223224 User submitted reviews online!!
Pinch Pond Family Campground & RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (717) 665-7640
CGID2454

Pinch Pond Family Campground & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
243
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   9   7   8   6   9   6   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$45
We liked the campground. Sites were a little small and it was really noisy with the turnpike right next to the campground. The playground was terrible. The bathrooms were gorgeous and sparkling clean. Great place if you can stand the noise! We camped here in a Tent.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$44
We had checked out reviews on this campground and it had more positive than negatives, so we decided to give it a try. We wanted to make this trip closer towards home. If you are looking for an overnight stay I would say this is the place. Don't expect to fish in a nice lake, this one was definitely unacceptable for fishing in. There is no fountain to keep the water circulating or moving. There are no activities; horseshoes, mini golf, etc. There is an outdoor pool up near the office/camp store which is very tiny. All the Staff there was wonderful and helpful and delightful they even take you right to your campsite to make sure you are set up and if you need any help they will help you. The scary part was there was no mention in their brochure or website regarding a gun range/rifle shooting that could be heard not to far over top of the trees near one of the roads to where it looked like perm. Sites were and the turnpike is right there by the edge of the campground. This campground has so many possibilities to do a whole lot too and I honestly hope that someday to see if rank up there with all the other great places to camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$46
Spent 2 weeks here getting accustomed to living full time in my new fiver. Daily rate is $46; however, if you book 7 nights, the charge is for 6 with the 7th being free. When I asked about a Good Sam discount I was told they don't normally offer one when getting the free night during a weekly stay, but they knocked a few dollars off anyway. There are a variety of sites for trailer, tent, and cabin camping. My pull through site was spacious, gravel, and level. Grass medians separate pull through sites with trees here and there for shade. All sites included fire rings and picnic tables. Being it the off season and the weather getting fairly cold, it was pretty quiet for my two weeks. Each weekend picked up with roughly 6-8 families in trailers showing up late Friday and leaving on Sunday. There is some noise from the turnpike which runs right last the front of the park, but the only noticeable noise is when a truck hits the warning rumble strips,on the shoulder. On random mornings, gunshots could be heard from the neighboring shooting range and club. Overall a nice, peaceful spot. Coin op laundry on site was convenient. Cleaned and maintained daily. Same with the bathhouse. Very comfortable facilities. The staff made this park exceptional. I was blown away with their friendliness. I was greeted at the gate by one of the groundskeepers who escorted me to my spot and offered to help me set up. The manager at the front desk was a lovely woman who was always willing to help when I'd need it. This was especially appreciated since I was new to the RV lifestyle. When the groundskeeper who helps with propane was off site and I ran out, one of the permanent guests who happened to be at the front office offered to fill my tanks. This will be my first choice if I'm in need of a spot in the Lebanon-Lancaster-Reading area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
This was a nice park with good access to the Lancaster area. It is right on the turnpike, however the road noise was not that bad at all. They have great security. Reservations and check-in were easy. Our site had excellent power, cable was fuzzy, not very level. The site backed to trees and we had enough space to enjoy our fire. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
We were here for the RV show. Very convenient location to Hershey. Clean and shaded sites, Tight and gravel, though. Could hear I-76 from our site. Not given Wi-Fi password info. Very friendly staff and nice park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
We stayed here to visit Hershey. Staff was friendly, most sites pretty level, some of the long term areas had some bad stuff mixed in, but did not hamper the front area of the park. Power and cable good - where we parked, we could not get Direct TV. Water had a bad smell, in fact, we rewashed cloths after we left the park that we washed while there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$46
Our site was near the road, which can be busy, but we were gone almost every day for activities somewhere, so it wasn't a bother. The gun club that people have mentioned in their reviews wasn't bad at all. The grounds are kept very clean and someone was always around to help those who needed it. One of the most secure campgrounds we have ever stayed in. Gate key required and a security detail patrolling. Would definitely come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
We selected this park for a visit to Hershey Park. Compared to other parks, within 30 minutes to Hershey, this place offers great value! The staff was short winded and somewhat friendly. There are several seasonal park models that ranged from poor condition to newer. Our gravel level site was next to the pool and playground. Although next to the PA turnpike, we did not hear much road noise at all. Clean grounds, a small stocked camp store, game room, fishing pond and in-ground pool are well cared for. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$19
