224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Muddy Run Recreation Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (717) 284-5850
CGID2440

Muddy Run Recreation Park

Camp Information
Sites
167
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   6   10   2   9   9   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
Built in the late 1960s, this is a very spacious campground with tight, short campsites. Big rigs can fit in an overflow area with electric and communal water. Water outlets in short supply, so bring several hoses - when we registered, the office told us how far we were from the nearest faucet, so we were ready. Campstore well stocked. Great place for biking, boating and hiking, as the park contains a 100-acre lake surrounded by 700 acres of wood and field areas. Has a boat launch with electric and rowboats available. The campground's snackbar serves excellent meals and ice cream at reasonable prices. Over the years, the campground has allowed more seasonal campers, some of which are either trashy or own dogs that bark incessantly. Further incentive to go hiking, biking or boating... We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$39
I love camping here. They are friendly and allow you to enjoy yourself. The only draw back is no pool, but during the fall and spring times I would highly recommend going here. The snack shack is priced well and food great! As I leave, I always am planning my next trip! This is one of the best campgrounds we have been too even without a pool! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Been there many times. If cable TV and Wi-Fi was available it would make it more enjoyable. The staff is very nice and the food is very good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
We live about 5 minutes from the park and usually on our first trip out every year we camp here as our shake down trip. Some of the sites are on a hill and you need more blocks on your front to get level - they should highlight these sites - so you're not stuck not being able to get your TT off of your hitch. Also, bring some extra water hose and electric as some of the hookups are far from the pads (not all!!). It still gets a 10 from me as the sites are spacious and there is a lake you can rent boats, paddle boats, and fish. There are also lots of hiking trails. There are a few playgrounds for the kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
We didn't think that this campground was all that great. We were given a site in the direct sunlight that lasted all day long, and right along the main road leading back to the main campground. The shower area didn't provide anyone privacy to get dressed unless you wanted to dress in front of other guest waiting to use the 3 showers that they had available. I had small kids along in the shower & other women guest were exiting the showers naked. What a thing to expose young kids to. I dressed in the shower to the best that I could but got my clothes wet due to no place to dress. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
This is our favorite place to camp! Nice layout with big shady sites. The only downside would be that they need a swimming pool. Great place for kids and pets! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
We made reservations for Halloween weekend last fall, and absolutely LOVED IT!! We will definitely be returning year after year for this event! During the day on Saturday there were activities galore for the kids, with hay rides, face painting, costume contests and more! The entire campgrounds was decorated for Halloween and the "Haunted Houses" made out of tents put many paid places to shame. It was great! The kids went trick or treating around the entire campgrounds after dinner. The site that we had was very large and grassy, with plenty of shade, though not really a necessity in October. It is very quiet and relaxing! Amenities are slim to none, with no pool, electric or internet service available, but there is still plenty to do to make it a family vacation. The restrooms are clean, and well lit, though a bit of a walk first thing in the morning! We look forward to many happy returns. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$27
This is the third year that we have camped at Muddy Run. This park is clean and quiet. The sites and roads are paved, although our site (#25) was slightly unlevel. The paved roads make it easy for the kids to ride their bikes/scooters to the playgrounds, one of which is slightly more modern than the other, and is surrounded by finely shredded rubber mulch. Hiking on the trails to the lake is also enjoyable. The shower facilities are clean and acceptable. The gate personnel are friendly and helpful. Muddy Run is a great basic amenity park to relax and enjoy the change of seasons, since it is surrounded by mature trees, woods, and wildlife, particularly deer. We will be camping at Muddy Run again in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$23
Had a problem at registration: Registered and paid for 2 nights (Wed & Thur), desk clerk gave me my vehicle tag marked site 29, park map with site 29 indicated, and receipt. Thursday morning, pouring rain and grounds keeping staff knocking on the door telling me I'm in the wrong site and have to move. Show them the vehicle tag, they radio back to the office, who says I'm supposed to be in site 30. Headed down to the office to work it out, with all paperwork in hand. Find that the receipt says site 30. 45 minutes of trying to get them to shuffle incoming folks around so that I don't have to move, without success. After a fair amount of polite but assertive discussion, I finally got them to agree that I would move to the overflow area that morning, and they would "comp" me an extra night due to their error. The overflow area is in a large open field, about 100 yards from the highway, so noisier than the rest of the park. It does have electric hookups, and water hookup if you have enough hose to reach the central water connection (they have some hoses available for rental as well). This area is also a little tricky to get in and out of if your RV rides low, like mine. All in all, a good bargain at the price despite the problem described above. We would probably stay here again if we find ourselves visiting that area again, but from now on I will double-check all my check-in papers everywhere I go. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
