223558 User submitted reviews online!!
Otter Lake Camp Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 74 user reviews. Phone: (570) 223-0123
CGID2455

Otter Lake Camp Resort

Camp Information
Sites
300
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   10   8   10   9   9   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$45
I agree with everything others have said. Big beautiful scenic campground with lots of activities and road in is a nail-biter for big rigs. Bathrooms could be taken care of a little better and definitely need some updating! (Same dead bug on the floor for 3 days before someone finally mopped). BUT, while I do understand the need for seasonal residents, I wish there could be a designated area for them. Seasonal campers are scattered all over the campground. Some trailers really need to be cleaned up and repaired, others just look like cheap gift shops with lights, flags, spinning plastic flowers, plastic animals, gnomes, trolls, flags, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$45
Otter Lake was a perfect fit for the week! The Pocono Mountains area is beautiful. Looked for a few weeks for a vacation rental or resort or hotel that would accommodate our black lab. In the end, we chose to take the rv and take a camping trip instead. Cost was about 1/2 compared to hotel (and that includes gas) Plus we got to sleep in our own bed and have our bestest furry kid along with us for the week! This camping resort was very busy. Lots of families. They have an indoor pool, an outdoor pool, a beautiful stocked lake that campers can also use for canoe, pedal boat and row boat rentals! The camp store has the basics and a few gifts too. Daily antique fire truck rides are a trademark of theirs. Cute & Classic. We had full hookup, including cable & wi-fi at our site!! Our site was spacious and shaded. Perfectly picked right across from the lake front beach area. All roads are well maintained. Clean campground. True family camping at it's best! I wish we would have stayed when our daughter was young! We would highly recommend this camp resort! The only complaint I can think of is the 7 mile winding back road to get there was a bit much. We did travel out to get a "good meal" for our anniversary. Alaska Pete's was the closest. If the campground had a restaurant, we would have stayed. They do have ice cream, so we did enjoy dessert a few times! One of the best camping trips I have ever been on! Would love to go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$74
Nice lake, catch and release. Canoeing, kayaking, row boats reasonable rental rates. Large sites, pet friendly, sports activities for kids. Friendly but no-nonsense security staff. Lake front sites available and worth the extra money. Have camped here twice this year and since it is only about a 50 minute drive will probably return before the season's end. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$53
It had been 7 years since we camped at Otter Lake. Finally returned and felt like we were stepping back in time. Everything was just as it was 7 years ago, clean, friendly and full of fun. Need to watch on the 7 mile ride on the local road. Very winding, bumpy, and somewhat narrow for trailers. Bathrooms/showers were clean. Did not use either pool but many others did. All roads are paved and sites are pretty level. Sites are pretty roomy and shaded. The lake is beautiful with canoe, row boat, paddle boat and kayak rentals. The only reason I gave an 8 rating is due to the narrow roads off the main road. Also, Wi-Fi and cell service are not good. Will definitely return again, only much sooner this time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$68
We stayed for a week on one of the Lakefront sites. We had full hook-up which included: W,E,S,C, internet/WIFI. Check in was at 2 pm and check out was at 12 noon. We received a midweek discount of $4 per day. We had a great site and leveled with only one small board under the one side of the tires. We heard excellent things regarding this campground and decided to take that chance and book for a week for our 9 year Anniversary. Bathrooms were a little outdated in looks but kept very clean. This campground is strictly RV/Campers and Tents. Within 15-20 mins there is a town with a whole lot to do and Bushkill Falls is very close by and worth the trip out there. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$53
I camped here over a weekend early in June. Took my 36 ft motorhome with my wife, 2 kids, and one additional adult. Note that the rate includes 2 adults - there are fees for all other campers. You should call ahead for directions. I was glad I did since I found out that my initial route had a number of detours due to bridge closures. They were very helpful in finding me a route - albeit a narrow/twisty one. Wide enough for my motorhome, however. Campground was very clean, paved grounds, and nice sites. Mostly tree covered, which was nice. Good size lake and plenty of activities for the kids and adults (ceramics, games, bingo, boat rental, tennis, racket ball, catch and release fishing...). Two pools - one indoors - as well as a small sandy beach. Bathrooms were clean - but could use updating. A lot of seasonals - but the way the campground is set up you mostly see your immediate neighbors. Most of the staff was very helpful. We did have one worker at the pool - a long time seasonal - that seemed a bit too happy to convey the pool rules. She was the exception however. Bottom line we had a great weekend and would go back again. A bit pricey with the additional fees for the extra campers, but a great setting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$60
The reviews are accurate. This is a good campground, probably one of the best we have stayed at in our Class C. Paying extra for the lake sites is well worth it. The back area past the indoor pool is almost exclusively park models and seasonal folks but most everybody keeps their sites pretty nice. The transit campers are near the entrance down towards the lake. If you want woods just head back away from lake, but even lakeside sites are pretty with trees. Don't count on the Wi-Fi to much during the day as everybody jumps on, but later at night and earlier morning it works well. Cell phone reception for AT&T was a little better than Verizon, but both worked for basic calls and limited flow of data. Overall, this is a really nice place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
