217876 User submitted reviews online!!
Buttonwood Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (717) 436-8334
CGID2459

Buttonwood Campground

Camp Information
Sites
230
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$59



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   9   1   9   10   8   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$59
Staff was very friendly! CG was neat, clean and landscaped very nicely. Sites are long and pretty spacious. Security gates are present through out all entrances/exits. The CG also rents canoes and kayaks. We happened to camp at the CG when a huge storm hit in which the Juniata River was flooding. The staff took precautions and moved trailers to higher ground. They watched the river all night and day to insure everyone's safety. As others have previously mentioned, the train does run all hours of the day and night. If you are in a site on the river side, you will definitely hear it. I do not know how loud it is up on the hill. I love trains so it did not bother me but for those who want peace and quiet, camping on the river side is not for you. This was our first time, site unseen, and we enjoyed our stay. Juniata Winery was present on Saturday for free wine tastings and sales. Very good! Everyone was very friendly including seasonal campers. We would return definitely! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
We came based upon the reviews. The campground was great, you were escorted to your site and the hookups were well placed and easy to connect. The pull through sites on the lower level were wide, long and level and the river access was easy. It was a great campground, the staff was friendly and helpful. They had wonderful activities for campers with families, it is a child friendly campground. I would say it was one of the better run, friendly and well managed campgrounds that we have stayed in over the past several year. We will be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$65
We really enjoyed our time here spent over Memorial Day Weekend. So much that we booked again for next year. For being a busy weekend it didn't seem to be overcrowded. Bathrooms were up to date & cleaned regularly. They probably could use more bathhouses on site though. We stayed on one of the river sites. I don't think you can go wrong with any one of them. They were gravel and all appeared to be level. There were a lot of activities for all ages all weekend long. Turns out we never got to experience many of them since the kids were kept busy along the river. There is a rail line across the river with freight trains that run at all hours. They can be loud, but we actually liked watching them pass by. Also, there is beautiful countryside to explore. Highly recommend a drive thru Shade Mt. to the Mt. Pisgah Altar overlooking Snyder County about 10miles away. Overall we loved this CG. Almost forgot - very friendly staff and always available for help. It's clear these owners take pride in their CG. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2013
$55
We were seasonal campers at Buttonwood Campground for a long time, however they did a renovation to all the site along the river and year by year the rates would go up in price a little, which we didn't mind ! We got our contract to renew for 2014 season and the increase for our site jumped $350.00, Other sites that were re-done only increased $50.00-$100.00 . what do they have against seniors on a fixed income? there were a least 6 campers in our area that moved out due to this campground being money hungry. We would never camp there again!!! Be careful when you camp at Buttonwood,because they like the green, but not the seniors! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$52
Great place overall. We were in a riverfront site and were able to see all kinds of wild life including a Bald Eagle. The bathrooms and showers were large for a campground and clean. There were a lot of trains running on the other side of the river and even though we were in a hybrid camper they never woke us up. The employees were friendly and very helpful. We were escorted to our site and told there was no rush to actually check in. We hope to be able to go back next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$53
Great back in or pull through sites for any size rig from a popup to a Motorhome. We like the upper side of the campground versus the river side. Lots to do if you have kids such as great playground, jumping pillow, peddle bikes, laser tag and a water wars game. Hay ride in the evening with popcorn and activities each morning for the family as well. Golf Cart rentals are available but we found that the campground is small enough that you don't need one. Nice camp store with everything you would need and than some. The customer service is top notch and that includes everyone that works at the campground. We love Buttonwood and find that where ever we camp we compare them to Buttonwood. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$48
We enjoyed our stay here. Owners were very helpful driving us around the campground to help us find our site. We took a nice kayak trip down the river. Enjoyed the pool and mini golf. Nice clean well run campground. We will come back We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
Camped in a river site for a few nights in September right before the leaves started to change. This park was right out from Harrisburg and was fairly easy to find right off of Hwy 22. There was a mini golf setup that my grandson and I enjoyed together. All of the people were friendly, and we felt very welcome. We were there for the Juniata county fair and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$39
