218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Raystown Resort & Lodge was rated 8 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (814) 658-3500
CGID2425

Lake Raystown Resort & Lodge

Camp Information
Sites
232
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$47



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   9   8   8   5   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$47
We had a fantastic experience here! I think we had the best sites in the campground. We had large pull-through level sites with an amazing view of the lake. However, read the site descriptions on the web site carefully. The majority of the sites are a level pad with a drop to the picnic/fire area. Everyone was friendly. Security and garbage pickup made their rounds several times per day (and provided free garbage bags). 9 stars rather than 10 because I think a campground that offers "premium" sites would have sewer hook-up. My fault for not reading the fine print. The honey wagon did come around daily (sign up for this service at the trading post in the morning) but it was an additional $8 and after they left I checked the gauges and our tank still registered at 3/4 full. Overall, we had had a great time and will be back again next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$55
I have used the services of the resort for a couple decades now and since I have reviewed other campgrounds for the RV community, decided to add this one. Hands down, the Resort offers the most complete RV/camping/boating experience on the lake. It has location location location and while the most expensive, gives you the most that mimics well, true resort locations. On the plus side: If you can tow your camper or boat, you can use it there. They can accomodate all shapes and sizes. There never seens to be an availability issue with power and water. you have bath houses within a reasonable walk and they do try to keep the hoodlums at bay. Most sites are very large and all have the requisite fire ring and table. Trash service is daily and they give out free supersize bags. There is a free launch ramp and parking for campers and the bay by the Birch campsites offers reasonably protected water, shallow and perfect for standoff mooring. There is even a free cable hookup with what appears to be basic cable channels. For other items, any service you can imagine, is available. For the best use of your camping dollar, and IF you want to be ON the lake, set the parking brake here. Now the caveats: There is no such thing as a sewer hookup. They offer a pumpout service which is $9 at 2013 prices and seems to get to you in the same day if you reserve in the morning. There is cell phone service, if you are AT&T. It seems that unlike everywhere else in the USA, verizon and AT&T do not allow roaming connections here. If you are at the resort, you have AT&T and 4G with 3+ bars. If you leave the resort north, by Nancys Campground the service is gone and is replaced by Verizon. If you have verizon you have coverage and 4G with 3+ bars and this holds all the way to the dam. There is internet service via wifi for laptops - IF you goto the reservation desk. They advertise wifi in the campgrounds, but I have never found it to work. Yes, you *can* connect to the router, but the system gives no internet services - no gateway is found. Each year I ask why and each year I am told (regardless of who does the telling) that the 'storm' knocked it out and the tech is waiting for a part. It appears that for those who need WiFi for semi-working vacations the connectivity is advertised, but the infrastructure is not present. Given that the website is often 1-2 years out of date it would seem its not any callous intentions but rather: they don't know how to set it up. A business opportunity for any IT industry campers to make a pitch.... Transient dockage: The resort has the only unlit, unmarked dock on the lake. The free campers dock/launch, while nice, is a hazard for most boaters at night. If there ever was a wishlist item... The restaurant: for well over 20 years I have either boated from the northern end, or walked from the campground to this restaurant. In days of old, it was a great place and even in the early 2000's it was a great place with great chefs and great menus. When Ms Patt was in charge of the restaurant years ago, we talked at length about her strategies and plans to make it a wonderful experience. Well she moved on and so did the restaurant, such that I would rank it: avoid at all costs. Bad service, bad food, bad selection, bad prices. It has been getting worse and worse and we gave it one last shot and found not one good thing to say about it. the gas dock: The resort has 1 of 2 gas docks on the lake. Yes you pay more than going to sheetz, but if you are 20 miles from your ramp and low on gas, there you go. This gas dock is also open SIGNIFICANTLY later than the one at 7points. However, the advertised hours are up to 8pm. If you arrive from 7:30-7:45pm, you will be turned away. The operators of this depot are not boaters and do not adhere to any maritime creeds. If there is a dance under the tent, the 'kids' running the show will count out the pumps up to 1/2 hour early to get to the action, leaving you dry. Unacceptable. This sticks in my craw as I had to, at 7:45pm, beg and plead and offer to pay more than advertised price to get the 'manager' to reopen the pump so my brother could just get a few gallons in his boat to ensure a return trip to snyders run. Reservations: difficult to deal with, difficult to make. Since the resort only allows check-in/out on certain days, you oft cannot get perfectly vacant cherry spots, or you have to move from site to site. Poor inventory management. Which is a shame given that most hotel reservation systems in the US sell their services on a professional level. To sum it up, the highs are the camping experience. There are many websites that critique campgrounds for the RV'ers and this ranks high, the lows are food and boater services to the point of avoidance. Will I return to the campground? Already paid for my 2014 spot. The boat holds 50 gallons and the RV has a full kitchen so I can work around the other parts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$47