Pull through sites were spacious and fairly level. Most campsites were wooded with plenty of shade. Campground was very clean and well maintained. Bath houses and trash dumpsters were plentiful and conveniently located. This campground is huge, and as a result, you may have a long walk to some of the amenities depending on where your site is located. Fishing in the lake was pretty good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$52
May be the best CG we've ever stayed in. We stayed from a Monday through Thursday; probably more crowded on weekends. A big plus for us is absolutely flawless Wi-Fi, no matter the time of day. (We were in site G-18, if that matters). Lakefront sites are fantastic, but we didn't have one, as they book up early. Lake is great for boating (we didn't get a chance to do that) and walking around (did that). Wooded sites, good for sleeping late. Clean facilities throughout, including at the pavilion. Bathrooms with single occupancy, a plus for us. We took a scenic drive up to Hawley. I had hoped to do some extensive bicycling, but saw no bike-friendly roads, so confined my riding to short stints inside the CG. Bottom line, we would and may this year, return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$66
What an incredibly charming and lovely campground. Clean, well maintained, lots of privacy and extremely helpful staff. The lake was so beautiful. Sites there fill up quickly. Some a year in advance. We were fortunate last year to get in on a cancellation and fell in love with the place. We got our reservations in early for a lakefront spot the next time and were completely spoiled from that point on with beauty and privacy. There are tennis courts, indoor as well as outdoor pools. Indoor spa, nice clean bathrooms, laundry, and nice places to ride bikes. You can walk around the lake. There are playgrounds for the children, paddle boats, row boats and canoes. We can't wait until we get to visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$47
This was our first campground with our new travel trailer. It was easy to enter the park. They have a security guard to check all vehicles entering the campground. We had a large site next to the indoor pool. The kids had fun fishing, swimming in the indoor pool, playing at the playground and just being close to the lake. This is a large campground so be prepared to do a lot of walking if you’re in the back. They keep the bathroom and grounds very clean. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$56
Very nice family campground. Spacious sites, and the park in general is spread out. This time of year is still cold, so the indoor pool was filled to capacity. Well stocked camp store and friendly staff at check in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$52
What a great place. We camped here on a very cold spring weekend. For not being the peak season there was a ton of things for our kids to enjoy. The park does a great job with activities for all ages. Our site was on the lake , and was in great shape. Plenty of room between campers, and solid, level lots. We will for sure be back for another visit in the fall. We had one not so friendly lady working the desk, but overall the staff was fine. There is a lady there that runs all the activities. She's awesome! A true asset to the CG. Can't wait to visit this place when it's warmer and the plants green up. So far this CG is one of our favorites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$52
Otter Lake is the campground you go to stay and enjoy yourself. It is a clean, safe, and wonderfully run campground. There is security at the gate, and a person that drives around in the day and at night keeping track of the happenings. Sites are relatively level, large, and are full of pea gravel. There are so many things for kids to do here. In season there is organized recreational activities for all ages. Bicycle riding is the preferred mode of transport within the grounds. We continue to make Otter Lake one of our summer camping experiences and hope to for years to come. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$54
Great place for kids of all ages. Good security. They have a security guard riding around all the time. Gated entrance after hours. Paved roads with 3/8 blue stone sites that are pretty level. Tengo Internet Wi-Fi at every site, however it was painfully slow. At times I was getting 1 Mbps. I have a Sprint Iphone which was roaming on Verizon the whole time we were here. This used up the battery in a few hours even while connected to Wi-Fi. No powered scooters are allowed such as Razor, golf carts, mopeds, etc. All bicycles must be back on your site by sunset. I would have given the campground a 10 if the Wi-Fi was better. They have a firetruck ride every day at 4pm. My neighbor and I chose to camp on sites J-10 and J-13 because these sites are very close and face each other. It's great for friends and family but not if your camping alone. Most of the other sites are spacious. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
This is a great place for anybody -- Kids, middle-aged and elderly. The staff are very friendly and helpful and they keep the campground in tip top shape. I didn't notice one site at this place that I wouldn't mind setting up on. Their amenities are great and we all loved having so many cable channels to pick from. They don't cut any corners at Otter Lake, so we will be going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
Great family park. So much to do from fishing, swimming in pools and lake. Kids had a blast and so did I. Staff was great and enjoyed talking to them. Thinking I have to get back again this year! We stayed on A road and was nice that it was setback from traffic. Lakefront is very busy. Great place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
We had a great time at Otter Lake. We love the indoor pools and hot tubs. I makes the perfect place to stay when the weather is not so warm out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$68
