220250 User submitted reviews online!!
Crater of Diamonds State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 60 user reviews. Phone: (870) 285-3113
CGID248

Crater of Diamonds State Park

Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   10   8   9   9   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
This is an excellent park - one of the best. We don't travel with children so we can't comment on children's amenities. The sites are spacious and well spaced, and there are many trees affording privacy and shade. We stayed here while visiting the Crater of Diamonds State Park. In fact, the office for the campground is located inside the Crater of Diamonds park visitors center. You can walk to the state park from the campground if you want, but we drove. You get pretty tired after a hard day of finding diamonds and a ride back to the camper feels good! A caution - this park fills up quickly so make reservations well in advance. Campers who pulled in after we did were turned away because they had no reservations and the campground was fully booked. Our back-in site was reasonably level (even though the park is in the Arkansas hills) and had a picnic table, grill and a fire pit. The picnic table was located on a concrete pad. Checkout time was 3 PM which was also nice. Our only negative comment - the beautiful, plentiful trees make satellite reception all but impossible and the campground does not have cable. So, turn off the TV and enjoy this beautiful area. We stayed at site 14. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$32
Excellent campground! The staff was great. The park was clean and well laid out. We stayed two nights in December and had about 5 other campers in the park. Very quiet. Mining for diamonds is messy work, so bring clothes and shoes you don't mind getting VERY dirty. We would absolutely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2013
$24
This is an older park in the woods that has been recently renovated with new roads and sites. Huge, long site and good hook-ups. The best part is that it is a short walk to the diamond crater to look for your fortune! We sifted dirt for two days and did not find any diamonds, but the lady next to us found a 1/2 carat yellow diamond. My wife and I have the bug and will return to this beautiful RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
This is a Arkansas State park campground, but ranks up there with almost any privately owned park. All sites are paved and easy to access. Full hook-ups with 50 amp sites are available. Great place to visit, we will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
Park rebuilt about 4 years ago. All asphalt sites with full hook-ups and sewer, too. Most sites will fit most average rigs. If over 60 feet, call to check as there are sites that will fit you. We had #33 and we are 65 foot. Good hook up locations and site has picnic table, fire ring, grill, and lantern post. Minuses are narrow interior roads and rough road from court house square 2 miles to park entrance. We would come back some time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$33
Very well run state campground. It is possibly the quietest campground I have stayed at. The sites are paved and shady. Some may be a little difficult for a big unit to get in, but the staff can pick them to fit and they did their best. If there was Wi-Fi, I didn’t see it (I did look), but there is good 4G. The site included a table, cooking grill, fire ring with grate and a nice tent flat. Digging for diamonds will cost an extra 7$. It can be hot out there in the digging area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
As state parks go, this is one of the nicer ones. However, if one takes the park staff’s recommendation to do Hwy 26 from I-30 then know that it is 30 plus miles of miserable driving. I have been on better chuck wagon trails. Check in was efficient and they offer a discount for seniors. The interior roads, as well as all sites, are paved and big rig friendly. The space between sites would please most everyone. The entire park is full of trees that provide nice shade, but that does not present any issues with getting into a back-in. It does prevent easy satellite signal reception. I suspect that would be impossible on most all of the sites. There are paved hiking trails throughout the park. Verizon cell coverage was good. Site voltage was low during a time when the park was only a third full, but I was still able to run my two A/C units. Wi-Fi signal was three bars in the middle of the park. No drop outs during a two day stay. Each nice, level site has a picnic table on a concrete pad, a separate tent pad, and fire ring. Some have a charcoal BBQ stand. Bathhouses were modern and clean. The laundry facility is pay for use at about a buck per machine. Personal preference for the nicest sites would be 36-40, because they are more private. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$23
Planned for only 3 nights, added another because this place is BEAUTIFUL. Nicest modern campground I've see. Paved roads, paved level sites, easy back in, plenty of space between sites. Extremely friendly staff. Will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
Easy to find and well marked from downtown Murfreesboro. I must admit, in 35 years of driving, I never saw a road swing left around a courthouse in the town square, causing drivers to turn left across traffic. Be careful on the town square. Now, the park. Beautiful park, catering to and charging tourists to the max. Fee very high for camping for the area, but the sites were newly remodeled and in perfect condition. Numerous walk-in tent sites looked nice. DTV was limited to three PBS channels, and they were inconsistently received by our batwing. CSpire phone service was 3 bar 3G at all times. Bathhouse spotless, brand new. Good bicycling, but nothing of great distance. Kids had a nice playground and appeared to have a blast. Numerous hiking trails. Diamond hunting fee is $7 for the day. Truly a gimmick. Needle in a hay barn odds. You'd have better odds on slot machines, but the rock hound in you will be satisfied. Pool was $6, but was only opened from Noon to 6pm. What is it about Arkansas State Parks and swimming pool rules? Visitor center was top notch, and designed to make money. Nice park, but once you've been, experienced rock hounds know of better locations to collect at road cuts. Also, there is virtually nothing to do in Murfreesboro other than a nice putt putt golf, it is not a tourist town when compared to other mining places like Dahlonega, Georgia. We won't visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$28
