214300 User submitted reviews online!!
White Oak Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (717) 687-6207
CGID2488

White Oak Campground

Camp Information
Sites
220
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   2   9   6   10   6   6   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
We were here in April, warm days then snow day. When temp dropped there was no heat in the bath house which made for lower rating. Otherwise, I could have stayed forever in this beautiful country farmland with Amish horse-drawn buggies everywhere. And, the food in the area is outstanding. Shopping is great w/ lots of outlets, too. We came for the PA Railroad Museum which was great. We feel it's over priced at $35 for just water & elect. and grass pad. But we had the place to ourselves. Dozens of trailers parked, I guess, for the winter. Must be crazy in summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$23
Our maiden voyage with our new travel trailer, and since winter does not want to end we decided to dry camp and use the facilities. White Oak staff was very accommodating with us and we where able to use the bathrooms located behind the General Store; was a quick walk from our campsite. Bathroom facilities were a bit dated but workable. We stayed in site #7 along the front row of the property offering an amazing view of mountains, as well as local farms and the roadside where many Amish buggies were visible. Kids loved being located next to the playground. Only issue we had was the sites are very close together and did not have much room between them. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
Cons: The sites were very small. The next site’s vehicle was 5 feet away. The WiFi only connected for 2 minutes at a time. Then your device needed to be reconnected, a one minute process. They charged my son and daughter $6 to visit for three hours. For the above-average price, I expected more space. Pros: Strasburg is a nice, quaint area: Lots of Amish around. I did like the free hot showers, camp store and friendly staff. They also had a one dollar ice cream social, where we met a lot of nice folks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$33
We really like the White Oak Campground. The staff was nice, facilities are clean and the sites are nice, grassy, clean and plentiful. We had no problem using a pull through near the office with plenty of tree cover. Not a lick of leveling was needed. The area is very rural, and Amish carts go by very often. We visited in May and the fertilizing season was in progress in the area. "Organic" fertilizer is very popular and can be a little offal smelling... At the campground we had no issue, just traveling around the area.   Although it was not listed on the website, they have two blue grass groups doing jam sessions on Saturday evenings at the club house. They were locals having a good time and it was really nice to expose the kids to. The kids had a good time at the play grounds. They have an old fashioned 12 foot high slide and well kept equipment. We were visited by an Amish lady who sold us hand made aprons. The location is easy to get to and has good access to the Strasburg Railroad and Lancaster attractions. We will visit again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
This is an 80% stationary CG (80% of RVs never move). That said it is nice with wooded sites albeit without adequate gravel on some sites. Good views of the Amish countryside and within 30 minutes of all major sights. No cable TV and no 50 AMP. Wi-Fi is OK: free for the first 30 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$32
We love White Oak. Love the view, love the owners and love everything about it. Has great cable, Wi-Fi, great TV, everything was Great. Only one problem, the roads are very steep, hills everywhere and very sharp turns. We did it though and we will go back again. If you like quite, friendly people and a view that is painted with Amish you will love White Oak. See you next year White Oak. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$33
Nice park. Roads are a little tight. While we were here it snowed about 6inches. The owner had the roads plowed but I had to clean in front of RV. It would be better if they had a pool. They have a field with hookups for the real big rigs. We would go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
Park is located in the country close to Strausburg. Roads are paved, but can be tight. Sites are good, many have permanent weekenders. The sites in front (w/e only, no trees) are the easiest to get in and out of. Power, water, and cell (AT&T) was good. We would recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
Rate reflects a weekly rate. Very nice campground in Amish country. Convenient to Strasburg and Lancaster. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Great value in this area. Staff is friendly & helpful,and park seems clean & neat. We enjoyed our stay, and certainly will return. However, if you have a big rig (mine is 60' long overall), you should walk to the site first. Only a few are easily accessible due to trees at corners and tight roadways. We got in, but it was a tight fit. With other rigs near, we might not have gotten out without some leaving. There is plenty of big rig parking in field, but no sewer & only 30 amp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Nice campsite with lovely views over Amish countryside. Basic shower rooms but clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
The cg was nice enough, and we really liked our site (grass with nice trees for shade. It was a wedge shape on the corner of intersecting roads). I would've given it a higher mark except it was a 30amp site that was the first one where the breaker kept blowing on us, even with all of our appliances switched over to propane. All we were running on it was our AC, sorely needed due to the high temps! We ended up doing all sorts of hook-up gymnastics, with our two computers on a long extension cord, which ran off a different circuit from our AC, and my hubby plugged into the 20amp outlet. My husband thinks the breaker was actually OK but that it was the breaker panel that was old, and that the connection wasn't good. So that was a constant energy juggling act for us. Each time we needed to use the microwave or toaster or, we had to turn the AC off. And I decided not to even touch the convection oven!! But we absolutely loved the general area, it suited us perfectly! This cg is nicely located right in the middle of peaceful, beautiful Amish farmland. You could stand outside and hear the buggies and horses clopping by, and there were roadside veggie/baked goods stands all over the place. There were a couple of steep hills enroute to the cg out of Strasburg, but our RV (towing) made it. Another plus was the bluegrass jam session that happens every Saturday night. Great musicians! Also, this place had undoubtedly one of the best prices in the area!!!! I got very frustrated trying to find a reasonably priced and decent sounding place in this area! So, all in all, I have to give this cg a pretty high grade, even if the electricity was an issue. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$29