Very nice place. It is quiet, clean, and the people are very kind. No sewer hookups is bit annoying, but the rest of the campground makes up for it. For the money, it is well worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$12
I have camped at Muddy Run over the past six years in both a pop-up and travel trailer. I am from South Jersey and close to the shore but would much rather go to Lancaster because of shore traffic. Muddy Run is a very clean campground from the bathhouses, parks, and the lake front. It doesn't have sewer but you can learn to use a "tote along" easily. This is also a "pet friendly" campground which is a plus when you don't want to leave your friend behind. The sites are un-level but after all you are in the mountains and that is half the fun. I camp here for a month each season that is why the site fee is so low. Definitely a place to try! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$35
Muddy Run is a great no-frills campground located in a nice wooded recreational area. There are no sewer hook-ups, and water and electric hook-ups are often located far from your site. Bring extra cord and hose. There are numerous opportunities to hike on the various trails located throughout the park. There is a nice, large lake for fishing and boating. Roads and sites are paved, allowing children to easily ride their bikes. Main playground was modern and well maintained. The park was quiet and the facilities were clean. The staff was also very courteous as well. We have been to Muddy Run before and will certainly return in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$26
Highs: Moderate cost; pleasant check-in; activities on some weekends; hiking trails, good fishing and boating. Abundant wildlife and great environmental sightseeing opportunities. Distance between sites provide privacy. lots of open space and a variety of camping is available. Reasonable camp store and snack bar. Half of campground featured permanent sites. Lows: An average of 30 feet to electric; 100 feet to a water connection at most sites. No sewer. Website for campground is weak on information. Pads are narrow and not level. Traffic from Pa Route 372, which is sole east-west route in southern Lancaster County, is abundant with big trucks using Jake Brakes. The sound roars throughout the valley although the night wasn't nearly as bad as feared. Windows were closed - not sure what it would be like in a tent camper in July. Man at boat rental station spoke about three words, gave few instructions as to proper boating technique and safety. He was only surpassed by a handful of retired locals who apparently like to hang out at the dock and complain with intermittent swearing about mundane things. Great learning lesson for the kids!? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2006
$20
Love this park because it' s close to home, but don' t like the lack of close water hookups. (But for $20, it' s worth it) Not a lot of large sites-you pretty much have to know the park to get one specifically-so not a real good choice if you have a Big Rig. Beautiful scenery and nice trails for hiking. A lot of wildlife to see! Great bass fishing. Very peaceful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$23
This is a mostly rustic campground that offers basic camping. There isn't much for kids to do as there is no pool or rec hall, but there is fairly nice playground. There is a campstore that offers the basics and rents rowboats and canoes for the lake. The water and electric may be fairly far from the site but when you make your reservation they will tell you how far. We go to this campground several times a year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2003
$25
We encountered abundant wildlife, including deer, turkeys, ground hogs, and rabbits. The playground was very nice; it was shaded, had a beautiful view, and a variety of equipment for children of all ages. The sites were spacious and nicely shaded. The 24 hour security was a plus. The facility was immaculate. The only drawbacks were an abundance of yellow jackets (it may have just been the time of the year we visited) and the traffic on the nearby highway got started early in the morning (we were in a tent though, and any noise would have been more noticeable than to RV'ers). We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$20
Park is owned and operated by PP&L (power company). The park is clean. Sites are good size, easy to get into and for the most part level. The whole park is grass and trees with paved roads. There is an on-site cafe serving breakfast, lunch/supper. Mostly sandwiches, burgers, etc. Large deer herd within the park boundaries. 24 hr. security. Guard on duty at entrance gate after hours. The only potential problem is that the water stations are located on the inside perimeter sites and each station serves several sites. This requires that sites on the outside perimeter must run hoses across the road which is an accepted practice. In some cases you may need a rather long hose. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com