220396 User submitted reviews online!!
Pine Grove Furnace State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (717) 486-7174
CGID2428

Pine Grove Furnace State Park

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   9   7   9   10   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$26
We really liked this campground for its remoteness. Trees all around the sites; hiking trails nearby; right next to the Appalachian Trail. Campsite hosts very friendly. General store 1/4 mile walk away. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
This state park is close to Gettysburg, and we used it while touring the battlefields. The sites, while not as private as some places we have been, were adequately large, and the bathrooms were spotlessly clean. Showers are free. I have arthritis and have limited mobility, and the handicapped facilities here are some of the best I have seen. Camp hosts were nice and helpful. Store on premises had good burgers and fries. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$22
Nice campground, a bit off the beaten track of I-81, but still useful as an overnight. Lots of shade, and good spacing between sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
We were very impressed with this campground. It is situated at the mid-point of the Appalachian Trail and compared very favorably with the Maryland state park campgrounds with which we are most familiar. The shower and restroom facilities were extremely modern and well maintained. scenic hiking opportunities were abundant. Quiet hours were nicely enforced and security was excellent. A range of organized activities was offered. The lakefront beach area was delightful. The store was well supplied and staffed by a delightful and most helpful lady. A family friendly environment prevailed. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Stayed here over the July 4th weekend, and, though it was full, there was good privacy compared with what we have seen in local commercial campgrounds. Bathrooms were clean and well - maintained. Would definitely stay here again on our next trip to Gettysburg. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
This is a nice quite, dark campground, which we love. I left the big rig friendly checked but I don't really think I would bring a big rig into the park. We are only 27 feet and had no problem, but there are tight turns. There are trails,but we did not use them since it was raining when we were there. It was pre-season, so the beaches were still closed. It is close to Gettysburg, so lots of things to do and visit. The fresh water faucets are strange. Blue or yellow faucets are OK, red are off limits. The red is at the dump station. Don't expect to get satellite here, too much tree cover. We would stay there again, but not for long term. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$26
This was our first visit to Pine Grove Furnace State Park and this place is truly a gem. One of our main criteria for selecting a destination is a large lake enough to make kayaking worthwhile. Pine Grove Furnace SP has two lakes, the largest about 25 acres and the other less than 2 acres. On this trip, we wanted a park close to the National Apple Harvest Festival grounds, so the amount of water wasn't the highest on the list. The campground's shower house and restrooms are all new and are very nice. One shower house and one restroom building serve the 74-site campground. The facilities are among the nicest we've seen in Pennsylvania parks. On our walk through the campground, site map in hand, we marked less than six sites we would not want to reserve. That's probably a record for us! The sites are mostly laid out so you're looking out into the predominately pine forest rather than at the road side of your neighbor's camper. Even sites on the inside of the loop feel roomy and have decent views. The campground host was by far the most personable we've met (and the first we've seen using a pop-up camper!) and went out of his way to provide information and to make sure your stay was pleasant. New this year to the park is the Appalachian Trail Museum, housed in one of the historic buildings near the general store and park office. The museum, as of now, is small, but the volunteer told us they have long-range plans to expand to additional floors in the building. The displays they have are interesting and very well done. For boaters looking for a larger body of water, Long Pine Run Reservoir is about 10-12 miles south of the park off Rt. 233. The approx. 150-acre lake, nestled in Michaux State Forest land, is in about as remote a setting as you'll find in south-central Pennsylvania. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
This campground is a little out of the way, but well worth the drive. Nice, large, wooded sites. Crews are working on building new restrooms. Rangers were friendly and patrolled regularly. Nice trails to hike and lakes to swim in! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
What a beautiful and peaceful park! The wooded sites are spacious and surrounded by a beautiful mixed pine forest. As mentioned previously, the bath facilities are new and clean. There are two small lakes and a seasonal camp store nearby. Water is available at several common sites around the campground, but there were no on-site water hookups that I observed. Per the campground map, there are only three 50A sites available. Neither of those items impacted my stay, although I suppose I must deduct a point for the water to retain my credibility. I loved this serene place! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$27
This is a beautiful park and worth every penny. Just go there for the quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
Brand new rest rooms and showers. They are really nice. They have widened a few of the tight turns to make access easier for big rigs. Most sites are situated so you are not looking directly at your neighbors. The nicest sight is number 69. Long pad and the best view of the woods. If you can't get that one, 68 and 70 would be our next choice. They have increased the number of pet sites this year, which gives the pet owner many more choices, but takes some great sites away from us non pet RVers, unless we want to spend the extra $4 for nothing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$17
Pine Grove campsites were spacious. The park is very pet friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$14
Beautiful PA State Park, close to gettysburg, Hershey and Lancaster County. Tall Pines and Oaks. Very clean. Huge sites. One of the very nicest parks we've been to. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com