214973 User submitted reviews online!!
Harrisburg East Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 56 user reviews. Phone: (717) 939-4331
CGID2436

Harrisburg East Campground

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   8   8   9   6   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
Staff friendly and efficient. Sites level but not very wide. The biggest problem was the traffic noise since there was an interstate highway next to the campground so not very peaceful. Easy access in and out. Would stay here again but pick a site closer to the office and further from the highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
Old fixtures, but clean bath house. Low water pressure but very good shower heads. Wi-fi was good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$34
Rate is for weekly stay. It's a smaller park with mostly paved streets and gravel sites. Many permanents and stored units around. Lots of sites are not level as previously mentioned. We had to pull to the front of the site to receive a satellite signal and our wheels were off the ground. Laundry has only three machines and one was out of order. Park appears to be installing cable. WiFi was spotty. Looks like the showers are pay. The pool was not yet open but appeared to be nice. Was a little surprised they allowed a smelly horse trailer to occupy a site near campers. Lots of grassy areas would be nice if fenced for dog runs. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$38
We always stay at this convenient park when headed to FL on our annual trip. We always find the staff to be friendly and efficient and have not had any issues. I cannot comment on restroom or shower facilities or laundry as it is a one night stop for us. No complaints. No cable! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
Well laid out park with nice pull-throughs, convenient utilities, strong Verizon signal, very good WiFi, very good water pressure. Nice facilities for the better weather. We wanted to stay longer but that strong cold front and snow forecast drove us south. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Very nice park, indeed. Surpassed expectations. Paid extra to get spot near bathhouse. Gravel sites, fairly level, lots of trees. Large pool. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Nice place for an overnight stop close to I83. Large sites - mostly level. Nice scenery and very friendly check in staff. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
It is a little hilly, but I see no reason some are negative about it. My site was level right to left and I only had to raise the nose a bit to make it level front to back. NO BLOCKING REQUIRED. Site 104. Good shade, may bother those with satellite. Verizon service good. Gravel and dirt pads. Good staff. Would come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
We stayed here as an overnight stop. It is very close to I83. We stayed in a water electric only site. They do not have cable but we were able to get a few channels on the antenna. The sites are not level but they are not bad for this area. There are restaurants within walking distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$40
This is the first time at this RV park in 5 years. We were a little cautious due to other reviews about unlevel sites; however, we had no problem. The "100" row has recently been re-graded to make the sites more level. New very clean sewer dumps have also been added to that row of sites. As others have mentioned the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again, but make sure we called ahead to get one of the "100" sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
We did not use any of the facilities(shower,pool)as they were closed due to the season. The office was extremely efficient and helpful in showing us to our site. We were on a very level gravel pull through and easy to access. Highway noise was present throughout the day and night. We had a very nice visit with the campground hosts while walking the park together; they were extremely gracious. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
The good first. Very helpful staff as I went into the office 3 times trying to find a level site, and they did not tire of seeing me. Very nice distance between camping sites, showers were only 25 cents for 10 minutes. Bad part: I could not find a faintly level spot after trying 4 spots. I have 4 blocks under the tires and am not level yet. Some of the large RVs have both or one of their wheels 6-to 8 inches off the ground. Wow!! I went to fill my tanks up with water since I didn't want to hook-up and stopped because the water looked muddy? At least it looked like it, not sure however. The men showers were very clean but I had no curtain/door while I was changing, although the shower itself had a curtain. It would have been nice as my shower stall was open to all the sinks: what's with this? Lots of mosquitoes, very thick with them. Won't be back: ever. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
We stayed here for two nights while visiting the Harrisburg area. At night, it was surprisingly quiet despite its proximity to an Interstate. The staff was friendly. The sites were adequate. The park was clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
Upper pull through stalls had a lot of highway noise but the lower area stalls were much quieter. Very clean, nice shower facilities. Needed a lot of leveling for our 38 foot rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$47
This was an acceptable overnight stay; convenient location. Shady, quiet, small. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
