214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Country Haven Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 59 user reviews. Phone: (717) 354-7926
CGID2468

Country Haven Campground

Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   9   5   8   9   7   6   10   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$43
First let me say we have stayed here at least one time each season for the past 11 years. We have been RVing since 1973. We stayed here in June and will not return. This campground could be a 10 but the owners are rude, unfriendly and simply do not care about their guests. Each morning water in the RV was muddy, the cable TV service was completely unusable and the WiFi was broken. I asked if we could have 2 people come visit and they said they would have to pay $6 each plus $5 for their car. That would mean a total cost of $17 to have friends visit for 2 hours. That cost is totally unjust. When I checked in I was never told the Wi-Fi was broken. Instead I fooled around with my PC for 30 minutes thinking I was doing something wrong. If you need Wi-Fi you can sit outside the office for a signal but be prepared the owners turn off the Wi-Fi each evening and no telling when it gets turned on in the morning. The night before we departed I took the gate card back to the office and handed it to the owner. He said "OK". No effort on his part to say thanks for visiting or hope to see you come back soon. The campground grass is only being cut on sites that are reserved so the campground is started to look unkempt. While we were here the campground was about 30% full. We visited 3 other campgrounds and they were almost 100%. So that tells you something. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$49
As I have said before. This park is what it says it is - "The Quiet One." No activities, no pool, and only a swing set for playground amenities. But, it has a spectacular view, and very good W/E/S hookups. Sites are quite level and remain dry, even in the torrential rain storm that occurred during our stay. I would give a 10 if the WiFi were not so quirky. The service is intermittent and slow most of the time and it is turned off completely at night. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$48
Country Haven is exactly what they advertise - the quiet one. No activities, no pool, no rec hall, etc.. Views are amazing and hookups are first rate. Owners enforce their rules, which is fine with us. The only reason for not giving a 10 is that the Wi-Fi is rather iffy most of the time. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$65
We chose to stay for a week in one of this parks premium sites overlooking the Amish farmland. We were guided to our site which was all gravel and reasonably level but looking unkempt with patches of grass growing throughout the gravel. Site width was about 25 feet and a bit close to the neighboring rigs for a premium location. There are no trees in the premium section. Water pressure was good at 40+psi, 50 amp electric was reliable with voltage varying between 113 and 117. There is no pool and there were very few families with children as a result, which some travelers may find desirable. Wi-Fi was very good when you could get it. Our location was at the fringe so it was difficult to connect while inside the RV and if another rig was next door you, you had to sit outside to get a signal. On Sunday we couldn't connect at all. I talked with the manager who sat behind the counter with his hands behind his head and matter of fact they told me that it was as good as it gets and there was nothing they could do about it according to his network engineer. They only had so many connections available and when they are all used, that's it until someone turns off or disconnects their device. He also said they shut down internet access from 11pm to 7:30am every night to prevent abuse. If you're an early riser, you will discover it is actually closer to 8:00am every morning that internet access is restored. Considering the nightly rate at Disney's Fort Wilderness isn't much different, we would expect a comparable level of accommodations and service. By comparison, this park is overpriced and not even close in value. Their occupancy during the week was much lower than other parks we stayed at during our trip and even over a major holiday the park was filled, but not full. We presume they justify the rate partly because of the view, which was lovely. However, after staying at campgrounds on the Bay of Fundy with stellar views and great Wi-Fi that were $30 per night less their view wasn't worth the extra $. This park could be a 9 - 10, but we won't stay here again until they get realistic about their rates. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$55
Beautiful campground and scenic views, quiet setting. Bathrooms need updating but sites are level and clean......there are lots of rules, but the campground itself is neat and quiet We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$55
Lot of rules/discipline, but that's fine by me - like peace and quiet. If it were my CG, I would even do away with the fire pits. Lovely area, Amish country, views from top of hill, a ton of Iris' around, clean roomy sites, gated. Staff (owners) fine contrary to some prior comments - I found both extremely friendly. Only downside - water pressure barely 40psi, sometimes less. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$55
