218648 User submitted reviews online!!
Raccoon Creek State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (724) 899-2200
CGID2442

Raccoon Creek State Park

Camp Information
Sites
172
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   6   7   6   9   1   9   6   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$31
We have stayed here before. This time was much different than previously. The park ranger on staff on one of the nights of our stay was just out to give anyone and everyone a hard time about anything and everything he could! One morning- trees were being cut down with a chainsaw about 3 sites away from us (a bit of noise). This state park is very pretty. Plenty of activities. We stayed in the same campsite as we had previously. This one suits us perfectly. The shower/restroom building is well lit, kept clean, and centrally located. This pet friendly camping area is one that we will return to when we need some down time! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$39
We stayed at this state park for 2 nights. We used both the water fill and the dump stations. We have a full service RV and did not use the shower/restroom building. Our campsite was near perfect! Large and shaded! Pet-friendly and 50 amp service! Fire ring and picnic table. We stayed on a weekend and the campground filled up quickly. Our reservation was made about a month in advance online. The state park ranger{s} did drive through from time to time to check on things which was nice to see. We will most likely camp here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
We camped in a 45 foot motor home. If you have a long heavy RV, DO NOT enter the park from US 30. The first bridge has a weight limit of 10 tons. Enter the park from PA 18. PA 18 curvy and lots of hills, but we made it. The only sites that would accommodate our 45 foot RV, where B1 & B2. These were ADA paved sites which were reasonably level and clear of trees. Other than some sites in the A section, most sites had severe slope and many tree limbs to dodge. Sites do not have water, but there are water bibs located throughout the park. There is a central dump station. Verizon signal was 1 to 2 bars. Sat TV signal was available on our ADA site, but would not be available on most sites. Sites in A section would handle maximum 30 foot RV. There is some noise from Pittsburgh International Airport. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
We camped here with our 2 dogs. We had site F35. It was a very nice weekend. The bathrooms and showers were clean. Some other campers had problems with the Raccoons but they also left their trash, and food out. The beach is very nice. You do have to drive to the beach. Our boys like the movie about fish that the Rangers showed on Saturday night. All in all it was a nice campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
This campground was alright for one night. It had a very pretty lake for swimming, but was a drive not a walk from the campground. We stayed at site E14, which was in a non-pet loop. Someone had a pittbull a few sites down which ticked me off. They have two or three other loops for pets. Oh, E14 was shaded and very private. The restrooms were standard prison type restrooms. Stainless sinks, toilets and really dark creepy showers. Glad I didn't have to use them. One more note, if you like the sound of jets sounding like they are going to land right next to your motorhome then this is the place for you. This campground is on the flight path for the Pittsburgh airport. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
We stayed here over a week while moving my son into college. This is the closest campground to Pittsburgh that I felt was ok. We had a nice pull-through site in the A loop. Bathrooms/showers clean and in good repair. However, while the vast majority of sites here will work fine for tenting or trailers, only a few are sufficiently level and wide enough for a motorhome. We made on-line reservations, paid in advance, and they were ready for us. Drive into Pittsburgh was about 45 minute. There was cell phone (and data) coverage from Verizon and Sprint. There was only intermittent data coverage for T-Mobile and this is with my 40' tower antenna raised hooked to a Wilson amplifier! This state park has a lovely beach, rents various types of watercraft, hiking trails in woods and a lovely series of trails through a Wildflower Restoration Area. Almost no mosquitos at all. The E and F loops seemed to be the most popular. The B loop was about 50% occupied, C & D loops are primarily for tenting and we didn't walk down there. When we come back to Pittsburgh to bring my son home from college, we will likely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Raccoon Creek State Campground was terrible. Bathrooms were filthy. I watch workers go in to clean the restrooms. Took them two minutes and they were filthy. Showers were unreal. Old and moldy looking. The workers at check-in were very rude. Sent us on wild goose chase looking for campsites that had shade. We had requested shade when we made the reservation a few weeks before. Drove back to check-in three times before they told us there were no openings. Pets sites are all in the sun. No shade. It was quite a miserable time. We would have just left but we were camping with our camping club. Fines were given for parking on the grass. This is a very rustic campground. There is no grass but they let people party loudly all nite. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$24
Rate was very reasonable, and park personnel are courteous and helpful explaining both park facilities and local travel information. While we could not use a laptop here because there was neither Wi-Fi nor modem, the TV and HDTV reception for several Pittsburgh stations was great, using only the camper's "boomerang" antenna. Since there is no water at individual campsites, it is necessary to carry it a short distance from a central location in each camping "area," which can be seen on one of the excellent state park maps available online. We recommend this park and would stay here again (while visiting/touring the city of Pittsburgh). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$23
Sites have 50 amp electricity, but no water. Many of sites (B ring) were not level and were small. We had a 35 foot motorhome and they let us use the ADA site which was nice. Many of the sites are quite tiny. Several TV channels available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$14
I grew up near this campground and have always enjoyed it. It has large sites and was easy to get into and out of. There are lots of large trees and shade over many of the campsites. The park rangers are very friendly. It is a short hike (1/4 mile) to the lake, which is quite beautiful, unless it has just rained heavily. The trails are well kept. The bathrooms are clean. We enjoyed our stay here very much. I would stay here again many more times in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$19
The campground at Raccoon Creek State Park is beautifully wooded with spacious sites. It is laid out in several "loops" which gives you a sense of privacy and a small campground feel. One loop is currently available for camping with pets. The campground is open year-round, but only for rustic camping from mid-October to mid-April. Gathering of deadfall for firewood is allowed. The park is well-staffed and friendly, and the campground is very clean. There is no pool, but the park lake has a nice big beach manned by a lifeguard from Memorial Day to Labor Day. Boat rentals are available, or you can bring your own. Activities available include hiking, boating, fishing, swimming, mountain biking and a playground, and during winter sledding, cross-country skiing, ice fishing, and ice skating. The campground has an amphitheater where nature programs and films are presented on weekends. In addition, the park offers many types of nature and environmental programs. The bathrooms and showers have always been clean every time we have camped here. The rates range from $10 to $19, depending on when you camp and whether or not you want electric hookups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com