224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Gaslight Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (724) 867-6981
CGID2424

Gaslight Campground

Camp Information
Sites
128
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   4   7   6   10   5   8   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2014
$36
This is primitive camping with a pricey rate. Evidently, the park had done some recent construction as the ground was rough, bumpy, and soft where we were parked. The office was unkempt and messy. First impression was not favorable. We were traveling East and just needed a one night stay. Probably won't stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
Large park, newly added sites are nice sized. First impressions are always lasting; upon arrival the entrance displays the overall health of the park--unkempt. This park was described to me at another campground, by a local camper, as having been a great place 20 years ago, but it currently is in need of much work. Simply cutting the grass, trimming, weeding and cleaning up the flower beds, a coat of paint on all buildings would be a start. The general condition is simply run down. Camp store is virtually non-existent. It is a great location, easily accessible, right off of I-80, fuel at a large station big enough for large RVs. Park has huge potential but not in its current state. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
Not much to choose from in the western part of PA along I-80. This place suffices for services needed for an overnight. We noticed that there many locals in the area and it was crowded over the holiday week. They have a nice pool and seemingly lots for kids and teens to do. They had a rec hall where music was playing and people were enjoying. An stream to fish in or wallow in depending on your interest was a point of interest for many. The services were good and the owners were pleasant, leading you to your site. I will say that the grounds were a little soggy from recent rain and there were some ruts from big rigs pulling out of their sites as they needed to take a wide swing beyond the gravel road in the grassy area to navigate by other RVs in adjacent sites. We used some blocking to avoid the jacks sinking in the ground. We were there just overnight and found it to be conveniently located off of the Interstate, although there is heavy construction at the exit that will probably last throughout the summer. We would stay again because of the convenience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
A well kept older park. However, the reason for our not being willing to revisit is low voltage. The weather was warm, the park was quite busy and our gauge warned us of low voltage. This can be pretty scary and a threat to your system. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
Low key, very neat, well kept campground with involved, helpful owners. Very accessible. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
Visited a 2nd time. Price had gone up, even with Good Sam discount. Owners say there is internet, but neglects to tell you there is a password until you ask for it. Also they do not control it and you have to pay! Sites are grassy and not level. Quiet. I would not go back a 3rd time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
Very nice campground, nice and quiet, and a very friendly staff. We had a pull-through site with full-hookup and all worked very well. The grounds are extremely kept nice and clean. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
Easy on and off overnight park while traveling the interstate across PA. Park closes for the season as of November 1. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$28
Price reflects a Good Sam discount. We were a bit concerned about this campground before seeing it because Woodalls gave the facilities just two stars. But we threw caution to the wind based on the reviews on this site. This is a lovely campground. The woman checking us in was very friendly; she escorted us to our site. Many seasonals were in one area and all were well kept. The few people who were here mid-week were also very friendly. There was Wi-Fi available at out site (105). AT&T cell phone service also available. Bathrooms older but freshly painted and very clean with dispenser soap and paper towels. We will definitely return for overnights on our travels to other destinations. And in the future we will give more weight to RV Reviews than Woodalls. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
Big rig friendly and site plenty wide for slides on both sides to be open. Owner friendly. Kid friendly with playground and sandbox and pool. Easy on and off from I-80. Plenty of sites in open area and shaded sites also available. Pull throughs and back-in sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
Overall this was a very nice and quiet campground. There is some interstate noise that can be heard at night. The heated pool was great and it looked as if it had recently been redone for this year. The camp store is small with just some basics, but a travel plaza is nearby. Additional leveling blocks are necessary for some of the sites. The owners were very friendly, and seasonals seem to well kept. The bathrooms were very clean. Not a lot of kid friendly activities, though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This is by far one of the nicest campgrounds we have ever been to. The owners were exceptionally nice to us for the week we were there. The pools area is all new. You wont find a nicer or cleaner pool in any campground. The only regret was that we had is we only had 1 week at GasLight Campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