The pro's: beautiful location and very well maintained.The con's: campsites are very tight; location is far from most Lancaster attractions; price is a little high for no amenities, not even a store. Yes, the owners are a bit "different"! Just too many other choices in the area to pick from. We won't be returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$48
As mentioned in previous reviews, location is top notch here. Beautiful farm views for miles. The campground is extremely clean and extremely well maintained. Owners take lots of pride in their property. Sites are deep, level, and a little close. Hookups were good. Wifi worked fine, can't comment on cable, just don't know. However, we will never stay here again. The office staff was just too rude and impatient when asked a couple of very basic simple questions. There just were no smiles, no friendliness, no welcoming feeling. We could not justify paying $48 for a second night and ended up going to another campground a few miles away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$41
We stayed here for a number of nights. The view from the sites is wonderful. The campsite is located near all of the tourist attractions. We didn't use the cable TV because we use the satellite dish, but we did use the antenna for the second set and found enough channels to be entertained. The campsite lacks pool and playground, so it might not be kid friendly. But that leads to peace and quiet. Pets are allowed with the usual rules, however, this is the first time that we have ever been asked to present the papers for our dog. We really enjoyed the place and are discussing our return trip later in the fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$48
This is the lowest rating I have ever given. The reason is that I feel like I got scammed. I reserved a nice site that included cable TV service. After hooking up, all the channels were of very poor quality. I tried all the usual tricks but nothing improved. I went up to the desk to ask for some help and was asked a bunch of questions like I didn't know anything. They did respond well and sent the maintenance guy to check the cable reception out. He shows up with an OLD TV that he hooked right into the cable outlet. The picture was perfect, then he casually mentions that the cable is not digital but ANALOG! Well there you go, who has analog anymore, seriously? It seemed like the whole thing was choreographed as it happens all the time. Other than that the place was clean, but won't stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$46
Location, location, location. The Wi-Fi signal is weak and slow. The cable is terrible on lower channels. The level and easy sites overlooking the Amish farms keep the rating OK. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$55
Camp hosts are super nice and helpful. They moved us to a 50 amp pull through as soon as it became available. Campground is super quiet and in a beautiful location in the midst of Amish Country. You can hear the sound of horse and buggies right from your site. The view from the rig is gorgeous. Right across the small street is an Amish family selling bake goods on the weekends and close by another family selling the most delicious fresh fruit and vegetables. We kept extending our stay because we loved this peaceful place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$55
This campground is very picturesque. The views are spectacular and the campground is really clean and well managed. Some previous posts are truly unfair. They paint the owners in disparaging ways. We found them to be welcoming and helpful throughout our 6 day stay. We had a 50 Amp circuit go bad the first day, and it was promptly replaced with a smile. They also offered advise on watching the skies as storms that pop up are often very windy and could tear off an awning easily. Yes there are rules. And as business owners ourselves: rules are necessary in order to have order. Moving on now. The site we had was a long pull through that made for easy auto leveling. Hook-ups were convenient for our 42' M/H and they all performed well. WiFi was fast and trouble free. I was on it constantly, maintaining business matters with our staff at home. They are adding 18 sites in the lower front tier of the park: all pull throughs! This is a basic no frills park that is a destination for couples without children and noisy pets. What it lacks in frills it makes up for in quiet, peaceful and totally relaxing camping experience. It is a little out in the country though, about 7-8 miles from the east side of Intercourse. We got used to the ride and will definitely return. Thank you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$50
This park is immaculate and we found everyone to be very friendly and helpful, pointing us to several local attractions and good restaurants. The sites are spacious and level, all with mesmerizing views of the Lancaster countryside. We saw Amish buggies, horse drawn plows on working farms, and a five mile vista all from our premier campsite. All the sites have good views, but the few extra dollars for the front row sites is worth it, especially if it is your first time here. The first row are all back in sites, but there are pull through sites if you need one. Don't miss the Mennonite family bakery just across the road from the campground. Wonderful breads and breakfast pastries. This is hilly country and the roads have narrow shoulders, so if you plan to bicycle in the area, be aware of this in advance. Except for the bakery, none of the attractions are within easy walking distance. We will trailer our motorcycle next time and explore all the local attractions more fully than we could in our RV. As first timers to this campground, we felt very welcome. We plan to return again in the spring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$43