The campground is large with several distinct sections. We were in Hickory, which is largely wooded and sits on a ridge overlooking the lake. Our site had a view of the water from the rear, not all sites do though. We have two small kids, but no boat so we are always looking for activities. The staff does have scheduled summer season activities that we took advantage of - mostly geared towards the little kids. We also enjoyed the water park, which had been scheduled to be closed that weekend but was opened up anyway. It isn't huge but has several water slides for different age levels, and has two 'waterworks' areas with spray guns, water jets, etc. There is also a kiddie pool and a small adult pool. It turned out to be free for us since our kids are under 5 - that was a nice surprise. Before leaving on Sunday we took a breakfast cruise on the 'Proud Mary' riverboat, which features a 'pirate' high-jacking. My daughter still talks about it. The food was good besides. We're definitely going back in 2013, at least once. We chose the weekend before Labor Day to avoid the holiday crowd. The place was generally quiet when we went, but I understand the summer holidays are a zoo. Nothing negative to report at all. Our original assigned spot wasn't shaded, so we called the office and were given one across the road. They even sent someone out to us with a new parking pass right away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$53
This was our first time staying at this park and we were not disappointed. Staff was friendly, check-in process was quick, restrooms and showers were clean. Showers do not have private dressing areas. This park does not have sewer hookup at any site, most likely due to federal regulations from the Army Corps of Engineers. They have a pump-out service for $6. NOTE: there was a long line at the dumping station on Sunday check out. This park is a bit more pricey than some but we were right on the lake and a beautifully wooded site. There are also sites in the open if that is your preference. Premium sites have cement pads. None were available when we made reservations and our site was not level. The actual pad (gravel or cement) is narrow, but each site has *ample* room for fire ring, picnic table and tent(s). Most sites are 30 amp and the power was not sufficient for our big rig to handle all appliances but good enough to run one a/c at a time. Garbage is picked up directly from your site with staff making rounds many times throughout the day. This lake is busy in terms of watercraft. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$44
Very nice campground. Only complaint was mix of tent campers among motorhomes and trailers. Tent campers in our are encroached on our site, crossing through to get to boat launch. Would return in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
Quick check-in but very little information on the resort was made available. Our site was large with a great view of lake, easy back-in onto a raised concrete site, however it was not level front to back. Wi-Fi signal was weak to nonexistent. Frequent drive-by of security and trash pickup. Beautiful surroundings, excellent boat launch, no septic but convenient dump station for up to 4 RV's. Significant skunk issue: due to time of year? Other sites without the view of lake would not have been as appealing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
As always, campgrounds are very site specific. A beautiful location but we got stuck with a horrible spot that 3 different families surrounded us and walked through our site without so much as a hello. One even stopped to rest on our picnic table for 10 min. to finish his beer, let out a loud belch and staggered away. As soon as you walked out of the camper, it was barely 3 feet of a pad and then a hill to the fire pit. You had to walk to the rear of the trailer where it was less steep in order to not risk falling down the hill. Just make sure you know where your spot is if things like that matter to you since they are very hit or miss. I probably would return if I had a boat and checked out the site ahead of time. If you rely upon Wi-Fi, you'd better ask since coverage is spotty. Again, a bad site and neighbors can make or break your stay so take the review as a warning to do you homework before booking a site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$38
One of my favorite parks! We go every year. Lots to do and see. It's beautifully maintained and I look forward to going each year! Highly recommend this place!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$39
We spent our "Spring Break" here, it's a fisherman's paradise, we were on the water, the views are magnificent, very peaceful off season, and a great place to relax. A bit far from everything, but that's what camping is all about. The CG is very clean, the staff if friendly and courteous. We will definitely come back for more. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$39
Great campsite with a lot of amenities. Excellent if you have a boat or a jet ski. The park is in a truly beautiful setting. I would give this park a 10, but our site wasn't quite level, and we had a hard time getting the coach level. A tip for the newcomers, if you want level, spring for the "Premium" sites, as these have concrete pads. Other sites are gravel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
Labor Day Weekend was our second time to the park. Great site on hill overlooking the lake. Our only complaint was we had small children with us and it seems nobody follows the posted speed limit signs. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
This was our first visit to this park and it was very nice. We were happy with our site as it has a wonderful view. The showers and bathrooms were always clean. This was our first time camping with out sewer hookup and it was an ok experience. Would have been much happier if it was full hookup. There is a small beach area for the kids wich was ok but we were out on the boat most of the time. If youdont like water activited then this is not the place for you. There is a water park but we didnt get to use it. I would have liked to see some public pools that were free to use and a kiddie pool. However, I think that all of that kind of stuff must be in the water park area. Overall it was a good experience, and we plan on going back again next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
