219014 User submitted reviews online!!
Jonestown KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 101 user reviews. Phone: (717) 865-6411
CGID2446

Jonestown KOA

Camp Information
Sites
99
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   7   8   5   8   8   9   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2014
$40
Showers were about the worst we've ever seen in a KOA. None of the three in the men's room worked at all. One of three in the women's bathroom, and it was filthy from overuse. We couldn't wait to get out of there and wouldn't return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$45
Easy on/off from I-81 and close enough to Hershey and Harrisburg to make for a logical stop. However, the premium sites are not laid out properly (patio and utilities do not line up as they should. Gravel roads and sites so there is a lot of dust. OK for a few nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$45
Rate included KOA discount. Campground very convenient for those traveling I-81. Very shaded and the trees often make traversing the grounds in a large motorhome cumbersome. Water pressure was low, and use of the Internet was a challenge - slow. The roads within the campground were packed gravel, but I suspect had there been rain, they would have been quite muddy. The front office staff was very helpful and efficient. Had a nice dog park. Would likely return if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$44
First time at the park. Not too many sites for a large motorhome with a tow. You have to watch out for the trees as you drive through the park. They had some young workers that escort you to your site. Not a lot of room between sites. Most people were there for a night as they were heading north after spending the winter down south. Probably would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$32
Rate reflects our KOA card discount. We stayed overnight on our way south to Florida in January, with temps in the teens and snow on the ground, so I can't really speak to the overall appearance or condition of the sites. Our pull-thru site was level though, with easy in and out access. We were escorted to our site by one of the friendly staff. The hook ups were well placed, and we had a concrete patio that would have been more appreciated in warmer weather. The camp store is well stocked with RV supplies and food items, and the snack bar offers a nice selection of sandwiches, burgers, fried chicken, etc, all at very reasonable prices. Our Verizon data and voice service was solid, so we did not use the campground WiFi. We will definitely stop here again, hopefully in better weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$45
We stayed here on both ways to our trip to Lk Placid, NY. Easy on/off freeway, and friendly staff. Escort to site, clean, concrete patios, and plenty of space for RV. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$34
We stopped here on our way home from a long trip and just needed a place to sleep. We were pleasantly surprised with this campground. The staff was really friendly and helpful, the sites were long and level and we did not need to disconnect truck from the trailer. Their camp store is full of whatever you may need. They have a nice little deli and will make you sandwiches and breakfast sandwiches. Very reasonably priced. To look around throughout the park, there are flowers everywhere. Behind us was an old metal bed frame filled with begonias. On a wooden fence wall were lots of painted old tires brimming with plants and vines. We would like to return some day and spend a few days here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
Easy off/on I-81. Good overnight spot, clean and well maintained. Gravel roads/grass and concrete patios at all sites. Nice friendly staff, restaurant on site with decent camp store. We would certainly stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
Just stopped for an overnight but were very pleased with this RV park. Easy access to I-81, nice store with large porch where obviously guests like to meet and greet and just sit and relax. We were escorted to our site that was large enough so we didn't have to disconnect. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
Like most KOAs, this one is next to the interstate so there is 24/7 road noise. The access through the park was on good, gravel roads. The level sites are a combination of grass and gravel with a concrete patio, table, and fire ring. The space between sites is a bit more than most KOAs, but would not be considered spacious. There are some sites along the river that parallels the park. Previous reviewers have marked it as a stream, but it is absolutely a river. Kayaks and canoes are available for rent at the office. It doubles as a general store/restaurant. It isn't fine dining, but the menu has many items and they are reasonably priced. Cable has 20 or so channels and you can get a dozen OTA channels. Satellite would depend on the site because of trees. Free Wi-Fi was 5 bars, but I was in the front of the park. 3G Verizon was good. The bath house was above average. The park was full so I ended up with a 30A site. The voltage was on the low end of the scale and would not support two major appliances at the same time. I downgraded for the lack of that basic amenity. Other amenities include a nice playground for the kiddos and an arcade for the teens. There is a separate tent area in the back of the park. Cost is an average of our four day stay which includes a week-end. They charge more for the week-end. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$34
Nice stopover. Clean restrooms. Friendly staff. Would stay here again. Easy freeway access. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$50
Very nice staff. Did some tubing on the creek/stream. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$41
This cg USED to be "LICKDALE", now joined the KOA. And the "original" KOA is now a private "Jonestown Campground" located a few miles away. This became a KOA around April 2013, some of the "Lickdale" signage within the cg is still here. Half updated, still a work in progress. Staff is friendly and professional. Good 50 AMP, good water and 25 "cable" stations. Good on-site store/restaurant and they will bring dinner to your site. The roads need improving, drive slow, lots of ruts. Sites are level. No pool, but one can swim(?) and canoe in the stream that runs alongside. Typical of KOA, a "easy on/easy off" an interstate (I-81). Some long term sites. Will visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$31
This is a nice campground. It has a great office/store/restaurant, staffed by friendly people who appreciate your business. The grounds were clean, as were the bathrooms and the showers. The campground is in a beautiful spot, and is just minutes from the pretty town of Fredericksburg, PA. I will make this a regular stop between Texas and Maine. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$44
We stayed here overnight while traveling, we had a river site, parking sideways on the river with our slide open almost on the road. Check-in was ridiculously slow, the 50 amp we reserved was unavailable and the young people working in the store/office sent us to a total dump of a restaurant which we promptly left. Cable was good, Wi-Fi, 2 free consecutive hours every 24, was so weak it useless. Our fire-pit had not been cleaned out which we have found is an indication of the attitude of the owners. We would find somewhere else to stay for more than one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
We stayed here going to NYC, and back from NYC. We really enjoyed being able to order hot meals from the store. We did not tow our SUV on this trip, and their food is delicious, and delivered hot. It is also a reasonable price. There is limited cable, and you will need to ask for a space where you can use your satellite. The down side (and we seem to be finding this at most of the parks we stayed in on the way to and from New York) is there were no trash barrels, and no trash pick up. We stayed at this park 4 days going, and 6 days returning. It rained for about 4 days, and with no tow vehicle we had to keep the trash in our motorhome, until we could catch a break in the weather to walk our trash a pretty far distance to the dumpster. It was especially difficult because we pick up our dog's waste, and then we have no place to put it. I did mention this to the manager, as the only real downside to staying there, but she didn't seem very concerned about it. We will stay here again if we are towing a vehicle. You will not find better fried chicken anywhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
2012 comments pretty well cover our experience. We stay here when we travel through the area on our way to or from vacation. We have always found that there are sites available. The free 2 hour CONTINUOUS internet was good. Cable was good, but with limited channels. There was rain before our visit so hookup area was a little muddy. Gravel parking was level and concrete patio pad was usefully large. The menu at the general store had a good selection of hot meals and sandwiches. I cannot comment on the quality as we has only a limited sample. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$44
Nice campground with friendly staff. Site was long enough for our 38' fifth wheel to stay hooked up. Campground is fairly convenient to I-81. Nice pool which the office kept open late due to the 97 degree heat. All hookups worked well. Excellent Wi-Fi at our site right near the office. Cable (DirecTV) had 36 channels and worked fine. The heat didn't help the smell from nearby farm lands. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