The sites were nice, the park was very family friendly. The pool was clean and warm, the lake was pretty. The winding paved roads through the woods make for excellent bike rides. the people in the front office were less than friendly or helpful. The man in the guard shack was very rude, and the inventory in the store was weak. The beach was very rocky. The good far outweighed the bad, I will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$60
A nice place with large sites with a beautiful lake and an indoor pool. Now the bad part...when I called for reservations, no mention of the outdoor pool not even filled yet considering this was the weekend AFTER memorial day. $52 a night + $8 extra for a friend of mine who just showed up for coffee...a crabby old man (employee) who rides around in a jeep...lower the rates a little, cut the guest surcharge in half, and cheer up the staff and I'll raise my rating considerably. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$76
We stayed on lakefront site 29. Every year the price per night gets higher and it is only based on 2 adults. We had 2 children so it cost us $76 a night. (We can go to the shore for less than that a night.) Usually rates include a family of 4! The bugs were so bad our children got bit up even after using tons of bug spray. The office people are not pleasant and they have security people driving around acting like policemen. When we arrived after a 4 hour ride, I jumped out of the truck to take my dog out. Of course I grabbed the wrong leash (without doggie pickup bags) and she did her duty and just at that time one of the security guards were driving by. He yelled at me to pick it up and I explained to him I was walking back to my truck (I was only about 30 feet from my site) and he continued to sit at the spot where she went and waited until I came back. My dog only weighed 8 pounds at the time so it was hardly visible, but I always clean up after her. They never have the outdoor pool open. It was so hot this Memorial Day it should have been open. They do have an indoor pool but it was too hot in there, and it's overloaded with chlorine. They have a hot tub but you have to feed it with quarters. They never empty the trash dumpsters, so by the end of the weekend there is trash everywhere. For such a big campground, you would think they would have a big store with food to eat, but they do not. They sell hot dogs at an outdoor stand, and they have an ice cream window. The paddle boats are very expensive to rent. The only thing I like about the campground is that all of the roads are blacktopped. Besides that I think it is a glorified commercial campground and the 7 mile hill to get to it is very rough. This has been our 4th year here and every year it has gotten more expensive and not worth the money. Will not be going back again!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$52
We love this place! Has clean, nice sites, a nice lake and an indoor pool: just an awesome campground! We camp here in spring and or fall as during the summer they are weekly site rentals only. The place is always sold out! Enjoy this campground! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$64
We had a good time here. When walking around it seemed like there were many campers, but there was no excessive noise. Our site was large and shaded. We were a couple of "roads" away from the outdoor pool. The only issue we had was when we were at the indoor pool. We wanted to use the whirlpool, but there were kids in the "Adults Only" whirlpool. There wasn't much I could say without sarcastically asking if the parents could read. I got irritated when I realized that there was a campground employee in the pool area that was ignoring the fact that there were kids in the whirlpool. We ended up getting some time in the whirlpool so I'm including this as an observation because overall we had a great time. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$50
Overall, this was a nice campground. The lake was nice, very pretty, you can rent boats and bike around the whole lake which we really enjoyed. You can also play tennis and they have both an indoor and outdoor pool. My only complaints were that the sites are tight, too close together, not much grass for the dogs to walk on, and the campers were not as friendly as at other places. We would go back here though, but make sure we brought a friend for our son this time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$58
We came to this campground based on it's great reviews. The positives: The grounds are beautiful and spotless and the majority of the sites seemed of good size. The indoor pool was perfect for a rainy day but got crowded fast. The activities were a lot of fun and well organized. The negatives: The park is over run with seasonal teenagers. I would not allow my young children to go on the firetruck ride after our first experience of rude and offensive behavior. The same kids were hanging on the firetruck up to an hour early and it only goes around once, so get there early. The staff was well informed of the problem with the teens but didn't seem to care. One camper went as far as posting signs requesting others complain to try and make a difference but the signs were gone in an hour. This is a very nice place but needs to regain control of their seasonal residents. I am not so sure I'll be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
Very clean park. Roads are VERY narrow. Site was large, fairly level and utilities were well placed. LOTS of dogs and kids as well as seasonal campers. Cable TV and WiFi good. Quite a long way off the main road (seven miles from RT 209) on a twisting hilly road, not sure it's worth the drive or the nightly fee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$50
We really enjoyed camping at Otter Lake. This was our first trip to this camp ground and except for the grumpy employees at the gate (aka check point charlie). All other employees made up for those few however, especially all of the store/front desk employees and "sarge" who firmly but fairly enforced the rules. Our kids loved the afternoon firetruck rides and the indoor pool. We were in a pull through site and had plenty of shade and length for our unit distance from our neighbors was reasonable. The only negative was the several weight restricted bridges and extremely windy roads we encountered. We actually had a problem with our motorhome after leaving the CG and needed a tow, however the tow truck could not reach us due to all of these bridges. Fortunately we managed to limp along to be able to meet the tow truck please keep this in mind if you are a big rig like us (approx 17 tons). Note we came in from the south, this might be different if approaching from I-84. We would like to return if we can figure a route to avoid the small bridges. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
