223083 User submitted reviews online!!
Williamsport South / Nittany Mountain KOA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 40 user reviews. Phone: (570) 568-5541
CGID2467

Williamsport South / Nittany Mountain KOA

Camp Information
Sites
350
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   7   8   6   9   10   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
A little off the beaten path; but worth the few extra miles. Wooded campground very family oriented. Friendly helpful staff. Other than 3 large dogs in the site next to us, it was a peaceful place to spend the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
A little far off the main drag for a one night stopover, but a nice clean KOA. Very nice place to bring the grandkids in the summertime. Not much going on this time of year and the rates should reflect that, but they don't. This is another case of not getting what you pay for. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$60
We were very happy with this campsite. Very friendly and helpful staff and lovely scenic grounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$43
We really want to like this place, but the amount of seasonals and the way they overrun the place bothered us. Speed limit is 5mph, but the golf carts are hitting 15mph. The staff (except one older woman, yelling across the campground at a child that wasn't doing anything wrong) were extremely helpful and friendly. The campsites where nicely wooded and they gave us our choice of sites. They have a awesome petting zoo and plenty of activities for the kids. The pool was very nice and they had a kiddie pool for the youngsters. Camp store was well stocked. They had a free corn and hotdog cookout on Saturday night. The other downside is the cost of some activities, (mini golf was almost $15.00 for 3 people) and paying for the jumping pillow was ridiculous. WiFi was fast. On the off chance you could stay connected more than 60sec. I tried from all over the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$51
Normally, I don't review KOA campgrounds since they are all overcrowded and overpriced. This one is a bit different in that it actually has decent size sites. However, it is still way overpriced for the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$56
Nice big KOA. Fast and friendly check in at a well stocked camp store. Lots of area to walk around. Big pool and playground area. To have to pay to use the kids jumping pillow is ridiculous though. Camping Cabin provided linens. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$42
Our stay at Nittany Mountain was only our second visit to a KOA. The park was beautiful despite the abundance of rain. The staff was friendly and the the value was great. Our only complaint was that, although very clean, the restrooms had a slight odor to them. Other than that, we were well pleased. We will stay there again on our next trip up from Louisiana. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$53
Campground was clean, well kept and very nice. The pull-through sites are up front and are very nice with full hook ups. The upper end of the campground has many smaller wooded sites with lots of seasonal sites. The store is small but well stocked with items you may have forgotten and has an ice cream shop. Staff is friendly and very helpful. We never used the bathhouses. We will be staying there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$48
This was my first time in a KOA style campground. I picked out a good lot. Had a great time, campground was clean and my lot had a lot of space. Each space has a picnic table and fire ring. Bathrooms and showers were clean and spacious. I will stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
I drove my personal vehicle a 25 miles radius of Williamsport PA and Nittany Mountain KOA is clearly the best around. Staff is fantastic, large spacious big rig spots, fire rings, and a well stocked camp store. The campground is close to the interstate and is close to route 15. Make sure you turn on New Columbia as the GPS tries to send you down 3rd street (curvy) Lots of activities and park is well managed and clean. Jewel in the Nittany Mountain area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
Family destination campground, located off the main Interstate, quiet at night. Lots of stuff for the kids to do. Gravel roads and sites, most with shade, picnic table and fire ring. Only 25 full hookup sites (sewer). Well used but clean showers. Wi-Fi was a bit slow but it worked. Cable TV had 50 channels. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$39
This park is located near Milton on I-80. It is on a narrow but passable road and about 5 miles from the I-80 / US 15 interchange. Interior roads are hard gravel as are the pads. Most pull through sites are not shaded and near the front. Others are in the trees. The latter are big sites. There are many seasonal sites but all are very neat. Wi-fi was good. Cable is basic. Lots of places to walk dogs, but no dog off leash area despite acres of land. Staff was helpful. Good spot to overnight. This was our second stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$47
The staff at this campground is excellent! It is a distance from the highway but follow the directions and you will not have a problem. Just keep driving even when you think you are lost. It is a KOA so the rate is a bit high but still a nice park. The interior roads are good and the rooster crowing in the morning gave us a smile to start our day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