No real complaints here. We only did 2 nights. A couple of the staff in the store, could have used some more people skills, but if you hire kids for the summer you get what you pay for, I suppose. We also had problems with the pay for use Wi-Fi. Our $34 rate is for a 30A FHU. Sites used for transients are small but adequate. The concrete pad with table and fire ring is nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$44
We just returned from a 2 night stay at Lickdale campground. good: good sized wooded sites , some along Swatera creek Tubing trip avail. Campground has a well stocked general store with a reasonable menu. Ice cream shop was a bonus. For the not so good we found that besides creek activities and a playground there is not much to do here. The Wi-Fi is limited to 120 CONSECUTIVE minutes per day without charge, I couldn't get the access on my iPad after that even after clicking buy now for additional minutes. The staff at the front desk could not resolve issues with Internet. The owner was supposed to stop by 'sometime' but we never did hear back from anyone on it. The tube rental cost does not include shuttle service, we were overcharged for this; please check your receipt for accuracy. Television is limited 10 or so cable channels. We experienced some road noise from the interstate. We liked the nice setting along the creek, and the tubing was a nice activity. We found that most of the campers when we were there were either stopping in for the night off the interstate en route north or south or staying with multiple family groups together. We had an OK time, but we prefer a campground with more activities (no swimming pool here) and better Wi-Fi access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$42
We stayed on the creek side. This is the second year we stayed here, we love this campground. They rent tubes for the creek and will haul you up stream to float down to campground. The water was low so we didn't do any tubing, but to sit by and watch the water flow is very relaxing. The bathhouse was very clean.The store seemed well stocked for anything you may need. The staff is very helpful and friendly. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$51
People are friendly. Sites are level. I would rate higher, but there are no planned activities or swimming pool. They rent tubes and canoes for the river, but only by the day and not by the hour. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
We went to Lickdale because we wanted to enjoy their tubing. I will start with the campground itself, it is a great location and the grounds are beautiful. Our sites were a good sizes and every site has a great concrete pad. The playground was new and our children really enjoyed all it had to offer. I would love to say we would come back, but I am not sure that is the truth. The customer service was probably the worst I have ever had at a campground. The store and reservations are run by teenagers. Getting accurate information was impossible. The rates for tube rental on the website is not the correct rate and they refused to honor it. We were double charged for a night and it took 5 days and multiple conversations to get a refund. The staff bordered on rude and when asked direct questions never had an answer. If we were to stay here again, I would ask for the owners, who once we got in touch with them were extremely helpful and kind. A little adult supervision would go a long way at the campground. Good location, and good sites but the lack of service ruined it for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
This is a nice campground just off the interstate. Has accommodating staff. It is a little noisy as a very busy road runs along side the campground and motorcycles seem to love it! Could have stayed a few more days, but we did stay going north and then again on our return trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
Nice campground for what it is - a convenient, easy on/off the interstate, one night travel stop. The bathhouse was clean and the staff we met were nice and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$44
Directions are a bit confusing, but your GPS will get you to the gate. Access is good. Interior roads and sites are gravel. This is a retired farm surrounded by fields and has shade trees throughout. It is a beautiful campground. Staff was helpful but did know how to apply any of my thousands of KOA points against my bill (corporate problem?). Lots of places to walk the dogs, but they installed a postage stamp size dog park, despite acres of space. This is near Hershey and Amish country. Nice place to stay. Fix the dog park and this would be a 9 or 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$32
Stayed 1 nite on way to destination. Convenient location, easy to find off I-78. Office is only open in morning and had left reservation/site info for us. Sites are fairly level, but could be muddy if it had rained. Internet wi-fi spotty. Quiet, but it was mid-week off season and only a few long-term campers who seemed to go off to work in morning. Biggest issue was the smell from the cow barn/chicken coops across the road. Having lived next to both at one time, I don't like this particular country smell. I certainly wouldn't want to spend more than 1 night at this location. Staff on phone was friendly but never saw anyone other than other campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
Made an online reservation that was waiting for us (space was pre-assigned) on arrival. Park seemed to be on winter hours - Office only open for an hour in the morning and an hour in the afternoon. The park is fairly convenient to the I78 and 81 interstates but far enough away so no highway noise. The way in from the west takes you through a new home development that was wide open farmland a year or or two ago. Too bad watching the countryside being eaten up. There are no grocery stores within miles, so you'll want to bring in all necessary supplies. Frequent travelers who like to raise a glass at the end of the day will want to know that Pennsylvania does not allow the sale of beer, wine, or spirits in grocery stores. Got to go to a state ABC store. Overall the park was quiet, rest rooms no more than adequate, and the Wi-Fi spotty and slow. Doubt we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$36
We pulled in at 4pm and left the next morning at about 7:30AM to drive onto North Carolina. I found the staff very helpful, the sites adequate and location great. Fueling for gas and diesel very near the campground. Campground is less than a 1/4 mile from RT 81 but no road noise heard at all. Store and restaurant interesting and nice. Front porch of the store has a few chairs to sit a while, have coffee etc. I would certainly go back. Lots of RVers use this as their first stop on way down south and last stop on way home to New England states like MA, ME,NH and VT. The only reason it did not get a 10 is that a 10 would be 50 amp and more modern and more upgrades but believe me this is a nice place to be. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$34
Clean CG convenient to the highway. Friendly staff leads you direct to site. Very cold night so the well heated showers and restroom were appreciated. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2011
$35
Rate reflects KOA Value Card discount. Sites were small and we had to clear branches from our site before pulling in due to a storm several days prior to arrival. Never saw any staff. Relatively convenient to I-81. OK for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
This is an OK campground. This was a last minute choice as we had already had reservations at Lickdale Campground which was flooded and had to find someplace soon. At Lickdale, we were told about this KOA. We called the KOA and they were very helpful and accommodating. They gave us directions, it's located about 6 miles from 1-81. We arrived here during a terrible rainstorm and after checking in, we were escorted to our pull-through site which was long enough so that we did not have to unhook our car. The sites are narrow, and had to take a 30amp site but it had water, sewer, cable & Wi-Fi. It looks like there are a lot of seasonals but because of all the rain, it was really muddy and we did not get a chance to see much of anything. We were only here overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$41
Very friendly staff. Did their best to make us welcome. Sites were small but we were there for the Hershey show so it wasn't a problem. A lot of seasonals and they could use some cleaning up. They do make the campground unsightly. Nice pet area and small ice cream shop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$37
We have stayed in this park for the past two years during the big RV show in Hershey. This year the campground was completely sold out, evidently due to a Pleasure Way rally as well as those of us attending the show. Sites are not wide so during the show dates, things did feel pretty tight -- but pleasant and friendly neighbors made for a good experience. We stayed an extra night on Sunday when the park was almost empty, and enjoyed the beautiful and peaceful feeling of a fall afternoon under the trees in a rural area. About 20 miles to Hershey -- a local small grocery story is just down the street -- and relatively easy on/off from I-78 and I-81. We enjoy this campground and will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$48