This is a nice place at the only open to the public diamond mine in the US. We enjoyed our stay. The amount per day is as best as I can remember. Very large sites, each with a separate tent spot and table. All sites are well maintained. If you are in the area, also go to the Indian Village near town. It is both educational and fun. You can look for arrowheads, which I did find two. We would stay here again and might even try diamond mining again. We may get lucky next time, no diamonds this time. Oh well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$33
This is one of the nicest parks we have ever stayed at and we have been to a bunch. It looks like it had been renovated or newly built this season. Overall the park was clean, the pads were level and the picnic area and tent pads were very nicely built. We did have limited hot water in the showers but it appeared that maybe they were using solar panels to help with this and it was overcast much of our visit. We would definitely recommend this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$20
Campground totally renovated. Beautiful paved sites! Camping at it's finest! Unfortunately we didn't find any diamonds but had fun trying! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
This is a state park that is unique because it is in walking distance to the only diamond mine in the U.S. Easy in and out, room for slides and awning, plenty of space between sites, lots of trees which means that satellite reception may be a challenge. Neat water park for the kids. I like this campground a lot, it is rustic and very relaxing. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
This is a new facility for camping, the sites are various lengths and ours easily accommodated our 42' motorhome with toad. Sites are paved, back-in only, have a paved area with picnic table and grill, and an additional paved area to provide the base for a tent. Most sites are wooded, so satellite reception is a problem as is over-the-air reception. Wi-Fi is provided but did not work well except in the parking lot by the check-in facility. We had to go to the parking area which was a higher elevation for our smartphone hotspot to work also. Staff were helpful; diamonds were not found, but everyone should try it once. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
This state park is one of best run park we have ever been at. Very clean, well maintained. Pave streets and paved back in sights. If you enjoy digging for diamonds this is the place to be. We tried but it was to hot and will return when the weather is a little bit cooler. We were able to get satellite coverage, it took a little while to find a signal. We have Direct TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
We stayed here for a week and we were very sad to leave. At first I was not that impressed because the sites are very close together, there was no internet and the cell service was awful. But that was pretty much the only bad things. We had a ball. The park was clean, very pretty, people were so friendly, and overall it was a very nice experience! It was about 3 minutes to Murfreesboro, where there was a grocery store, Dollar General and washateria. (The campground laundry was down for remodeling.) I will recommend the campground, but the digging for diamonds was a joke: like finding a needle in a haystack! Our 8 year old twins had a blast!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$15
I guess your review depends on what you expect. Yes, the sign-in is weird. Park in the RV lot then go to the visitors center to register. This allowed us to see the exhibits and collect info for the next day of diamond hunting. No laundry was a major pain, but we'll live. Showers were big and wonderful after a day at the mine. Wi-Fi was very sketchy but a surprise for a state park. No TV reception, so we watched DVD's. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2012
$31
This campground demonstrates how spending large sums of money handled by state employees will lead to no good. This campground was recently upgraded with asphalt pads, roads, restrooms, etc. but 90 percent of the sights are angled the wrong direction (riders side backing). Arrived at the check in station and the only visible sign for RV parking was a quarter mile away. Later saw tiny lettering on the curb next to the building for RV check in. WI-FI never worked but probably only needed resetting. Desk said Saturday they had called for WI-FI repair on Tuesday. Apparently no follow up. Had a large nail run in my trailer tire at the RV parking area. Went to use the laundry and found a sign on the door that it is under repair. No prior notice. Absolutely no TV reception. Could have been a great campground but poorly run. We will not return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$28
Each site has black top level pads with concrete pad under new metal picnic tables, fire ring, charcoal cookers and separate level tent pads. Poor cell phone reception and marginal direct TV reception. Friendly staff. We will return to this camp ground again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$28
Spacious full hookup sites. Lots of trees, picnic table and grill at each site. Unable to get any television reception or satellite and poor phone reception with both Verizon and ATT. Wi-Fi available but intermittent. Rate was with senior 25% discount. Might return for short visit if in area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$23
