224124 User submitted reviews online!!
Driftstone on the Delaware was rated 7 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (570) 897-6859
CGID2464

Driftstone on the Delaware

Camp Information
Sites
190
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$57



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   9   9   8   3   2   8   10   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2014
$57
Because I conduct business while traveling,we were assured by their Manager that their site wi fi signals were good.....when we made our reservation. We stayed near their office on site 7 and it was not good. It was piss poor. We complained to the manager...the same lady who told me we would not have a problem with wi fi... asking for a very small discount. She basically told us to take a hike. When she said that "whoever told you the wi fi is always good, was not being honest. When I told her it was HER, she stuttered and then said...."well, we don't guarantee good wi fi here". So, stay away from this park and deal with people who are honorable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$77
Clean, friendly with lovely scenery and a pleasure to stay there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$60
Great place for the family and kids; clean, well run campground. Terrific spaces, lots to do, and friendly efficient staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$52
We love it here! Have been coming here since I was younger and have seen it through its many upgrades and improvements. The staff has always been friendly and attentive. They are very strict as far as their 'quiet hours' are concerned. The only problem we have is that we have a very large camping group (8 families) and cannot make reservations for all of them. They only allow reservations for 4 families in a group. The pool area is large and well maintained, and the wading pool is perfect for the little ones. There is always something to do...volley ball, softball, playground, dances, over sized checker/s chess, bake sales, canoeing, tubing, bike riding, and lots to do in the area! The ENORMOUS shady spots are an added bonus. We haven't found another campground with sites as large. The riverbank sites offer a beautiful view as well! I would highly recommend this campground!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2012
$55
Nice looking campground from the gate but since we went there to look at it on out BMW motorcycle we weren't even allowed to walk through to look at sites as motorcycles aren't even allowed in their parking lot much less allowed to be brought in as a mode of transportation. You have to navigate their web site carefully to see their "NO MOTORCYCLE" policy. If you don't notice it and book a site then show up with your bike you'll be asked to leave. We travel in a Class A toy Hauler and do not pull a car so the MC is how we get around. Fortunately there are many nice campgrounds along the Delaware to choose from. Aside from this the park seemed well situated along the Delaware. The campground map details many river front sites and canoeing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2011
$67
Very disappointed with the owners and campground, not friendly at all. I do not recommend staying here. Many other nicer places close by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$50
Very nice, very clean. Awesome huge spots by the river. Staff was accommodating and there when you needed them. Only issue is with reservations. They will NOT allow you to pick a certain spot, only allowed to request a "generalized area". Only campground I have ever seen do this. But still, I would go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$60
We really loved this campground. It is a super spot for kids. They have planned activities, pool volleyball, drifting down the river on tubes, dances, a great store, ice-cream making, etc. Everyone was super friendly, and our kids made friends here very quickly and wanted to stay longer. We had a medical emergency and they were very helpful. The sites are very far apart, shaded and well-groomed. The bathrooms are very clean. There is a lot to do in the area, and it is very beautiful. I would recommend this for any family with kids, and my own are really keen to go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$46
Although the campground has a great location and has kids activities, I probably will not return as the staff never smiled and spent most of the time harassing the adults about noise, speed limits, where to park bikes and charging for everything including the kids. Unless you don't mind a campground charging you for kids, and plan on going to bed by 10:30, don't bother going. But for those who do, this place will suit you fine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$64
This was by far our favorite campground so far. Restrooms and showers were modern and well-maintained, although after the Saturday night rush were in need of cleaning. The Delaware River ran right next to the campground with a wide offshoot of it available for tube rides. There was a huge outdoor chess and checkers board that my kids loved. There was a barn dance with a DJ on Saturday night. Our spot was right near the seasonals section but all were tasteful and well-maintained, and our spot was very large and easy to pull into. The pool was very nice with a wading pool right next to it. There was also a large modern playground and a softball field. Security to get into the campground was very tight, and, I was told by one of the seasonals, 'riff-raff' are not tolerated. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$50
We liked this park better than we expected to. Sites, especially the back-ins along the river, are huge (50 feet wide and very long as well); some are heavily shaded, which was much appreciated in hot, muggy weather. Beautiful view of the Delaware River, quiet country surroundings (not even much road noise), friendly and helpful owners and staff. No sewer hookups, and the dump station can be interesting to get into and out of for a big rig, but there is a honey wagon service available if needed. Busy on weekends, lots of families and plenty of folks going on canoe, kayak or tubing trips down the river. Beautiful place, and very peaceful during the week. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$46