This was our first and last time at this campground. What I saw of it was great, but the person who runs it has the worst personality I have ever dealt with in my whole entire life! Don't plan on going there if you have a dog that might bark. We were given enough time to set up, have a small lunch, and then were given 1/2 hour to pack up and leave- 1/2 hour- why? Because my dog barked a few times when she walked by to check up on us. If there is a zero tolerance for barking then that should be posted on their site. That would have saved us time and money and we never would have gone there. Also she was very rude when we arrived, telling us she didn't have all day and I had to give my cell number in case we left campground and she had to call us to come back because of the dog. The next 2 campgrounds within a 10 mile radius we went to knew exactly who we were talking about, so her reputation definitely preceded her. The one we chose to stay at, guess what? My dog was great there and we had no problems. Next time maybe I should listen to my dog, she was probably the best judge of character. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This is one of the nicest RV parks we have had the pleasure to stay at. Right in the middle of Amish Country and as clean as a whistle. It has a 5 mile vista of all the Amish farms and the activities of the Amish people. We would definitely (and have) recommended this park to many friends. There are rules about pets and as a pet owner we had no complaints. I like a clean park and areas for my little dog to walk in: so we abide by all the rules!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
This is a very quiet, attractive campground primarily located on terraced sites that offer a beautiful view of the Amish farmlands. We were far away from the office and the Wi-Fi worked OK for us. I would have rated it higher if the women in the office gave us any reason to think she was happy that we were staying here. Not a smile, barely a Thank You. Caught heck because we took our dog from our tow vehicle and put her in the trailer without a leash. Yes, I know those are the rules but she didn't have to be nasty about it. If you do not have kids or pets, and want nothing but quiet this is a great campground We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$55
We love this park..recommended by friends because of the awesome view. While I can understand some of the comments about the rules, I also understand that the RULES make this park so nice. The owner seems harass when you first meet her but when you get to know her she is a very nice person. I found the park very quiet, very relaxing, and the views cannot be found anywhere in this area. Facilities were very clean. We set up our site keeping everything off the grass with the exception of a few flower planters that would not hurt the grass and we had no problems with the owner. We would come here again and are planning on coming next year. The only negative thing I can say is that the cable TV has poor reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$42
I've passed this campground many times while in Lancaster county. The wife and I decided to check it out while doing some recon on other campsites in the area. We have no dogs and the kid is grown. We checked the place out and we're not surprised there isn't much to do for kids. Its basically in the middle of nowhere, it overlooks the Amish valley, it's quiet and clean: perfect! Sure, the lady in the office is intense about the rules and dogs, but I tried not to give her any reason to be the nut a lot of people claim she is. (I'm not implying anyone did.) I mind my business and responsibilities and you mind yours, period! I'm here to relax with a few cocktails by the campfire. She did come by once for no apparent reason except some story about needing to cut through our site to get to another. It took her more time and distance to cut through than if she continued her original route. I knew her story was BS (trust me she has a lot of BS), she was just being nosey. If you have kids, forget this place. If you have a dog, get his bark removed first. As for the shower or bathroom, they are clean but isn't that what your camper is for? I'll stay here again. When I camp, the disposition of the owners is the last thing on my mind. It sure beats being stuck next to some loud family, but that's another story. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$42
The views here are great and it is very conveniently located. Sites are fairly large and well spaced. But there are a lot of rules. You can bring your dog, but there is no place for them to get off the leash, even though there is plenty of room for a fenced area. They do not tolerate any barking, which was fine by me. The woman in the office was downright unpleasant. She should not be running a campground or doing anything dealing with people. I'm not sure I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$41
We stayed here first in 1994. New owners 6 years ago. Pros: Level sites, all gravel. Some shade sites. Beautiful view of the farms in the valley. Quiet. Cons: Rules. Every where you turn there are rules. Granted rules are good but too many, whoa! like only one bag of trash per day allowed. I can see no parking on grass, but not even a welcome mat? I would call this a pet allowed park, not pet friendly. If your dog barks even once you are on your way out per the written rules. Even though you have WiFi it apparently isn't turned on til after 8:00am. We tried every morning but couldn't get on until right after 8:00 am. Cable TV is free with on 25 channels and the reception is not that great. Bathrooms are clean but have seen better days. $41 is a lot for this park. No discounts unless you stay a week, then one free day. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$39