This is a typical overpriced KOA but it was convenient to our activities for a few days. The owners do seem to be very hands on and active. The location of the dumpster is inconvenient but that is our only real negative. This park wasn't special but it wasn't bad either. It would have been more realistically priced at $35 - $40 but it is the overpriced northeast and the even more overpriced KOA. We would camp here again if the situation should arise to be back in that area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
Stayed there twice in August and really liked the park. The sites are level and long enough for a 40 ft 5th wheel. AC power was good and cable TV was available. Very close to I-81 but not much road noise. The store is quaint and well stocked plus everything like fuel and food is nearby. The park is not new and a bit shop worn but we will stay here again as it is close to Harrisburg and only about 30 miles to Amish country. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
This older, but fairly well kept KOA is easily accessible from the interstate, yet far enough away to be peaceful. There are lots of trees so you more than likely will have shade. The sites a mostly pull through and fairly level. The staff are friendly and helpful. They had a water main break before we arrived and so the park was without water for a couple of hours, but with the friendliness of the management, the short inconvenience was no real problem. The pool was clean and refreshing, the surrounding landscape and park was pleasing. We Canadians will definitely stay here again, and so offer our recommendations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
Not a bad park for a stopover. It is right off I-81. This campground has a big store and decks for relaxing and socializing. Even PA lottery tickets are sold here. The campground is OK, but not spectacular. There was trash in the creek and around the campground. At the check-in area, the dumpsters were overflowing, but in defense of the campground, it was a Sunday afternoon. Some inconsiderate camper's dog left a calling card at an adjoining site. The maintenance crew cleaned it up right away when I reported it. (Sorry, I'm not picking behind someone else's dog.) Overall, I'd stay here again because the price is reasonable and the staff is pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
We only stayed here a single night, en route to another destination, but it was very nice, and we would stay again. Very clean, mature shade trees and landscaping, and level sites. The staff was extremely friendly. We have a large dog, and can report this campground is pet friendly, with a small fenced dog area plus room to walk around the campground on leash and lots of shaded grassy areas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2011
$37
This park was extremely overpriced for the time of year. Though wireless internet is "available", it's only free for 60 consecutive minutes-once you sign on, the clock starts and that's it, then they charge $5 a day!! Cable has very few stations. Bathrooms are very old, the showers have a very weird configuration where the small shower head is placed on an overhead pipe-not much pressure, the room is cold,and there is no separation between the shower and the dressing area so be careful where you put your things. The only good thing about this place was the store which was well stocked with a wide variety of items. Maybe it's better in the summer, but I won't bother going back to find out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2011
$37
Very unhelpful staff, dirty facilities, small tight campsites. They advertise free internet, but they give you one hour free and then charge $5 per day. Intentionally misleading advertising. Very overpriced for the condition of the facilities and lack of space. This is the second or third worst camp we have stayed in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$38
We have stayed here overnight several times. This is a very convenient campground for traveling on 1-81. It's just off the interstate and the gas station is at the intersection just before the campground entrance. We had a nice long and wide pull-through site with 50 amps, Wi-Fi and cable. The grounds could use some cleaning but are passable. The registration desk and store are staffed by teenagers, but they are all knowledgeable, helpful and very friendly. This is a good stopover and we will continue to stay here on future trips. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
We found the teenagers staffing the office to be rather smart-alecky, unprofessional and wondered why there was no adult supervision. But the campground itself was decent enough. We enjoyed our clean and private site beside the creek. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
Our site was level and a good size with a patio, fire ring and shade trees. Everything I am looking for. There was traffic noise from the local road, but it died down at night. Nice porch at the office with rocking chairs. We were going to try the tubing but decided it wasn't warm enough. Will definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$52
We stayed in a cabin that was centrally located and clean. However, there was glass everywhere outside our cabin. They had wonderful activities and a playground for the kids. (I have 3 children.) The only thing that would keep me away from staying at Lickdale campground again would be what I believe are less than clean bathroom and shower facilities. The same ball of hair in the same shower was there all four days we stayed, and the floor under the mats looked as though it had never been cleaned. When I left is also when I found out they have shuttle service and discounts on Hershey park; a little information would have been nice. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
This is an excellent campground. The sites are level and the restrooms are clean. The roads are wide enough for big motorhomes to drive without any problems. The store is well stocked and the wings from the snack bar are very tasty and inexpensive (special $2.99/doz on Tuesday.) The store also has an ice cream stand with hand dipped or soft ice cream and you can sit at the tables or in a rocker on the big front porch while you eat. They also have shuttle service to either Hershey Park (free if you buy your tickets from the store) or to Hollywood Casino at Penn National Raceway. I took advantage of the casino shuttle twice and the campground owner drove me there and picked me up when I called. I stayed for a week and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
We stayed for a weekend and had a very nice time. The owners were very friendly and it had a nice "family run" feel to it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
We pulled in and asked for a decent level full hook up site. They gave us a very small uphill pull through. The sewer hook up was in the middle of the site and of course "uphill". When we left we had to take the time to hit the dump and and I talked to the manager about this and asked for a credit towards the sewer charge. He said "sorry". This KOA was very hilly, my wife slipped in a rut "washed out by rain" in the middle of the gravel road. This place was not kept up the best either. Expensive for a KOA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Found this place pleasing in every way. Clean everywhere. All of the staff is very friendly and helpful. Most seem to be older teens but very efficient. The store is well stocked with necessities. Try their snack bar. They will deliver to your site. Don't miss their ice cream. All sites have fire rings. WiFi is free for one hour in every 24. (Enough for us.) $4.99 for a full day. We stayed two nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
We stayed here over 4th of July weekend with our 2 girls and our 2 dogs. Very nice campground: was very clean. Sites are level and spacious. Has free, clean hot showers, and a very well stocked campground store. There was alot of fun activities planned for the weekend, along with a DJ Saturday and Sunday night. Will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Nice little campground. New owners, and they are doing improvements. The sites are a little tight, but we were there during the week, so we didn't have campers around us. Just a short drive to Hershey Park. The kids liked the pool & game room. Very quiet & relaxing after a day at Hershey. I would recommend this campground if you are going during the week, not on busy weekends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
The rate is with a Good Sam discount. You were supposed to get a free hour of WiFi every 24 hours. We were here a week and only got 3 hours. The people at the desk did not know how to address WiFi problems. They said they would leave a note for the manager. The per day rate for WiFi was $4.99 which is way over priced. The sites and interior roads were gravel. 50 amp power was good. They had tornado warnings out but no one at the desk knew if there were any shelters. There is also a very loud siren that sounded at 11PM one night. The office was closed so we couldn’t ask anyone what it was for. We found out later the siren was for the volunteer fire department. There is an Army base near so there are a lot of planes flying around. We would stay here again for 1 night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$42
We were here for the BOGO free weekend. New owners took over this campground. You can see that they have been busy fixing apparently numerous problems. Place was very clean. The staff and owners were accommodating and friendly. I felt as we were nickeled and dimed for everything (4 ice creams bars from the freezer for $12.00, bit expensive), $5.00 to do a craft, over $20.00 for pancake breakfast for 4 (they cooked them on a grill outside on a very windy day, leaves cooked in first batch of pancakes, miniature golf was $3.50 person (pretty beat area). Wasn't really much to do here. Playground was not much and they only had minigolf. The pool not opened and being repaired. Internet signal was bad and we were close to the store. Kids were bored and we took alot of naps. I hope the owners put some more work into the place. They seem dedicated and are trying. May try this campground in a few years, to see. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