We stayed here on the way to upstate NY and on the way back. It was in a great area for touring the Pennsylvania area. On the way up we toured Gettysburg and Lancaster and on the way home we did Hershey. The sites seemed to be all pull throughs and fairly level. Had a fair amount of room between them and the WiFi was great. No cable TV but a number of over the air channels. There is a little traffic noise from 283 which runs behind the campground, but with the air conditioning running it's not too noticeable. The price was right and if we have an opportunity to come back this way again we will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Our stay was an overnight and this place was perfect, the owners are a very nice couple who take a lot of pride and care in the campground. Very clean restrooms and showers. We were traveling with a second vehicle as we are relocating and they had us park the second vehicle on the site next door! I would recommend them to anyone ! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Nightly rate represents a weekly rate for 50 amp site. Location very convenient to all area attractions. From here we were able to visit Hershey Park, Pennsylvania Dutch country, Gettysburg, factory tours in York, and do not miss the state capitol building in Harrisburg. This is the most elaborate state capitol building we have ever seen, adorned with gold, marble, stained glass, and other taxpayer funded extravagance. Anyway, the park was clean, shaded, well kept, nice pull throughs, and slightly more reasonably priced than campgrounds right in Hershey. They also have a booming RV storage business on site which we would take advantage of if ever needed. They also have propane, a playground, and an un-heated swimming pool. Sites have picnic tables and fire-pits. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$36
This is one of the few CG open in the winter for an overnight stop on our way south. Noticed a lot more permanent trailers this year, make sure you take 25 cents when you go to the showers as you will need it to turn on the showers. It is near the highway so there is quite a bit of noise. Location is a little tough as it is in populated city type area, so to maneuver with traffic was a little tough. It is okay for a one nighter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
This is an OK campground with friendly folks at the counter and a nice pool. However, they don't have cable TV and you can't get a signal on your dish. This was our first trip to this area and after spending 3 days seeing the sights we now know that there are nicer parks in the Amish farms area and will use those if we make another trip. It's a good deal for the price, but do not expect to use your dish. The Wi-Fi worked fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
Location, location, location. Good for travel to Harrisburg as well as Hershey. Nice level sites. Pay shower - $.25 for ten minutes. Not many amenities, but they have a nice pool. Don't think this is a campground for children. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Very functional campground. Easy access from any of the interstates or turnpike. Utilites, Wi-Fi and 3G aircard worked well. No cable TV, but some sites can receive SAT and over air signals were strong. Interior road is paved and sites are crushed gravel. Fair sized shadey pull-throughs, but will require some blocks to assist leveling. Mostly seasonal or permanent campers, but the campground and sites are neat and clean. Shopping and eating places close by. Nightly rate based on weekly stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
A nice little park and nice owners. The park is very hilly and our pull through site was not very level. I would not bring my 5th wheel here. I was surprised to find out you had to pay for a shower. They have 2 restaurants at the bottom of the hill which you can walk to. A lot of nice trees for shade, but tight for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
Okay for a last resort while travelling. Park is cramped and has mostly permanent residents (approximately 48 sites). RV storage and storage buildings are located within the "campground." Least I forget, a shower will cost you 25-cents for 7-minutes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
Rate reflects a Good Sam discount and a coupon. We really enjoyed this park. Lots of trees, very clean, nearly level wide gravel sites. Good electric, cable is not offered and the water pressure could be a little better. A friendly informative host who was a pleasure to talk with. The park is close enough to make it easy to tour the area, but located in a quiet area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
We will start with the positive. Almost every site in this park is a pull thru. Now for the not so positives. The number of 50A sites is fairly limited, they have voltage problems on some 30A sites, water pressure issues on several sites, and a general run down feel overall. Although we didn't use the showers a neighbor told us they are pay showers at 5 minutes for 25 cents. If they weren't trying to nickel dime customers like that I might be borderline okay with their rates but $40 and pay showers is a bit much for this old park. Based on the playground equipment it is a fair bet this was an old Jellystone park thirty or forty years ago. We may stay here again if our travels find us in the area but I won't "write home about it" and I won't drive out of my way to revisit this one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
Loved this park! Friendly with large spaces for 45 foot RV. Marked it down only because it does not have cable and the trees blocked the satellite. Easy to reach and very quiet, off the main path.Close to tourist attractions but far enough out to have fireflies and stars. Would come back again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
Not rustic, but nice. Not much green, but has all conveniences. Close quarters. Good Sam park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
Nice host at this clean campground. It was easy in/out to the highway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
Good for overnight or short stay. Tight sites, near major roads, so has road noise. 50 amp pull through FHU, big rig friendly. Near major attractions. Verizon cell and air card worked fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
This is a "metropolitan" campground for sure. I considered that when giving it an 8 rating. I think for an in-town park, this one was fine. It was a good base for Central PA (Harrisburg, York, Lancaster). There will be highway noise, it is near roads. All sites had a fire ring and most sites are well shaded and relatively level. I do admit that it is much easier to level a trailer than a large motorhome, some sites would be a problem for them. The pool, laundry & baths worked properly and were clean. Nothing in the camp store, but everything you need is nearby, it is in town. What appeared to be approx 2 rows of permanent sites were the best kept sites I have seen anywhere in the east. Plenty of areas to walk a dog. We would return for sure, knowing that this is not a destination resort. It is a great place for a night or two, or to visit friends and family in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
