is also a working hobby farm with many animals. We camped here during Easter break with another family and between us we had 8 boys. The kids loved it. It had a great playground area for the kids, flat roads for bike riding, free mini golf, the fun of the animals and beautiful gardens. They even did a pot luck for Easter dinner. We were here early in the season so most of the week we were there, the cg was almost empty. The sites are typical of an RV park. The showers/bathrooms were clean. It is conveniently located to Gettyburg and Lancaster County. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$25
This is a great park and very well run. The "farm" is in the middle of the campground and gives the kids lots of opportunities to interact with different animals. (Many tame rabbits here and in the adjacent Conewago Isle CG) Friendly staff and guests. No "seasonal trash", wild golf carts, etc. The sites are first come first served. The entertainment and activities are great for all. There is ample room between sites to give you a private feel but yet not too secluded. We will DEFINITELY be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$63
This highly unusual campground combines the beauty of camping with the features of a farm, and manages to execute the combination in a superb, family-friendly, and child-centered manner. We enjoyed a full schedule of weekend activities (including a movie, a craft program, a hay ride, and a petting zoo), luxuriated in the large and uncrowded pool, witnessed the birth of two goats, played several rounds of mini-golf, and were most impressed with the staff's attention to detail and desire to accommodate our needs. Our rental unit was capable of sleeping eight people, nicely furnished, immaculately clean, and a bargain for the nightly rate that we paid. I highly recommend this campground, which is available to both Outdoor World members and to non-members like us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$25
This is a working farm with a campground dispersed throughout. What a riot! It's on a nice river. The staff was great. Buttercup was the most personable cow I've ever seen. We've camped all over the country and this place was really neat. It's convenient to Hershey, Gettysburg, York, Hanover. Membership park, but nobody bothered us at all to join. Go here--it was more fun than the tourist activities all around it. Very quiet save for the rooster, but he was just being a rooster. Clean, polite families camping there. Even had a civil war encampment/reenactment going on. Highly recommended! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com