This is a nice campground if you're looking for a no-frills place. There are several seasonals, but very friendly folks. The sites right on the creek didn't really appeal to us because your awning opens to the creek, but about 5 feet from the steep drop off to the water. There's literally no room on the site except for the slab under the awning. We didn't camp on the creek and our site was quite spacious. (Some are not though.) The staff was very friendly. I wouldn't order from the campstore restaurant though. (Our food wasn't what we expected at all: a 'cheese steak sub' was really chicken with salsa on a hotdog roll.) I would rate this higher if there were better access to the creek, the food we ordered had been at least decent, and the facilities were updated. It was clean and nice though. I'd consider camping here again if we were going to go to Hershey which is a short 25-minute drive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$39
New owners appear to be making a positive difference. Didn't have the trouble mentioned by past posters. Two local families purchased the park recently and one has their own construction company, so he's got (so it appears) the expertise to turn things around. Campground overall in OK shape. Not too many permanent campers. Pool, not filled yet, is pretty small. Some sites are tight, not sure what it would be like in summer when it's crowded. All-you-can eat pancake breakfast on Saturday. We stayed here because KOA ran a buy one, get one free promotion. That made it worth it. Staff more friendly than at the Elizabethtown KOA, and didn't have the staff hovering over you, waiting for us to leave at checkout like they do at Etown. Jonestown KOA located within a reasonable drive to Cabella's and Hersheypark. Overall, we dislike KOA's because of the premium price you have to pay for marginally better customer service. Nevertheless, the BOGO promotion and family atmosphere made it worth the trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$33
I rated this park high because of the ability to camp right next to the Swatara Creek with electric, water, sewer, and cable TV. Also, the staff in the office/store, though young were helpful, pleasant and knew their stuff. Store was well stocked. The park is close to Swatara State Park, Indian Town Gap, Hershey, and many other local attractions. Previous posts mention traffic noise, but I think they heard Friday night races at Linda's Speedway about five minutes away. Roads were gravel, our site was level, and others appeared that way as well. Concrete pads for patio were nice, especially when you can plop a chair on it and overlook the creek. Only issue I encountered was only one shower was working out of three stalls, but we did see a plumber later in the day on the premises. Still the shower area was not the best I've seen, but certainly not the worst. The family enjoyed this park, and plan to visit again in warmer months when we can enjoy tubing the stream, right from our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
We were told by the manager that he purchased this campground a month ago and has been working to upgrade it. Our visit here has been wonderful. Has shade trees, no road noise at all, friendly and helpful workers. Camp store is gorgeous, even smells new. Unfortunately, all pull-through sites have 30 amp only. If you need a/c, you are out of luck. I didn't read the other reviews until later, and was horrified. The new management is 100% better. We would definitely return to this campground anytime in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$47
This campground was very easy to access, and sites were also set up for easy parking and setup. The staff appeared to be new at the time of our stay, and was working hard to learn the systems and do general clean up of the grounds. Other then being a small campground with limited amenities the only thing we can really say negative was that the store / office hours were limited. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$32
There is WiFi here, but for $. The sites are nice and easy to get into. The girls in the office were all business like. The two young men that lead me to my site couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. It is an easy off and on I-81. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2010
$33
This was one of the worst campground experiences that we're ever had. The park is old and very basic, but this is not the problem. The management and employees are the problem. They all seem to be completely disinterested, and even resentful at having to work. When asked if I could clean the front of my motorhome of insects and dirt, the clerk said "no" in such a cold way, that I wondered if I could use water to shower in my coach. Then, because we arrived an hour early, the clerk said that we'd be required to pay a two dollar penalty, or wait in the parking lot for an hour. To add insult to injury, the campground was virtually empty. The penalty made no sense. The real problem is management and unsupervised young employees who simply don't care. A friendly and accommodating attitude doesn't exist here. No wonder that the campground was empty. Next time the KOA down the road gets my business. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2010
$25
This is an older park and looks it. However staff is friendly and more importantly for me, open in the winter. The sites are treed and look like in summer could be tight. Cable TV starts in the 40's so that can be confusing. It was OK for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$24
We stayed at this campground quite a few years ago and were not much impressed with it, but after reading some recent reviews we decided to give it another try while visiting family over the Christmas holidays. We found it much improved and would recommend it. The sites are mostly pull thrus and for the most part level with easy in and out. The camp store was adequately stocked (probably much better in season) and they have a small area set up with tables and chairs for coffee. We did miss having internet access on site but the cable TV was more then adequate. We would return here in warmer weather (Christmas in Pa. in a 5th wheel was not one of our brightest ideas) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$24
Nice little surprise. Just a small campground near the interstate, but far enough away so there's no noise. It was nice and neat. The pull-thrus were long and wide and level too. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. There is an attached Country Store for supplies or quick cooked meals. They are open all year and water is available at your site to fill your tank on freezing nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$31
Camped for just one night while traveling south. Easy access off I-81 with pull-through sites. Staff were friendly and helpful and escorted us to our sites. Were able to purchase a good quick snack at the on-site store/restaurant to send us on our way in the morning. Wi-Fi only available at the office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2009
$59
We stayed at this camp for 7 days. The bathrooms were never cleaned, the store and gameroom never opened. We had dead bugs, dust and cobwebs under the beds. When someone came to clean it she was very rude. We also had a problem with the cats. No water on our site either: the pipes were here but not working and we were not told about this. No one was around at checkout time so we had to leave the keys outside on a clip board. Does not live up to the KOA name. We will never stay here again. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$28
This is a nice campground very close to the interstate, great for overnight stops. The sites are level with a cement pad. The bathrooms are older, but very clean. We have stayed here 3 times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$65
The staff here were helpful and friendly. However there was no shuttle to Hershey Park. The bathrooms were dirty: some type of matter in the stalls and the toilets were not clean. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2009
$39
I stayed at this campground last year in August and there was an electric cable stretched across the parking lot that the cars HAD to drive over. This year on Sept. 15th, 2009 that SAME cable was still here only you had to drive completely around the building to get to your site. My site was #161 and there was a septic smell and ground water bubbling up from the clean out in between the 2 sites. The ladies restroom was NOT clean, floor tile lifting from the floor and signs up for you NOT to use a hair dryer because it will blow a fuse. Unfriendly staff, not a smile to be found anywhere. Absolutely NO trash pick up the 3 days we were there. Store not open when it is supposed to be. A comment was made from a staff member that they didn't care about the trash because, "They didn't own it!" There were Ferrel cats tearing up the garbage that was laying around for the 3 days we were here, consisting of a mother and 4 kittens! I will NEVER stay at this campground again and I will tell my friends not to stay here either!!! I would be ashamed to call this a KOA campground, it does NOT meet the high standards of this company! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