We pulled in after an eight hour drive expecting the nice setting described on the website. We were given a site in the back of the campground between two very run down trailers and backed by a mud hole, expressway, and a constructions site. We tried to change sites but were told that was our only choice. We would have left but we had plans for the evening and had already paid for the site. Very disappointing for avid campers. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
They have a limited number of big rig sites so call ahead. Having said that, we found our site large enough for 43 foot full wall slide rig, and not to badly unlevel. An excellent one nighter for the I-81 run. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
Nice park for shorter stays. There was a mix up in the reservation. I drive a 40 ft, 50 amp rig. The reservation I made was for 5 nights. When I got there, the lady said my reservation was for a 36 ft, 30 amp rig and that I could only stay for 2 nights. A permanent resident told me that that is not a rare situation. Good roads, roomy sights, but leveling is a problem. It looks like the gravel is new and is humped in the middle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
This park had a lot of promise; nice canopy of trees, wide sites, nice playground and pool, etc. But it failed in a couple of key areas. However, it ties in with the next one that I requested a site away from the highway, yet when I got there for late check-in, a sign told me (anyone) to pick a spot with a dot on it. There were two and the one away from the highway was taken. So I sat on the highway with jake-brakes waking me up all night long. In the morning, I found out that they had set aside a good site for me and they told me if I had called in, they would have told me what site it was. I didn't know I had to call in otherwise I would have. Just thought this was bad business. They did offer to move us, but between not wanting to completely disconnect and move again and not being convinced it would have made a difference for the noise anyway, we stayed put. had to put my jack as high as possible to get nearly level. Lack of cable was annoying in that there wasn't much to watch on Sat/Sun morning but info-mercials. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$28
Decent campground in a good location. It's right next to I-283 so there is some traffic noise, but it's not bad. I doubt that I'd go to Harrisburg East for a weekend to relax and actually camp; both times I've stayed here I've used the camper more as a place to sleep while visiting family in the area. Showers are pay showers, $0.25 for about 10 minutes, very clean and plenty of hot water, but there's no curtain in front of the changing area - it's just open to the rest of the bathroom. Still, the next time we're doing something in this area for a weekend, we'll almost certainly come here - the location is hard to beat, and the price is reasonable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
We stayed here for the big RV show at Hershey. I called ahead for a reservation and my site was right around the corner from the office(which was nice} Nice place, only complaint was a barking dog in a fifthwheel behind us. Otherwise, good place to stay We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
A very nice, quiet campground. No golf carts or roudy campers. Seasonals are very clean and quiet. They don't allow garbage on sites or clothes lines, so everything looks very neat. All sites are gravel and grass no dirt. Lots of room between sites. We really didn't hear the highway with our windows open, the crickets were louder. Nice park and pool for our three kids. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
I can't remember ever staying in a noisier campground. We had to hollar at each other to hear over the trucks on the interstate. If we had been given a site up near the office it would not have been as bad. There were some empty up there,but I was already set up before I realized. The roar of the jake brakes and screaming engines was deafening. The office staff are nice,pool clean and the drinking water was great. There is easy access to the Pennsylvania turnpike. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
We used this as an overnight stop. Sites are easy pull-thrus and wide. We stayed hooked up and although our truck was on a slope, the fiver wheels were on the level; we didn't need to use any of our leveling equipment. There are seasonals here but they're neat and well kept. Saw everything from a tent to a 42' Class A. Pizza shop within walking distance if you don't feel like cooking. We were only able to get one local TV station using our antenna. You do hear the noise from the highway but, hey, you're not in the middle of the woods...and in the summer, with the air conditioner on, not a problem. We wouldn't hesitate to stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$34
Much better than I expected. All but a few are pull-throughs, and the highway next door doesn't even bother us. Gravel sites and near highway access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$31
Harrisburg East is in rather a strange location. It is located right off of I-283 just North of the Pennsylvania Turnpike Interchange for Harrisburg East. Despite that, the campground is very nice. Our stay was early in the year but the grounds were clean, and the sites very well maintained. It is a small campground and there is quite a bit of noise from the adjacent highway but it sits above it a bit so it isn't too bad. I was shocked at the amount of seasonal campers. Not because the campground was bad, but in the entire State of Pennsylvania it is not the place I would have picked to have a seasonal site. Regardless, it is a very nice, clean, safe campground. I only rated an 8 because of the highway noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$26