This was the nicest campground my family has ever been to. We stayed at a riverbank site. We went in mid-May, opening weekend for the campground. Everything was perfect. The staff was really nice and the bath houses were really clean. They do close them at an odd time in the morning, but the girl cleaning the bath house was nice enough to let my daughter use the bathroom instead of telling her to go to the other bathhouse. The one by the riverbank sites was newer and very nice, the other one was also nice, but not quite as updated. The playground equipment was nice. The pool was not opened yet so I cannot give a review on it, but it looked nice. There is a large chess/checkers game that our family played with the one day. You can rent canoes/kayaks/rafts at the campground and they will transport you up or down river. We did not rent them because we have a baby, but look forward to one day doing so. The only thing I would change about this campground is that you cannot choose your site. You can suggest one, but they will not guarantee that it is yours. If you choose a riverbank site, however, you will get one, you just cannot pick that one you want. Overall, this was a beautiful campground and we will be returning someday... probably in the summer sometime. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$46
Friendly Staff. Clean Bathrooms and showers. Large sites along the river. Store is average and not noteworthy. Kids are easily entertained along the riverbank. I'll be back in the summer. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$55
The children and adults enjoyed this campground, especially the site near the river. We went tubing and had fun at the pool. The only drawback was the required length of stay; that may hinder future visits. But it's easy to get to and the tubing is a plus. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$46
This is a very clean campground. When we arrived our fire pit was full of leaves. We went to the front desk, and within minutes someone was there to clean it out. They are very attentive to campers needs. The camp store was very well stocked. They do charge you $2.00/day if you are going to use your fan or a/c at your site. They also charge for children and guests. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$46
Lovely campground! The grounds are very well kept, bathhouses are clean, canoe rides are available on the Delaware River and were fun. Fishing in the river, a very nice swimming pool, clean laundry facilities, a nice camp store with very friendly people. They had a dance on Saturday night in the barn. Hayrides, and a parade on Memorial Day. We were on the largest campsite we have ever seen! It was huge! I would definitely recommend this campground, and we hope to visit it again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$60
This is a really nice, open campground with nice large grassy sites. The only thing that we do not like is they charge for everything - kids, heat, air, visitors, etc. and other than scenery, they do not offer much. There are almost no activities for the kids, no bingo, no ceramics, etc. Pool is nice and the river is great for tubing or just wading. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$44
I have always enjoyed this campground. We have been going on and off for the last 24 years. It is a great campground for kids they can play in the river and stack rocks or enjoy the pool, They have very private sites in the back or more open sites in the middle. Sites are large and spacious. Would return again We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$38
Beautifully maintained and great campsite layout. River sites are fantastic - big enough for our popup plus several tents and screen houses!! Bathrooms are close by and cleaned regularly. Great camp store with everything you'd need. My only 2 gripes were (1) that they scolded us for talking quietly around our campfire around 10pm - saying we were too noisy - even though several dogs at nearby campsites were barking loudly all night long and (2) they gave us a big hassle when we requested the site next to us so my brother and his family could camp next to us - they said it was reserved and couldn't give it to us, but yet nobody camped there for our entire stay!! For these 2 reasons we felt we would not return again. The staff demeanor killed our good time!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$39
We found this campground to be in very good shape, with huge, shady sites. It's gated late at night for security. We had two sites "on the water," but what that really means is you have to descend a really steep slope to get to the riverbank. It was fine, though, a serene, shady lovely spot. From the nearby boat ramp, we waded out into the river and fished, which was great. Tubes, rafts, kayaks and canoes are among the water vehicles available. We arranged a kayak trip with the front office, were dropped off 14 miles upriver, and kayaked back to the campground on the Delaware. Excellent day. I'm going to have to agree with the writer who complained about nickel-and-diming; it certainly did seem like there was a fee for Every Single Thing. But the place was nice, so we just kind of went along with it. We didn't have the kids with us this time, so I can't speak to their children's activities. Big pool, however. They close the bathrooms every morning at very inconvenient hours for cleaning. Pretty much when everyone's coffee is kicking in, if you get my meaning. We were awakened by loud lawn mowers early one morning. A septic truck parked nearby one afternoon and gave off a rank odor for nearly an hour, causing us to leave our site for "cleaner air." There is a pretty strict 11:00 p.m. quiet hour enforcement, which may or may not be to your liking. The fire pits are immovable to the rear of each site, so you kind of have to bring your party to them if you want to sit around a fire. I found the store to be well-stocked with supplies as well as interesting gift items. There is a very neat Revolutionary War-era cemetery on-site, which was fun to walk around: very small, but compelling. When walking around the campground, we did notice an abundance of "permanent" sites, but we didn't find them to be an eyesore. The staff was generally nice and friendly. Overall, I'd recommend Driftstone. Like anyplace, it has its downsides, but overall, it's clean and in a beautiful area, with good access to the water. Oh, and one more thing: the directions on their flyer are Awful. Google map it, or use some other method to find the campground. If my buddy hadn't already been there to direct me in by phone, I'd still be out there looking for it. Bottom line. It was a very enjoyable week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$35
