214755 User submitted reviews online!!
Promised Land State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (570) 676-3428
CGID2477

Promised Land State Park

Camp Information
Sites
447
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   8   9   5   7   8   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$25
One of the best kept "secrets" off the Interstate. A lovely wooded setting on the lake. One of our favorite "on-the-way" one night stops as we are headed from Virginia to New England. An early CCC camp with a variety of sites and small cabins. We'll be back, again and again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
Wonderful place with good size sites, although 20 miles from the Interstate. Only one drive through that we saw. Lots of easy walking trails allow you to wander about the Park. Good facilities and friendly staff/wardens. Beware - a lot of poison Ivy if you get off the trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$27
BEWARE OF BACK-INS! When we arrived, we were shown a diagram of the Northwoods Camping Area that looked like back-ins on both sides of the loop access road. We chose an outside site(460)for our 32 foot fiver. When we got there, the access road was narrow and had deep ditches on both sides, severely limiting maneuverability. We are 15 year full-timers, had never been unable to access a back-in before this one! About half of the outside back-ins have this problem. Sign in staff should have been able to advise us not to put our fiver in that site. We were surprised to find the the inside sites between the access road loops are pull-throughs. Lovely campground with large, well spaced sites. Credit cards accepted. Some leveling required. Picnic tables & fire rings. Ten channel Broadcast TV. Strong 4G Verizon signal. Deluxe restrooms have handicapped access and a small room with washer and dryer. Recycling: Environmentally handicapped; beverage can and bottle recycling only. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
We stayed here two years in a row and got the same site (24) both times. Pickerel point has full hookups. I feel the price is kind of high for a State Park, especially if only staying overnight, in the middle of the week. Roads are paved, site are level gravel. Restroom and shower are new and very clean. Would recommend to other travelers and will stay again when in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$16
With the reopening of the Pickerel Point and Deerfield campgrounds, this park now has just about every type of campsite you can think of. Pickerel Point has electric and water; some WE&S sites and even water front tent sites, but they were full on this weekend so we camped in the Deerfield campground. No hookups in Deerfield but if you like being in the woods with peace and quiet, this is a great spot. All the sites are gravel and big. Some of the sites are a little off level but not so much that you will struggle leveling your camper. With the way it is laid out and the size of the sites, you would not feel crowded here even if it were full. We saw two bears and three racoons in 2 nights here. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$29
We stayed in a pull-through site in Beechwood. Very narrow roads for big rigs and trees were not trimmed back well. All the sites are paved EXCEPT the pull throughs which are dirt/gravel/grass. Most sites are semi-level and short. Will not accommodate over about 30ft unless you are able to hang off the back of the site. The pull throughs while long are not very level. There are only three water faucets in this area so you need to come with a full water tank or be prepared to take a hike to fill your water containers. The dump station is across the main road by the boat launch. The bathrooms were clean and nicely set up for handicap accessibility. There was also a family (or companion) shower/toilet room for those needing extra assistance. Very shady sites so don't expect satellite to work. There is NO Verizon coverage in this area. Very quiet and the ranger told us bear have been spotted in the area and to be very careful with food and pets outside. Nothing for kids, no pool or playground. All you really get for $29 is 50 amp electric and a not very level site. Just too expensive a park for electric only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
Nice quiet park. There are areas for fishing and canoeing, some trails. We made our reservation on-line indicating we had a 5th wheel 34' motorhome. Upon arrival, our site was very small and we had to switch to a pull through which was fine. Suggest that you call to check with staff before booking on-line. Bathrooms and showers were very clean and maintained. Two of the loops were a little overgrown with weeds, but this would not deter me from staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
This time we stayed in the lower lake campground . It was clean, quiet, and very scenic with the fall foliage. Just a note to other campers, the Pickerel Point and Deerfield campground will reopen for 2012 and the rehab work they did there is outstanding. This park will now have 4 campgrounds all of which are beautiful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
This is a spectacular campground, one of the four campgrounds (Beechwood) has paved sites which is great if it's raining, the other three offer a little more privacy. We visited after Labor Day and had the entire place virtually to ourselves. Wonderful hiking trails and a very helpful staff. Try to avoid arriving on I-94, the road is pretty rough. PA Route 390 into the park is nice and smooth. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
We stayed in the pines camping area over the July 4th weekend and had another great time. If you like hiking and wildlife this is a good place for you. There are thousands of achres of wilderness here with miles of trails. The Pickrel Point and Deerfield camping areas will reopen next year. Just a few notes if you come here. This is a non alcohol park and they are not kidding. I have seen stste rangers remove persons from the campground for having beer. Also, this area is well noted for it"s large bear population. Keep your camp clean if you dont want unexpected visitors. We have seen them plenty of times over the years camping here but have had no promlems. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$18