Wonderful park, great views, clean and very dog friendly. Hostess very nice and helpful. We wished we had more time there. Visited another campground in the area that did not allow children. Yuck. This is the place to stay. We plan to return for a longer stay in 2011. We camped with three big dogs who had lots of grass to walk on. Very clean and well kept campground. This one is a winner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
This particular park is about the most peaceful that we have ever stayed in. With a 5 mile vista of the surrounding Amish Countryside, it makes for a wonderful views of the horse and carriages and Amish lifestyle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$47
The campground is clean and well kept with beautiful views of the Amish farmland below. With the exception of one of the owners, what a condescending and rude individual for a campground owner. They say pets are welcome, but they in no way make you or your pet feel comfortable. They have more dog rules than you can shake a stick at. Your pooch makes ANY sound whatsoever and the Bark Police are calling your cell phone and banging on your door. Totally uncalled for. I enjoyed my stay but will not return. We were told we had to make other arrangments for our pet in order to be welcome. I thought something was up when we went to such a nice place on a busy weekend and the place was half empty. By the way our pet is a 6 pound Maltese, not a big or noisy dog. These folks have something to learn about customer service. But since this is America I'll exercise my rights and take my business to the campground down the street . We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$47
Caution: you are about to enter the “Going to the Extreme” zone! First, let me say this is a beautiful, well kept campground with an absolutely gorgeous view of Amish country. Based on this, the campground would receive a 10 rating. Unfortunately, the owners lack in “people skills” and the inconsistency with their “rules” brought down the rating. Because of the holiday weekend, we were told there was a 4 night minimum for the preferred sites. However, there were other campers that stayed in those same preferred sites for only 2 nights. Interesting! The owners are often unpleasant and rude, then later try to be nice. If you have a pet, do not plan on staying here. According to the rules, your dog is not allowed to bark, no excuses. We can understand if a dog is out of control and barks constantly, but how do you keep your dog from barking once in a while. Since it was a holiday weekend, you would think it would be packed. Well, this campground was about 25 percent empty the whole weekend. Now isn’t that telling? Also, the cable TV only has local channels. No national news, weather, sports or other channels are available. For campers safety, a campground should always have a weather channel on their cable in the event of storms. If you want a campground where you can hear a pin drop, then this place is for you. This is not a place for kids or dogs. And a final message to the owners: Remember, it is not what you say, it is how you say it! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$47
Great views. Very peaceful. Not a campground if you have small kids since there is no pool, game room or even vending machines. The hosts are extremely friendly. This is really a perfect place to relax and serve as a base to enjoy the local culture. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$41
Just returned from 3 days and 2 nights at the quietest and most pleasant campground we've stayed at. The owners were friendly and helpful and the site was perfect. There are sites for all tastes at Country Haven. We preferred a large wooded lot with lots of shade. They have a lovely wooded section, a semi-wooded section and sites that are wide open but with at least 1 large shade tree. The view of the Amish farms across the valley was wonderful. We prefer to sit back, read and relax in a peaceful surrounding and we had it here (early evening during the week all I could hear, other than the birds, were a couple of Amish horse carriages clopping down the road that runs along the side of the campground). All sites had full hook-ups available, good water pressure and very adequate electric power (we registered about 118 amps). No pool, no kids in golf carts, no game room, no store; just peace and quiet only 1:20 from Cherry Hill, NJ or about 45 minutes from downtown Philadelphia. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$53
The folks at Country Haven run a nice tight ship which in turn consistently leads to an immaculate campground that far surpasses the rest! Our family stays here annually, and this is always my favorite trip of the year! The grounds are beautifully maintained and the sites are neat, tidy and spacious. I love the fact that it's not a "partying" campground but a clean, family oriented environment. We look forward to our stay here in a few weeks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$55
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Country Haven. Quiet, friendly and partially tree shaded. Convenient to local attractions; helpful and friendly owners. Will definitely return. Pull-through sites are long and fairly level, but a little close together; otherwise would rate a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$47
