218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Petit Jean State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 58 user reviews. Phone: (501) 727-5441
CGID243

Petit Jean State Park

Camp Information
Sites
129
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   9   8   10   10   10   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
Due to someone canceling, we were able to stay the weekend in Campground A, which are the premium sites. We stayed on site 16, which is on the waterfront and probably the best site in the campground since it is on the corner (LOTS of room) and it's a waterfront site. The site was level, paved, and had a wonderful living area and place for a tent or canopy. The grassy area was huge where the kids could throw a football, softball and baseball around. We set up our chairs on the water's edge and just soaked in the beauty of the lake and park. The showers were nice and clean. This campground exceeded our expectations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Very pretty park. Sites are paved and level with trees and grass all around. Our site had a extra pad to be used for a tent or maybe a screen room. The state park has many beautiful and challenging trails to hike. Mather Lodge serves great food if you don't want to cook. If you do, you will be a happier camper if you bring your groceries with you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
We really enjoyed our stay at PMSP. This was our first time to stay at the campground after many years of visiting for day trips. We were pleasantly surprised how great our site was! The staff was, albeit some young, extremely nice and helpful. Our site was clean and well laid out. We did have to use our levelers as the pad was a little bit of an incline (1.8˚ down to the rear) but after that all was well! Facilities were excellent. Park hosts (Good Sam) were present and helpful. Bike trails were excellent! Mather Lodge is NOT RV friendly for parking much. But everywhere else was great! We will return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
We had site 20 overlooking the lake, beautiful campground everything was clean and well kept. Staff was very helpful and courteous other than a long trip from home we will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
This is a great park which other parks should strive to be as good. The best sites are in the "A" section. Most site are in the shade and are spaced apart from your neighbor. The trees are so thick we could not get our satellite to work. The shower was hot and clean. This is a very nice park. Sites in B section were not very level and most with water and electricity only. We didn't drive in the C section. Now, why I gave it only an 8. The water pressure was too low. It took 3 minutes to fill up a gallon jug. Arkansas will give campers who have total disability a discount. Being from another state, I called two different times and asked two different people if our auto hang tag with the paper work was enough to get the disability discount. Both times I was told there would be no problem. Now here's the problem, upon arrival they refused to give us the discount. They stated we had to have a recent letter from our doctor. When asked how recent, one woman states one year, the other woman two years. It seems these employees want the discount for only Arkansas residents or perhaps the employees should read the state guidelines. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
From our home in Fort Worth, Petit Jean is an 8-hour drive for us. This is our 4th time to return to this beautiful park. It is SO worth the drive to the park for us. The "A" loop is absolutely fantastic. We've stayed in several different sites and they're all great. We love sites 16, 13, 21 and 22. These are our favorites but there really aren't any bad sites in the "A" loop. The park's facilities are all first-rate and there are incredible hiking trails throughout the park. The park's staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Come visit Petit Jean and immerse yourself in nature. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$32
This is one of the most beautiful parks we've visited. We stayed one night but wished we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be back. We arrived after hours but our reservation was clearly posted with all information. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$28
This is a really beautiful place with some great sites right by the water. We had a pull through (#18) that was just perfect. Site was fairly level and had plenty of space for our 37' RV. The park was quiet with good distance between parking spaces. Other guest and the staff was friendly. There is a Good Sam Club campground host that will offer advice for hiking and sites. The Petit Jean lodge has been recently restored and has nice views of the valley. They offer Wi-Fi at the lodge but not the campground. We will schedule another stay at this park in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$18
Wonderful campground. Arkansas has the best state parks for camping. Very clean. No complaints at all. The lake is close and you can rent kayaks and canoes (no swimming). The pool is nice with a slide and diving board (minimal fee). The hiking trails were awesome! Our site #86 was great as well. Near the restroom, but off on its own as well. Great place. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$13