We camped here after finding Buttonwood online and read the great reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. The campground is actually what I would consider "cut in two" as the riverfront sites are across the road from the office and "hill" section. Riverfront area and sites are very level and lengthy. Some sites away from the river were flooded from the recent rains. The hill section was lovely, very nice landscaping and extra touches. If you have kids, stay on the hill section as there is new playground equipment and activities in this area. Choose the riverfront area if you enjoy the river but be aware there is no playground equipment and the danger of crossing the road is obviously hazardous for kids. Also note there are train tracks across the river so be prepared for loud trains throughout the day and night. We both agreed that we would return again as the price was right and overall the park is very beautiful and the staff very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
The positive reviews of Buttonwood Campground were well deserved, and we were not disappointed. The campground is very family oriented, and the activities for kids kept three children (6, 7, & 9) entertained all weekend. Although we had to buy wristbands for some activities, they easily paid for themselves. The mini-golf was very nice, as was the jump pillow. The kids especially enjoyed the pedal cars and laser tag. The party for New Year's Eve in July was great fun and included a wagon ride, DJ, games, and hotdogs. I also have to compliment the staff. They were wonderful. The restrooms were cleaned every two hours, starting at 6 a.m. This was great considering the mud resulting from rain the day we arrived. They did a wonderful job! Our only negative was the heavily used train tracks across the Juniata River. The trains came throughout the day and night at the rate of two or three an hour. This limited our sleeping when the air conditioner was not running. Aside from the train, it was a very nice campground, and we had a great weekend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$42
We enjoyed our stay at Buttonwood. Though we don't have kids, it appeared to be very family friendly on our July 4th weekend stay. The staff made sure all the kids were having a good time on a hayride and water balloon activities. We kayaked the Juniata River right from the access at the campground. Our site was fairly spacious and level. BEWARE of the third party source for Wi-Fi at this park. They charged our account without giving us access and we could not get a live person to provide technical or billing answers. The campground staff deferred to the third party company. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
A nice, well run campground, run very professionally by really friendly people. Down by the river where we stayed was shady and the sites were nicely sized. Restrooms and showers were professionally cleaned three times every day and were excellent! (Note to management: The cleaning crew did a great job). Lots of activities for the family with nightly entertainment. Seasonal campers are friendly. A very nice campground. The only issues were the dusty roads through the camp and one incessantly barking dog in the row behind us. Other than those issues everything else was very good. We'll be back again I'm sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$39
Found about this CG via their booth at the York, PA RV show and upon further research and word of mouth, decided to book. Wow, what a find! This CG is an easy and scenic drive located in central PA. It is a two-tiered park with riverfront sites with much shade but less space between sites and a further trek to the pool, or the upper/newer sites with less shade but more space between sites and close proximity to the pool (we could play Jarts and ladder golf without fear of hitting camper or vehicle). Check-in was easy and courteous with super-friendly staff who escorted you to your site and you were allowed to set up and then check in later, nice. Sites were gravel, level with well located hook-ups, no sewer smells and good cable TV. Did not use the Wi-Fi. Roads were gravel but bike friendly and there were mulch paths to the many amenities (bounce pillow, horseshoes, volleyball, pedal carts, mini-golf, shuffleboard and nice pool). Campers can purchase a wrist band that gives unlimited use of the chargeable amenities. These paths also led to the clean and well stocked and ventilated bathhouse and laundry. The office/store was reasonably priced and clean. The grounds were well groomed and manicured with nice flowers and pet friendly with many pet waste disposals handy. Permanent sites are well maintained. Nearby amenities include a market with gas less than 1 mile from the CG that is open late and Sunday. The market has hand dipped ice cream (nicely priced too) and typical market and DIY sundries. The Port Royal Speedway is very close and the CG offers discount tickets and shuttle service. The engine roar can be heard from the CG on Saturday nights. Passing trains in the distance add to the ambiance of the CG. The mountains along the river and the farm-like setting also add to the ambiance of this CG. Did I mention the staff was super nice? Overall, this is a CG with owners who care and who are constantly making upgrades to this CG, making it a wonderful stay. My family can't wait for our next stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$39
This campground has become the annual destination rally site for our club because of the unflagging courtesy and service of its staff and the ongoing upgrading of campsites, landscaping, and activities. It is a true destination park in a fully rural setting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$39
We just returned from a three night stay at this park. We have been staying at this park for the past five years and continue to see big improvements. We stayed in site 312 which is a back-in site on the river. It was the first time we stayed in the lower campground but were not disappointed. The river sites are excellent and are able to accommodate large coaches. Despite a weekend filled with rain we still managed to have a good time. The owners were friendly as were the many workers. The park added cable for this season and we were able to pull in 60 plus channels. We look forward to returning to his park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