No real complaints. Real busy during the Memorial Weekend. Nice shaded site.Events were well planned. I would only like to see the campground have some of the seasonals keep the area around their trailers cleaned up. Some are overgrown with weeds. We will camp here again We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$26
The staff is friendly. We had a 50 amp site. Sites are gravel and mostly level. Very beautiful county side. Rate is for weekly stay. Roads in park are paved. Many seasonal sites, but kept up well. It is one of the lower priced parks in the area. There are many shaded sites. Verizon service is poor. This is a very busy park and area. In season it would be good to have reservations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
I have no complaints. It was super quiet during our mid April stay. The first two days of our visit we were the only one there. There is free Wi-Fi available, however you need to be in one of the sites close to the office. I would recommend staying here if you want to check out the Strasburg Railroad. It's much cheaper than the campgrounds along Rt. 340 and much less traffic in the area. I've said in another post that I prefer Flory's Camping while in Lancaster but Flory's is $40 per night and Wi-Fi is not free. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2007
$30
This campground is in a quiet rural area, and in close proximity to Strasburg Railroad. As previously mentioned there are alot of seasonal sites, but they are in their own section. We had a nice view, which we enjoyed. Their store is very nice. They had a bluegrass jam session on saturday that was entertaining. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
Our site was extremely small, and not level by any stretch of the imagination. All of the wooded sites were the same: very small and uneven. There are a lot of seasonals, and they are not very well kept. The store has a nice variety of merchandise and the bath house is clean, although small and older. The playground is not much more than a backyard set up. This is not a destination campground. What makes this campground is that it is so close to all of the Lancaster County attractions. If you're looking for an inexpensive place to park your rig and tour around Lancaster County this is a good place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
Like the some of the others reported, this is an ok campground with a very nice staff. The campground lacks a pool, which is nice in the hot summer, but is located in a quiet country setting away from the main highways. However, this also means that getting there on some winding back roads is not as easy as just pulling into a campground along Route 30 etc. Some sites are not very level, but others are level enough. Very pleasant staff. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
Nice quiet campground close to all attractions in Lancaster and Strasburg. Enjoyed our stay. Campground does have a great deal of seasonal campers which some are in need of being cleaned up. Roads are narrow and a little difficult to maneuver around. Camp store has everything you might need plus a few items. We will visit again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2007
$30
White Oak Campground is an ok campground. Nothing inherently bad about it, but nothing particularly great either. It is secluded & quiet. Most sites have shade from trees. Not alot to do at the campground. There are 2 small basic playgrounds for kids and a small arcade. On Saturday nights, they do have an acoustic jam session in a room adjacent to the camp store. (Country/bluegrass/gospel) Campers are welcome to join in, so if you're a musician or like this type of music, could be fun. (I personally did not go) My biggest negative is that the bath house is not heated. We were there on an unseasonably cold weekend in mid-April, so it was not pleasant. Strasburg & neighboring towns do have lots to do, but don't expect to find much right at the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
Overall a nice campground. Friendly staff. Nice Country Store. The Amish even visited to sell goods. I did notice that many of the shaded sites were occupied by seasonal campers. There is also a large open field for sunny sites. It was very challenging to maneuver our fifth wheel through tight access roads and into a small site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$31
This is a nice campground set in the back country around Strasburg. The campground has paved roads. Sites can be grouped in a shady area and a sunny area. The shady sites are set with a gravel base with grass surrounding. The sunny sites are all grass, many in an open field. We had a site in the shady section with full hookups. The roads in the shady section are narrow and maneuvering is tight. Many sites were taken by seasonal campers and many of those campers are quite old. The campground itselfs was well maintained. Very few people were there during mid-week. The campground has an office with a rather well stocked store, a couple of playgrounds and a bathhouse. The bathhouse was clean and well kept. There is no swimming pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$26
Overall a nice little campground. It is on a back road, which we thought would mean peace and quiet at night. However, in the middle of our first night, there were cars out on the road burning rubber and racing up and down. They had nothing to do with the campground, but our site was close to the road leading in. The 2nd night, my husband was woken up by motorcycles coming in. The staff was very nice and friendly. The sites are VERY close together (in OUR opinion). There are a lot of seasonal sites, maybe a little more than half. We were in between two seasonal sites. There are sites out in the open, and a lot under trees. It's close to Lancaster and charges a lot less than the places in Lancaster do. The shower stall was not clean enough for me, but then again, I am very picky about that. We would probably stay there again since the staff and the people camping (seasonal included) were all very nice. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$24
Beautiful rural Amish Country setting, friendly staff and campers, easy access to all of the Pennsylvania Dutch attractions in the Lancaster area. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com