We reserved 2 sites: one for a pop-up camper and one for a 36 ft 5th wheel. Total truck and camper length 60 ft. We requested 2 sites next to each other and had plenty of room for 4 bump-outs, a 3rd vehicle which was a pickup, a racecar trailer parked inbetween the sites and we still had plenty of room for a picnic table and a fire. The sites are well shaded and have fire rings. They pickup trash at each site in the mornings and evenings so there are no cans or trash lying about. The only downside was the PA announcements in the morning for holiday camp ground activities but we lived with it. The staff was very nice, handled my reservations over the phone for both sites and signed me up for KOA discount club without incident. We arrived an hour before check in time and there were no problems with that. Sites were clean, bath house was clean, pool facilities were lovely. We'll be back in the fall. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$37
I have camped at Lickdale Campground once a year for the past 3 years. Every year I put together an event with about 60-80 or so people in attendance. Most of the group camp in tents while a few others are in the cabins or in an RV. (Now they only have one cabin, they turned the other into an office after last year.) I have stayed here in a tent, an RV and a travel trailer. The first year I stayed here I had a decent pull through site next to the small, but ample playground. I stayed in the RV this year on the stream for 3 nights and in a pull through for 2 nights. I was not comfortable sliding out my port side slideout when camped along the stream because I was worried someone would smack into it. The pull through site was wide, but not level. There is nothing to do at this campground aside from stream activities: tubing, canoeing, fishing or swimming. The Camp/General store is well stocked. As far as camp stores go, it is reasonable. They do offer hot and cold food prepared on site, but I have never tried anything. They also have an ice cream bar. I've only used the bathrooms one time camping here and that was last year while I spent 5 days in a tent. They weren't the cleanest bathrooms in the world, but I was comfortable with them. Their laundry facility was adequate with 2 washers and two dryers. There is no cable TV available and Wi-Fi is not available throughout the campground. You have to go to the camp store to use the Wi-Fi. The staff is composed of mostly teenagers and young adults. They are very nice and try to be helpful, but sometimes struggle with the computer. A few of them have been with the campground as long as I have been staying here and seem to know what they are doing. They do escort you to your site and deliver firewood to your site. We normally have 40 or so tents that are spending $25/night to share 8 tent sites, only two of which have electric and water. Unfortunately, the owners do not treat us like we are spending $1000/night with them, not including the tons of ice and firewood that we purchase from them. As others have said, the seasonal campers are in bad shape. There are only a small handful of them in one corner of the campground, but they are not pretty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
We always stay at this campground on our trips to New England. It has lots of level pull-throughs, so it’s great for an overnight layover. All the sites that we saw have concrete pads and some shade. They have a nice store with Hershey’s ice cream. They also sell fried chicken and burgers and such. There are fast-food places just across the street with a short walk: Subway, Wendy’s, and Dairy Queen. The Internet is free, and you can pick it up from the sites closest to the store. Otherwise you have to walk to the store and sit on the porch. The showers have roomy stalls and good hot water. The shower heads shoot straight down on you from overhead which is weird, but manageable. There is a nice stream through the campground and if you can use a back-in spot, the stream-front sites have steps down to the water. They rent tubes, and for a fee will take you upstream and let you float back to the campground. Our rate of just under $32 was with the Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
This place was GREAT . I have read some of the prior reviews and felt that they did not get a fair shake. The campground is just that, a campground. No trains or loud noises, it was very relaxing. The restroom were always clean, the site were great with shade ( I loved that). At one point the owner came to the pool and offered every child that was there a free ice cream bar. ( I thought that was above and beyond kind). Close to Hershey Park and many other places that we did visit. We have already made our reservation for the next time, LOVED IT. The people and employees were great they were always there to help and were very pleasant. As a camper there is always a lot of getting to know your neighbor types of talk,and the census was great time. Everyone we talked to loved it there. I think very highly of this place. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
The bathrooms were gross and every toilet but one was clogged. I would have given a poorer rate, but the kids did have fun going down their creek in tubes. We were also promised a 50 amp pull through site, but when we got here we were told we would only get a 30 amp because somebody in the office gave the 50's all away. Thank goodness we didn't need ac or we would have been screwed. Will not camp here again. Never seen an adult in the office, looks like the place is run by teenagers, although I have to say they were all pleasant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$31
Hard to level; had to exit through another site. No cable or Wi-Fi. Camp store is extensive and expensive 30% more than nearby stores. Extremely poor interior roads. Very commercial. Obviously caters to canoes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Located right off the highway, but there's not much within walking distance. Please pickup your dog’s droppings every time. Do not leave them on the side of the grassy areas, in the back of your space, or even in the designated “Dog Walk” area. It is disgusting to come upon another dog’s “business” while walking my dog. This park has a leash regulation: use one on your dog at all times. Remember if we break the rules, parks will begin to deny pets as guests. Thanks! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$37
Small campground with not much to do, but very peaceful and picturesque. We camped along the "Swattara" creek water sites. You open your door and you see trees and water. Very beautiful. Kids loved tubing down the Swattie. They have tubes for rent along with rides up the creek you pay for, but you can drive yourself and bring your own tubes. Make sure they're strong though. Lot's of rocks! They have a nice store with food and great ice cream. Facilities were a bit old, but clean. Plan to camp here again with our new 5th wheel. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
The pluses are close to the interstate, it is quiet, the river side sites are spacious pull thrus and the inside sites are nice. The negatives are there are some permanent travel trailer setups that are not in the best of shape. There is an old Executive class A that is being used as storage unit. 1 channel of TV and the Wi-Fi they claim to have available in the area near the store is awful. For the price we paid I expect to have more than 1 channel and non existent Wi-Fi. Will look for someplace else when we travel to FL. end of October. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$31
Clean, quiet spot to spend the night. Store was well staffed for being so early in the season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
We’ve stayed at this campground several times. Pros: Great location in relation to fun places like Hershey, Gettysburg, Lancaster, Harrisburg, and even Washington DC, and New York City. Nicely shaded Cons: Terribly run by incompetent staff and management. Most of them cannot run the computer. Do not allow any of them to take your reservation. If they make a mistake, they will not make good with you. Customer service and personality are simply nonexistent. We’ve always felt like we were a burden to management. We never saw an inviting smile or warm greeting from the manager. We were told that there was wifi throughout the campground. There isn’t. You have to go to the office. Water pressure was often nil and tastes bad (we used a filter and it was fine). The place smelled like sewer. Kid activities were minimal. The office and ice cream shop were often closed when they were supposed to be open. Don’t buy your firewood there … expensive! Overall, it’s a nice campground, but is very poorly run. You get the distinct impression that it’s being run on a shoestring by people who don’t particularly care about preserving the KOA name. It’s a shame and it’s not worthy of being a KOA campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2008
$45