We stayed in the upper section which didn't have much shade. The sites below by the river have alot of shade but were older and not as large. Could have a draining problem there. We enjoyed the upper section. The site are gravel but long and pretty level. The cable TV was good but no free WiFi. Our Verizon card worked well though. The hookups were in good working order and well located. Most of all, the people were very friendly. They met us as we pulled in and guided us to our site. We checked in later. Everything was in excellent shape, clean and you could tell that everyone cared about their park. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
The cited price included our Good Sam discount. This excellent park appears to add new upgrades each year. They intend to totally rebuild the riverside sites over the coming winter season. Campground staff are invariably cheerful and helpful, and the sites are spacious and clean. Although the newest section will need another 15 years to produce much shade from the young trees, this place is a gem, and has become a pleasure to visit year after year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
This is a very nice campground. The upper level does not have a lot of shade as other reviewers have said, but the river sites do. I have noticed it to be about 5 degrees cooler at the river sites. There are some activities for the kids to keep them busy. They just put in a mini-golf course: it looks really nice. I will most definitely camp here again. The staff is awesome: great with the kids and they work very hard at keeping the place clean and up and running. We are Thousand Trails members and still come here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
We were very happy with this park. Upon entering, a man greeted us with a clipboard and had someone in a golf cart escort us to our site. After checking in we rented canoes for the next day. The staff was very friendly. Everything was well landscaped and clean! Has a very nice playground. We were in the new section and although the trees are small and will take awhile to grow in, we prefered it to the river sites. Had a beautiful view of the mountains and a farm. The kids and my husband enjoyed the canoe trip very much. They drop you in and pick you up down river. They were running behind about an hour but they took money off for the inconvenience. New mini golf course was very cute. Would love to stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$39
A most wonderful gem in central PA. It is not too far from State College. The premium sites are very nice and worth it. The site has a small camp store, with all the basics. There is also a pool, horseshoe pits, playground, and kayaking is very close, too. We will be back there next year for sure! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
I gave this a good rating only because of the shaded riverfront sites, store and cleanliness. Most sites, in the new section, are without shade and the sites are too small, too close together. Landscaping is nice but it will be many years before the young trees shade the sites. This new section is more like a parking lot for campers in my opinion. If you plan to stay at this campground request a shaded spot down by the river - unless you camp there in the late fall or early spring and want full sun. It was also much cooler down by the river. WiFi is available for $5 or $6 a day EXTRA. It's not included in the price of camping there so don't be misled. We would camp there again but only if we could secure a shaded site by the river. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
This park continues to upgrade itself each year. The location, sites, recreational facilities,and staff attitudes are all top drawer. If one wants to find some fault, one could suggest a few more washers & dryers. This is the type and level of park one continues to return to each year! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
I gave the park a "10" only because I could not give it a "15." While not flashy or anchored by a water park type feature, the campground makes it on being clean, in great shape, and family friendly. Level sites of stone surrounded by heavy duty grass are laid out nicely and in such a way that gives you space and maximizes the number of sites. This park boasts a crystal clear and heated small pool, a very new and large jungle gym in shredded tire "mulch," and riverfront access. We did not take advantage of the canoe/kayak livery service, but it looks like they do it right. The owners and staff are extremely friendly and helpful--talk to a work camper and you will find that they are certainly loyal to the "bosses," which is a testament to how they run their campground. Visit the camp store and you will find it well stocked and so reasonably priced that you will be surprised. Finally, the "Kids Carnival" weekend games were well organized and fun. They topped off Saturday night with a free wagon (rather lengthy) ride and popcorn. We will visit at least twice a summer in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$39
Campground roads and sites are well laid out making access to the campground easy, even for large RVs. The campground is well maintained and very clean. Campground staff was friendly and helpful and the campground had a large number of activities for kids. The campground has a new and well equipped playground that my kids enjoyed playing on. The campground has a small canoe livery that rents canoes and kayaks on the adjoining Juniata River. My only complaint with the campground is that the laundry facilities are fairly small for a campground of this size (2 washers and 2 dryers). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
I found the activities to be well planned and fun to participate in. I had a chance to get to know the owners who very friendly. It is my understanding that this is a fairly new campground that has been developing over the past few years and I have to say I feel that they are doing a good job. I would recommend this campground to anyone anytime. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
Only reason I didn't rate it a 10 was because most of the cg is new and there is Very little shade anywhere. The owners just bought the cg directly across the street, now they have river front sites and they doubled there sites. the new side is neat as a pin, staff is almost to friendly if that's possible. Their pool is beautiful, flowers everywhere. Very level We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