Fee is based on monthly rate. Campground had improved since the last time we stayed there almost a year ago…especially the helpful attitude of the staff. The campground has sites that are private/not so private; shady/sunny; dry/wet, fairly quiet/noisy/very noisy. Noise comes from I-76, a side road and an adjacent gun club, with rifles firing 9-9 seven days a week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$43
Was met at the gate by a nice lady who gave us a quick rundown of some of the rules, then was led by a staff member in a golf cart right to our site. The store was well stocked and the again, the staff was outstanding. Lots of activities for the children all weekend. Many of the sites are not level so make sure you've got lots of wood but if not, the staff said they have plenty if you need more. As others have said, the shooting at the rifle range next door can get a bit unnerving, our dog was not fond of the shooting at all and the proximity to the turnpike keeps the noise level a bit high but not annoying. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
Stayed here a couple of years ago and were satisfied, but things have changed. Reserved 50 amp, got 30 amp, “Sorry, we are full.” Sites 339-346 are supposed to be pull through, but with sewer at extreme rear of site, must disconnect towed. Cable TV was terrible. Got about ½ of the channels they claimed, and most were snowy. These sites are literally 20 feet from a road that has traffic all night: had to use earplugs. Owners have a take it or leave it attitude. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$39
This was a nice park with lots of trees. Each site had wide, gravel pads so it was easy to step out on a solid, clean surface. The pool (we did not use it) looked clean and inviting. Baths and laundry were clean. Staff was pleasant. Cable (and an excellent campground brochure that included channels) was included. Wi-Fi was not free; we bought a card with the minutes we needed (we selected 24 hours for $10). Wi-Fi had intermittent connection issues (bearable but annoying), especially in the early morning hours. Price reflects Good Sam discount. We would come back, but...be aware a Sportsmen's Club is behind this park and shooting practice can be loud and disturbing; it seemed to start in the early evenings and we were unable to walk the dog (who was frightened) during these several-hour shooting sessions. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
Stayed here for a long weekend. There is a lot of site construction going on to make more sites. Playground equipment is old, needs updated. Staff very friendly. Let us change sites as they site we were assigned to all the trees were just cut down and had no shade. Didnt have anything going on for kids. The pool was nice and my kids caught many small fish in the fishing pond. Used the bath house once- was nice and clean. Would have gien a higher rating if there would have been somehting for the kids to do, and a better playground (something other than an old broken small plastic set). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
Park was kept clean and the sites were nice. The people were great and friendly. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
Stayed here numerous times before and have been pleased every time. This last time in particular, I had trouble with my hot water tank regulator right around 4:00 pm as it was getting dark. I approached the CGs front desk for help, and the owner himself and his assistant located a part from one of the permanent sights and took the time to replace the part for me even though they had a busy schedule. They ended up finishing the job in the dark during one of their Halloween weekends. They completed the job with a smile and no charge for the part or their time! In regards to the park itself, my sites have always been level, bathrooms always clean, and the kids have always been entertained. Store/registration area is small, stocked OK, but is a newer facility and is nice with coffee and Slush Puppies, as well as ice cream for the kids. Reservations have never been a problem. The fishing pond is a pleasurable walk down to the bottom portion of the campground, but the wooded surroundings make it worth it, very beautiful and the fishing is good. The pool is well maintained and very visible from most upper/pull-thru sites. The playground is also visible, equipment is older but well maintained. CATV is good, good water pressure, and staff has always been top notch. Very easy to get to off the PA turnpike, which leads me to my only two drawbacks, some noise from turnpike (noise from gun club is only sporadic), and some of the seasonal sites could be better maintained. This is a CG that never quite seems to be fully booked ,thus making it a great CG for a last minute getaway; the exception being on their Halloween weekends, which book rapidly because the CG and staff do exceptional WEs complete with a haunted house, haunted hayride, trick-or-treat between sites, DJs, site decorating, and other planned activities. Overall, a great CG. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$99
This campground ranks as one of the best I have stayed in a while. Not sure what all the negative reviews are from. Yes there is a gun club next door, but as far as it being a "war zone" that is just not the case. Being the holiday week you expect more noise from the gun club, but it was sporadic at best and was usually quiet by 5pm. You can hear the traffic from the turnpike late at night, but it's not a constant noise. The bathrooms are clean, the water is hot. The curtains could be a bit larger though. Our cottage was clean, with enough room to sleep six comfortably and the site was large. They have Kareoke Friday nights til 10pm: was a fun time for adults and children. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I do have one complaint that was rather annoying. On our day of checkout (12pm checkout) the maintenance man riding around on a golf cart started passing our place at 8am staring us down to leave so he could start his cleanup. This was very irritating and the owners need to address this. Otherwise it was a very enjoyable week and I recommend this campground to any families with children. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