Our stay was a stop over for two nights while traveling on I-80. We found the owners to be very friendly and made us feel comfortable. We were escorted to our site. The park was very clean and we had no problem with any of the hook ups. We would definitely stay again and would recommend Gaslight Campground to anyone traveling through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
We stayed here over July 4th weekend. That will be the last time! I will not camp there again, nor would I ever recommend it. To start, we got "yelled" at (literally) for having our dog on the playground. I didn't see the "no dog" sign 50ft up the road from the playground entrance. Our sites were very unlevel, and there were bees in the electric box that we had to spray ourselves. We were not allowed to face our trailers toward each other. There is no electric water heaters allowed. Water is horrible. It smells bad and is discolored. My dogs wouldn't drink it; we had to give them bottled water all weekend. I flushed my lines, and replaced the water filter in the trailer when we got home. While we were there, four or five other units all traveling together pulled in at the same time. They were planning on staying over a week. Another elderly couple who was also with them were not staying at the campground. This gentleman asked the lady at the office if there was a pass or something he could get to come and meet them each morning for breakfast, and then the whole group would leave for the day to go sightseeing. She informed him that he had to pay 8 dollars a day (visitor rate) for him and his wife to do this. She told him that he should have rented one of their cabins for the week. He then informed her that he had called for one, but they were all rented. The lady in the office said she had just rented one because there was a no-show the previous night. The older gentleman threw his hands up in the air and walked out of the office. I don't blame him! The owners really need to work on their "people skills." We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
I will never recommend or go back to this campground. We made reservations for the 4th not being able to find any other places in the area. Now we know why there were sites available. Most of the campers were permanent sites. We made two reservations with my sister and family beside us. We were there five minutes and were already told about a picnic table we were moving wasn’t ours (which we knew, we were putting two together). I took my grandson over to the sandbox to play while my husband finished setting up. I had our dog, so I was at the edge of the play area. My sister pulled in and came over to me with her dog. She was not aware of the play area. I started getting up and the owner used a MEGA HORN to announce that we were not to have dogs in the play area. Before we could get the whole way off, she announced it again using the horn. The whole campground could hear. We were so embarrassed. There were no other children around, only my grandson. The next day it was over 90 degrees. We went to the pool. I brought three waters and two pops. We had them in a cooler. We decided we would bring the cooler and if it was not allowed, we would leave it outside. We got to the pool and the rule said “no alcohol, no glass” so we brought the cooler in. There was approximately 10 people in the pool area. Within one minute the owner was in the pool area stating we cannot have the cooler. I was very upset, because I thought we were not breaking any rules. That night a good friend and his wife stopped by at 8 pm. They wanted to check out the campground and see us. They were told it was $4 per person to stay. My friend asked how long and they said until 10 pm. He had asked if there was a discount or prorated amount since it would only be 2 hours. He was told no and decided it was not worth it. The owners wife told her husband he was rude and the husband kicked him out. This friend would never be rude to anyone! After that the owner kept driving around our campsite. We are not bad campers. I have camped since I was a child. We are very family oriented and are usually in bed by 10 or 11 pm. This campground is the worst one I have ever been to. We have camped a lot and have a fifth wheel. My sister also has a fifth wheel. We could not get any reception and were in the full sun. The sites are also very small and uneven. The road was gravel. I feel they only cater to the permanent sites. We were not the only ones having problems. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
This would've been a nice enough place had the sites been level at all, and the owner more hospitable. It is quiet, although close to the freeway. Many seasonal folks, but tidy. And it was full hook-ups at a decent price (with Good Sam). Our site was the most unlevel we've encountered as full-timers! It looked like the only level sites in the whole cg, were those for the tents! At first, I found the owner to be friendly and trying to accommodate and help. He escorted us to our site and tried to guide my husband into place (he ended up putting us in a bad orientation, which he noticed himself, and we had to repark). However, shortly afterwards, we were walking our two kitties through the loosely organized, spread out play area when he came racing over in his golf cart to tell us no pets in the play area (not quite what his sign said: it said no dogs). It wasn't so much the poor signage/communication or the rules about the play area that was so offensive but rather his demeanor. We spent the rest of our stay wondering when we'd get pulled-over for some other hidden infraction (like walking our dogs anywhere at all!) The pet area he told us to use was a steep hillside! Ruined our stay at this cg and we will not be back. I've read other reviews that mentioned a "golf cart