214753 User submitted reviews online!!
Fox Den Acres was rated 7 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (724) 925-7054
CGID2472

Fox Den Acres

Camp Information
Sites
350
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   9   8   8   9   9   8   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
Nice park. Very friendly staff. pull-throughs were exceptionally long. Check-in and store had very limited hours. Pool was nice but restrooms were pitiful! They had paid showers and only one restroom/shower up on top of hill by pool --- a little walk if you were in the lower area. No laundry facilities. Lots of kids' space; ballpark, soccer area, playgrounds, ponds, and creek. Will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Road from Rt 66 to the campground is a bit winding and narrow 2-lane road. Campground has gravel driveways. Stayed in the lower loop. It is an open field with RV sites. Sites had deep gravel, were L-O-N-G and level pull-throughs. Upper sites looked to be back-ins and shorter. Fishing pond and swimming pool are up on the hill. Not really conducive to walking, but you could. There aren't a lot of RVing options in this area, so you take what you can get. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
We enjoyed this campground and wished we could have stayed longer than overnight. Large campground with multiple areas. Some wooded areas and a large area with few trees. Has lakes and ponds. Very pet friendly and if you walk around the trail around the park and lake its about 5 miles. We didn't have to disconnect our toad. Flat, level, and gravel site with grass in between. Plenty of room for our 4 slides. Be careful of the steep entrance. We would gladly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$29
Stayed one week. Big campground. Lots of levels. Lots of friendly seasonals. We were in what I'd call the lower level. Had back-ins and very long (120 feet plus) pull-throughs. Gravel roads and gravel sites. Had excellent cable TV and slow Wi-Fi. Allows campfires. Had to close our windows a few nights to avoid dying of smoke inhalation. Easy in and out with a heavy duty truck and trailer (60 ft. combo). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$32
Just 2 changes since my review from May 2013. Wi-Fi is incredibly slow. Comcast has scrambled the cable signal and a box is required to receive the cable signal. The owner has not as of this date purchased the boxes which would then probably be rented to campers. There is a clear view of the Southern sky so satellite customers can receive a good signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
Beautiful campground! Lots of open spaces and places to hike with the dog. We used this as a gateway to Pittsburgh which was a hike, but it worked. The sites were reasonably level and the pull throughs were VERY long. The Wi-Fi worked well. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
We really liked this park. We would've stayed longer if we didn't need to get to our destination, plus the rate was very good compared to others. We stayed on the lower level in a long, level, gravel pull-through with 50 amp FHU. There are no trees on the lower level, but nice views and an open field. Good space between sites. The lower level is easy in and out. The upper level has trees, but most, if not all, are back-ins. Lots of space to walk the dog. The Wi-Fi was excellent, which was a change as most places we've stayed have had lousy Wi-Fi. I think the cable listed on their website means there's cable access for longtimers. We weren't able to get cable, and the lady in the office wasn't sure about it, so we used our antenna and were able to get 4 local channels. The CG was clean, and there's a cute, quaint office/store. Friendly staff. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
Quiet, partially wooded campground with mix of backins and pull thrus. Pull thrus are in an open field (no shade) at base of campground. Gravel access roads and gravel sites; sites are mostly level but you may need to choose location within site carefully to get level; ok spacing between sites (about 12-15 ft). No problems maneuvering within the park. Power great (120V with A/C running); water pressure good (45 psi); ok sewer hookups; wifi pretty decent speed for a campground; cell service very weak. We will stay here again. If coming in from PA 66 / I-76 / I-77, watch out for the trees on Racetrack road - they aren't trimmed back completely. Also, turn into campground just BEFORE the sign even though it looks like it's in the middle of the campground driveway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$26
This is a great park for a few nights. We don't use a lot of services at CGs and don't like to overpay when were not going to use them. This CG is well located away from road noise, good WiFi, and clear skies for satellite in lower area. Very nice grass areas for playing ball with the dog and easy access to I-70 and I-76. 45 minute drive to downtown Pittsburgh and many other small towns to visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
Decent CG. Pool was nice. Kiddie pool needed to be cleaned. No laundry facilities. Close proximity to several local attractions. The newer sites in lower field looked decent. We were in a site near pool. Very small narrow wooded site with an odd patio that didn't leave any room between awning and next camper. Seasonal and transients intermixed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
Mixed reaction to this park. Grounds are attractive and well maintained. The one staff memeber we met was friendly and helpful. The pool looked clean and inviting, but we didn't go in. On the other hand, the restrooms and showers were gross; things crawling up and down the walls in the showers, etc. Obviously, indoor cleaning is not a high priority. Overall, this park was a bust for us. We came for 2 nights; coming from a dry camp and headed to a dry camp. We expected to bathe and do laundry. The water was off at our site from early the first night to mid afternoon the next day. Next, the power went off at least 6 times from the afternoon we arrived to the morning we left. They were very short outages, but annoying. All the clocks have to be reset and the satellite goes through it's lock on and initialization again (ruining shows recording). Lots of long term residents, some with not too attractive looking sites, but it looks like transients are in a separate area. The short term area looked new and featured plenty of gravel on the roads and sites, but very tiny trees. We will probably not come back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