Very nice park, off main roads so little noise. Roads paved, each site has fire pit, BBQ grill, pole to hang lantern, cement pad with table. Sites are big, area between sites are natural, with lots of trees. Satellite could be a problem, some openings. Gravel between table and RV pad. Power, water are good. Cell weak (AT&T). Some recycling. For a fee you can dig for diamonds. Rental equipment available. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
This state park campground has wide, asphalted sites in a tall pine and oak tree setting. Some sites have additional patio space. Hookups are newer and work well. The bathrooms have been renovated also since our last stay and are tiled and modern. Staff was helpful with site reservation: also called us when a different site was available so we could lengthen our stay. The campground has a connecting trail to the Little Missouri River which is handicap-accessible, and also a nice wide trail connecting to the park's visitor center. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$31
This was a nice campground. Paved hiking area to the river. Nice space between sites. Full hook-ups. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
This is a beautiful state park. The campsites are level with new pavement, nice hook-ups and lots of shade trees. There is a metal picnic table, tent pad, fire ring, lantern holder and concrete pad at each site. The shower/restroom facilities are clean and appear new. We got a good wireless signal on our laptop and our AT&T phone signal worked fine. We were in space 5 near the main bath/laundry building. For the kids, there is a small playground near the main bath, a walking trail that connects the campground area to the main office/diamond fields and a swimming pool area. There is no admission fee for the park but the diamond field and swimming pool have entrance fees. This park is very well maintained and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We had fun digging for diamonds and we took our own tools and a wagon. They do allow pets on leashes in the diamond field area. The town of Murfreesboro is nice but there is not much there other than a Sonic, a Dollar General, a small grocery store and a gas station. The nearest Wal-Mart is in Nashville, Arkansas which is about 17 miles away. We will definitely return to this park next summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Very nice state park, well laid out asphalt sites that were pretty level. Back in sites only, but they are at good angles so it was pretty decent to get in. Really nice water park for the kids (both big and small) to cool off after digging the diamond fields in the heat. Nice to have full hookups in a state park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
We liked it. Paving everywhere and easy to get around. There is plenty of shade. There are tent pads at some sites. I heard the camping area has just reopened after a 2 year restore. Looks like it. The online registration system has incorrect site information. Call the park. The length was fine. Wish the sites were a bit wider (fewer trees). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$29
This is a great park! The sites are paved and our site was big enough for our 37' coach and tow vehicle. Each space had a cement patio with a metal table, grill and fire pit. All the roads were paved and clean. The park is well maintained. Our AT&T cell phone worked, but there were no TV signals. The Wi-Fi worked with no problems as did our AT&T Air Card, which we used for banking. The diamond mine was fun. I had more fun laughing at people who thought they were rich. (I did the same but it only lasted about 5 minutes.) The swimming pool was great and the restaurant was opened from 8 a.m. until 4 p.m. Not a lot in the town of Murfreesboro but a Wal-Mart and Murphy's gas was in Nashville, about 20-25 minutes away. I will stay here anytime I am in the area. Ask for your senior discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
Great park ! Our paved, very long, back in site easily fit our 40' MH & toad. Each space seemed to also have a tent camping space with it. Park & facilities very well maintained. All spots shaded but we managed to get satellite with our on the roof dish. Patio area cement w/ table, BBQ, lantern hanger & fire ring. No cell or lap-top service available in the park, no Wi-Fi. If you have a big rig be sure to tell them you want a long level site, some of the sites have a very steep down wards angle. If digging for diamonds bring a long handled shovel & bucket, can rent screens. Park is very family friendly. Check out the crystal mines in the area, worth the 50 mile drive. Town is small but has restaurants, grocery store, ect. Will stay there again when we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$29
Great time here, even found a small diamond at the dig area. The staff was friendly and helpful. Everything worked great. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
The park is extremely clean and well kept. We were a little disappointed that the site we were on really did not accommodate our trailer and truck nicely. We did not know that you can pick your site a year ahead of time with Arkansas State Parks. The park was totally full. We can say that we spent the day digging for diamonds without any luck. An adventure that we can say we did. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$23
Super renovation! Nice, but curvy roads, plenty of room. Sites are dispersed well, not just a big, square parking lot. Great wooded area and the diamond mine is just over the hill. Very quiet at night. Looks great for kids! No problem with our motorhome, although not all sites would accommodate it; be sure to ask! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$23
Really nice well kept state park. Sites are roomy and have both fire pits and BBQ's. Very wooded area, but we managed to get Sat TV from the roof antenna and I was able to get good reception with my tripod internet dish. Not all sites are level and length varies. We are in a 70' back in site and were able to back far enough that we were able to level our 40' motorhome. Park gives a 25% discount to non-resident seniors. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