We also stayed in Beechwood as it was the only CG open. I agree with previous review on 40' rigs. Our site, 409, was listed as equipment length 35'. But we could have backed our 35' Bounder in another 5' with not problem. This area looks like it was redone not too long ago. All sites except the 4 long pull thrus are paved and level. But they vary in size. We enjoyed our stay and wished we could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$20
We stayed in the Beechwood campground. It was off-season so there were not many campers. The water had been turned off in the CG for the season; although water was available at the office. The restrooms had been replaced with port-a-johns. The campground is nice with ample room between sites. There are a number of trails to hike in the area, which is quite attractive. It would probably have a very different feel in high season since there are many camping sites and cabins available. The rate stated reflects off-season and senior discount. Another reviewer had stated that it was not big rig friendly, but another couple traveling with us had a 40 foot motorhome and had no problems. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
This is a very nice state park. Sites in the Beachwood loop are paved. Very nice since it rained for 2 solid days while we were here. There is no sewer or water at sites. The dump station oddly is lower than the camping sites and right next to the lake. It partially flooded out during the rain storm. Our Verizon air card worked well here. The nightly rate reflected an average of $26 weekdays and $32 weekends. Pets are only allowed on some sites so check before you reserve. It was nearly empty while we were here, but the pet rules were still enforced. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
Cleanest and most modern bathrooms I have ever seen at a state park, with being nicer than many private campgrounds we have stayed in. Paved sites in our Beechwood section, with matching paved roads. Beware big rigs, as the phone reservation agent will tell you they have 40 foot accesible sites. Our 32 footer took some creative parking to fit into our site. Had to call for reservations, as their reservation website was not user friendly at all. Reserve America is not perfect, but has more information. Not sure why this park is not in that system. Lower lake is not good for canoe/kyaking as the water has been lowered for the replacement of the one lane bridge there. 50 amp service, but no water or sewer hookup, though was not a problem with various fresh water spigots and 2 dump stations available. We very much enjoyed our time here, and would stay there again should we be in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2010
$22
Cost - $22 with senior discount. Electric and brand new bathrooms in all the loops that we saw. This park is over 3,000 acres in size and next to it sits the Delaware State Forest (12,464 acres) and the Bruce Lake Natural Area so there are a number of summer cottages and villages surrounding this whole area. There are two lakes in this park and they do take reservations and you can camp off season if you are self-contained. Could not find out if any electric is provided in the winter. There are six camping loops that we could find Rhododendro n, Northwoods, and Beechwood in the Lower Lake Area and many sites have electricity. Stayed In Rhododendron area but would stay in the Beechwood area if we return because those sites are paved and nearer to the boat ramp. The Beechwood area is open all year round. Swimming does not very appealing in this area but the park provides a great swimming area just before you reach the park office. The other three areas are the Pines, and Pickerel Point and Deerfield that are closed for most of this year because of construction. They are redesigning the sites and adding electricity – these areas might be the place to stay when done because the point is surrounded by water and swimming. In the park one can hike, fish, bike the roadways, mountain bike trails, horseback trails, five boat launching sites, orienteering courses, picnicking and in the winter snowmobiling, cross-country skiing, ice fishing, and ice skating. There are bears in the park and we had a Bald Ea gle Nest near our campsite. It is a great park and we return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
This is one of our favorite state parks. We usually stay in the Lower Lake Campground. The staff are friendly and outgoing, and Rangers patrol the campground regularly. We have been camping here for over 15 years, and have established friendships with local merchants,business people and local residents. This is a scenic campground which has two lakes for fishing, one for swimming, a playground for the little ones, and Ice Cream available at the general store. They have made many upgrades and improvements, and the construction continues with more improvements underway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$23
Clean, pretty park, although Lower Lake had a lot of algae. 50-amp at site, but water faucets available only at a few locations. We had a pull through that was very difficult to enter and leave. Some TV reception; no Wi-Fi even with our Verizon card and campground 5 miles off Interstate. Sites are 2 miles from campground office. A bit below what we expect from a state/national campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$16
One of the best state parks in the Pocono Mountains of PA. We spend at least 2 weekends here every summer. Of the five campgrounds in this park: the Pines is our favorite. No electric at the sites, but the restrooms and showers are nice. Some of the other campgrounds have electric. This park is a great place for hikers with miles of trails through the Delaware State Forest (several thousand acres). Both the lower lake and Promised Land lake have great fishing. A good place to see wildlife too. Bears are not uncommon to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$18
We camped in the Lower lake Campground, Rhododendron loop. Check-in was painless with a very helpful and knowable park attendant. Sites in our loop were on the small side and spaced rather close together, although many had undergrowth between them providing some privacy. Restrooms were new and very well maintained. Loop roads were all paved and sites were packed gravel. Most sites appeared for the most part level. I noticed at least 3 different additional parking areas for extra vehicle's. Rangers patrolled on a regular basis. No camp store on site. Firewood can be purchased just outside the park’s entrance. It looks as though they are adding electric hook-ups throughout the loop. Not sure if this will help or hurt the overall makeup of the loop. We saw mostly tents and pop-up campers here. Overall an excellent place to camp. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