Rate is daily rate with tax, stay six nights, seventh is free. We were in the new section, lots of newly laid gravel, areas between sites newly seeded grass, some growing better than others. Did not use the wireless, Verizon internet slow, phone OK. Cable TV at all sites, but my converter and older (non-digital) TV wouldn't work on the cable. CBS and PBS OK on the antenna, NBC very marginal. Very long pull throughs, no need to unhook. We decided to use this campground to visit Pittsburgh and the Frank Lloyd Wright houses, all about 45 minutes away. The owner was very friendly, and a store/office that doubles as a museum. We's stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
We stayed here for 5 days while visiting family in Pittsburgh. Of all the campgrounds within 1 hour of Pittsburgh this is the only one that is convenient and to which we would return. We used the long pull-through sites in the new section and, as we are self contained, did not use any amenities except the cable, Wi-Fi, WES. The campground was not really 'open' for the season. The amenities we used were good to superior and the price was right for the area. Having said that, if we hadn't had plans to be elsewhere all day everyday, I think we might have felt a little at loose ends; the pool wasn't open yet and there wasn't anything else to do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
Long pull through sites and friendly staff. No bathhouse in lower section. We had to go to upper section. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
The campground is ideal for an overnight stay. Very long pull throughs. Wi-Fi was good. There were a lot of resident campers here although that didn't bother us as they were in a separate part of the campground to us. Would return . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
We are here for a week and it is OK. Fairly level pull through gravel site that is about 100' long so will accommodate any length rig. Water pressure is good and voltage is good. No laundry so I deducted a point for that but added the point back after I hooked up to their WiFi, it is very good. Park is an old park and kind of rustic but we are in the lower section where satellite access is no problem. Bathrooms are very old. All interior roads are gravel. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
Used this for a 1 night stop at the end of a 3 week trip, the campground is very nice but some of the sites were very close but Ok for a stop over. There are better sites just got the luck of the draw I guess. Bath houses were clean but do show their age, pool looked nice but to late to use it. The owners were very helpful and friendly, will plan to use this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
Beautiful setting on a lush hillside. Heavily populated with seasonals with tasteful encampments. Sparkling pool. Polite and helpful staff. Playground could use some attention. Would like to visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
We used this campground for an overnight stop while traveling the PA Turnpike. The signage to the campground is excellent. We took a previous reviewers suggestion, and stopped well before the office so we could make the turn down to the overnight section. Staff was friendly, but we did not get any Wi-Fi info, and nothing listed on the handout. We only hooked up electric, good voltage. We did not use the bath house, but it is a long way from the lower section. We used our own, so not a problem. The exit road needs work, it is gravel with huge potholes, and a terrible angle to see oncoming traffic to enter the roadway. Overall, a good campground. We would use this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
Stopped just about dark for an overnight stay enroute to Ohio. Was open field camping, full hook ups. Narrow sites but easy access in and out for a 43' motorhome. This place was packed on a Friday night, mostly overnights parked here, seasonals on the upper/wooded sites. Would NOT attempt anything other than the field/lower sites for larger rigs. Stop before getting to the check in building so you have room to make the turn to go down the hill to the lower sites (otherwise you may have to back up). Everything worked great: 50 amp, water pressure, Wi-Fi. Did not use any other facilities so can't comment. Would go back as an overnight or couple day stay if I was in the area or visiting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
We stayed here in travel trailer to visit Pittsburg and Kennywood theme park. Somehow we got a site at the top of the hill mixed in with mostly seasonal sites. (Most of the renter sites are in a field at the bottom of the hill.) Our site was a little small, but had great shade and a wonderful view of the campground and mountains. There was a decent playground and sandpits for smaller children. The pool was well maintained and busy when we went, but it also had a smaller wading pool for the little ones as well as two slides into the main pool. We only used the bathhouse as we were pulling out but they were clean. The camp store is very “bare essentials” and did not offer much. This is a very friendly campground and is good for exploring the Pittsburg area. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
This was a good place for a couple nights while visiting the area. Parking for our motorhome was in a large open grassy area, no picnic table. The seasonals were up in the treed hills. People were friendly and we liked walking around here. The one bathroom was very dated and small, and there was no laundry. They could use some benches around the lake. We saw no problem with the folks driving around on their golf carts. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