gestapo" but had never run into such a thing personally. But that is exactly the term my husband used after the incident, and he'd never read those other reviews! If you stay here, take lots of leveling blocks and don't expect any authentic hospitality. This is probably one of the lowest marks I've ever given, and it's because of the owner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Very nice and quiet park. Just needed a place to spend the night. Good Sam discount cost was $36/night for 50amp. Had great satellite reception, gravel roads and sites. Not much along this stretch of I-80, so we decided to stop for the night. It was a tad bit hard to level as the pull-through lots have a lot of slope, but we did manage using some of those orange leveling blocks. Would stay here again since there is absolutely no interstate noise plus we have 50amp service. Owners are very accommodating and helpful getting us on the lot (#60) is where we stayed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
This is a Good Sam rate for a water/electric site. Our site is a grassy pull-through, just what we needed for a quick overnight stay, but very unlevel. Owners quite friendly. We did not use any of the facilities, but everything looks clean and neat. The park advertises Wi-Fi, but it wasn't available at our site, even though we're very near the office. However, our Verizon broadband and DirecTV dish worked fine. The location just off I-80 is very convenient, and it's far enough off to be quiet. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
A very nice, family oriented park. Do not rely on your GPS, (especially TomTom) to get you here. Unless you are traveling on Rte 80, this park is somewhat confusing to find. I noticed that the office fielded alot of calls from folks coming in, who were lost. The only complaints I have were the fact that there was no Wi-Fi. You had to sit on the porch of the office, or at the pool to use a wireless signal. That being said, the buildings are smoke free. However, there are ashtrays strategically placed everywhere outside! This includes the office porch and the pool area. As a non-smoking family with small children, we didn't want to be exposed to smoke, or see butts and ashes everywhere. The owners are super nice people. They bought this CG 5 years ago, and have been working steadily to improve it. There is a new pavilion and new pool this year. The pool was sparkling clean. Its a salt water pool, which was a first for us. There were alot of activities planned over Labor Day Weekend. There is a nice mini-golf area, as well as a very nice, well maintained playground area. There is alot of room for kids to run and play, and you would have a hard time finding any trash around the CG. The owner even cleans out the firepits when you leave. They also enforce the curfews and the speed limit through the CG. The CG has alot of seasonals, and I only noted a few that were not well kept. We would definitely return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
This is a nice, clean and friendly place. New pool and friendly owners. They have lots of activities and they truly have fun. We camp here and enjoy every minute of it!! This is a place to go and kick back and have some fun. The kids love the brand new pool: so do the adults. When you check in the owner will guide you to the spot and make sure you are set on the lot right. Nice guy: his wife runs the store and she loves to joke. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
We just overnighted at this campground. Our site was very unlevel with an extreme down slope. We did not have a 30 amp plug on our site's electric box and had to plug into another site's box. There were lots of seasonal campers parked here. The pool was full of kids from a church in town, so our kids did not get to swim. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
They have a large pool,nice playground,spotless hot showers,and a fishing pond. I liked how the speed limit was enforced,so that i felt my children were safe. The permanent site people were also very friendly. It was just a very nice place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
The Campground Managers were very pleasant and accommodating. The Campground is well kept. Campers were very pleasant and indicated they also were impressed with the Gaslight Campground. This is the first time we camped at this facility and will plan for future visits when we are traveling to and from the west when we travel on I-80. The owner spoke with me before we left and indicated he has more improvement plans for this Campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
I found this park to be welcoming and well tended friendly with lots of fun activities for both kids and adults on the weekends. The cleanliness of this campgrounds is amazing! I would suggest this as a nice place to stay a weekend or an entire summer! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
We have stayed here several times in the past 2 years. The new owners are extremely friendly and nice. Lots of room for dog walking! It's a very clean and quiet campground. The new owners are making a lot of improvements as needed. Interstate 80 is very accessible. We enjoy camping here because it's close to home but a very nice getaway. We travel from Pennsylvania to Wyoming and have stayed at a lot of campgrounds. We give this one a thumbs up! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$33
This is a great campground for families. The owners are friendly and there is a nice park for the kids. They put a brand new heated swimming pool in this year. The restrooms and showers are very clean and they have a nice little store. The also have a catch and release pond. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2008
