218867 User submitted reviews online!!
Red Run Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (717) 445-4526
CGID2469

Red Run Campground

Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   9   8   9   10   7   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
A nice wooded park in the Amish/Mennonite countryside of Lancaster County. Park was about half full. Clean park overall, pool looked in great shape and staff was friendly. WiFi service was limited, but free. Had a free ice cream social on Saturday night. Didn't have problem with electric service, as reported in a 2013 review. Nice, fairly spacious sites available along a quiet stream; most of the permanent sites are along a public road that bisects the campground, or segregated around a large pond, away from the rest of the campground. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
The location is really nice with a lake and a stream. The sites are wooded. Some are spacious, others are cramped. A number of us at the campground found the electricity to be unreliable. We were also not alone is finding the owner abrupt and unhelpful. There are better campgrounds in the area. We planned to stay for a week and left after 1 night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$6
Very friendly campground and staff. All spots are flat with plenty of trees and shade. The showers are clean but have mold. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
This is a very nice park, quiet. Also, the owners are friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
This is a nice, family-friendly campground. Sites are fairly level; we were in a pull-through, which was an all-grass site. Some of the back-in sites are next to a nice, clean creek that my kids had fun wading in. Staff is very nice and helpful. If you're looking for a nice weekend with the family, I recommend Red Run. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
We stayed at Red Run as our first foray into Pennsylvania from NJ. It was easy to find (signs posted from about 3 roads out off the PA Turnpike) and easily navigable once there. There are some seasonal sites that are well kept, but we didn't feel like 'outsiders' as there were plenty of weekenders there for Christmas in July. The staff was helpful and courteous and the facilities were clean. The playground, as stated, is a bit dated, but all in working order and not dangerous. My kids loved it, so I did not subtract for that. The other children in the campground were friendly and well behaved. The campground itself is beautiful. Nicely manicured and maintained. There is a road running through the middle of the campground, but traffic on it was light. As many Menonite teen's on bicycles as cars. If you're headed to Pennsylvania Dutch Country and looking for an affordable, convenient, and friendly place to stay, I highly recommend Red Run. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
When we arrived, our campsite had a large muddy area due to an earlier rain. We camped along the stream and did enjoy that feature. However there is a road on the other side of the stream so there was some noise involved. It wasn't too terrible, but still noticeable. The campground was smaller than we anticipated, and the sites were smaller than we generally like. We didn't feel safe lighting a fire due to the closeness of our fire ring to the next site. The playground was dated, although my daughter was pleased with the swingset. It sits in the sun and since the slide is metal, it didn't take long for it to get scorching hot. My husband said the restrooms were quite clean. My daughter enjoyed Christmas in July, and the park staff was very friendly. This campground is out in the country and makes for some nice scenery along the way. So all in all, we had a good time. Our only real problem was the closeness of the sites: we just prefer a little room from our neighbors, and there is very few sites with a lot of room in between. Considering how clean and friendly the staff were, we would camp here again should our other preferred campgrounds be booked. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
My family liked this campground. Very friendly staff and we loved fishing. The pond was great. We went in early May just to get away, and the fish were jumping. We also liked being in the middle of the country. It was a great time all in all! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$35
Most sites are wooded and all are dirt,a little muddy when it rains and are tight back to back but not bad on each side. Amish buggies go thru roadway between the office & the sites daily! The campground is way out in the farm land! Went there in the fall & staff was burning leaves all around the sites which made a lot of smoke! Staff & other campers were very friendly. Poor TV reception and difficult to use satellite because of all of the trees. Nice small campground feel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
It's been 20 years since I've been to Red Run. It was my favorite campground then and now it's the favorite of my kids. Sites near covered bridge or more roomy than the ones down past the lodge. The squirt gun hay ride was the silliest hayride ever! We laughed so hard at all the campers coming at us w/ their garden hoses. The fishing pond was great!! The boys were pulling small fish in left and right! Only reason for giving a 9 is the DJ should consider being more of a family oriented DJ, particularly since younger children are here with their families. I'm not a bump on a log, but some of his songs have profanity and sexual overtones: not good for the little ones' ears. He could still provide a lot of fun without having to play that kind of music. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
We just returned from camping here for the July 4 weekend. This is the most crowded campground we've ever been too. I can't believe how tight they squeeze in all these big rigs. I only counted about 4 or 5 tent campers, about the same amount of pop ups and the rest were HUGE fifth wheels or A class rigs. I wish we went back to Spring Gulch instead this year. We thought we'd try a something different but were very disappointed in how tight the campsites are. They did have plenty of activities -- hay ride (without the hay) horse shoe tournament, bingo (mostly adults, a kids candy bar bingo would have been nice) a band, karaoke, dj, and pool games. However I was very disappointed that during the band and dj at night there was plenty of drinking and smoking. Okay, I know it's legal to drink and smoke but if this is a "family friendly" campground, maybe the adults could have had a good time without pouring shots, drinking beer and chain smoking in the lodge with all the kids. It really got out of hand and we had to leave before too long because the room was so smoky (and we didn't think the excessive, flagrant drinking was too appropriate given the mixed ages). If it weren't so crowded and if I didn't feel we were out of place by bringing the kids, I'd like this place a lot. As it was though, unfortunately, we won't be returning. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2004
$35
Great little CG. Very clean, great sites. Owners are very nice and friendly. Pool is great. This is one of my favorite campgrounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$27
Very nice campground, located around the amish country. Sites where close but shaded, and required minimal leveling. Only thing stopping them from a 10 or 9 was there rate schedule. They offer a low rate, then charge for everything under the sun. If you use your AC be prepared to pay $ 3.00 additional per night! Very close to Amish Markets and Reading Outlet Malls! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com