We highly recommend this campground to everyone. The owners were very accommodating in relocating us to a different site. The staff were all helpful and everyone treats you like they have know you for years. The entire place was very clean from the sites and grounds to the bathhouse and pool area. They even continuously clean up after the petting zoo animals. There was so much to do with all the activities for all ages. The store was well stocked with supplies, groceries, gifts and of course ice cream. The snack bar was great! With the local area attractions and all the campground has to offer we definitely will return to this campground! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
The new owners are doing a great job with this place! We’ve visited this CG about 4 times in the past 3 years. Every time we go, we see improvements. The pull through sites are spacious and level. Water pressure is great. The bath-houses have been renovated and they’ve always been very clean. The kids love the petting zoo with the 1 month old baby goats and the mini horse. The grounds kept clean. One of the biggest improvements is the seasonal sites. They are all nicely kept, very appealing and no junk laying around. The young ladies at the registration counter are very helpful and pleasant. We couldn’t connect our cable TV because the campground's end was male and our end was male too. One of the workers explained that the female part was missing. We thought we had to buy one but he said he’d take care of it. We left for a while: when we came back, he had taken care of it and even connected our cable. That is good customer service! He could’ve just done his part and left the rest for us to do. The ‘Father’s Only’ wings and brew night was really good according to my husband. They were also very accommodating when we asked for a late check-out. The only slight inconvenience was the slower than normal Wi-Fi connection which I desperately needed for my online course. We’ve only visited this CG because it’s conveniently located to sport’s event we attend; but after seeing the improvements, we may just go back to enjoy the nice, friendly and relax environment this CG offers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$50
Decent park. The owner is striving to remodel. The rate for our pull through site was $45 reg and for the Memorial day holiday $55. Although the price seemed a bit high it is a short season in the area. It's a pretty area to explore and the people at the campground were nice. If in the area we would go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$36
Very spacious park with many seasonal sites. Petting zoo and horseshoes. Bathrooms recently remodeled and were spotless. Music was a nice touch in the bathhouse. Sites are large with many wooded areas. Great staff, activities and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$38
This is a very large KOA campground located in a very beautiful area of PA. At the entrance to the park are the playing fields and horseshoe pits. Up the hill you can see the 12 sites for the larger rigs - 4 with 50 amp, W, S, & cable; 4 with W, E ,S, and cable; 4 with W/E & cable. 25 other sites have W/E/S & cable. The rest of the sites do not have sewer and rely on pump outs, those blue tanks or the 4 dump stations. I was told that 120 of the 350 sites are seasonal. To me it seemed like many more than that. The sites for the transients were scattered throughout the park. The park was not busy due to the time of year. The seasonals were very friendly, but many of the parks rules were ignored such as the barking dogs. An annoyance was the use of leaf blowers by the seasonals. Just as one would quiet down another would start up. We stayed in site 55 and it was very nice - easy to back in to, and easy to level. Wi-Fi was available at this site. It has a very large concrete patio pad. The site itself is huge. A problem with the electrical connection was immediately fixed by their staff electrician. The grounds around the office were very nicely kept with gardens and seating areas. A small pond for fishing was being used and the petting zoo was a nice added feature. One major area of concern to me was the number of very, very large dead trees in this park. I would hope that they will take the time to correct this. There are many things to do in the area. Lewisburg is a nice town to explore, and the home of Bucknell University. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$42
Staff was very friendly, check in was easy. The park is clean , quiet and comfortable. Seems very family friendly . Our only complaint was a leaking faucet, which we were told would be fixed before next season, as they need to dig things up to fix it . We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
This IS a very interesting and curious campground, but in the end it embodies what family camping is all about. A campground of over 350 sites, where it appears that more than 3/4ths of those are local campers who have rented for the year and are in for the weekend or an occasional week. This 3/4ths of the campground are very nicely laid out, they have very large and secluded sites, but the vast majority of these sites have no sewage, there is quite a bit of blue tub hauling here, I’ve never been to a campground that has FOUR dump stations before. For those sites that are open for the traveler, they present somewhat the same large and semi secluded plan as to the rest of the camp. FEW are 50 amp, few have sewage, but those that do are quite nice. WiFi is good where it is available (around the office), cable TV is good, most roads are gravel, most sites are level and gravel. There are 2 ways into this camp, do not follow your GPS, follow the instructions in Travel Life, we came by GPS and it is a bit hairy. In the end, this really isn’t a travelers campground, this is a community campground targeted to family camping. This is something rarely seen, especially for a KOA, we commend them and this is from a person who has very little positive to say about a KOA ever. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