This is the third or fourth time we have visited this campground. The sites here are all a nice size and shaded. The CG is large with lots of hills. There is a lake, pool and indoor pool as well as many activities for the kids. Unfortunately, on this Halloween weekend, it rained, again. This was our 2nd year we got rained on. There is a nice Halloween party-one for younger kids in the afternoon and one for teens and adults in the evening. The staff is friendly. Beware of parking police. There is also someone at the front gate checking your vehicle before entering. We will return again. Overall, a nice CG with lots of activities for the kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
We've been going to Otter Lake for the last few years during their 'gas saver' weekends. Staff is always courteous and friendly. They can never do enough for you. Restrooms and showers are always clean. Security at the front gate as well as patrols. Very peaceful, relaxing setting. Many activities for the kids. Plenty to do in the area. Overall, a great camping experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$60
Otter Lake continues to be an excellent value for family camping in Pennsylvania. This park offers plenty of free amenities, 60+ cable channels, a wide range of activities, a peaceful and scenic setting in the Pocono's, and is family owned and operated by a polite, courteous, and accommodating staff. The park was built in the 1970's, the paved camp roads are on the narrow side and there are tree hazards to look out for, however, there are plenty of sites available for big rigs owners like ourselves including pull thrus' and many large back in lakefront sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2009
$56
Very cliquey campground! I will start with the bad things before the few good things. Many seasonals here. Many of their sites look like mobile homes or a local city trailer park. Many are from New York and get mad at you if you are not a New York sports fan. Many teens stand around and block the roads and stare you down when you try to pass them. Many teens drive cars around all day and a few have many teens in them like if it was cruise night. Not a safe place to ride the bikes for kids. The DJ was touchy freely towards many of the girls which was real inappropriate, especially with the little kids around. They have a small beach which no fishing or pets were allowed. I have seen this enforced many times except when the person patrolling knew the person with a rod or pet by name. Most nights they have a fire truck ride at 4 pm. I suggest you get there by 3:30 and get a spot since many of the regulars fill it up early and you will get shut out. I never seen a second ride for the families that were shut out. The hot dog man by the outdoor pool was grouchy. The man patrolling the indoor pool was whistle happy. I seen him enforcing the no more than 6 in a hot tub rule until, YOU GUESSED IT, his friends entered that he knew by name. The office was run by teens which seemed to care about what song was on the radio or which site they were having a party on that night. I even heard a girl mention that her father was leaving and they could all get drunk at her site. People do not need to hear that kind of talk when entering the store. I agreed to go to this place since they had softball scheduled every night. This was a joke. It was supposed to be for 17 and over every night at 7 pm. Many kids 14 to 16 were allowed to play and it pushed away many adults that wanted to play. A few adults were picked 11th and 12th and were asked to sit on the bench and sub. They were told they would play if needed. I asked the lady that runs the softball about the young kids playing and not letting the adults play and she ignored me. All seasonals got to play and their kids. I seen many dogs running loose and told staff about it and their reply was, they should know better. I guess they did not really care. The few good things were they have paved roads, the rest rooms were clean and the front gate was patrolled. I asked my kids if they wanted to come back and their reply was, NO WAY DADDY. I asked my wife the same question and she laughed at me. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$55
Absolutely love this CG! We have made this CG part of our yearly vacations for the past 7 years with no plans to change. We camp here with 2 to 3 other families and our children range in age from 7 to 16 yrs. Believe me, keeping teenagers occupied is a difficult endeavor, but my teens can't wait for this yearly trip. The sites we usually reserve are in the J section and are level, large, clean and within a 2-5 minute walk to the indoor pool, bath house, tennis courts, and lake. The back of our campers border large rock formations that make for endless exploring. This CG has paved roads for great biking, cable TV and an outdoor pool (not heated) with a great diving area. It also has nice shuffleboard and basketball courts in addition to squash courts and a horseshoe area, huge lighted ball diamond, and organized activities. This is a large CG and it is used heavily, so the security is a necessity. Office personal have always been friendly, have never encountered a problem with reservations. The office area has a nicely stocked store and a nice ice cream window that at times can get very busy. The young employees who man the window can get very overwhelmed at times, but have never seemed rude or rushed. The bath houses (and there are many) have always been clean and well stocked; the same for the laundry areas. Not fancy or elegant, just clean and efficient. Indoor pool (with sauna and hot tubs that take quarters, the only negative) area is clean and manually monitored for safety; the even have an adult only swim time. In response to other reviewers complaints about the amount of kids, this is a family oriented campground within one hour of NYC and NJ, what are you expecting? For the most part, the kids and adults are respectful and know when to get off the road when a unit/vehicle is trying to pass. Being this close to major metro areas, this Pocono CG is still very bucolic, yet still a CG resort. Quiet hours are adhered to with nightly Jeep patrols, fire rings are emptied at your request, water pressure is good, no sewer smells, excellent cable TV, excellent lake fishing and swimming (with a sand beach). This is a top notch resort. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