We stayed at this campground on Sept 12-14 and will NEVER return there. When we arrived it was pouring rain and the sites they gave us were literally in a lake. We were in water up to our ankles trying to set up. The sites were not at all level and were all mud. One of the electrical outlets was broken and we were afraid we were going to get electrocuted if we attempted to use it. We went to the office and asked if there was any way we could move to higher ground since we could not even get in or out of our doors without being in a lake. The lady in the office was very rude, no personality, and said no our sites were assigned and she could not move us. There were plenty of open sites on higher ground and we asked why we could not move there ( there were three parties with us) and once again she very rudely said no so we were forced to park in a lake with mud all around us and the smell of sewage. The wi fi did not work at all and there is no cable. You can get 3 stations with an antenna IF you are lucky. We did not use the pool. The restrooms/showers looked like they were in the process of being painted so the mirrors were all down. There one one little bottle of hand soap at the sink ( one bottle for ALL of the sinks) and there was a tiny bit of soap in it. The next day someone had added water to the bottle and there was no soap to wash your hands. The entire time we were there it smelled of sewage and we hoped that what we were walking in and standing in was not sewer water. We will never camp at this campground again. We should have known when we first made the reservation because the person who took the reservation was rude. I guess that was a sign of things to come. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
Pros: Right off the interstate, but not too much traffic noise. Ice Cream bar with patio seating available at the store. Escort to the site. Cons: Landscaping needed. No cable or WiFi available. No pool. Overall: Just fine for an overnight stop, but that is about it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
My husband and I travel for his job and stay in our motorhome on a monthly basis. Jonestown KOA is a horrible campground. We had to share a 30 amp site with another camper with 30 amps. Electricty would go off for no reason and so would the water. There was a electrical fire at the office that shut the electricy off and the owner never came to check on the montly campers nor did she send someone around to make sure everyone was okay. Also, the water would be shut off and when we called the office to ask why, no one knew the water was off. There are two other campgrounds in the area but they were no monthly sites available so we had to stay at Jonestown KOA. I recommend that monthly campers find somewhere else to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2008
$36
We arrived at the KOA Jonestown, near Harrisburg for four nights reserved, about 3 pm and they had a high school student working the reception desk that had no personality at all. I had to spell our last name 4 times till he figured it out. He showed us a map and we drove over to our site where we had also reserved the one next to it for relatives coming in another day. Fortunately, the first thing we checked for was the electric working. The breakers were on and I then reset them and still nothing. I walked back to the office to see Mr. Personality again and he really didn’t quite understand anything about circuit breakers and that I had told him I had reset them but it still didn’t work. He brought up something on his computer and said they had been having problems with that site. And it appeared there was no maintenance person on site that could come look at it. Why assign anyone there at a problem site when the campground was nearly empty. He then figured out two other sites that we could use when our relatives would arrive. We noticed the grass was about 6” high at our site and my wife went to the office to ask if the person cutting the grass on the other side of the campground could come mow it. She said she the grass was just mowed two days ago and she couldn’t leave the office to go ask him. My wife asked if she could go tell him to come mow it and she said it was all right to do it. It wasn’t like it had to be mowed that second. When the mower came over my wife talked to him and he said he had just started working there because the other person had left about two weeks ago. So, the grass wasn’t mowed two days ago, which we could tell was a lie. We hate liars and knew the grass was not mowed two days prior. By the time we were done setting up we went up to the pool to cool off and it was crowded but not full. We found out that the campground felt bad for area residents about the gas prices and that to save money they could use the facilities at the campground and had a flyer posted on the office door. The pool was $ 5 a day or a family pass for $ 175 for the summer. Also, they had advertised for visitors to use the miniature golf; Laundromat; open air cinema; game room; visit the pet grooming spa and canine area; a day care on site and paint ball coming soon. This is the first campground that we have seen that has done anything like that. The pool was meant for campers, and not as a local summer camp program. And many of the people in the pool that day and days after were not campers. One day we overheard conversations and a woman and her child were neighbors of the campground. And the worst thing was on two separate days after we were out of the pool sitting and listening, two different kids had open bleeding sores on their legs and the “visiting” parents were letting the kids go in the pool. The campground had no one monitoring the pool. Very few of the sites were level as we surveyed the campground’s front two sections that had five campers parked. If you come, bring boards or have leveling devices. The campground has wireless, but you can only receive a signal in the game room or laundry room. The office has one computer that had web access you could use. Since there were no tables available in a lounge area or similar, I used my laptop on the laundry room folding table. One day the door was closed and when we went in, there was a employee meeting in progress. They were nice enough to move out so we could use the room for laundry and computing. The third morning I decided to visit the mens restroom early in the morning and there was a army of ants marching up and down the counter. The bathrooms were clean but old and the shower curtains need replacing. The campground has flies, lots of flies. So bring a fly swatter and fly sticks and don’t leave your door open very long or you will have a lot of visitors (at least they don’t use the pool). There is a little road noise, mostly early in the morning towards the front of the campground but not bad. This has to be one of the worst campgrounds we have stayed in the past five years of traveling and I would not even think of returning here. We do not have children or pets and were in the area for visiting things other than than Hershey world, which is about a 20 to 30 minute ride away. One caveat for people reading this – a one night stopper with a small travel trailer was getting ready to leave in the morning and after dumping his black and gray water, disconnected his sewer line and dragged it to a nearby site with “stuff” probably dripping from it. He then held it against the faucet of that site and washed it out on the ground. Please do not be so stupid. I wish I had him on video and could put it on you tube. How would you like to hook your water supply to that site after he left? We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$39
We camped here the weekend of May 9 - 11. Good campground as a base for the Hershey area and the new Hollywood casino. We found the campground and restrooms to be very clean and the store to be well stocked. They also had a nice special running that weekend for a buy one get one night free. Easy access off Rt. 22. They also announce the activities, which is nice. We have already booked Memorial Day weekend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2007
$28
I can't believe we were at the same KOA, that the previous folks were so put out with. When we were there the pool was closed for the season, so we can't rate that. And yes the store lacked the basic necessities. But it was October and they were getting ready to close up for the winter. Our site was fairly level and was rocked so we wouldn't sink in the mud, and there was no signs of mushrooms in the bath houses. WiFi was available for the first night but was so weak that we had to refresh constantly. But the second night it was gone completely, so I had to go find a hotspot up town to check eMail. They raise cattle for milk production in the area, and they do spread the fertilizer on the fields. We noticed this even in town at the Wal-Mart. On the morning we left there was a pungent manure smell, that had the tent camper next to us packed up and gone before breakfast. We enjoyed the Hershey tour and went to the Lancaster area to see the Amish activities. Lancaster is too far away to use this CG as a base camp. Stay more East of Lancaster to be in the center of the Amish villages. There were a number of extended stay campers in the sights towards the back of the CG but there were no abandoned or rusty rigs. Perhaps the new management will get things under control. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$29
We stayed here for just an overnighter. We are self contained so don't know anything about the bath house. We did like this for an overnighter. Our pull thru site was long enough for our 38ft plus toad without unhooking. They have many pullthrus, some are over looking a stream. There are seasonals here that need TLC, however the pullthrus are not in that area. Sites are of good size, with gravel pad and surrounding grass that is mowed. Stream sites are gravel with rock and grass. A big plus for us was we arrived at 4:45 pm and getting hungry. The general store has hot and cold food available. We went with a bucket of chicken, which was just cooked (had to wait for it) that consisted of 2 breast, 2 thighs, 4 legs and 3 side items (individual servings on side items) for $12. Each chicken part was huge! Prices for all of the food items were very reasonable. The store opens at 4am so can easily go in to grab something before taking to the road again. This was a great overnight stop since it is right off Interstate 81 and one that I would stay in for a few days if self contained. Manager is very friendly and seems to be ready to help in any way. Other staff is young and are not really sure what they are doing but manager seems to be on duty to make sure things are operating smoothly. There is no cable and we could only get one channel, however this was not a concern to us. I'm giving this an 8 because it met our needs as an overnight park and with food provided, it was a big plus. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2007
