214403 User submitted reviews online!!
Wright's Orchard Station Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (814) 695-2628
CGID2419

Wright's Orchard Station Campground

Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   9   7   10   8   5   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$29
Quiet little campground right in town. Most sites are back-in, but there is a short row of pull-throughs in the center (these have 30 amp service). Sites are level, some are best for smaller vehicles. Lots of trees provide nice shade. A small camp store and a laundry room are on site. No other amenities. Restrooms very clean. Wi-Fi is good. Strong cellular coverage (AT&T, Verizon). Owners are very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
Clean baths, and our site was level. But this camp is up a hill, behind businesses, and it seems more of a trailer park than a campground; lots of permanent residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$29
A beautiful, funky surprise of a campground, secluded between a residential neighborhood and self storage units, and a steep hill behind the campground. GPS is 40.45240 and 78.41200. You take I-99 (what genius numbered this interstate?) at Exit 31 and go one mile south of the interchange on Plank Road in Altoona. When you get to Convention Center Road, turn right (which is west on a GPS), go between the self store building and (get this) a car AND dog wash, bear right and up the gravel drive, and look for the rail crossing sign on a fence. You've arrived. Campground has a railroad theme. No campsite is perfectly level, but you can get your RV leveled on the gravel/grassy pads. Water and electric worked fine. Five bar AT&T service. Bathrooms indescribably clean. Great showers. Dump station a bit higher than your RV, so I had to manually elevate the hose in order to get gravity to activate. Owners were friendly and cheerful, check-in efficient. Fantastic wi-fi service. Picnic pavilion was available. Not the place to bring kids, nothing for children to do. Ask owners about rail history around Altoona; they are knowledgeable about local history spots. We would intentionally route through this area again to camp here overnight, even if I-99 is misnumbered! By the way, I-99 is in much better condition than I-81. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
A small campground tucked away behind a storage lot, but in a good location. Maneuvering into the sites is a bit tight, there's a few trees too many, and they lean over so watch the height. We were pleasantly surprised by how nice it was, with really excellent Wi-Fi and immaculate bath-house. Cable TV was a bonus too. It's quiet and ideal for mature campers like us! Nothing for kids to do, so take them to the excellent Altoona Railroad Museum and Horseshoe Curve. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
We stayed for three days and two nights. The purpose of this trip was to go to Lakemont Amusement Park and to an Altoona Curve ball game. The campground is small, well maintained and with good customer service. The bathrooms and showers were spotless. There are no activities (pool/playground) for kids, but we had a great time and definitely will be staying here again. If you are looking for a no-frills, safe and clean campground in the Altoona area, this is the place for you. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
With a pool and activities for kids this would be a 10. All 50 amp sites are back in; the pull thrus are 30 amp; lots of trees on the side of a hill. To access the campground the entrance looks like you are going into another type of business and not a campground. You drive past self storage units, up a narrow gravel road ,make a sharp turn at the top, and you are in front of the office. All in all, quiet clean and relaxing place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
Basic facts don't tell the whole story. PULL THROUGH SITES AVAILABLE: YES. (If you have a car with tent in trunk or a small van. Everything else is back in.) 50 AMP SERVICE: YES. (If you are one of 4 seasonal, all other sites are 30.) SEWAGE HOOKUP: YES. (Again if you are one of the seasonals. Otherwise you have to use the dump station which is on a one lane road so if you stop to dump you completely block the road.) BIG RIG ACCESS: YES. (But only if you are really really good at backing.) I changed some of the "yes" answers to "no." Must be the owner filled out the last one. Would I return? Never. Would I recommend this site? Never. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
This is a well run basic park. It is a little hard to find close to Altoona. Look for the sign once you pass the Walmart if you are coming from 99. The driveway is easy to miss between a dive shop and car wash. We intended to only stay 2 days but liked the central location so much we spent 5. Do not be put off by the entrance, the park is clean, quiet & shady. While here we visited all the old Railroad areas, beautiful state parks & even The Creamery at Penn State. The new I 99 is completed through State College so this would be a good place to stay prior to tailgating for football games We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$27
Very nice campground and the staff was friendly. We stayed here two nights and really enjoyed this quiet campground. I would recommend this campground as a "base camp" from which you can do other things in the area because there are no amenities to speak of (in particular for families with small children). Our campsite was level, had water and electric, and was tree covered as were most of the sites. We attended Railfest 2008 at the National Railroaders Museum in Altoona and this campground couldn't have been more convenient. We arrived at the campground just in time to join a group of people entering the building where several model trains are set up and had a wonderful time seeing them run. Our 3 year old loved it! We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$23
We just returned from our trip to this campground. Boy, were we surprised! This campground is very nice! Yes, we were a little hesitant when we first pulled in. The registration office is in front of a storage unit. At first it looked like it would be nothing more than a run down trailer park. However, once we drive past that and around the corner, you feel you are out of the city and in the woods! Apparently, some new owners took over a few years back and really fixed up the place. The sites are nice and shaded and very clean. There are also nice flowers planted in various areas around the park. The bathrooms are spotless! True, they don't have a playground or pool or anything for the kids to do, but camp. Also, it is very small with only 42 sites. But, they did this on purpose. They want to keep a nice quiet atmosphere. There is very little road noise. Most you hear is the birds chirping. Nice stop if passing through. We stayed there while visiting relatives in the area. Another little plus there is a car wash at the entrance of the site big enough for a RV wash! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com