Nice, but not as big a deal as advertised in our opinion (by both folks we talked to and reviews on this site). It is hard to get reservations because it's so popular (and partly because of a car show). Pros: good, fast Verizon, very cheap with senior discount, got satellite reception, Mather Lodge is nice, nice hiking if it's not too hot, and enjoyed the great views from the Petit Jean grave site lookout. Cons: very unlevel site, virtually no RV antenna reception, other campground areas looked rather undesirable (we stayed in the A loop, which was pretty nice). Also, be warned that because this has been such a dry year here there was no famous waterfall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$23
This campground was the first State Park in Arkansas and a lot of the sites in B, C, and D loops are narrow with steep slopes you'll need a lot of blocks to get level. Some of the paved sites are bumped up from tree roots. Bathhouse is clean. There is no swimming in the lake. AT&T data service is 4 bars of 2G only with antenna and amp, over the air TV is good, and 5 bars on the cell phone. Water pressure is low maybe because they had a water main break yesterday that closed loop D. This campground has a lot of things to see within driving distance. Pick up the brochures in the office and spend the time to see the history of the area and the park. Enjoy the trails and the many great views from the top of the mountain. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$22
Beautiful state park. Limited 50 amp/sewer. 30 amp sites are small & not level. Lots of hiking trails, beautiful waterfall. 20 miles to nearest town for groceries. Several miles of steep curvy roads. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
Beautiful park, well-maintained, clean, spacious with lovely views from overlooks. Good hiking and lots of available activities. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$18
Enjoyed this park. Lots of good hiking and interesting sights in the park. The campground is divided into four loops, the first down by the lake with most sites taken by big RVs. We enjoyed the last loop for a more isolated, quiet camping experience. Some problems with the hot water in the shower, but the maintenance people fixed it right away. Only drawback is the highway that passes right through the campground, but it is local traffic only and no traffic allowed after 10pm. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
This is an incredible park. I would have loved to stayed longer. We had site 19 in loop A which put us right in front of the lake and we were able to put our kayaks right in. Quiet, beautiful and well spaced sites with full hookups. Much more to do there than just an overnight. I am sure we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
I would have given this great park a 10 but the site (19) was not level. This is one of the best parks I have ever been in, there is so much to do you need two weeks and it is clean, clean, clean. It is very family friendly and did I say clean. We will return I hope before another 42 years pass. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$20
This is a lovely campground set amid tall pines. Each site has a fire pit, grill, and picnic table. We camped in site 36 in loop B. It is just a short walk from a lake. The best part of this park is the many hiking trails nearby. Waterfalls, grottos, caves, amazing rock formations, rushing streams, Native American artifacts are abundant. Don't miss the amazing panoramic view of the valley at the Petit Jean gravesite overlook. My only complaint is that the very clean bathrooms in loop B had very cold showers. We walked to the loop A bathrooms to get a nice hot shower. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$18
Overall this is one of our favorite state parks that we usually go to. But the score is only low here because the sites themselves could use some up grading. We were in site 90 and the site was extremely bumpy (filled with potholes and bumps) so you had to find the sweet spot to get level. Would be almost impossible to put a board or leveling system in the site. Lucky we pulled back and forward a few times going in and out of potholes, until we found the sweet spot. Also the water hookups are centered in between the two campsites, meaning that one site's water hookup will be on the opposite side of your trailer than you electrical box. So we just had to run the hose under the trailer. The playground equipment could be upgraded as well. The tube slide had big cracks in it. Overall we love coming here for the mountain, hiking and especially the waterfall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$14
This is the third time we have camped here and it was wonderful as always. Just a word of warning, the lodge and restaurant are closed throughout 2011 for renovation, but the staff at the visitor center was friendly as always. The bathhouse at campsite B could use a little renovation as well. There were hardly any campers this time of year, and only A and B are open. Highly recommend this state park! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