We have camped here twice this year. It is the best view of the Amish farms you will find. This has become one of our favorite campgrounds. Not much to do at the campground if you bring kids, but there's plenty to do in the area. It's very clean and lots of peace and quiet. Just the sound of the occasional horse and buggy. The view is spectacular!!!! Can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$41
We stayed for one night. Owners were very helpful. Beautiful campground. Very quiet. Beautiful views. Gated entrance. Will definitely stay here again. Nice campground for a couple. No entertainment for children. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$39
We stayed on a Friday night: the campground was pretty much full. Was very quiet and peaceful. Very nice for people who want to have a nice quiet, relaxing stay. Owners were friendly and stuck to their rules. We are business owners and realize there has to be rules to follow. Very well kept campground in a beautiful setting. We stayed in a shaded site. A very level site. All amenities were as stated on website. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$54
A very nice campground. Stayed previously in October of 2005, then again in August 2009. We were escorted to our site, and the owners helped us back in. The sites were very clean and with the best hookups (especially water) that I have ever used. They have some shaded sites and also sites with great views of the Amish farms. Not much for children to do, however, we loved the peace and quiet. We found the owners were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely return to Country Haven in the near future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
Stayed here for a few nights in order to go to Hershey area (no CG available at the last minute in Hershey) but it is not close to Hershey (1 hr+ with summer traffic). CG was well maintained, beautiful view, very quiet. Nothing for children except two swings, but we were traveling without children anyway. Some sites fully wooded, others open on a terraced hillside that looked out over Amish country. Narrow, windy roads to get to CG with some tight turns; that being said, we were in a 43' MH and made out fine - had to wait for oncoming traffic to make a turn once, but that was all. Worst part was getting out of the CG - big boulders marking driveway/roadway. Not very ideal for a large MH... Owners on site - friendly, but insistent/strict on following the rules. Understandable to us as we are business owners ourselves and it is your neck on the line if something goes wrong. They may have taken it to the extreme in some cases, but still, they were helpful and kind to us\, and their park - their rules. Knew that going into it by reading other reviews. We had to leave early (1 day) - forfeited that money rather than get into a battle I would not win b/c the rules obviously stated 'no refunds'. Oh well... Would stay again if wanting to be in the Lancaster area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
The most unfriendly camps we have ever been in. We would not return if they gave it to us for free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
This is VERY FUNNY: stumbled upon this website and wanted to see what others said about the most rude and unfriendly RV resort owner I encountered in my 4 years camping. She actually made my family wait 30 minutes because we showed up a little early, or else we could pay extra ($20 bucks I think). You must be kidding! She must have been a former school teacher or lawyer. She knew I was annoyed so she tried to make nice after checking in. Great views, terrible owners. I find it real funny everyone else thinks so too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$36
This is a wonderful campground. The views of the Amish countryside are spectacular. The owners are very courteous and take great pride in keeping the campground neat, clean and accommodating their guests. Since this is not a campground with playgrounds and activities for children, those camping with children looking for entertainment would probably enjoy another campground. We are 2 retired travelers and would not hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$43
One of my worst experiences. Owner caters towards his regulars, either ignores or pesters newcomers. No store on premises, campground did not offer locations for nearby stores. Water quality is heavy with iron. WiFi was not available, apparently router was bad. Was told they were waiting for parts. Pet policy is selective - small dogs yapping while owners with standard sized dogs were constantly harassed. Campground caters to older campers. There is nothing for campers with kids not even a swing. Restrooms were not clean. Price exceeded value of campsite. The only plus is that the campground is situated on a hillside overlooking farm fields. I would not recommend this place to any of my friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$48
Nice park great location and view. Campground owners not very friendly. Owners ruined weekend from checkin to checkout. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
Very well kept campground. Restrooms very.very clean. Quiet setting, overall one of the quietest campground we have ever been. Not much activities for children but thats what makes it so nice and peaceful. Owners very nice and helpful. Have stayed here many times and will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$40