Very nice campground and resort. The staff was friendly and as helpful as they could be. The resort appears to rely on summer-only employees who apparently are not given all of the information they should have to impart to guests. Case in point: The resort offers a honey wagon that you can schedule to dump your waste tanks at your campsite. No information about the honey wagon was provided at check-in so I asked 3 different employees when the wagon typically made its runs and received 3 different answers (non of which, it turned out, were correct). The resort has free Wi-Fi available, but the coverage throughout the resort is very spotty. I could not get a connection at my campsite. I could not get a cell signal at all anywhere in the resort (I have Verizon). I did see several other people talking on cell phones in the resort who must have had other carriers. All that said, the campground is quite nice and there are many beautiful views of the lake and surrounding mountains from many of the campsites. Being on a lake, the resort is very boat/water-centric. We are not boaters, but enjoyed the beach and the water park in the resort. There is not much to do in the area surrounding the resort although we did visit Lincoln Caverns which we enjoyed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$43
We just got back from a 10 day stay at this CG. Overall it was nice. We were in site 113 (which is one of the 5 pull-throughs they have). The site does have 50 amps. The draw back is this site is way too small for a 36' MH. It is a pop-up or tent site at best! There is a very steep drop off where you'd park your unit. My front bumper was as high as my chest and I'm 6' tall! There are 2 other pull-throughs in that area and mine was the best. We did have a nice view of the lake. The bathrooms were always clean! I even saw the cleaning crew at the bathrooms at 11pm! We will definitely stay here next year but of course in a different area. There is a pool at the water park. The pool is free when the water park is closed. You can also swim at the beach area by the lake. Have Fun! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
What a great park! This was our first visit and we camped with 5 other families. The sites are very large and most of them are grassy. The lake view was wonderful from our site. We stayed in the Birch area and have made a reservation for next year. The "beach" area was wonderful and my boys loved it. There is a small waterpark on site for a small fee. We did not use this but one of the families with us did and enjoyed it very much. If you do stay here you need to take a cruise around the lake on the Proud Mary. The staff were wonderful and we will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$45
This resort is beautiful. We reserved at the last minute for Memorial Day, with a group, and were lucky someone had cancelled for 2 side-by-side sights. The resort personnel were great ... they warned us our sites weren't the best but we were more than happy with the setup. There were lots of activities - boat rentals, fishing, beach swimming, etc. to keep everyone busy (2 year old - college couple - 30 somethings) and the view from the lake was beautiful! The bathrooms/showers left little to be desired ... maybe just needed another cleaning each day? We would definitely return to this resort ... it had something for everyone! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
Great Campground. We had a site on the lake which was also wooded. Big level site. Enjoyed ourself so much made reservations for labor day weekend We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$40
This was our first time at this campground. We had a lakefront site in the Poplar section. The site had a concrete pad and nice view of the lake. We walked around the campground and found there are lots of great sites to choose from. Although no sewer is available at the sites, for a small fee they come around and cleaned out your tanks during the day. This is a relaxing place with beautiful views. We plan to return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$42
We stayed here to try the other water front CG at Lake Raystown. The park was nice and clean. We stayed in the Birch section. This part of the park was more wooded and rustic looking. There were a few water front sites. We had a lakeview site which was nice waking up looking at the boat every morning. The area we were in didn't seem in the best conditions for mouring a boat though. The CG is pretty big. The premium water front sites looked nice with concrete pads and a large lot to the water. Looked nice if you were with a group and wanted to sit by the water. We went on their boat, The Proud Mary, for a couple of cruises. Pretty fun. The Prime Rib dinner was outstanding. This CG does have alot of boaters and people partying. It never got real loud. The guards were very nice. The general store was a nice size. There is no pool as stated already. If love to look at water and boats or have a boat this is a nice CG. Not too far away is the US Army Corps of Engineers campground, which is just as good if not better for the campers that do not need a pool or a ton of activites. It also costs alot less. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$40
We stayed for 4 nights and had a great time. We were 3 sites from the lake in site 12. Yes there is no sewer and yes the water park w/pool is $14. We stayed the week prior at a Gettysburg CG for $53. With that we got a crowed small pool and a noisy highway. There too you have to pay extra for the "water park". To us this is a great deal and will be back with friends next year. Follow the directions on their web site. We followed our GPS from NJ and had one 1 1/2 mile 9% and a 3 mile 10% winding downhill. Amongst several winding uphills. Not fun. There is at least 1 pull thru that I saw. This CG is big rig friendly. We had a 36' MH + toad and had no problems. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$52
Sorry, we will not return to this CG. Staff was not very nice. Manager was curt, prices were higher than the value we received, the sites are not level, food in the cafe was fair, but again, pricy for the value, no pool (unless you want to pay $14.00 for an outdated "waterpark"). Very large marina. It seems they are more interested in keeping the boat people content than the campers. After 2 nights, we moved down the road to the Army Corps of Engineers campground. Very nice, VERY clean and very cordial staff. One more thing... for the 2 days we were there, we never got a smile out of any of the staff except once. A very nice young man stopped us and asked if we were enjoying our stay. It turns out he was a grass cutter. Thank you, young man. You deserve our appreciation. And, a promotion! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