Campground has been completely renovated with new pads, water, and electric boxes. The sites are surrounded by many trees, and the sites are laid out so you aren't looking into someone's campsite. All the campsites had grills,picnic tables, and a fire ring.The park is well maintained with walking trails, a new swimming pool, and the diamond field to dig for diamonds. The walking trail we took was even handicap accessible. We plan to camp here again in the summer. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$23
This park is not closed for renovations: the visitor's center is still being renovated, but the RV sites are complete and absolutely beautiful. Sites are level and well-designed. We had no trouble getting satellite service (in site 11), but the people across the road from us weren't able to get a signal through the trees. We were also able to get a signal for our Verizon broadband, but it was slow. There is a lot to do at the park: several well-maintained walking trails, the diamond mine, a lovely swimming pool (not open at this time of year.) Highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$1
This campground is closed for renovation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
Campground was clean and we had no trouble backing into our spot. We had deer about 4 feet from our picnic table every morning, which my kids loved. There is not a lot to do other than the diamond mine. The playground (an important thing to me since we have small boys) was very small and inadequate. It was behind the showers/bathroom too and there was not much room to run around and play. Trees surround the campsites so I felt a bit confined. We had planned to stay 5 nights but had done it all and were bored after two and went home. Everyone should try the diamond thing once, but it is hard work! Overall good experience my family just needs a bit more to do that just sit around camp. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
Very nice park but a large RV will have issues getting into many of the sites. Digging diamonds is too much work but everyone should try once. There is not a whole lot else to do in the park other than the diamond mine. Generally quiet and a good place to camp. The shower house was clean and heated. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$18
A nice campground, with lots of trees. There were no "homeless" people. The only annoying thing was the barking dogs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$14
Crater of Diamonds is a beautiful facility. There are lots of trees and paths, some paved and some left in the natural state. Sites are well laid out; ours required only minimal leveling. The roads inside the park are somewhat narrow, and eroded on the edges. Some of the turns are a little sharp for my taste, but no real problems were encountered. Park staff was very friendly and helpful, which made our stay even more enjoyable. The showers had no soap dish or shelf to put your soap, shampoo, etc. other than on the floor. The water was on the chilly side, and the flow was controlled by a button which gave you about a 30-second squirt. Our overall impression was very good; we would definitely like to return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$9
On the site where I parked my travel trailer, the asphalt edges were broken up pretty badly, I guess it was from all the rain. You had to watch your step getting in or out of the RV. The restrooms and showers were very clean. All the employees I talked to were very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$16
Campsites mostly level but no consistency to elec and water hookups as to sides of rig. Only needed 6 ' of electric but 2 hose sections. Some sites had both on same side. Only complaint though. Other than that it's gorgeous with helpful staff, a cool little water park (closed Sept-May). Diamond hunting is $6.50 daily and lot of fun. Tools can be rented. Looking forward to returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$17
This is a decent park, but definitely needs some work. We arrived only to find out that they had not saved some of the very few and precious "slide out" sites for us. We had quite a time getting in. There were two of us in our group, and both had slides. We did fit, but it was very, very tight. Be very careful when parking. Also, while our sites were moderately level, there were some sites that would be absolutely impossible to get level in. I noticed a few people didn't even try to level. There are a lot of tents here. Overall, it was OK, but definitely not the best place to camp. In addition, don't come with illusions of finding diamonds. There were hundreds of people looking when we were, and no one found any of them for several days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
Very nice wooded park. Sites and roads were very tight. We camped in a 38 ft 5th wheel and found it very hard to navigate around with the narrow roads, specially while backing into our spot. Once in the spot, we had a very nice time at this place. Being in the woods was a lot nicer than a cramped RV park in the city. The biggest thing to think about was the ticks. We pulled at least a dozen or so off our 2 dogs and had a few on myself. The water park was great for those hot days. It was in the 90's during our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$15
Very nice campground, a lot of trees, will stay again, could not get satellite tv We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$9
Very nice State Park. Restrooms were extremely clean. Didn't find any diamonds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$17
Very pretty park. There were lots of trees and trails to hike. The river trail is paved all the way to the river. The bathrooms were clean and the park staff were very friendly. The only complaint I have is the location of some of the fire rings. Ours was right next to the road. I would have liked it to be further back in the site. I would camp here again. Very family and kid friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$16