Loved the park. Stayed over Memorial Day and it was a lot of fun. Had breakfast for us and really enjoyed getting to know the regulars. We were in the field and there were ruts where another motor home had trouble getting out after all the rains, but was not a problem. Lots of room for our 45 footer with the car parked in front. Close to big towns but far enough out for peace and quiet. Would highly recommend it to fellow campers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
It was an overnight stop and in the lower level and site was OK and all worked well, however I did see the speeding golf carts as I walked. On a big week end this could be a very busy and noisy place. But as noted it worked for one night and there is not much else in the area. If you are parking in the lower area do not go to the store or you will have go through campground to get to your site. If you are a big rig ask for the lower area as it has no trees and has long pull throughs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
We camped here over Labor Day weekend. While the staff was friendly and the sites were fairly level with no hook-up problems, I still gave this campground a '5' because of the level of traffic at the camp site. The seasonals are located throughout the campground with what appears to be no rhyme or reason on how they are laid out. Also, there were numerous ATVs and golfcarts throughout the camp that rarely adhered to posted speed limits or actual roads. It was a regular occurrence to see folks who were clearly intoxicated driving around at night on their ATVs. While I am not a teetotaler in any form, the number of almost accidents I witnessed as a result of alcohol was huge. Perhaps not the best campground to bring a family with young children on a holiday weekend. That being said, the chicken dinner on Saturday was excellent and the candy bar bingo and lollipop hunt on Sunday were a lot of fun. This campground appears to focused on the seasonal rental crowd and not the transient users. I most likely will not camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
We visit the area several times a year visiting family and usually stay in one of the KOAs located on I-70. We were very dissatisfied with their high priced, unlevel sites so we found an alternative at Fox Den Acres. This campground has 2 sections: the upper level is heavily treed and the lower section is a large, level field with full hookups. We have a 40 ft 5th wheel and this was perfect for us. We found the staff friendly and helpful, Verizon cell and air card worked satisfactorily, and it was easy in/out to the nearby interstate. The price is much lower that the KOA's. We will stay at this campground from now on when we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$32
We go to this campground once a year and although it shows signs of age it is still fairly nice. The bottom of part of the campground is a large field and we have never stayed in this part. We camped above the lake and it is much quieter than the rest of the park. The owner/manager has always been very accommodating to us and we have always enjoyed our time here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
Nice campground. Pull throughs are very large and grassy. Good satellite reception. Outstanding for an overnight stop. Easy in/out. Noticed what seemed to be a nice area in the woods with additional campsites but did not explore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
Fine for an overnight stay while visiting the Pittsburgh area. Large pull-throughs in an open field make it decent for big rigs. Not worth the $32 per night charge but not many parks to choose from in the area. Lots of seasonal campers. Close to turnpike and I-70. Would only stay here again if we had to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
People who run the park were very nice. We stayed only one night en route. They have open sites for satellite reception, as well as shaded sites if you prefer. The night we were here it had rained the two weeks previous, so it was pretty muddy. All in all, it was OK. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
While looking for a good place to stay near the Westinghouse energy site, we found several campgrounds nearby--however, we chose Fox Den due to its reasonable monthly rate and proximity to the plant. This campground has no laundry room which we found as a downfall since it is such a large campground. The office staff was helpful. We were very disappointed with our site which was out in an open field with no shade and our neighbors were practically on top of us, literally their sewer hoses were within 2 feet of our picnic table. We will NOT stay here again!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
Enjoyable park with fun, although COLD pool. :) Fun, old fashioned, metal slides attached to pool gave me a bit of a heart attack watching my boy go up and down, but he had an absolute blast! Wild turkeys were wandering about and added to the rural feel of this camp even thought it is not far off the freeway. We were in the open field and felt no problem. Staff and other campers were friendly and we would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2002
$22
Listed and Advertised by Woodall's 2001 with rating 3/3. Advertised modem hook-ups available but office refused access. Bathrooms were disgracefully dirty and filthy: sickening at best. Office didn't seem to care. Has a pool which was emptied they say from Labor Day, but I doubted that. It looked awful. Garbage lying about and campers are asked to burn their paper trash which was right next to public pay phone (which was another disaster). Can't believe anyone would want to stay here. Nice BIG ad in Woodall's though. Hummm: guess that's why they were rated 3/3 instead of 0/0. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com