The campground was scenic and immaculate, the staff was eager to please, and the owners continue to upgrade the facilities. The score selected is a round-up from 9.5. Absolute perfection would have some more shade available, but the young trees will require about 10 years to reach that stage. The rate quoted included the Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
This was a beautiful, recently expanded campground run by agreeable and helpful people. All park facilities were maintained at a high level. The recent expansion means that a minority of available sites have significant shade, as the new plantings will need 5 to 10 years to achieve significant size. We received our Escapees discount and paid $28 per day for full hookups, including all taxes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
Best campground we have ever stayed in. Surrounded by beautiful farm country and right across the street from the Juniata river. Well supplied camp store and crystal clean pool area. Owners/staff very helpful. Would surely camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$27
Very nice campground. Owners and staff are very active in the care of the park. Park is in very good condition and is a work in progress. This is a family oriented park with lots of activities. We will return when we return to Central PA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
We spent the Memorial Day weekend here and had a great time. The staff was absolutely great!! We were in an over flow site, which put me a about 20 feet short for my electric/water hookup. Immediately the escort, "Bub", offered a water hose and 30 amp extension to reach the hook ups. My wife and I were very impressed with the welcome! Excellent facilities, clean pool and bathrooms, hayrides, DJ/music in the pavilion, public fishing a short distance across the road and much more. THANKS, we will return! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$29
Just like the other reviews say, Everyone is super nice! We stayed in a pull_thru site with a 36' MH and toad. Plenty of room all around. My son and I felt welcome as if we've known them a long time. Thank you for a great time. The scenery on the way and at the CG is amazing. Will be back again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$33
First time at this campground. Being a Holiday weekend, the staff seemed prepared by having a check in station setup along the entrance. We were escorted to our site which was in the new section. The site was new, with newly planted trees and grass. The CG seemed pretty clean. The staff was exceptionally nice and helpful. We broke an awning strap and one of the worker's wives sewed it for us. We also booked a kayak trip through the CG. Definitely fun, just don't forget suntan lotion and the 5 1/2 hour trip was too long for us. All in all this was a very nice campground. The only personal issue was there is no shade in most of the sites. But this is personal preference. There were some shade sites in what appeared to be the older section. The owner was extremely nice and accommodating for all of our requests. The rest of the employees were fun to talk with and nice. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
Very nice park The owners could not have been more accommodating. The park is on the grounds of a historic farm complete with 1800 brick house and barn. the bath facilities and pool are new and very clean. the sites are easy to access and level. the surrounding are is beautiful with mountain views, amish farms, markets, and nurseries. Several excellent yet inexpensive restaurants are within 20 miles. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2005
$26
Buttonwood has to be one of the best kept campground secrets in Pennsylvania. It is a newly developed park on a former farm, nestled in the quiet and beautiful farming country of Juniata County PA. The campground is easy to access from US 322 and the grounds are very well maintained. The owners just can't do enough to make your stay enjoyable and work hard to continue to upgrade the park. We love the sounds of the AMTRACK trains echoing off of the nearby Tuscorara Mountain, the Juniata River flowing a couple of hundred yards from the camp, excellent bicycling opportunities, the sunsets are outstanding and there are several great country restaurants nearby. The campsites are some of the largest we've seen anywhere. If you enjoy country living at it's best, this is the place to be. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$23
My wife and I recently stayed at this campground and found it to be one of the best ever. The owners went way out of their way to give us a tour and show us all the improvements they have made and are still making to the campground. The landscaping was very impressive and the pool area was the most bueatiful we have ever seen at a campground. We happen to hit it on fifties night which included music, 15 cent hotdogs, 15 cent fries, and 25 cent rootbeer floats. If you are ever near Mexico, Pa. be sure to stop at this campground. You won't be disappointted. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$22
An out-of-the-way and relatively new campground with great potential. Very close to the Juniata River which is great for canoeing, fishing, and observing nature. The owners/hosts were superb! They went out of their way ensuring everyone's stay was as enjoyable as possible from check-in to check-out. We were extremely impressed with their service and willingness to assist at every occasion (and then some). Our kids also had a blast with the activities and facilities. Received "6" rating because new restroom facilities being built near the new section are close to completion but are functional; once off the pads, and especially during the wet seasons, the ground becomes bog-like--very wet and mucky. Otherwise, we enjoyed our experience here and will return. Perhaps then, the "bugs" will be worked out and a more favorable review will be given. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com