This is the third Arkansas state park we've camped at in the last month and it is, without question, the best. Lots to do and see. Fine old lodge built by the CCC in the 30's. Many wonderful paths, caves, rocks, and vistas to enjoy. Just a walk through the campground(s) was great. Lake was very low (and waterfall non existent) due to lack of rain. But shop before you go up the mountain as it is 30 miles round trip to the nearest store. Lots of stuff about the place to like. However, the reservations department needs a complete overhaul. It was comical to watch campers have to move one space to make room for a new camper coming in and then wait for someone else to move so they could park again. And not all of the sites are level. So if you get a good one you would like to stay there. Camper's inconvenience is ignored. But if needless moving doesn't bother you, it's a great place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
This is a nice park with very nice hiking trails. There is a nice restaurant at the park. The park has several old stone buildings that were constructed by the Civilian Conservation Corp (nice to see). However, the camping facilities are lacking. The bathhouses are adequate, but a bit old and run down for such a popular park; there was no paper towels, hand dryers or soap. The sites are paved, but in some cases unlevel; in section "c", the water spigot is on the opposite side and end of the site from where it needs to be (have two hoses with you). Most sites are under pine trees (I'm not crazy about camping in a pine thicket, but that's just me). Lastly, the closest close washing facility is 25 minutes away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
Wonderful, beautiful State park on top of the forested mountain and easy drive to great trails, sights, Mt Nebo, etc. Plenty to do for several days. Park personnel friendly. Very reasonably priced. We apparently hit a very popular season and so spaces away from the highway (that runs through the park (!) which was busy, noisy with headlights through the evening that distracted from the campfire and the otherwise "in the woods" camping experience) weren't available. We'd sure stay here again, though would (and recommend that you) insist on a site near the lake or away from the highway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
We stayed at 3 different Arkansas state parks during our vacation, and this one was the biggest surprise to me. It was absolutely beautiful at this park. We stayed in campground A and had an absolutely beautiful view of the lake. We had a nice level site. The staff at the lodge were very nice and very helpful. My wife and I love to hike, and this was our first visit to this park, we were very impressed with the trails here. There is something cool to see around every corner. This is the nicest state park I have ever visited. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$28
This was a weekend trip and we used a full hookup site in area A. The view of the lake and the large sites make area A a good choice even if you aren't staying long enough to need the full hookups. Check in was a little slow due to a problem verifying credit cards but the employees allowed most folks to get set up on their sites and come back later to pay. All hookups worked properly, AT&T cell coverage was great and Sprint wireless internet worked great. Several channels were available on the antenna so I didn't take the time to set up the dish. There are a lot of trees in most sections of the park so satellite TV might require some time to find a good signal. The restaurant is good but be aware that it is closing for a complete rebuild later this year. Check with the park for details if that is important to you because it is a long drive to town. The office/visitor center has only basic supplies and souvenirs. I did not hike the trails this time but have enjoyed them on previous trips and recommend this as an excellent hiking destination. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
Petit Jean has to be the best State Park in Arkansas. The lake front sites are the greatest. We had a very nice time here, saw deer and a fox. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
Beautiful campground. Large sites well spaced. Most had a view of the lake, even those not right on the water. Excellent hookups and easy to maneuver a big rig. Some sites will allow for satellite TV reception. Verizon air card had full signal and worked well. Cell phone service was excellent too. Road into park has a section with steep switchbacks, I had no problem in a 40 foot coach pulling a trailer, but others complained of difficulty. There is another way into the park that isn't as steep, call ahead for directions if this concerns you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$21
This is a great state park. Arkansas should be proud. The loop (A loop) by the lake is immaculate and most of the sites are pull through. They do require some leveling, however, they are paved and in great shape. Lots of hiking trails, museums, a lodge with a restaurant and some decent fishing. The beauty of the place is probably one of the best. I would definitely recommend this place to any and all and will be coming back. The staff here is great and very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$33
