206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Pocono Vacation Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 28 user reviews. Phone: (570) 424-2587
CGID2489

Pocono Vacation Park

Camp Information
Sites
310
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   3   8   2   5   3   1   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$34
Just there for an overnight on the way to New England. Route to campground is pretty narrow for a larger rig. Office staff friendly and gentleman who took us to our site was helpful. Site was level, grass with good hookups. Could not figure out how to connect cable TV as the park hookup had a female end and we do not carry an adapter. Did not check with the office for a fix - so there may be one. Many seasonals, who seem to keep to themselves. Probably would not stay again, mostly due to location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
First I will start off with the good points of the park. The spots are large, and clean under foot as you are parking in a grassy area. The WiFi is very good, with good speed and signal. The park is quiet and well lighted at night. They do have a lot of activities, but we didn't engage in any as we were there for a base point for our sight-seeing, and didn't have time to take part in the activities. We had some very heavy rains while there, but the ground drains very well with little or no puddling. Now the bad. First the electric is insufficient. We had a 50amp hook-up, but based on the low voltage problem we had, it appears they just added 50 amp plugs and didn't account for the added load of those using 50 amp. Keeping our voltage at a safe level was a bit of a dance. And on weekends when the park filled up, we had to put our fridge and hot water heater on propane, amongst other tactics to keep from dropping below 110 volts. The sewer system has a problem. It can't handle a full 70 gallon black tank without bubbling up through the neighbors sewer hook-up. There was no laundry, we were told because someone wanted their washers and dryers back, not sure what that was about. The first impression upon arrival is one that made us consider leaving before checking-in. Lots of junky trailers, and trashy structures. We will not stay here again and can't recommend it to others. We stayed in a fifth wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$40
Great find in the Pocono's. Wonderful drive with the scenic views. My family loves to ski and was excited how close the camp is to all the ski areas and attractions. Staff was very nice and the bath house was very clean! ENJOYED THE STAY!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
PVP Campground leaves a lot to be desired. The noise at night. The QUIET hours can not be enforced because the managers are involved as well employees. The recreation facilities are nil, even though they say they have them (basketball, tennis, etc.). Restrooms are too small and there are not enough. Shower stalls are dirty. The supervised weekend events are pretty much limited to the year round residents. Everybody knows everybody, if you are here for a visit, stay away from the activities. You DO NOT belong. The staff is acceptable with the exception of one guy, who thinks he owns the place. The lady owner is great. Never had any problem with her. The KIDS on the golf carts, makes it impossible to walk safely on the property. If a car is limited to 5 mph, why do the golf carts go so fast? Golf cart usage should be limited to those that really need it. It is a joy ride for the kids. The girls are just as bad, if not worse than the boys on them. There is a lot of work to be done on this campground by the owners. They just have to invest the money and REAL contractors to do it. Without the work they will, if they have not already have, lost any competitive edge. There rates are quite high for what they provide, close to nothing. It is almost guaranteed that the people that own PVP will never read this: but being I have been here, as well as other campgrounds, take my word for it. There are not many PRO's for this campground, versus the CON's. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$37
This is basically a big field with hookups. Not a tree to be found. There appear to be many sites that are permanent. The sites are grassy and flat, but you are pretty close to your neighbor. They also charge $4 for each child over 7, for me, that's $12 onto the stated rate. It's a bit run down, but it works in a pinch. They have Wi-Fi that worked well. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