If you have a boat or jet ski, this is the place for you. We felt that without having a motorized water vehicle we did not get the full appreciation for this campground. The sites are very narrow and situated up high and when you step out of your trailer you may end up dropping down a very high embankment. The campground does not have a pool, however the water park is available for a price and is not worth the price at all. Very outdated and I actually saw many children bang their heads off of the walls of the water slides, my daughter and I felt it was unsafe, as compared to newer high tech parks. There is not to many close places to shop for grocers, beer etc... make sure you bring your own. Also, no shopping malls, movies or entertainment close by. My daughter 12 yrs old, and was bored stiff. I highly doubt that we will ever go back to this place. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$48
Very nice campground but very over priced. We had intermittent complete loss of water and were told "we know we have a leak some were but our plumber is off for a few days and we don't want to pay to have it fixed". They have NO pool, But oh-yes you can use our water park for $14.00 per person, per day. No full hook -ups but they do have "honey wagon" service. For $7 per day they will come and pump your holding tanks for you. That makes a full hook-up site about $55 per night. A little high in my opinion. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$40
This was our second stay at this park and it was fantastic. We brought two other families along this time and everyone agreed this was the nicest campground we had ever seen. Where else can you get a lake front site with a huge lawn for $40 per night. The showers and restrooms were clean, clean, clean. I read some of the other reviews and perhaps the staff struggle to keep up in the busy season but for now our sites were spotless. We had a great time and will be back next year! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
This is the most overpriced, not worth what you pay for campground I've ever stayed at. I don't even pay this much during the high season at most private campgrounds when staying in a tent. The restrooms appeared as if they haven't even been cleaned from last year as well as the sites. It took us almost a half an hour to clean the debris from our site in order that we could put up our tent. We did have a nice wooded site after we cleaned it up, but some of the lake front sites, I'd be afraid to stay in since there's quite a slope from where you park your rig to where the picnic table and fire ring is located. We actually witnessed a middle aged woman take a tumble down the slope, luckily she wasn't seriously hurt. They also need to enforce their pet policies...had to step around quite a few doggy droppings and listen to at times non-stop barking. I wouldn't stay in this "resort" and that's using the term loosely, again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$45
We had what was called a "Premium" site, but after we got here, figured they must use a different dictionary. Very uneven, no sewer, no view. For not having full hookups, you had a choice of paying $5 to have your tanks drained, or use the showers. There is almost always a line at the showers. DW stated there was standing water in the ladies showers, and the privacy curtain was less than adequate for the dressing area. While the food is good and interesting in the restaurants we found the prices to be a bit steep; and "Oh: we are out of that" to be a common comment from the staff. The lake is great but $30 per hours plus gas to rent a Jon boat? The dinner cruise on the Proud Mary was very good, the price was reasonable, the food was great, the staff helpful and friendly. If you already have a boat, or go with a group of people and book a pontoon boat (at least 3 weeks in advance) this could be a great place: but bring lots of money. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$39
Great spot, loved the lake and the site had lots of room. Newly installed pads have steep grade to the rest of the site and can be an issue for elderly or small children. Very clean, well maintained. We will be back next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$38
We stayed here for 10 days. On the second site the cable did not work very well, but good enough. We were there to boat. It's a great location in the hills. The lake is huge. We could beach our boat near our site. The marina had fuel. Nice little place to eat, but a bit expensive. It is a dry county for those that care. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$37
Park appears to be well kept.But way to much money for no sewer hook-up.If you have boat or do water sports great place to visit.Will never visit again.This park should offer off season rates.They have no activities off season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$37
Pricey for no sewer hookups. Was told they had sewer hookups but found young desk staff did not know what a full hookup site was. They do have a dump station. Cater to hotel and guest cabin clientele. Nice resort with large lake and large motorboats and skidoos. There are other campgrounds in area with full hookups at lower prices. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$37
Nice large sites. You may have 2 tents on a site and there is plenty of room. There is also no charge for a second car and a 10 person maximum per site. There is a waterpark located within the resort, but is rather expensive. I suggest swimming at the Tatman Run day use area right down the road. It was beautiful there and very clean. Enjoyed the "Proud Mary" showboat cruises. If you desire, you can camp right on the lake beside your boat or jet ski. We felt it was a nice place to camp, but the management does not seem to listen to any complaints from the campers. We are not the only group who reported a problem that occurred in the campground and got no response back from the management. Also, reserve your dates in advance. They seem to be booked all the time, but when you get there, there's always open sites. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com