A wonderful state park with so many activities and trails to explore. It just needs Wi-Fi and a coin laundry and it would be a ten. But it's still a great park. We will definitely return: SOON. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$14
We were amazed by the beauty of this park and campground. Very clean campground set beside a lake. We were here during spring break, so we were in the overflow camping, but loved it anyway. We stayed two days more than planned, didn't want to leave. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$18
This was our first time camping here, and the experience was wonderful. The staff was friendly, facilities clean, and although there were quite a few people here, it was very quiet. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
A beautiful and quiet campground. Our site was right across the street from the lake and small airport, you could watch the planes take off and land without being disturbed by the noise. Large open area lots, with easy access to all Petit Jean State Park had to offer. Would definitely camp here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
This is a wonderful state park. It is located on top of Petit Jean Mountain. We camped in Loop A which has full hook-ups. There is a concrete pad with a picnic table, fire ring, grill and lantern holder. There is also another pad for a tent or dining fly. Loop A sits among tall pines with a view of Lake Bailey. All of the sites are good and spacious. The restrooms were clean and had handicap facilities. We checked out the other areas and they were a little tighter but still very nice. There is no camp store but there is a little carryout down the street with basic food supplies. There are many hiking trails with gorgeous views of the water falls. I would definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$27
We stayed in area "A", which has been recently renovated. The sites were spaced away from each other and each has a table, fire ring, grill hanging pole for lantern and a grill! A pad for a tent is also included! Pull through sites are paved and area around tables is gravel. The restrooms are very clean, but we did not use them. Internet is available nearby at the Lodge. The park has many hiking trails and wonderful views from the mountain. If you have time go to the Rockefeller Institute which is only a couple of miles away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
It was a long drive from I-40, but through a lovely route, and cooler in July. It was a relief, an oasis, both the drive in and the park itself. We would love to stay again with more than one night to spare. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This is one of the nicest parks we have ever visited. We stayed at site 16 in Campground A. This site is a HUGE pull through with a view of the lake. The state of Arkansas has done a wonderful job of upgrading their parks to include 50 amp service and full hookups, like what we had in Campground A. I did check out campgrounds B and C, which were smaller and closer together. If you have the option of choosing your site, opt for a site in campground A. We checked the bathrooms and showers, and they were extremely clean. All of the employees here were extremely helpful and courteous. This is a first class campground. We can't wait to return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
We spent Memorial weekend at the park. As usually the park was in excellent condition. I suggest loop A with the view of the lake. These spots are quite large and spread out. The hiking and overlooks are fantastic. As reported by many, shopping for supplies is 20 miles away so come prepared. Unlike some other postings, I think that approaching the park from the West is easiest. While the hill is longer it doesn't have the drop-off at the edge of the road to think about nor does it seem as steep. We are repeat visitors and will be back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$19
The best state park in Arkansas that we have stayed at. Wi-fi connections are available at the lodge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$27
One of the best state parks we've stayed in. we stayed in loop A, Site 4 which does not have a view of the lake but is very large site with satellite accessible sky. We hiked almost all of the trails and found the Cedar Falls trail to be the best, though also the most difficult. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. Access to the top of the mountain is easiest coming in from the East. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
Rate reflects senior discount on weekdays. We thoroughly enjoyed our 9-day stay at this very beautiful and quiet park. We stayed in Loop A, which has spacious paved sites, most of which are pull-throughs shaded by huge pine trees. Most also have a view of the lake. All sites have paved patios, picnic tables and fire pits. There are several wonderful trails to hike, the best of which is the Cedar Falls trail, which leads to the falls. You can also drive to an overlook at the falls if you are unable to make the hike. The lake is lovely and suitable for canoeing. Canoes and paddle boats are available for rental in the summer only. No swimming is allowed. There is also a lodge with a restaurant that is open year-round. The food was nothing special but certainly convenient, as it is a 20-mile drive to the nearest town, Morrilton, for either groceries or restaurants. We would happily return to this absolute dream of a park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$5