I adore Driftstone on the Delaware. I am a seasonal camper there. The staff are always on site to serve your every need that could possibly be filled. There is a separate canal in which to swim so that our children are safe from the main river. EVERYTHING is CLEAN, they clean the bathrooms like 5 times a day. Store is very fair priced, and stocked with just about everything you'll need. Love the local smokehouse bacon on Sunday mornings. All of the sites are large grassy and all have at least one tree to lie under. Break out your hammocks and give this place a try. This IS the place you want to take your family. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$40
Beware Driftstone Campground on the Delaware - Mt. Bethel, PA. This campground is run by highway robbers. We were not pleased at all with this campground. It claims to be a family campground but will charge you $9 for each child after you arrive. The website says up to 6 persons can be in the campsite, but apparently children do not count as "persons." Next, you will be charged to dump your tanks if you need to do so on arrival. You will be charged $5 for each visitor so if your family arrives for dinner as was our case, each member will be fleeced for $5, even if they use none of the facilities and stay only for an hour or so. They mow the lawns at 9:00 am and will make sure you are wide awake. They drive diesel pickup trucks around your camper at all hours of the day and night. They shut the pool down from 12-1 pm and checkout time is 2 pm so you will not be able to use the pool after noon on the day you are leaving. There is an extra late departure fee for leaving after the 2:00 departure time, and an extra fee for arriving late. They are located on the Delaware but do not allow you to swim in it. There is an extra charge if you run your AC. They are not pet friendly. The sites smell; either people are dumping their tanks on the ground or they are using the septic drain field as the actual campground. Maybe both. The campground seems to have approximately 20% occupied by "permanent" residents -- these people do not ever move their trailers from the park. They use the park as a garage for their boats, gardens, potting sheds, porches, stairways and other architectural features, however the issue is that they are rude and have bad attitudes toward visiting campers. Our theory is the owners of this campground are making enough money from the permanent residents to make ends meet and they do not really want business from visiting campers. We left a day early and will never go back there; it is our opinion that others would be well-advised to avoid this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$35
Love this campground: it's very family friendly. We stay here every year for Fathers Day weekend and there' s so much to do for the kids. Games, games and more games. The pool is very clean and we all love to play softball. The playground is good for the smaller ones and they do have a kiddie pool for the little ones too. We will stay here again next year for Fathers Day and probably the year after. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2005
$39
On opening day (5/13/05) the grass was not cut, urinal and shower was out of order, nats were a major problem, no sewer hook ups an issue. The rate of $36 for Sun-Thur and $39 for Fri-Sat. is a lot when cable is not available and the pool is not even open. We were disappointed to say the least. The sites are large by any standards. Roads thru the CG are in need of repair--puddles and ruts. Lot of bridges out causing a long detour to and from I-80. Firewood bundle is a poor value for $5. Buy the firewood sold down the road in a box for $3--you will not be disappointed. Restrooms have only screens on windows above the sinks--no heat or AC. Be ready for humid or cold conditions depending on the weather after you get out of the shower. Do not like the push button shower system. The CG also charges $2 extra if you plan to run your AC. That's is a joke! C'mon guys you are charging enough seeing as you do not have sewer hook up or cable available. Wagon rides available but for a 25 cent fee per person. Not many were going on the ride. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2004
$53
I've been here as a kid, 30+ years ago so I thought it would be fun to bring my kids here. The campground looks good and the sites are spacious, however, the prices seem a bit outrages -- 31 for water only isn't bad, but $8 more ($39) for electric PLUS ANOTHER $2 if you want to use your A/C -- okay the price is getting up there BUT now they charge for each and every kid you have over the age of 3 -- So I paid an extra $12 a nite on top of the 39 just because I have 4 kids!! I paid over $50 a nite then they wanted another 25 cents per kid for the hayride!!! Okay, I can afford the quarter but it just really seemed like cheap penny-pinching on the part of the owners. Oh yeah, the firewood is a real rip-off too. Charge a flat $35 to $40 a nite and let us parents bring our kids without raking us over the coals. It made me feel like they were discouraging family camping. We won't be going back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$35
This is, without a doubt, the finest campground it has been my pleasure to visit. Everything is clean and fresh. The sites are very spacious. In, fact the smallest site at Driftstone is larger than most of the sites at other campgrounds. We had a riverfront site and had no trouble getting in and setting up, no extra leveling required. In fact, I did not notice any site that was off level. All sites were grassy and well maintained. In spite of 3.75" of rain the afternoon we arrived the area did not turn into a mud pit. Just another sign of proper maintenance. The staff is polite and professional. Even the other guests are friendy. There are many seasonal sites but none of them were run down. Crisp, clean, spacious and friendly. I would highly recommend this campground to anyone planning a trip to the Delaware Water Gap. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$35
Extremely Clean!! We had an RV with a bathroom, but I checked theirs out anyway, and found them very clean! They have 2 dump sites as well as a "honey wagon" that comes around during the day to empty your sewer tank if you like. The cost is $4.00. We stayed right on the Delaware River and it was nice. The lots are grass covered and the roads are paved. They have a small store with free internet use and a game area. Free movie rentals makes up for no cable if you are interested. The pool is staffed and clean, and they have a nice clean playground area for kids. They also have a volleyball area and a ball field. Laundry facilities are plentiful and clean. We really enjoyed our quiet stay here! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com