Sites were terrible. Pull through sites you couldn't get out of. Bathrooms were dirty. People were not friendly. Roads were mossy. Would never go back nor recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
We visited this campground in June for the rafting trip. They do not have concrete pads, however, the stone provided a nice base to camp on. Upon arrival there was a massive thunder storm; however, the site had great drainage, and we were left with very few puddles. This is a very child friendly campground with paved interior streets. I will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
Great campground with large lake. We camp for the week and enjoy the peace and quite of the mid-week. The fishing is great, as it is all catch and release. Indoor pool is great for the rainy days. We will be returning to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$52
Great place. The outdoor pool still has a 9 ft section and a diving board,rare these days. They charge $4 per night per child which annoys me as 2 adults and 2 kids should be included. Sites are spacious and very shaded. Would have given it a 9 rating if not for the child surcharge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$55
This campground is in a beautiful setting on Otter Lake. You have to traverse a narrow, windy road for seven miles to reach the campground so it is not easily accessible for a one or two night stay. There are a lot of permanents here but they are all nicely maintained. We had good cable and WiFi in our spot on the lake. The only downside we feel is the high nightly rate. We enjoyed the indoor pool. We would return again for an extended stay only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$42
It is a nice campground, but some sites were small and close together. We went in early spring, so the outdoor pool was closed but indoor pool was great. The property is well maintained. It is very quiet, well maintained. The roads are in good condition, but may be a little narrow in spots for bigger rigs. The bathrooms were a little outdated but clean. The play area was nice for the kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
We stayed at this campground on Mother's Day weekend and loved it. It had level sites, paved roads (which was nice for riding bikes), an indoor pool & hot tubs (one for adults only), a small beach area, playgrounds for the kids and some scheduled activities. The lake was beautiful with boats or canoes for rental to enjoy being out on the water. The bathrooms were very clean with hot and cold water. This is now on our list of campgrounds to return to someday. We would highly recommend to anyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$43
We loved this campground. We had a beautiful, roomy, shaded site. We loved the indoor pool and the hot tubs. Perfect for the cooler or inclement weather. The lake is very pretty. The roads are paved and nice for bike riding. The showers and bathrooms were very clean and the water was always hot. The only drawback I could see was the outdoor pool. It seemed pretty small. It might have been smaller than the indoor pool. It wasn't open when we were there, though, so I can't say for sure. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$43
We just returned from a stay at Otter Lake. The campground was maintained very well. The bathrooms and bath houses were cleaned often and hot showers are free. The roads were paved and didn't have many low hanging branches. The sites seemed very level and were gravel. The indoor pool was a good size and the hot tubs were nice to relax in. All the campground staff were very helpful and even allowed a late checkout with no fee. The lake is beautiful and its nice to rent a boat and fish. Be cautious of night time visitors, the raccoons come out around 11pm even when no food is present and we were warned of bears invading dumpsters. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$48
Just got back from camping at Otter Lake Camp Resort this past weekend (4/3/09 - 4/5/09). We stayed in lakefront site L28. What a great site! Site was very large and level. Bathrooms and showers were both clean and heated. Very scenic, quiet, and well worth the $48 dollar a night fee. Everyone was very nice and except for the high wind, the trip was great. Would definitely be back here and often. Stay here and you will not be disappointed. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$22
Love this C/G!! We come here often as the staff is wonderful and campground is great. Facilities are top notch. Great location to use as base and see the Poconos! Restrooms are extremely maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$43
Spent the first week of August here with another family who I do a lot of camping with. I have to say that this is one of my favorite CG's. I already booked the first 16 days next August (09). I have made some dear friends while I was there. The people (staff and campers) were some of the friendliest helpful I have ran into anywhere. The place was spotless. At first I didn't think I would have too good of a time. I thought I would be bored after a few days. They have so much for everyone to do. Old and young alike. It is very very family friendly along with pet friendly. I am counting the days until next August. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2008
$48