We did not make reservations, but were given a grassy lot along side Lake Bailey as the overflow camping area for $5. It was difficult finding a level site, but when we did they allowed us to change our site number. We walked down to the lake and through two of the campground loops. The sites are wooded and the bath house was clean. The approach to the state park is through a beautiful wooded area. We drove through the park to the lookout and could see the entire Arkansas River valley. It was beautiful. If we had experienced the campground here instead of the overflow lot, I am sure it would have been a 9/10 rating. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$45
Definitely stay in Area A around the large loop. These sites are enormous while the sites in areas B, C and D are right on top of each other. The hike to the waterfall is very nice. Take a picnic lunch and spend an hour. Don't forget to check out the overlooks along the highways. This is a beautiful park with lots of hiking. A must stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
This was our 2nd trip to Petit Jean State Park in less than a year. We stayed at the park 7 nights. We're hooked. Our site, #13 on the “A” loop, was perfectly level. The park is spotless and the ranger programs are entertaining and educational. We've already booked a return 7 day trip for March of 2009. We can't recommend Petit Jean highly enough. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
Petit Jean was the first state park established in Arkansas. It was built by the Civilian Conservation Corp from 1932 to 1941 and is perhaps the nicest state park I have ever visited. It is a destination park where you could easily enjoy a week or more exploring the park, fishing and just relaxing. It is anywhere from 30 to 45 minutes from I-40. The drive into the park from either the west or east is lovely but on somewhat winding roads. The last 3 miles from the west and the last mile from the east wind up to the top of the plateau where the park is located. There are a series of sharp switchbacks but sufficient room to maneuver a large motorhome pulling a tow vehicle. Just keep your eyes on the road and not the wonderful views off in the distance. We had a huge campsite with full hook ups which is a bit unusual for a state park. Most do not have sewer hook-ups. We were in Area A, the newest section. The other Areas do not have sewer hook-ups but otherwise look nice. Within Area A, I consider sites 13 through 22 to have the nicest views, with 23 through 31 being my 2nd favorites and 1 through 12 being my 3rd choice. Sites 15,17, 18, 19 and 20 have the best views of Bailey Lake and would be my 1st choice if available. Most sites in Area A are pull-throughs and are very spacious. The only complaint would be the low water pressure/volume. Also there are no laundry facilities. The nearest are in Morrilton or Russellville. All internal roads are asphalt. There are numerous trails to explore. Be sure to drive to the various overlooks. The views are spectacular. There is a nice restaurant at the lodge. Be sure to stop by the lodge to see the views from there as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$9
Very nice State Park. We got a site right next to the lake. Sites are large and well spaced. Lousy weather kept most campers away so we had the park almost all to ourselves. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$15
This is a fantastic park, our favorite so far. We spent the week of Thanksgiving at the park. The new "A" loop is awesome. Our pad was perfectly level. While there we reserved a site for a May 2008 return trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$18
There are lots of things to do at Petit Jean, it is our favorite of all the Arkansas State Parks. The hike to the waterfalls can be a little strenuous, but then we have done it with a three year old and he walked the whole way. The waterfall area is beautiful and at certain times of the year is low enough to get up close to it. The park also offers a Junior Naturalists program for the kids. It teaches them about native animals specific to Arkansas and the particular park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$17
We stayed in section D of the campground. Only Section A has sewer; B, C, and D are older and have only 30 Amp Electric and Water. The sites vary greatly in size and flatness. The trees are so thick that some sites would be very difficult for campers with slides and awnings. The campground office was helpful in determining which site would be appropriate for my travel trailer. Roads and pads are asphalt. This campground and state park is on top of a mountain and there are great views but not from the campsites. Great lookout points are are within a couple of miles of the campground. There is also a car museum on top of the mountain that I recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$30