This is one of those campgrounds you have to go to. The so called "main road" to the campground isn't the greatest, however, we made it there. There is so much for the kids to do! They have a small petting zoo, and the kids can feed the animals twice a day. GREAT ice cream stand. Nice store. Nice pool. I do not suggest the pull-thru sites, they are small, and not really pull-thru. We will however return here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$45
Second stay here. It's a very nice campground. Son caught his 1st fish in their pond. Seasonal campers are very nice, they made homemade ice cream for the kids on the hayride. We were considering a seasonal site, but the 2 1/2 hours from home is too far. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2010
$38
Alas, we shall ne'er meet again ere the cockerel ceases to crow at midnight. Otherwise, it's a really nice place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
A very nice campground located about 5 miles from the interstate. Sites were shady, clean and level. New owners are slowly upgrading all facilities to make this a well rated facility. Will return here in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$48
This is the second time we stayed at this campground and we will be back! We definitely enjoyed the sites on row "M"(below the store). The staff are wonderful and very helpful. We loved the well stocked store and of course the ice cream! The activities are wonderful too! We hope Mr. Rooster "flies the coop" before our next visit as he woke us up way before the sun came up (4AM) all 3 mornings. There was only one issue - the bathrooms and showers were closed for a long period of time due to sewer problems. We'll be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$51
My family stayed here for a long 4th of July weekend. Not many sites with sewer, however, having been here once previously, we knew where to stay-"M" Lane. Large pull-thrus on the lower level offer lots of room for kids and dogs and are private.Lots for kids to do, well-organized, priced below average in the camp store-which has just about anything you'd want-and the friendly KOA staff make sure everyone stays in line.Saw the owner working the cash register in the store and complimented her as they've been working very hard with various upgrades we noticed. Improvement needs include a lower-level bathhouse and a muzzle for the rooster at the camp petting zoo which woke everyone up at 4 a.m. sharp each morning.We will definitely return here and look forward to future wooded sites with sewer hookups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
I agree with other reviews that the campground is nice and managements is very nice. But level sites with 50 amps for big rigs are few and in a loop opposite the office from the rest of the sites. They are maneuverable, but very tight. We will return and ask for site M3 and hope that we can level there. I added that Wi-Fi is available but will note that it has bandwidth controls and starts out strong and soon slows and even disconnects. But its included in the cost. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$39
We stayed at this campground many times and we love it. We go in early summer and just LOVE the Halloween events they have for our grandchildren in October. We look forward to this event every year. The entire staff are so friendly, curious and so willing to help you with any request. This is one of the nicest campgrounds in our area and would recommend it highly to everyone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
This is a very nice campground. The sites are very private and roomy. The staff is friendly. The pool was very nice. The bathrooms were clean. The activities were fun for the kids. The kids had a ball on their 4-wheeler cycles. The petting zoo was a nice touch that the kids really like. We had no complaints. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$36
This is a clean, quiet, Full service RV Park. They were winding down for the winter but it was well run. I don't usually give a 10 rating but this one deserves it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
This campground was nice. The owner is very nice and very friendly. Staff were very nice as well. This campground is near Williamsport and in a very nice setting. Most sites are permanent sites but there are some for folks passing through. There is a pond for fishing, a playground for kids and a petting zoo (a small area with mostly farm animals such as a calf, chickens, goats and so on)and a pool. We stayed here while visting the area. Ricketts Glen state park is a good little ways away from the campground but worth the drive if you like to hike and see waterfalls and there is a lake for fishing. The negatives about this park are that there are only a few sites available for travelers but still were very nice. The bath house is up the hill from the pull through sites (a good little walk). The positives were the friendly people that own this campground and the staff, the beautiful setting and the things they have to do (pool, pond, playground, activities). The store is well stocked. We enjoyed this campground. If there were more sites for travelers I would have given it a 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$41