This is well-kept park in a beautiful location. You can see Amish farmland for miles from the campground. The owners/managers are will go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable. Although the campground serves big rigs they may have difficulty with longer fifth wheels pulled by HDTs (Heavy Duty Trucks). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$43
This is a very nice park with paved roads, grass sites, picnic tables and fire rings. There is cable TV with a large selecton of chanels. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We were in a "preferred site", which has the view of the valley, lots of Amish farmland and buggies going by. They are expanding their wifi coverage, and were having some growing pains, but it worked most of the time and was fast. The owner came by a couple times to alert us when it was going to be down and why, which was nice and no other campground has done that for us, a nice touch of their concern for guests. We will stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$42
This is my sixth time visiting Country Haven, and it is my favorite of all the campgrounds I have visited in the three years that I have owned my RV. Beautiful views, friendly owners, quiet, relaxing and close to our favorite outlets and farmer's markets. The thing that I like best is that the owners have policies for the comfort of all the campers, and actually follow through with them. This is the only campground that I know I'll have a good experience. There won't be unleashed dog running around or noisy obnoxious neighbors. Some people don't like rules or think the rules don't apply to them. But by having common sense guidelines and following them, everyone can have a pleasant experience. Can't wait to go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$43
We have camped here a number of times over the past few years and found this campground very pleasant and relaxing. If you are looking for a place to go with a lot of activities this is not the place. It sits on a hillside with a 'spectacular' view of the Lancaster area countryside. All of the premium sites are large and easily accessible with again, a view to die for. Cons are no store, no pool, no nothing else. In the heart of Amish country with plenty to see and do. If you are looking for a spot for some good old rest and relaxation this is the place. I know some others have posted some issues with some of the management, but in all of the times we have camped here we have never had any issues. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2007
$43
We stayed at this campsite in 2003 and were delighted with the condition of the campsite, the magnificent country views and the warmth and friendliness of the owners. Consequently we were dismayed and a little skeptical about the recent negative ratings and remarks about the new owners. We felt sure it must have been some sort of clash of personalities. Wow, were we wrong! We recently called in while we were in the area just to get a copy of their latest brochure and were greeted with an aggressive rudeness that was unbelievable, totally out of line and which got worse the more we tried to mediate. We assume that this person was the woman referred to in the previous comments and we can confirm that she clearly has some sort of major problem. Needless to say this campsite is off our list until we hear there are new new owners. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$48
My husband and I spent 9 days at this campground. It is in a very quiet rural setting in the heart of Amish farmland. The campground is on a hill overlooking a valley with several farms. This is the view we had from our kitchen window. Beautiful! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had no problem running our a/c or any other appliances, and we have had these problems at other campgrounds. We have learned to always reserve a site with a 50 amp hookup. If you are looking for a place to relax and get away from it all, this is the place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2007
$37
This used to be one of our favorite campgrounds. Unfortunately, it changed hands a few years ago and the new owners are jerks. You can read other posters remarks about the owners. I take issue with them not disclosing their power problems until after I paid in full. I couldn’t use my AC because the voltage was so low and they were constantly experiencing brown outs. When I inquired about the problem she got real defensive and said PPL only supplies them with 108 volts. Well it would have been nice of her to tell me that before I paid in full. I would have turned around a left since an AC requires 120 volts. Of course they don’t care because they can’t be held accountable because of the following statement that appears on your receipt: “The camper accepts camping privileges with the understanding that they carry their own liability and comprehensive insurance to protect against theft, pilferage, fire, windstorm, water damage, hail and vandalism. Camper does hereby release the Campground, its officers and employees of all liability for loss or damage caused by the Campground’s negligence or the negligence of its employees or officers, to property and injury to his person arising out of his use of its camping facilities, and agrees to indemnify the Campground, it’s officers and employees, against claims resulting from loss or damage to property or injury to the person or any member of the family or guest of the registered camper arising out of the use of it’s camping facilities.” “No refund for inclement weather or early departure.” I paid for nine days but departed after just one day. It was 98 degrees, no shade and I couldn’t run my AC. They can shove the money. I’m not going to let a couple of annoying idiots ruin my vacation. We ended up at another campground where we could run our AC, refrigerator and hot water on electric. Plus we didn’t have to put up with the owners harassing us the whole time. Sorry, but the view just isn’t worth it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$33