$20
I have stayed at this campground various times, but will never again. My cousin and I both have motorhomes, we often camp alone, (husbands come for supper and overnight, then leave for work). After making reservations for a summer week of camping, we were informed we were NOT allowed to have our awnings face each other!! All campers must be pulled, drove in the same direction. All awnings must be on the east side of the camper. NO sitting at my picnic table and her sitting at hers and visiting!! I asked what made the difference as long as the motorhome was kept on the allotted parking area? The owners became very bossy and started that is THE RULES...needless to say we cancelled our reservation and I will never go back as long as the current management runs it. I never thought to ask, " Do you tell tent owners which direction their door must face?" I do not understand their logic, and they will never get good word of mouth advertising from me. A friend stayed there this memorial day weekend (2010), while trying to square up their camper, amidst the traffic and bikers, the park owner came to the campsite and stated " I sure hope you can park that straighter than that!" This reminded me of my encounter and I felt the need to let the general public know how short, rude, obnoxious the owners are! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$31
THIS CAMPGROUND IS A VERY CLEAN AND SAFE PLACE. THEY HAVE A GREAT SWIMMING POOL AND THE SITES ARE REALLY NICE. THE OWNERS ARE VERY FRIENDLY AND CARE ABOUT THE CAMPGROUND AND THE PEOPLE WHO CAMP THERE. MY KIDS CAN PLAY AND RIDE THEIR BIKES WITHOUT ME HAVING TO WORRY ABOUT THEM BECAUSE EVERYONE DRIVES SLOW.THEY ALSO HAVE VERY FUN ACTIVITIES ON THE WEEKENDS. THERE IS SOMETHING FOR EVERYONE.I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS CAMPGROUND FOR A WONDERFUL CAMPING TIME. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$31
This is a smaller campground and not very busy. Everyone was very nice. The owner stopped by our site to talk and I found out that they are new owners. They have a nice fishing pond, if you need bait, go to CoGo's just down the road. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
Owner was nice, park was clean and family friendly, only regrets was pool was not very clean and would not use because of the green look. Was told it was the paint worn but i know better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$30
Nice new owners, trying to make a lot of improvements but to many projects going on at once, needs to finish before starting another. Very well maintained park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
Gaslight is a great getaway. The new owners have really made the park friendly. With lots of activities for the family and kids, you won't be bored. Swimming, Fishing, Bingo, Mini Golf, and a Memorial Day Service filled our weekend. There was also a classic car cruise and show with a 50's DJ. Great water at your site and pet friendly. We'll be back for sure! Classic Winnies Welcome! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
Campground and their pool was nicely maintained. New owners are absolute sweethearts very helpful. We stopped just for the night and it was a very peaceful experience. We want to stop here again in our travels to check out the points of interest in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
I am very impressed with this campground. I have had the opportunity to visit the campground prior to the new owners taking over and to say we were very disappointed would be an understatement. Due to dealings in the area, we visited the campground again to find that so many things have changed thanks to the new owners. We not only found wonderful new owners but a wonderful campground. The showers and restrooms are now clean, the sites are easy to get into and the best part is that the campers are having fun and enjoying themselves. The week-end ativities are well planned including childrens activities. What a change!! Please go and enjoy yourselves, we did! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
Stayed here over the 4th of July and was extremely happy. There were games and hay rides all weekend long. All the kids [and adults] were busy. They had a d-jay one evening and everyone was dancing. We were really impressed with the new owners. They love what they do and it shows. We will be back!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$?
This is a very nice, well maintained campground with friendly new owners taking over this year. There have been numerous improvements just since the beginning of the season. The atmosphere is great, with roomy sites, clean bathhouses, friendly seasonal campers, a nice pool, and a fishing pond. The camp store has been nicely stocked at good prices. There are now weekend activities throughout the whole season. The campground is easy to get to only about 1/8 mile off I-80 in Emlenton. A must visit place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2002
$25
Our site was so unlevel we stepped out of our door onto the picnic table. The people were extremely RUDE. When I went in to register there were 2 dogs fighting in the office. Cigarette smoke was very thick (there was a no smoking sign, but it didn't apply to the owners). There is no public phone for emergencies. It took us almost 2 hours to set up because the owner insisted we put the camper in the spot the way he wanted it. My husband kept trying to tell him the slide would not go out, but it had to be done his way. Well we had to move it after getting level, because the slide would not go out. Do yourself a favor and avoid this place!!! Not enough room to tell you all the things wrong with this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com