We arrived here on a Saturday afternoon which proved to be a mistake for traffic. It took us 30 minutes to travel 8 miles! The road to the campsite is very windy and steep so take care driving it and would NOT recommend driving it in the dark!! Our site was lake front and actually quite roomy and beautiful. I have no complaints on our site or the grounds. Both where beautifully maintained. We are a traveling family that our jobs require Wi-Fi access 24/7. When making our reservations we asked them if they had on-site Wi-Fi and they assured us they did. Well "on-site" to me means I have access at my actual site. They meant it was only at the office. To access it you have to sit in your car or on a bench outside the office. It is very inconvenient and uncomfortable to sit on a bench without a table. Also we found the staff not very friendly and at time extremely rude. Simple questions like "Where is the closest bathroom" was replied with "You just passed three of them!" A simple reply of just over there beyond the playground or you can use the ones by the pool, would have been a lot more hospitable. Like other travelers have reported, lots of kids here and there are few activities for them. They do have paddle boats and row boats to rent. We loved riding our bikes and walking around the lake. We might go back again if the Wi-Fi access changes but it is sometimes hard to ignore rude staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$37
We stayed here for 5 nights. We stayed in a tent. The girls loved the pool and the lake. The lake was great for fishing and sun bathing. The pool was really nice for swimming. Bathrooms were clean and well maintained. We loved the ice cream window in front of the store. We took our bikes which turned out to be a very good thing as it was a bit of a distance from our site to the store. The kids enjoyed climbing on the rocks and walking through the wooded areas. It is a well maintained campground. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$48
Very nice peaceful campground. Sites were spacious and well shaded. Nice beach and indoor pool area. Lake was perfect for fishing. Boats were available for rent. Would like to have more scheduled activities for the kids. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Would camp there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$48
We stopped here for three nights, June 30 thru July 3. When we arrived we had no idea this campground would be inundated with kids. They were everywhere. The campground has over 300 sites with over half being permanent seasonal campers (many with wheels off, porches and rooms added on). We found our site and watched the parade of people walking, riding bikes, roller skating and using push scooters on the streets. Some children are very bold and ride their bikes close to you while you walk on the street and force cars to go around them. The rules say children under 12 must wear helmets. Scratch that rule. They advertise wireless internet but it is not at your site. The only place you can get it is in the office area, which was a long walk from our campsite. There is no place to sit and use your computer and I had to stand at one of the store counters to use it. I told them it would be nice if they had a picnic table or something out front to use but that idea went right over the persons head. One person outside was sitting on the ground using theirs. I realize some people may think I shouldn’t be complaining about this, but wireless is important for some people traveling to make advance reservations, keep in touch with other family member or read reviews on campgrounds to avoid (like this one).In one month of traveling it was the highest priced campground we stayed at. On our arrival the fire ring was loaded with cigarette butts and some trash on the site. The water pressure was very low coming out of the faucet but the bathrooms had about three times the pressure.. Showering in the RV was lousy. Also we observed a lot of dog barking. Some people would leave their dogs tied up outside and leave the site. Other people were walking by and the dogs started barking to the point it sounded like a dog fight – and we were almost a block away from this and it was so loud I walked over to see what was happening. Would we stay here again – never. The RV coach next to us (also had no children) had prepaid their stay and left early with no refund offered by the office. They could not stand it and gave up two days of a paid up site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
This was our first trip to Otter Lake Campground, and after reading all the great reviews we were very excited and were not disappointed. The campground lives up to it's good rating. The sites are clean and level and seasonals do not look like seasonals. We camped with a 7 year old and a 4 year old and they loved riding their bikes around the campground. We enjoyed ceramics and the fire truck ride. The pool was very clean but cold. The kids enjoyed the slide and diving board. Our only problem was the staff's attitude throughout our stay. The are young and could careless about your needs. Not that we had any problems they were just not friendly. The bathrooms were dirty by the afternoons but we have seen worse. All in all, we are going back again! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$50
Overall this is a great park with lots to do. There are several playgrounds for the children, fishing, a nice walk around the lake and an indoor pool for swimming. Our campsite was beautiful and on the lake. We were told we had a pull-thru site, which was not the case, but it was a great site nonetheless. The other campers were friendly and neat. Some of the seasonal sites are not that attractive. We would return to this campground later in the season when it was warmer and we could use all the amenities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
This has got to be one of the nicest campgrounds we have been in. The staff was very friendly. The sites were excellent. Paved roads plenty of room to maneuver our camper. Looking forward to going back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$38
This is our second time coming to this campground. We have found it very clean and well kept, and most of the guests also very friendly & courteous. The bathrooms were clean as were the showers. Wear you sneakers here, there is plenty of walking if you do the activities, and the hike around the lake is enjoyable. There are several playgrounds located around the campground which was very nice for my 4 1/2 year old & her friend. If I were to settle in as a seasonal camper somewhere, it would probably be here. We were rushed through our activity (ceramics was to end at 12:30 and they were putting everything away at 11:45) The only reason I did not give them a 10 is that I thought the staff had an end of season attitude at the beginning of the season . . maybe they were having a bad weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$50