I don't feel the campground was nearly as bad as some of the previous reviews indicated. We stayed here with a small group. The check-in and staff were friendly and helpful, the store and facilities clean and well-maintained. Our site was extremely level. The only two complaints were that our sites were fairly near the road and we had quite a bit of road noise. Also, there was one group next to us who let their teenage kids stay up until about 2:00am and they were riding around on golf carts and chopping firewood. Security drove around all day. It would have been nice if someone took a ride around at night and silenced this crowd. Regarding Seasonal, in my opinion the Seasonal population there is rather small compared to most Eastern PA campgrounds. It seemed to be mostly transients. On the gun club . . it is a really nice club and within walking distance. The club offers a fairly decent open kitchen most weekdays and Sunday morning. They also have sporting clays on Sunday starting at 9:00am so not especially early and the clays course sounded like it started fairly far away. The gunfire was distant and muffled by the woods. If you are a shooter, by all means take a shotgun along. You can walk to the club from the campground. It is only about 200 yards down the hill. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$37
Very nice. Sites nicely spaced, most well-shaded and level. We had a pull-through that easily handled our 38’ and toad. Very helpful staff. Clean laundry room. Sites near the noisy turnpike are mostly seasonal and were somewhat messy. They are separate from the short-stay sites. Yes, there is a nearby gun club, but we hardly heard the shots. Two minor complaints: water pressure was somewhat low and there is no book swap library. We have family in the area and will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
The Sound of gunfire, off in the distance, I'm getting used to it now! Gun club blasting away on Sunday morning. Harleys of said gun club members blasting up and down the road to the club. And OUTDOOR KARAOKE till 10pm Saturday! On the plus side, clean and orderly, very convenient to the Penn Renn Faire, which is why we came. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
This place has gone down on our scale. We camped here twice before for the Halloween weekends, but this was the first time we camped here in the spring. Now it very much has the feel of a seasonal campground-lots of people who knew each other and not many people like us who come for a weekend. The "greeter" at the gate was all business, telling us all the rules and not very friendly. The problem with the rules is they don't enforce them. Kids back at the campsites by 10:30? There were teens at the playground, next to our site, at 11pm. No kids under 16 at the pool without adults? There were 7 kids there without any adults when my family was at the pool. The lady in the store rolled her eyes at my daughter and said "I guess so" when she asked to cash in her game room tickets. Our pull-thru site was a gravel pad on a grass site. You had to pull through the grass, which was mud from the recent rain. They need more gravel in general on the sites and on the roads, especially in the wooded section. The last straw was Sat night when the campground put a pop-up at the site right next to ours- a pop-up with 12 people and 4 dogs and two vehicles. This area of the campground was almost empty. They could have put this large group much further away from us-we were the only TT in our entire row of sites. We may go back here for Halloween with friends, but never for a spring or summer weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2009
$41
We camped here for the first time on Mother's Day weekend 2009. The park is wooded and clean and is a mix of pretty nice seasonals, a couple of run down seasonal sites, cabins and regular RV and tent sites. Our site was not terribly level, which was exacerbated by the fact that they use small crushed stone instead of something like #2 stone. The fishing pond was supposed to have been stocked last week and was the main reason we chose this park. When we reserved our site, we were told that the pond would have trout. I talked to at least a half-dozen other campers who were told the same thing when they reserved their sites. There were no fish other than sunnies and catfish in the pond. This was very disappointing and the primary reason we won't be back. The young lady who worked the overpriced camp store on Saturday's last shift was the only reason this rating is as high as it is. She was polite, friendly and truly understood what customer service means. She is a credit to the campground and the owner has been lucky to have her for nine years. She was a true treat to Moms on Mother's Day weekend and was the only true bright spot. Oh, and this place is right next to a gun range. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$41
Very well-run, gated campground. The golf-cart escort to your site is a very nice touch. We were in pull-thru spot #158, which is pretty close to its neighbors. Having walked around the entire place, I think we'll go for a more secluded spot next time. Office and rest rooms are new, and very clean. Had a buddy come with a tent and he was charged $33/night to stay on my site - I thought this was pretty steep. Quite a few permanent rental sites with older trailers, but it didn't seem run-down at all. Proximity to local attractions and the PA Tpke is excellent. We went to the PA Renaissance Fair, which was right down the street; very convenient. Some folks seem to have a problem with the nearby highway noise and gunshots from a shooting range a few miles away - neither of these bothered me at all. We definitely plan on staying there again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
Nice setting with beautiful trees. Only complaint was that the WiFi reception was poor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