We stayed in the Beechwood section of the Lower Lake Campground. The sites had a paved area for your travel trailer with a picnic table and fire ring. They had Park Rangers patrolling frequently, which was nice. We enjoyed riding bikes and taking hikes on the nature trails. Be sure to bring everything you need, stores are not very close. The lake had a beach where you could swim or rent boats which wad fun for the kids. We will come back to camp here again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$16
This is a great State Park! We stayed at the Lower Lake Campground in the Beechwood section where there are electric hook ups. The roads were all paved including your site's driveway. The site also includes a large concrete pad for the RV to park on. Great for a family to get away from it all. Quiet hours were just that, quiet. They seem to have a Park Ranger patrolling about every 30-45 minutes. We plan on spending many weekends here in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
Overall a very nice place. The area is beautiful with great trails and several nice lakes. The bathrooms were the nicest I have ever seen, clean and well lit. We saw security driving around several times which was nice. The drawbacks were that the sites are very, very close to each other and there is no general store anywhere near by. We also saw very limited wildlife although I have heard from others that this is not usual. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$12
We stayed in the Lower lake Campground of Promised Land State Park, Rhododendron loop. Our loop was a non-electric / no pet loop. Lower Lake offers 2 additional loops, Beechwood loop which is all electric sites and Northwoods loop which is a non-electric / pet friendly loop. All loops have modern restrooms with showers. Restrooms are new and spotless. Most sites appeared level, shaded and have some low growth between them. All sites in our loop had a picnic table, fire ring, lantern pole and a nice level boxed area for pitching a tent. Site surface was crushed stone which drained well during a pouring rain shower. Park office personal were all very helpful and courteous. Did not notice any Ranger patrols, which I felt was very unusual for a Pa. state park. Wildlife in the park was abundant, especially deer which wandered in the woods behind our site. Activities at the park are numerous. Ranger programs are held on both weekends and during the week. The lake area offers swimming, boat rentals and fishing. Park offers plenty of great hiking trails. Also, there’s a short hike out to a “Wildlife observation platform” where we saw two bald eagles. (Bring your binoculars). When camping here bring all your supplies with you. The nearest large store to buy anything is in the town of Mountainhome, 15 miles away.(Great diner there). Firewood can be purchased just outside the park. Overall a very nice place to camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
For weekend camping, this place packed up to the rim. Luckily, we came a day early or else we never would have gotten our 35' trailer into place. It was tough to begin with since the sites were extremely tight. We had to park the truck up on the divider between our camper and the next in order to roll out our awning. We couldn't use the picnic table because it was either that or the truck on the pad, not to mention that the table was falling to pieces from rot. Our camper just fit with a mere 3 inches to spare to the road surface. There were concrete barriers on each pad so we were constantly tripping over them to get to our firepit which was behind the camper. It's very dangerous at night - use flashlights to walk! You can't see the lake from the RV section and have to walk past the dump station to get to a small boat launch to fish. We toured the tenting section and it looked like a refugee camp with people spread out everywhere, and items hanging from poles and trees. It was a considerable eyesore and we were glad we were in the RV section. If you are taking a long trailer/motorhome, be careful which site you pick because you may not fit properly. Some rigs were parked to the left of the pad with their tow vehicles to the right of them so they would fit on the narrow angled slabs. Overall, the rest of the park was nice. There is a nice road that circles the park and the lakes, so you can tour to see everything. There is a nice beach section to swim in the upper lake, but you have to drive there. We may go back again for a 'quick' weekend trip, but there isn't enough around to keep us happy for more than a couple days. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$15
Our favorite state park. It is amazing how nice a state park can be when it is well staffed with professionals. A gem! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$16
We stayed here just as an overnight stop but liked it so much we'll be back. New restrooms, they had four pull throughs, special section for folks with dogs, great state park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$19
This is a nice state park. The electric area has large, level paved sites with easy in/out. Would use it again. We like PA state parks. This had one of the nicer cgs for a larger RV. Will use again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$19
This is a large Pa. State Park. Much larger than usual. All trailer sites have blacktop pad that should fit up to a 40' trailer. Tere are two beaches for the children and extensive hiking trails. Pets are also allowed. All access roads are two lanes and blacktop. No gravel and potholes in this park. The only down side to this place is the dirty showers. This was the end of the season so that may explain it. This park is in the middle of a plateau that is very wet. All of the cabins in the area had screened porches so watch out for bugs in the middle of summer. I will return to this park for early and late season camping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2001
$17
Although there isn't a pool, there is a swimming area with a life guard at the lake. Sites are beautiful and the fishing is good. Close to Delaware Water Gap National Recreational Area. Lots of wildlife as well. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com