This is one of our very favorite campgrounds because we like to be able to have a good view of the valley and be close to the road to observe the Amish going about their daily activities. However, it is just about impossible to get one of our favorite sites. Haven't been able to determine what you need to do to get one. There was a noticeable difference in attitude from the new owners' first year and their second year of operation. It seemed obvious that they had limited experience working with the public and they seemed to have been burned by previous guests. The bathrooms and laundry room were impecabbly maintained. If we are back in the area, we would give the campground another chance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2006
$39
In the past we would go to this park periodically because it was a very nice, clean, and quiet park. To our dismay, this had changed on our last trip. The previous owners were very kind and gracious, but this was not the case with the new owners. It wasn't as clean as before, they were not nice, and they had increased the rates to what you would have expected if it were a resort and had resort amenities, and it is anything but a resort. We will not go back. We will go to Spring Gulch which is about 2 mile away in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2006
$34
Unfortunately for those of us who enjoy this campground, and it's rolling hills, so has the word "hospitality" seemed to have rolled right away with the recent addition of two new owners. I have never seen two people more unhappy in their current work situation. Nothing is more of a "put off" than to be greeted with a long list of rules and regulations, AND then have to deal with a grumpy, "I don't care if you stay here or not" attitude. This attitude was relayed to us, after we asked some simple questions. It is not always wise to choose a business for which you may be ill suited, which seems to be the case at this campground. Other than that, steer clear of the owners, and enjoy the best views of the Amish country in Lancaster County. Some shaded areas, quiet and clean. Watch out upon check-in for the pay if full, no refunds, no matter what, and signing your rights away on an insignificant waiver. AND DON'T ASK ANY QUESTIONS! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2006
$40
Read reviews on this site before selecting campground. One (broken awning) was troublesome, but balance of reviews were positive and thought maybe this was just a one crank. Not so. Owner or co-owner is a real piece of work. The campground advertises a playground. When we arrived our daughter saw two swings. She was very disappointed. We had asked if children were welcome. owner stated "she had no problem with children." Does this mean welcome? When we asked about the "playground," owner stated "I told you there is nothing here for children!" We had told campground we'd probably stay about two weeks. But, we also hesitated to pay in full for two weeks with no refund policy. Please note the campground was NOT even close to full--even on weekend. Owner insisted we must commit or leave. We committed for about 3 days. Then we left. Episode was strange because at times in same conversation she'd be nice then nasty. Odd. This seemed strange business practice since her insistence on control actually caused us to leave. The strangest of all was we were required to sign a waiver of liability INCLUDING negligence by the campground! We found this humorous since these waivers are worthless, but it surely reflects the attitude/control of these owners. After we moved to another campground, those owners told us they'd heard about New Haven and the poor attitude of new owners. Pros: Campground is shady. Sites are spaced okay. Some sites have a nice view, though no shade. Cons: Must sign waiver of liability including negligence at sign-in. Very remote location. Attractions are very spread out in the Lancaster area and this campground adds a 30 commute to most anything. Owner's rather strange/controlling nature. Her husband seems to be extra friendly. Showers are timed--have to keep pushing them on. Lack of playground, despite advertising a playground. Would never stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$33
Beautiful and quiet campground. One you go to without the children, there isn't anything for them to do. Staff was very friendly. The view from the preferred sites is gorgeous. Very relaxing campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$33
We camped here on a Friday and Saturday. This is the most relaxing campground we have ever stayed at. The staff was wonderful and all the people we talked to were very friendly. This is not the campground to go to if you are looking for children's activities. This is basically an adult park that is very clean, quiet, and well cared for. The area is like a picture and the bakery across the street has the best baked goods I have had in a long while. This park is family run and they do a great job. We are going back again in August for a BBQ Cookoff in New Holland. We camped in the wooded section. Bottom line: a great place to stay! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2006