Very clean, neat park with extensive activities for kids. Plenty of playground equipment, nice pool, basketball court, horseshoes, fishing pond. Our pull through site (in the 400's)was level; however, some of the sites in the woods did appear to be not so level. Sites were wide enough that you weren't on top of your neighbor. Staff was very friendly/helpful, including an escort to my site upon arrival. Overall, we were very pleased with our weekend stay at this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$38
Very nice campground. Friendly staff. We are going back in Oct. We had a pull through site 411. We also brought our Motorcycle. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$39
We actually lived at this campground for 8 weeks while our house was finished. We had a perfect site and the campground was very nice. The owner was often around and very friendly so was most of the staff. The pool was clean and nice. They had a lot of activites for the kids to do and seemed to really enjoy children. Really liked it and will plan on going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$37
Check new phone number. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$37
We were greeted at the gate and escorted to our site. The staff member also offered to help us back in. Our site was level and of moderate size. It was sparsely shaded, however other parts of the park are well shaded. We went to the PA Rennaisance Faire which is only a couple miles away, this was a great place to stay if you're going to the Faire. The bathrooms and showers were clean and new. The store was ok. All staff encountered were friendly and helpful. Our kids had a ball trick or treating and on the haunted hayride. We also attended the DJ'd dance. A magician entertained the kids at the dance. As stated before, a rod and gun club neighbors the park so you will hear some shooting. My only slight complaint, was the proximity to the PA turnpike. I could hear some traffic during the still of the night. Overall a nice place with a friendly feel to it. We would go again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$38
We had a great time here on one of their Halloween Weekends. The haunted house and haunted hayride, both free, were great. They also has a halloween dance with a dj that we didn't go to. Our site was level and had some nice shade trees, but wasn't wooded. They have wooded sites also. I was worried after reading one of the previous posts, about the "seasonal slums" and hearing gunshots from that area of the campground. Turns out the campground's next door neighbor is a sportsmans club with a firing range. There are no firearms allowed at the campground. As for the seasonal area, who are we to pass judgement on someone else's trailer? We thought the grounds were very well kept, bathrooms were clean and staff were friendly. We will definitely be back!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$29
WE STAYED HERE WHILE WE WENT TO HERSHEY IT WAS A VERY PEACEFUL CAMPGROUND AFTER A LONG DAY AT THE PARK. THEY HAD A NICE POOL AND PLAYGROUND. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2007
$32
This place needs help. You would think that the way this industry is today, with so many campers, they would clear out the seasonal slum. My two sons were petrified because while riding their bikes they heard gun shots. My husband and I took a walk toward the seasonal slum sites and sure enough they were not kidding. Someone was firing off rounds. This was scary since we just witnessed all the students from Virginia Tech. traveling home. The office staff was pretty scary similar to the movie Motel Hell. We were so exhausted after driving 12 hours, that we ended up staying in, doors locked, exterior lights on. We took an am exit. We couldn't even complain to anyone about this because the office closed at six and was permanently closed all day Thursday. We left without getting our money refunded, but still didn't care. Avoid this place at all costs. You would be better off and safer at a truck stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2006
$32
Ok campground a little tight getting around campground. Could use some paving done some roads needed work. Stayed here for Hershey Show. Kind of far away, might stay here again. It was quiet even though it close to Interstate. Kind of hard to get to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2004
$33
Stayed here for 1 night, don't think I could tolerate any more. The back of the campground has seasonal sites that looks like a hobo camp. The front section is for transients with narrow roads and difficult sites, i.e. unlevel and trees very close. There are also seasonal's in this section that like to party. During the night, up until 1:00a.m. there was apparently a contest between 3 seasonal campers to see who could build the largest bonfire, drink the most, swear and shout the the most, and play the loudest music. No security, no one to answer the phone at night. The next day, when I was at the office asking why the water was off, I complained and they simply said "Oh that's Bobby again, I guess we will have to talk to him again". Later that same day, when the water was restored, there was so much air in the line that it put the regulator on my water line through a real stress test. Bottom line, in my opinion, unless you desire to experience the remake of Deliverance, stay somewhere else. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$33
Visually, this campground wasn't that nice, but they were beginning to make some improvements when we were here. The pool is nice and the store seemed well stocked. They were building a new Recreation hall and it will probably be very nice when it's done. The were some "not so nice looking" seasonal trailer there, that made the place look shabby. I did see them working on the grounds, trying to make it nicer. The staff was very nice and we would go back again to see how it has improved. The place definitely has potential. Overall we enjoyed our stay. It wasn't too far from Hershey Park either. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com