$29
This campground is located in Licking, PA according to the Trailer Life. After staying in the campground for 3 horrible days, I can see why Jonestown wouldn't want to claim it. Not only was the Trailer Life suspect in the location, but their rating of the campground was way to high. Upon arrival the young inexperienced staff could not locate my reservation made weeks in advance for the Hershey, PA, RV Show weekend. After finally locating my reservation, the young girl led me to a site that was under water and situated totally impossible for a 5th wheel trailer to occupy. She finely located a site I could use that was across from run down, shabby, old seasonal and live in RVs that had various old appliances, refrigerators and cluttered furniture scattered about the sites. The restrooms may have been clean; however, because of the moldy discolored floors and walls I really couldn't tell. The laundry room wasn't any better, but I could tell it hadn't been cleaned in a long time. There were 2 washers and 1 dryer for 80+ sites. The playground had old rusty gymnastic looking equipment that defied description. I wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2007
$37
I would never, ever stay at this park again. It was my worst camping experience ever! It has a soybean field next to it (which they conveniently fail to mention on their website) and the farmer was spreading manure on the field while we were here. I grew up on a farm and a little manure smell doesn't bother me, but this was way more than any camper should have to put up with! Not to mention the flies. They were all over the place. You couldn't even sit outside it was so annoying. Again, I have camped a lot in the past and am used to bugs and flies camping, but nothing like this!!! The office staff was totally incompetent. There were mushrooms growing out of the bathroom floor. During this trip we had an unexpected emergency with our 11 year old daughter which required a 3 night hospital stay. We need to add an additional night to our planned stay as we needed to wait until she was well enough to travel. Even though the campground was only at about 20% capacity, they made us move our camper to another site for that one night! The previous managers of the campground had left the day before and the new managers that arrived did not have a clue! I contacted the KOA association and the Jonestown Campground and told them how disappointed I was with our stay. I asked to be given a voucher for a future stay since this was a terrible, terrible experience. I received a reply to my first email to them, but the second one that asked for a voucher was never answered. Don't stay here! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2007
$37
First, let me say I’m not sure what brought us to Jonestown, PA, but the thought of going to a KOA made it sound fun. The idea of a week sitting by a nice large pool, and a campground with many activities made it seem like a great retreat. WOW – Were we disappointed! We arrived on Saturday with a huge party going on… loud music playing until after 8:00 PM. After we set up, we went to the pool to cool down. The pool was much smaller than the pictures lead you to believe. (All I can say is wide angled lenses!) We were also very disappointed by the fact that there were no pool chairs. No, not that they were all taken – There was NONE! We inquired about pool chairs and were informed they were all stolen and new ones would be delivered soon. We also tried to access the internet to no avail. Day two, Sunday, was just as disappointing. We inquired about the WIFI service to learn the router was not working, and they were waiting on a computer tech to arrive the following day to repair it. No big deal… After all it’s still the weekend; we can wait until Monday to check in at home. We also inquired about when the pool chairs were going to be delivered and inform not until the next week (after we were gone.) So, we spent the day at the pool lying on the ant invested grass. There was some kind of party going on (not campers) in which the pool was full of unsupervised children. Later in the day, we decided to venture to a store to purchase chairs… We asked the manager where the closest store was to buy chairs for their pool. She sent us to Wal-Mart, and we drove 30-minutes to spend $40. Day three, we got up early and ventured. We returned later that day to discover there were indeed pool chairs… NO, not new ones but old used ones which had not been clean in a long long time. We inquired about the chairs, and were told that they had been there the whole time and should have been out. When we complained about the fact that we had ask about them on three different occasions and spent our own money on them, no apologizes were offered nor any effort to satisfy us. Day four, another day by the pool this time with pool chairs! I know I mentioned the ants, but I cannot leave out the flies! They crawled all over you while you sat by the pool… This day was one of the hottest days of our vacation. We had a late dinner and were done about 20-minutes till 8:00. The children were all hot and wanted a swim. I went to ask the manager if there would be any way they could leave the pool open a little later (it closes at 8:00.) The answer was “No, it’s a federal offense. There were employees who kept the pool open and they are no longer with the company.” By the point, I received the answer the kids were at the pool ready to go. The jumped in the water at 7:43 by my watch… Then proceeded to swim until the “owner” said it was almost time to close. I said I have 8-minutes until 8:00, and she said no there were only three minutes. When questioned further by my friend about not being able to keep the pool open, she said the pool had to close at dusk because there were no pool lights. Just in case you never been to PA in August, dusk doesn’t occur until after 9:00… It was still light until 9:20! Oh, I forgot to mention… The WI-FI is still not working. Now, we have asked about the WI-FI everyday several times a day. We were originally told that they would have someone out to look at it on Monday. Then were told on Monday that they had to call about it… Now the best part is the office had internet. They never once offered to check something for us. A couple of times we just wanted directions… The main reason we needed access is that my sister-in-law needed it for her job. We also inquired if there was any other place we could go to access WI-FI, and were told they didn’t know. This day we were so fed by, we went into town found WI-FI to send a letter to corporate KOA in which we received a response that they would respond within 48-hours. Day five, WI-FI finally works. No response to our Email. No one came to tell us it was working either. The pool was very cloudy, and the pump wasn’t working. We now refer to it as the “cesspool”. When we asked about the pool, we were told the pool chlorine was ok… NOT THE POINT. The bathrooms are disgusting and haven’t been cleaned. There are mushrooms growing in the cracks of the floor boards. The mushrooms are about 3-4 inches tall with two inch heads in one spot then there are many smaller ones about an inch tall. The joke of the day was the KOA website brags about clean bathrooms. When we asked if the bathrooms were going to be cleaned (as they are suppose to be cleaned from 2-3 daily and it was 4:30), the answer was “I hope someone shows up.” They could not provide us a concrete answer even when we pushed… However, we were told that he thought the mushrooms were a nice touch. No, we didn’t even have to mention it… he knew! By the way, the bathrooms were still not cleaned at 8:30 PM. Day six, pool opens two hours late due to them shocking the pool. I guess there was some truth to our joke that it was a “cesspool”. Again, the bathrooms were not cleaned at 5:00… Later that day around 6:30 they were cleaned a little… the mushrooms were still growing, the floors still disgusting, but the sinks were clean. Day seven, pool looks clean… still very old and it wasn’t vacuumed the entire week. We skimmed the pool everyday several times to try to keep it clean. The pool was not in good shape: The ladders where cracked, the hand rail was rusted and broken and the paint was pealing off the inside of the pool. Bathrooms still disgusting… I forgot to mention it has been over 72 hours and no response to our Email. Overall, here is my summary: Activities – NONE! The kids who generally love the KOA activities where very disappointed. Not one posted activity the entire time we were there! Despite the fact that their web-site advertises planned activities! Campsite – We reserved their premium grass sites that were boarded by a grass field. Our sites backed up against the entrance road, where cars drove 45 MPH! Where our site was, there was no grass! We choose this campground as it also let you put up a tent on the site. This became a huge ordeal as to try and find a space where you could be a tent without it being right out the door of the camper. Amenities – In a word AWEFUL! I’ve said enough about the cesspool and disgusting bathrooms. The playground was in desperate need of repair. On the miniature golf course over half of the holes had damage, not to mention the fact that it was not up kept. You had to clear the green before you could take a shot. The store had next to nothing in it. That’s it folks! That’s all the amenities! Service - This is what really bothered us! Here we are paying them $600 for two sites, and all they could do is show their indifferent and aloof attitudes! We were told so many stories we could keep them straight! T he best part was the same person would contradict themselves. Not once did we receive an apology or an expression of compassion, empathy, anything! Originally we were just disappointed with this campground! Remember we felt compelled to complain to KOA, and we were promised a response within 48-hours. We went 192 hours before we got a response. Ready for this… No it’s too good to tell, I’m going to quote KOA. “Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your experience with the KOA. Your feedback, good or bad is important to us because it allows us to make improvements and serve you better. I apologize for the situation you have encountered with the facilities at the campground. Although we are partners with our independent franchise owners and continually work together to provide a clean and comfortable camping standard, KOA franchise owners set the policies that are the best fit for their individual businesses. Be assured that we will share your comments and record them for our records. Again, thank you for your comments. Please don't hesitate to contact me should you need further assistance. Sincerely, ” So, this is how they choose to respond. I don’t know about you, but if someone was making my name look that bad I’d step in. What about those great people and great camping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$37
Close to Hershey Park and the Pioneer Coal Mine. We enjoyed our stay and a very reasonable rate. Our site was stream side. Very nice campstore but doubles as a convenience store and is open and used mainly by the public. Store did not have discounted Hershey Park tickets available as promised and we were not able to canoe due to the water level. Only real complaint was the number of seasonal sites in the park that were not well kept and seemed to be "homes". We would visit again but the park does need some TLC. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$33
I would not recommend this campground. My biggest complaint is the noise from the road the campground is on. Over the phone, I was told our site would be 200 yards from the road. Upon arriving and setting up, the back of our pop-up was thirty feet from the road. This is no ordinary country road. It is a very busy road with a lot of truck traffic at all hours of day and night. Other than that, everything else was just OK...not good...just OK. We will not be returning to this campground again. I suggest to everyone to consider a different campground like the nearby KOA. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
Don't get to excited about this park. The "New Owner" did a great job, but the old owner played some games with him and he gave it back to her. It is rapidly turning into the old dump it was. Sorry! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$33
Easy access to I-81, just NE of Harrisburg, PA, with some interstate noise. Mostly gravel, reasonably long & wide sites. Good voltage and good water pressure, however, some sites share water access with an adjacent site via y-valve. Friendly owners & staff. Nice campground store, with Hershey's ice cream, and fresh, on-site made, donuts. Lots of trees, so satellite reception can be iffy. Definitely would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
Adjacent to a stream that is a water attraction and just off I-81 in Lickdale, PA. Rather poorly maintained campground with busy expanded campground store open at 4AM-10PM. Appears to be popular with regulars and permanent residents. Friendly staff. The only site available when we arrived was over the dump station - where the young man said we could hook up to water and electric. We did not hook up to water ("nice spring water") and luckily since the signs (pointing in other directions) said "water not for drinking". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$32
We have stayed there in 2002 2004 and 2006 and the campground continues to show improvement. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$32
We used this as a base camp over Labor Day weekend to explore the area. Granted the weather was lousy for most of our stay but was not overly enthusiastic about this park - sites were small, but level. Seemed like lots of additional charges for everything - miniature golf, fee to go to the ice cream social, not sure if there was a fee to attend the movie - we didn't go. I thought, outrageous price for firewood - $7.50 /bundle. I know the weather was difficult for everyone, but the staff seemed put out whenever anyone went into the office/store to get something. The store was well-stocked, although expensive. One computer available in game room for internet access. Playground was easily accessible and kid friendly. Thought laundry facilities were dated and too expensive. Showers and bathrooms were clean although not much water pressure in my shower. They did plan a carnival one day although we did not stick around for that - had a fantastic day at the Renaissance Fair instead. Again, our weather was lousy, but not sure that we would choose this as a destination again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$27
We stayed here overnight on our way to New York. This campground is OK for overnighting, but is not a "destination" campground. I would describe this place as "creepy". There are a lot of seasonals there, and the maintainance/ activity/ bathhouse buildings look shabby, and there is a lot of junk around them. While I rated the showers as "clean", I would have to say that they are difficult to use: hard to regulate water temperature, and you have to use a pull-chain to get the water to flow, so you end up taking a "Navy" shower. There is no cable or wifi, and the price is reasonable at $27 for full hookups. We will look elsewhere if we need to be in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
Nice campground. We were told it had only been open two years. Still some way to go to be a top notch facility, but certainly recommend it. It looked like there were plenty of activities for children. Very good place to stay if visiting Hershey and the other local attractions. Nice restaurant on grounds. Friendly staff and very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2004
$24
We camped here Labor Day weekend 2004. There is a creek along the campground and you can go tubing without leaving the campground. That is about the only thing to do here. It is close to HersheyPark, Swatara State Park and other area attractions, so its an ok place to stay if you are day tripping somewhere else. We would not stay here with the intent of spending our days at the campground due to lack of activities & amenities here. When we stayed, the campground had a van that takes tubing and canoeing groups, with canoes/tubes available for rent. The campground was very noisy - we suspect (but havent unconfirmed) is it close to an offroad 4 wheeler/mx park, judging by the noise that went on all day & late into the night. The sites are level, and the campground is clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The camp store had a grill/food bar with the worst odor we have ever smelled in a food service facility due to apparently lack of exhaust. The entire camp store smells terrible and we avoided going in. Your clothes will smell strong of stale grease for a long time after you leave. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$24
The good points about this CG are that it's easy to get to. The Camp Store is nice and large. The Play ground is large and nice. They have upgraded the electric, looks like they put in some new boxes. They escort you to your site. Clean overall. Bath rooms & showers are clean. The price is nice at $24 for full hook up. Things that we didn't like. While they did upgrade things they didn't finish raking out the gravel. The sites are small. You can hear road noise real well. Right next door almost out of site looks to be a cement plant. Hate to be there when it's running. I did say it was clean overall but they still need to police the grounds a little better. Stream sites have a 10 foot drop to water. Dump station hard to get to with long trailers. Had to back in. Over all it was ok. I think this is a fine stop over place but we wouldn't be staying for anything longer than a night here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$30
We stayed at this campground for 3 nights with our extended family. We had two tent sites and one cabin. Our group consisted of 13 people from various parts of the country gathering for a family reunion. This campground was a wonderful change from the noisy crowded campgrounds we'd stayed at earlier in the summer. The location is fabulous. We spent a day in the Amish Country, a day in Gettysburg and a day at Hersheypark. There were no rowdy annoying campers here. The campground was generally about 2/3 full each night, but it is small and very pleasant. The cabins were very clean and cozy. We had plenty of space for campfires each night. Overall, we were all very pleased by this campground and would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Tent.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com