This was our first year at this park and we will be back. The road to the campground is typical PA backroad (winding and pot-holes) but the CG itself was great. We had a back-in spot in front of the lake...great view to wake-up to in the morning and the kids loved feeding a couple of ducks that visited. The workers were friendly and the sites were clean. The store was well-stocked and the game room was just enough to keep the kids busy for a bit while walking around the store. The indoor pool as well as the bathrooms were clean and well kept. There is a lot to do in the area and the CG location is perfect for seeing all the sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$50
Just got back from another great time at this CG. We haven't had a bad time yet. It was very cold while there but still had fun. Indoor pool and hot tub were great! Bathrooms and showers were clean and heated. We had a towed car so their is plenty to do within a 15 mile radius. We were in site LF15. I pulled in our RV so you had a great view of the lake out the front windshield. The normal way is to back in but, water wasn't on so it didn't matter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$37
Otter Lake is fanastic. The lake is beautiful and big. The sites are spacious and wooded, with enough trees between sites to offer some privacy. Our site was so level I didn't need to put anything under my tires. It was cold so we didn't spend much time outside but we did spend lots of time in the indoor pool and hot tub! The beach area could have been a little bigger given the size of the lake. There is plenty to do in the camp ground but if you feel the need to leave there plenty more to do in the Poconos. We will be going back in the summer of 2008. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$44
This was our first time at Otter Lake. Let me break my opinions into sections: Pros: 1. In my opinion-Otter Lake is one of the few, true "destination" campgrounds in the Pocono-Lancaster area. Many daily activities with an adult supervisor at each activity are offered on a daily basis. Sports, crafts, archery are offered free of charge. In addition there is boating and ceramics for a fee. The paved roads also offer an ideal place to ride bikes. A lot of people also fished in the 60 acre lake. You could easily stay at this campground for an entire week, not leave, and still have a lot to do. 2. Campsites are spacious and well thought out. Trees, without being too shady, give you privacy from your neighbor. 3. A lot of security. 4. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Cons- I thought that the showers could have been a bit cleaner. Just for general information: 1. Golf carts are not allowed. 2. There are many seasonal people here with many seasonal teen-agers. Don't get me wrong, this wasn't a problem, but I do want to mention something-if you are traveling with a teen-ager (we were) you might want to let them bring a friend along. Our daughter felt a bit intimidated by all of the teens that knew one another. She would have done better with a friend to walk around with (someone other than her parents). 3. Wifi is available only at the store. It is free. Would we go back, yes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$44
We loved this park and will make it a regular spot. We camped alongside friends, and we had a preschooler plus our dog. We found the campground well maintained and secure, the seasonal areas were very nice, our site and our friend's sites were level and easy to get in & out of, lots of activities, friendly campers. Our only caution is if you are coming up 80N, be prepared for lots of traffic. once we hit the campground we loved it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$39
Otter Lake is a great campground. The staff is excellent. The bathrooms and showers are always clean. The lake is an excellent place to swim and so are both of their pools. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$36
I have been coming to this campground since I was a kid and it's only gotten better since then. It's a little pricey, but they have 2 pools indoor heated for winter use and an outdoor, Beach swim area in the lake with sandy bottom. Staff seemed friendly enough. Now for the reason I come to this campground: The Fishing!! You can fish without a PA license which is nice because I'm from NJ. The fishing is usually pretty good because it's catch and release. Lot's of bathhouses and plenty of showers clean and all in working order. A really nice place to camp. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$37
We love this park! The sites are of good size, the park is well planned with multiple pools and play areas. Tennis courts are nice and there is also a ball field. And, a nice lake! The staff are helpful and friendly. There is something for everyone here. We are local, within an hour, so we don't go out of the park, but for us it is a close getaway for weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2007
$30
We were disappointed. The site was a pull through but we had to maneuver the camper just to be able to get the slide out. The indoor pool was overly chlorinated, the playgrounds were the old metal type with a couple of swings. The seasonals were everywhere and incredibly run down. The whole place was run down and quite frankly kind of scary. We will not be revisiting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$42
I stayed here on the weekend of the 20th and 27th. This CG is fantastic! Office staff are great, along with the maintenance staff. The only complaint would be the decor of the bathrooms. They are clean but old. A great place to stay anyway. We stayed in a 36' motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$51