We didn't find any diamonds, but the scenery was beautiful. Don't miss the nature observatory walk through the woods located near the front of the park entrance. We saw deer up close here every day. The play area is small, but new. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$16
The restrooms and showers (in the area I stayed in) had solar hot water only. The showers I had were not warm. The last night I spent there, I used a shower located in a different camping area that had plenty of hot water. Other than the "cold" showers and not finding any diamonds, (darn it) it was great staying there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$17
Nice park with much, much appreciated shade in the summer. Campground was relaxing and bathrooms seemed to be new and always kept clean. Some hiking to do if you decide to take a day away from digging in the diamond mine or swimming at the water park (deepest 3'). On-site restaurant closes at 4pm during the summer but some good places to eat in town. Definitely would go again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
My 37' motorhome didn't have any size issues in this park. The 30amp service wasn't a big issue for me because is was cool. You can walk to the water park and the diamond fields. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$17
We went here upon recommendation from a friend for a weekend getaway. You can dig for diamonds in the plowed field(you can bring or rent digging equipment). They have an on site water park, and a nature trail. Nearby you can fish Lake Greeson and the Little Missouri River. There is the KA-DO-HA Indian village and burial ground which is very interesting to visit. The sites were nice and shaded, the park as well as the showers and laundry's were nice and clean. The park staff is very helpful and can tell you about the attractions in the surrounding area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
Great family campground. Kind of tight to get large rv's in the spots. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$17
Great place with activities--only complaint was that maintenance was needed in the restrooms--i.e., hand dryer out of service and no paper towels and no soap for washing hands. It does have a pay water park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$35
We had a great time at this park. The facilities were clean and our site was level. We had a great time in the Diamond Fields. The staff was all friendly and helpful. The surrounding area was beautiful. We camped here with small children and would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2006
$8
The signage to the campground was good. The office staff were efficient and helpful. The access roads were reasonably wide but one or two tight bends. Because of time of year, we were able to choose a campsite that we could get on easily. Many of the sites were not level and the surface of the sites needed repair. Each site had water and electricity(30 amp - there was two sites with 50 amp). Getting into some sites by bigger RV's could be difficult. There are a number of trails within the park and of course you can search for diamonds. Could be a really good campground if investment was made on restructuring the campsites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2006
$17
The state is upgrading the state parks but this one apparently is in the process. Visitors center, amphitheater, and restrooms all look to be upgraded and new. I camped here 20 years ago and the campground sites about the same. Most of the pads need to be resurfaced and the campsites need serious upgrading. Water pressure was excellent. Sites are difficult to get into. Roads in the campground are narrow and two way. If there was anyone in the site across from me, I would have never gotten into my site. I had to pull up into that site to get a decent angle to back into my site. The only reason to go there is to dig for diamonds. If the campsites had been upgraded, I would have rated it at least an 8. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$16
Sites are narrow and not laid out very well. Picnic tables are behind your unit. Some of the layouts put your neighbors table very close to your door with a little bush as a buffer. Fortunately, it was not full so they spaced out the campers. Not much to do at the campground other than going over to the crater to dig for diamonds. There is a small water play area for little kids for an extra fee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$14
We went to this park as part of our Arkansas trip solely to dig for diamonds. The kids really enjoyed the new water park. This is just a large pool with all sorts of geysers, water spouts, and two small water slides. It is only 3 feet deep and requires an admission fee. Nevertheless, the kids enjoyed it. After the water park, we went digging for diamonds. We didnt find any, but the kids still had fun. As far as the campground is concerned, the park is very quite and wooded. The sites appeared fairly level. Even though the sites are paved, some have erosion problems. Furthermore, many of the sites had the hook-ups on the wrong side of the side. Still, this was a very pretty park that provides privacy for the camper. Plus, there are plenty of things to see inside the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$12
We really like this campground. The camping pads did need resurfacing but for our small rig, the one we used was perfect. We stayed at the campground to visit the Crater of Diamonds and were pleasantly surprised by the campsites. We would gladly stay there again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$14
Nice State Park in southwest Arkansas. The site are good space from each other and shaded they have a diamond mine open to public also a really nice water playground. They have a visitor center with a gift shop, diamonds exhibits,& seasonal restaurant. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com