I love the mountain views from this park. Need I say more? All facilities open were neat and clean. I like the size of the showers and the handle bars. Staff was minimal because of off season but very friendly and helpful. Eat at the Mountain View restaurant and enjoy the fireplace and outdoor beauty of the Natural State. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$17
Very nice park. Beautiful scenery. Wooded or lakeside sites. Will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$18
We stay here at least 6-8 times every year because it's only 1 hour away from home. The sites are huge, as usual in a state park, they even have a new loop with all sewer hookups and pull through sites that you can get on the lake. Those get to watch the airplanes take off and land from the airport on the other side of the lake. They did sacrifice a few trees to upgrade this park, but boy, is it worth it! Loop A is the new loop with sewer hookups, B is older but has huge sites and great trees, completely shaded for the most part. The showers, etc., are nice but not fancy, but are always clean. They have a myriad of events and talks at the ranger station to attend, they are very friendly and helpful. We keep on coming back, and the price is definitely right! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$27
This was our first visit since 1972 and how things have changed. The new 33 site RV park along the lake was completed in early 2006 at a cost of $1 million. Probably half of the sites are pull through and each includes a fire ring, barbecue, picnic table, post for hanging a lantern (or humming bird feeder), pea-graveled tent site, and water, sewer, and 50 amp electrical hookups. There are two handicap sites near the shower house. There is a very nice activity program with naturalist-guided and self-guided trails, afternoon nature programs for the youngsters, and a narrated nature slide program every night in the amphitheater. There are a swimming pool, volleyball courts, and tennis courts and activities such as softball games. Our travels are often the type where we try to see how far we can drive. On this trip we stayed at Petit Jean for 15 nights. The daily rate for our site was $28 but seniors get half price rates, so the cost was only $98 a week. It was very hot so I am sure we used that much electricity. I would caution visitors pulling a large trailer or driving a large motor home to come to the park from the east, via Morrilton. We have a 40 foot Class A and made the mistake of taking Highway 7 north out of Hot Springs - 50 miles of slow, narrow, winding road with no turn-offs and no shoulders. The road from Morrilton has only 1 mile of winding road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$18
Very nice and clean park. Some sites are unlevel due to the park being on a mountain, but the majority are good. We stayed here over the 4-day July 4th weekend and while the park was full everything was quiet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$26
Prettiest state park campground we've ever seen. Sites were very large and level. They kept the grass cut and litter picked up. Lots of hiking and scenic overlooks. Public pool available down the road for an additional fee. Lodge has a pool but campers can't use it. Can't swim in the lake either. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$24
Great state park. We had a lake side site with full hook ups. This area had just been redone, and it was excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$18
This park is undergoing some renovations. As a result, all the waterfront sites are currently closed. We found a nice quiet site near the end of one of the areas, which was on a road that actually exited the park onto some private land. We had to have two water hoses to reach the hook-up near the front of the site. The dump station has been relocated near the office during the renovation. It is very difficult to get the trailer level at the dump station. Even though the park was ok, some of the surrounding scenery was spectacular. The trail down to the dribbling falls was nice. We also climbed on some very large rocks on one of the short trails. If you go, take the 4.5 mile drive out to Petit Jeans grave site. The view from there is truly overwhelming. You can see for miles and you are overlooking a large section of the AR River. The roads up to the campground can be steep. However, they are not that bad. The kids really liked the pool ($). It has two small water slides, a diving board, and is very clean. Overall, a nice park with some great views on the entrance and exit roads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$18
Nice park with lots of space - not all jammed in as in some parks. Small fee for pool use. Small lake for fishing or boating. Views on hikes are excellent! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$15