$40
We stayed at this campground over Thanksgiving in 2005, and again in the Spring of 2006. Owners are very nice. One of our group members ran out of LP and the owner offered to fill them late one night. Very quiet and they enforce their rules, which we appreciate. Incredible views of the valley from most/all sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$37
Nice quiet CG. Beautiful view. Helpful, friendly owners. They are working hard to make some major improvements to the facilities. Don't know all the story of the other poster, but I didn't see any problems. Sites are level and good size. If we return to this area, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2005
$39
We really enjoy this campground because of the view and how quiet it is. The facilities and grounds are immaculate. If you want to catch a glimpse of the Amish countryside, sites, and sounds then this is your place. If you are looking for activities for your children, they will probably be disappointed. We strongly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2005
$45
Country Haven is a beautiful campground. I have been staying here for several years. However, new owners have taken over recently. Beware of the owner's wife. She appears friendly but becomes very obnoxious and rude when she sees a "violation." When you check in you will get the dog speech, and complaining about insurance rates. She watches the campground, high above her perch, as if she was guarding a prison camp. I have always enjoyed my experiences here, but many people have complained about the way they are being treated. A gentlemen who has been coming here for twenty years, was yelled at because he parked his car on the grass. It seems ironic when they have RV's parked all over the grass and yet she complains about a car? She also complains to parents when their children make noise on the playground? I should say that her husband seems like a very nice gentleman. He seems to be the voice of reason! I hope that these recent experiences are because she is new to the business. People go camping to relax and enjoy the atmosphere, not to be treated like children. I plan to return for one more trip this year. If her behavior does not change, I can assure you that it will be my last trip! So: I went back, even after the last bad experience, hoping that it was just a one time occurrence. I returned for Columbus Day 2005. During my stay it rained the entire weekend. Unfortunately, during the storm, my awning was broken in half, and damaged beyond repair. I had to remove it from the camper because of the extensive damage. The day I was leaving I saw the owner. He was sympathetic but obviously there was nothing he could do. After speaking with him, I cleaned up and checked out. Making reservations for 2006. When I was leaving I took the awning up to the dumpster and put it beside the dumpster. I folded it in half as best I could so it didn't take up a lot of space. There was no way I could take the awning with me since it barely fit in the truck. I thought I was being helpful by taking it to the dumpster. This week (Nov 2005), I received a letter from the owners (probably the wife), sarcastically thanking me for leaving the awning. See the below letter, exactly as it was written. I was really shocked by the tone of the letter and the action she took. If she had called me and told me it was a problem, I would have paid to have it removed or made other arrangements. Instead, she choose to write a nasty letter and cancel future reservations. Clearly she has no customer service skills or the decency of the average person, at best! After receiving this letter, there is no way that I would return to Country Haven. She is clearly a nasty woman with some type of apparent psychological issues. Maybe she will seek professional help and learn to deal with people in a professional manner. I obviously would not recommend this campground. The previous owners were great people and very welcoming. This tradition has not continued with the new owners: at least not the wife. Good luck to anyone who decides to come here. I'm sure you will enjoy the view. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2005
$32
Wonderfully Quiet and Peaceful! Their slogan is "The Quiet One". Two tiered loops overlooking beautiful Amish farmland and two wooded loops that are more private. We stayed at site 17 in the wooded section for a week with our 38' motorhome with plenty of room for our rig and towed vehicle. This park is very well situated right near everything you want to see in the Amish country but not right in all the crowds and traffic. There is a fantastic bakery right across the street with wonderful homemade pies and the best donuts in the world! Also a farmstand nearby with the juiciest peaches you will ever find. The owners are fellow RVers and the friendliest and most helpful people you could ever meet. We throughly enjoyed our stay and will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$26
This is a very nice small park run by a family. The sites are noise free, have a great view of farm land below, you can see about 7 miles across. Site is a nice place to see Penn Dutch or rest. The food is very good close by. The air is clean and you can see the people working on farms down below. Most all site are set into a hill so each unit can see down the hill. We like this place a lot. The park is full most of the time. Best to call for reservations. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com