Camped here over Columbus weekend & it was beautiful!! If you want to see fall foliage, this is a great place to go. Staff is helpful & friendly. I had a 2-way hookup for over 3 months without any hope of a full-hookup because the placed was booked solid. A few hrs before we left the house, I called 1 last time but still nothing. 15mins before we left we got a call asking if we wanted a full-hookup that had just been cancelled. I really liked the fact that they called me rather than letting the site go to a "new" reservation. I'd say this is good customer service. This cg is very lush & shaded. Sites are quite spacious but some are a bit tight to back in & roads are narrow. Lakefronts sites are really nice; especially #24-29. All roads are paved, which makes for great bike riding for kids. Security is always present & making their rounds. Bathrooms & indoor pool are clean but way outdated & in desperate need of renovations. You have to pay 25cents for the hot tub whirlpools to work. Who thinks of bringing quarters to a pool?! One aspect I personally don't like is that you have to pay $4/night for kids. The walking trail around the lake is very nice. I'm sure this place is great in the summer too. However, we'll return for Columbus weekend next year. Overall - great place to go! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$48
Nice park, the lake is beautiful. We had a nice site in "B" area, plenty of room to stretch out. The staff we very friendly and helpful, people guiding campers into the correct entrance on Friday afternoon, someone helping speed along departure on Sunday too. The bathrooms were nice in 1978, they are in bad need of updating/renovations. They seemed clean, but stunk of old urine as most bathhouses do. The indoor pool is sweet, hot tubs were nice too. The pool hours we a little lame, but I can understand them not wanting to have to send someone out to close up late and all. They charge extra for children, this is annoying but also becoming common practice at most of the places we go to. There is a lot to do around the local area, Bushkill Falls was cool, and there was a monstrous Flea Market we didn't end up going to but looked interesting. We will be going back to visit Otter Lake for some late fall camping, I hope to get a lakefront site, they looked VERY nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$52
We have been coming here for quite a few years and the kids absolutely love it.Very clean shaded sites, lots of activities for adults and children. I'm only giving this place a 9 out of 10 because of the owner .He is one of the most miserable people I've never met. I say never because he won't say hello when greeted or return a wave when waved to. If it wasn't such a nice place , I wouldn't give the man a dime of my money. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$42
I love this place. We traveled here the weekend before Memorial Day and love this place. The indoor pool with the indoor hot tub is great. We can relax in the tub while we watch the kids swim. The bathrooms are clean and the staff is friendly. Has a nice homemade beach and lots of activities to do: like family kickball such a fun sport. The site is a nice size. We were behind the indoor pool. Yes, we will travel here again next year, and probably the year after that too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$50
Very scenic, terrific sites. Worth the trip. Highly recommend! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$38
We stayed overnight on our way to Washington DC. We had a pull through site which was very spacious and roomy. Overall, this campground appeared to be well kept, and the campers we encountered all loved it there. We did take a drive around the campground before departing, and liked everything we observed. This campground is a keeper. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2005
$56
We can not say enough good things about this CG. Every site is shaded, all sites are just about level, clean rest rooms and showers and lot's to do for the kids. This CG is beautiful and very well maintained. The owners really know how to run a campground. The roads are a little narrow but even the big rigs can make it. We really liked the "adult only" time every night at the indoor pool. The one thing that we would suggest is to have a few more washers and dryers available, with 300 sites 10 washers just isn't enough. We will be going back often. Do not skip this CG. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$35
Well run, very clean campground, lots of activities for the kids, great fishing! We found the sites to be clean, well shaded, if a little on the small side. Campground security did a good job of controlling things, making sure 'quiet time' was just that. The paved streets meant little or no dust, the indoor pool and hot tubs were just the thing after a long day in the sun. We'll go back for sure! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$30
Lots of seasonal campers - barking dogs, loud parties with "regulars" with little to no regard for campground "quiet" rules. Other than that, the area is gorgeous, nice activities for kids and nice sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$40
If you can handle the drive 'up the mountain' this campground is a very good place to stay. Nice lake stocked with fish - winter camping finds ice fishing and snowmobiles everywhere! Summer swimming on a beach or in the pool. Nice indoor pool area with hot tub only for adults. Bathhouses are impressive. Separate shower rooms (4 0r more for each bathhouse). Outside spiqots with hot& cold water for winter campers and to clean pots and pans. Many seasonal sites but weekenders made to feel welcome. Many activities for every age group. Most sites level and easy to access. Large separate tenting area. Lot of bathhouses and several laundromats. Everything is convenient. Good campstore with basically friendly staff. Pizza and ice cream available in summer months. Winter camping encouraged and great fun. We will return soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$30
There is so much to do here. Everyone was friendly. This is a great family resort. We are going back in '03 and we're bring friends! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$35
NIce campground in the Pocono's. Large campground with lots of lakefront sites, big beach although the lake is very shallow, lots of fishing goes on here. Pools are great, activities are terrific, and the kids loved the firetruck ride thru the park at 4 p.m. Tough to get reservations for weekend stays during the summer due to "management policy" on short stay reservations. We will go back again as this is a great place to visit. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com