Campground is kept clean but is showing signs of age. Most sites had an electric meter indicating that it could be used as a seasonal site. In fact many sites were seasonal but were well kept. Easy to miss the entrance, did not see a sign. We used this as a base to see the sites in Hershey and it worked well for us. Our site did not have any grass, just gravel. We did not use it but there was a very nice playground for the kids. We may use the campground again if we cannot get closer to Hershey. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$27
A really nice campground. We have used it before for overnight stays and it seems to just keep getting better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2007
$30
We were assigned site 108 and the noise from the highway is constant and loud 24 hours. If you stay here avoid sites 106-108, 211-213, 311 and 312 and 411 & 412 for this reason. The closer to the office you get the less noise.There are some permanent campers set-up in this park and for the most part are a bit on the shabby side. The section in back of us is a storage area with campers in various state, some decent and some old with flat tires etc..When we return to tour Amish Country later this year we will not stay here.They are pet friendly and have a large grassy sloped area to walk the dogs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$32
The perfect place to stay over night if you are traveling south from Canada. Easy pull though. Wonderful staff. After hours self check in. Clean, small, easy to get too. Close to everything you need. It is right next to the interstate so it is a bit noisy if you are not used to that sort of thing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$27
We spent six weeks here, starting Feb 12th, 2007 - only a day before the "storm of the century" hit Pennsylvania! Even during the storm, the workers made sure the roads were clear, which helped a lot! ALSO, they deliver propane to your site! There's only two things that kept my rating from being a 10: the lack of cable TV, plus the fact that we couldn't use the water hookups during the cold weather (even though we had heated and insulated hosing that would have covered the standpipe). But filling the tank wasn't that bad. Thanks, HBEast! We'll be back, but not in the winter! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
Not a bad campground, road noise didn't bother us. But my father was closer to I-283 and the road noise bothered him one night. We stayed there during Hershey Show and would probably stay there again because its close to hershey. The site was pretty level, all the roads look like the were just paved. My father has a Class A 39ft pusher and he got around fine. Tree's will block Directv. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
We were here for the RV show in Hershey. The location was convenient to the show, and other Hershey attractions. Our site was perfectly level, and the roads in the campground were nice and wide. We did hear road noise from I-283, but we were not bothered at all by it at night, and we had our windows open. Bathrooms were clean, and the staff was friendly. Will return here when we come up for next year's RV show in Hershey. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2006
$26
We were not pleased with our stay here and would not recommend this campground to anyone. Upon arriving, we found that the site we were given was located not more than 50 yards from the interstate! We asked if we could be given another site farther away from the traffic noise but were told that none were available. We set up our tent trailer and found that the noise was so bad that we had to yell to each other around the campfire in order to be heard! We recommended to the office that guests should be informed of the road noise upon making reservations so that they can make the right choice for their camping experience. The lady behind the desk said that they didn't have any other complaints! No apologies were offered! We toughed out the two nights by running our air conditioner in an attempt to drown out the noise and were glad to depart. After a day at Hershey Park, we certainly could not look forward to a nice relaxing evening around the campfire. The whole campground is a shame with its many permanent sites, ugly surroundings and awful road noise. The one plus it does have is that its bathrooms are clean. It's metered showers are bother however (10 minutes for a quarter). The fact that I would take time to right this lengthy review says that I find it important to let others know of this campgrounds faults and help them avoid it. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$27
Wow, what a great little campground. Conveniently located and easy in and out. The staff is friendly and helpful. There are some seasonal but you can hardly tell. No Junk! Best of all no rowdy drunks riding around on golf carts! This is good place to stay for many area attractions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$34
We camped here for a long weekend. The noise from the major interstate can be annoying if you stay on that end of the campground. We stayed in site 106. It was a large site. These people are very pet friendly and the staff was courteous. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
Good basecamp for our overnight visit to nearby Hershey park (about 10 miles). The bathrooms were reasonably clean with metered showers. The campground was suprizingly quiet for being located next to a major roadway. We would stay here again when in the area We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$24
A great little campground. Nice sites although a few are small. Lots of trees and very clean. Some seasonals but none of the "seasonal junk" around. Used it as an overnight and was very pleased. Would go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$23
Decent park. Some long term, but most were new rigs and well taken care of. Extremely friendly staff. Very nice. Easy location to get to, but close to the interstate. Very pet friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$23
Metered showers, very friendly staff, clean facilities, LP filling on site. Would return We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com