Very nice peaceful park with lots of fun things for kids. Easy drive to Knoebels. Friendly & helpful staff. Will Return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$34
This is a very good family campground with playground, pool, fishing pond and petting zoo. We were traveling with two children and they loved it all. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$42
Lots of seasonal sites in the woods, but well kept cg, New owners are doing a nice job. Lots of activities for the kids. Petting zoo is a big hit with the kids, cows, pigs rabbits etc. Some sites are a little tight but most are of good size. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$42
This is now a KOA. Has prices to match, but many new improvements underway. Worth the stop! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2005
$28
We were here for the Little League World Series in South Williamsport. The Little League fields were 21 miles away, a nice 30 minute drive. The campground is in a rural setting, far enough away from big city lights so that, on a clear night, many stars can be seen in the sky. The campground is very kid friendly. Fishing pond, swimming pool, two basketball courts, miniature golf course, a large, level field suitable for baseball games. There is a good selection of barnyard animals. It's not a petting zoo but kids could reach across a low fence and touch any animals that were close enough. Lots of activities scheduled for kids including hayrides. Nice campstore, larger than most with a good selection of ice cream served with generous portions at a reasonable price. Modem hookup in the campstore but web browsing is discouraged (15 minute limit). Laundry and bathhouse. Like most private campgrounds, there is a large permanent/seasonal population, but they are pretty much hidden from view up in the trees. And most kept their campers and sites in good condition. Except for the main entrance road, the interior roads and sites are gravel. The gravel layer is thin and spotty and things get quite muddy when it rains. We were camped in a row of pull-through sites down the hill from the office. Sites were level and close together but not as bad as other private parks. Picnic table, fire ring, full hookups, including a good selection of cable TV channels. The sites up by the pool were really close together. The facilities were clean but old. It's is time to do some renovation. With discounts and special vacation rates, the campsite rates are reasonable. If the interior roads were paved, sites had concrete pads and patios, and facilities were new/renovated, I would have given this place a 10. Because of these three items, I took off a point for each. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2005
$30
This was our 1st trip with our travel trailer. The office staff was friendly & helpful. The cg is very lush; paths are easy to walk & bike; & very quite in some areas. Pool is very small but relatively clean. The hay ride is lame. The kids craft activity was totally unsupervised; fortunately, I went with our child & was able to help complete the project. The Saturday nite DJ party was fun & all the kids seem to really enjoy it. The biggest turn off about the cg was the number of seasonal sites, almost 85-90%. These people were clicky & very unfriendly. You feel like you're "invading their territory". Most likely will not return to this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2005
$41
What a horrible campground! The bathrooms were filthy or locked tight as a drum the whole weekend that we were there. My wife could not sleep because of the drunkards carrying on in the site across from us. The staff was rude and disinterested when I brought it up to them. Stay away from this dump! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$35
Even though the park was crowded (holiday weekend), we had a great time at Nittany Mountain. They had great activities for the kids- mine enjoyed the scavenger hunt and the croquet tournament. The pool was very nice and the playground large. The bath houses were clean, but few, and are in need of updating and enlarging. If the bath houses are not increased, they are in need of more available sewer hookups. The roads need some attention - some stone or some paving. When it rains, all of the mud gets tracked into the bathouses and its impossible to keep up with cleaning the floors. However, the bath house situation would not keep us away, and we will certainly return in the future. The campground called our site one of the smaller sites, and was concerned about the size of our trailer, but we thought that the site was very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$27
This campground is large and very quiet. Most sites are under trees. Lot of people have sites here year round. Campground has places for overnight or short stays. Lot of things to do here. Kids would like all the nice play equipment. Large fishing pond and small zoo. Campground has large amount of fire wood for sale. The roads in park need some work and gravel due to wash out and mud. Showers need work to remove mold. I think most RV people would like this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com