We really enjoyed this campground. From the previous review, we were concerned about the pull up the mountain, but we ended up taking the "white knuckle" route anyway (coming in from the east and heading west up Hwy 154). This is a very rough pull, but overall probably shorter than the other route. The fastest I went on this section was around 20 mph. The scenery on this pull up the hill was awesome. The campground is on the top of a relatively flat mountain. When you are at your campsite, you forget that you are on top of a mountain. It's when you either take the hikes or go to a number of lookouts that you remember where you are. Mount Petit Jean is in the river valley section of Arkansas, so you can really see a long way out at any of the lookouts. Great views! Cedar Falls is in the park and can be hiked to. Wow! What a great hike! There is also a lookout of the falls from up top for those not interested in hiking to the bottom. In summer '03, the lake was full, but was about halfway taken up by water lilies. The lake is very small. Boats can only have up to 10 h.p. motors. Boats can be rented. You can't swim in the lake, but of course you can fish. There is a swimming pool with a daily charge. It is worth every penny of it though. Lifeguards were on duty. It was probably our favorite pool of all of the campgrounds we've been to. It was really clean and it has two slides and a diving board. Kids had a blast! The campground was very relaxed with lots of kids and lots of happy sounds. A very helpful and friendly staff are employed at the park. It was a very far drive for us, but we will visit the campground again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$14
Had a great trip to Petit Jean State Park last month. Only bad part was that we had a lot of rain. It should be noted that I don't recall the exact rate and they vary a bit depending on the type of site. $14.00 is close. The first thing we need to talk about is getting into the park. There are 3 main ways in. The first is 155 from the south, coming off of 10 and connecting with 154 and then east into the park. This will give you a nice, easy pull with some fair scenery to look at. The second way is to come in from the west off of 7, catching 154 in Centerville. This is a harder pull but the scenery is nicer, if you have the nerve to look at it! Then we have what I am calling "The White Knuckle Route". This brings you in from the east on 154, and takes you straight up for about 2 miles after passing the turn-off at Ada! Guess which one my computer routing brought me in on! Yep. My wife couldn't understand why I was concerned when my S-10 was working hard in 2nd gear. She said not to worry as I had one more gear to go. 154 is beautiful and not a bad road, but not when your pulling a trailer! The staff at Petit Jean are great! They go out of their way to help you have a great time. No matter what you ask they will do their best to accommodate. This includes everybody from the guys doing the clean-up to "Mr. Ranger" on patrol. #1 great people! The park has four main camping areas plus an "Overflow Area". All, including the "Overflow" have power and water. Area "A" is all pull-throughs with some trees but not a lot of shade. I believe the sites in this area also have sewer hook-up. Area "B" are all back-ins, also with some trees but minimal shade. Both these areas are better suited for MH's and big 5er's. Areas "C" and "D" are well shaded and all but a few sites in "D" are back-in. All sites except "Overflow" are paved and have fire ring/grills and picnic tables on a concrete slab. Not sure about the electric power in the other areas but area "D" has 40 amps to each site and that's plenty for PU's and a lot of TT's and 5er's. Water pressure was fine and it tasted good even though we have no filter. Bath houses are modern and clean with plenty of hot water. The park has any number of fantastic hiking trails. Due to the rain I was only able to hike 2 of them, one "easy" and the other "moderate to hard". Will want to get back to hike the rest before my old knees give out completely! There are also a number of overlook points that are well worth the time to explore. One of the best, "Cedar Falls Overlook", is accessed by a 1/4 mile walk on a wooden walkway. Very pretty and easy for older people and invalids. You get a great view of the falls. All of the other overlooks can be accessed by car and a very short walk. Bring your binoculars! Had planned on a lot of fishing but due to the amount of rain, this just didn't happen. Also, the lake has been drained down about 6' to do repairs on the dam. That 6' doesn't sound like a lot but it's a good bit on a lake with an average depth of 8'! Any how, no fish stories this trip. If you come, make sure you bring what you need. The closest major store is in Morrilton, about 20 miles away. There you will find a Wal-Mart Super Center about 3 blocks south of I-40 and a fair selections of restaurants. There is also a nice restaurant in the park at Mather Lodge. I believe it is run by state employees and is comparable in price and quality to a Denny's or IHOP. Good food and service at a fair price. You will also find a small store just outside the east entrance to the park. It carries a nice assortment of trinkets and souvenirs but not much help on camping needs. They do have a nice selection of hiking sticks at a good price. Hike most of those park trails and you will find that one of these is a big help! That just about covers all that I can think of. Petit Jean is a beautiful park in a great part of the country. We are sure to be returning there at some future date. Happy Camping! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com