Very hard to find. Little signage. Called ahead at noon for 1 or 2 night reservation. Told to come on in. Tried to give name. Told by female clerk that name & reservation not necessary. Arrived at 6:15 pm & office closed. Man at security gate asked if we had a reservation! We retold conversation. He asked us if the woman we spoke to had given us a site #. No. He checked paperwork. No note about us coming in. He gave some thought as to where to put us. After we parked we went to pay him & he told us to settle up in the morning when the "lady comes in" at 10 o'clock!! (What if we were leaving early after one night)? We went to the office at 10. No female there. She apparently "left to run errands." The new face in the office asked "Did you pay the man who parked you last night?" Again, we said we had tried to do that too, with no success. When we paid, the rate was far above the Woodhall's and TrailerLife posted rates. This man made a point about recent electric usage in the park. We pointed out that we had only been in the park a few hours, were only using 30 amp, only a TV, & obviously with 70 degrees, no AC! The dumpsters are hard to find, in spite of being admonished on all the paperwork to use them, they are not shown on the map. Park also looks very run down. Worse, for all the aggravation and lack of follow through, we have had to listen to a bulldozer all day just a few sites over! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$34
Called ahead the day before looking for one night stay. Clerk told me she had a pull-through available, but did not take any information other than my name. When I arrived, the same clerk flipped through several sheets of notebook paper and said that someone else had given that site out earlier in the day. Ended up in a 30 amp sight which barely fit my 37 foot motor home. Had to go back to office to get adapter to hook up cable. In the middle of the night there was no water! When I tried to shower at 8:45 am, I could barely rinse off the soap the pressure was so low. I would not personally go to this campground again. Would be better off dry camping in Wal-Mart. Despite being a Good Sam member, the clerk did not ask or honor discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
Hard to find. Needs signage on Hwy 209. Go up hill on narrow Shafer Schoolhouse Road to campground on left. It does exist part way up hill. Do not panic that you may not be able to turn around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Our rate reflects a Good Sam discount. We have stayed at this campground once before. The site then was saddle back and we straddled the valley to be level. This stay our front wheels were up-hill. I used wood ramps under the back tires to achieve a level that would not raise my rear tires off the grass. The sites were close together. We only stop here for a one night stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Nice campground. In the overnight area on Sparrow. Normal width spaces. Not crowded since no one was on either side. Nice staff. Nice long level site. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$33
We camped here for Halloween and had the best time ever. The kids had so much fun, lots to do. Staff was awesome and very nice. Close to everything. We are coming back!!! LOVE IT, LOVE IT!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
This "campground", if you call it that, is a joke. The sites are very close together, no parking to speak of. Our site does not even have room for our tow vehicle. The man next door told me that he is disappointed also. We called ahead, and when we arrived the site that the lady at the office gave us was so small that I had to go back to the office and get another assigned. The lady at the office was borderline rude when we checked in. If I had known before getting here, I would have gone somewhere else. Never again for me. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Very nice, staff was very friendly.The town is beautiful! Very close to all attractions and shopping! Had a very nice relaxing stay. Already made a reservation for spring! Place was very neat and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This campground is awful! Staff are rude and unwelcoming. I felt very unsafe here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
Campground has many seasonal sites, some units very old, moderately maintained. Seasonals, regulars and staff were all friendly. Sites are grassy, many are pull thrus. Fairly level, although we had to block one side and the front. Set up is awning to awning, which was great for us as we were camping w/ another party. Average site room, did not feel crowded. No AC in bath houses, not modern, but they were clean. Only real complaint was the water pressure. The park was full for the holiday weekend and at peak usage the water trickled from the shower. Seems to me that if they know of this problem, they should fix it. No problem w/ the amps. We ran AC the whole time w/ no issues. Movies and wagon rides for the kids. Pool was really nice. Overall an ok CG. Rating would be higher if water pressure was not an issue. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$31
This has to be the worst campground we have ever stayed at.This was our 2nd time here. Our first visit was in Oct so we gave them the benefit of the doubt since it was the end of the season. This time Memorial Day weekend was just as bad. Many seasonals most of whom do not keep up their property. Staff was uncaring about problems.Both times the sites we had reserved had been given away to someone else and they had no idea how that happened both times. There is absolutely no organization. The store is a joke with about 10 items. The pool was old and unkempt. Abandoned junk cars were parked all over the park. Grass was not cut. Some of the sites were level or grassy but not too many. The worst part was that our air conditioner was acting funny only to find out that the power was not up to amp. It was supposed to be 30 amp and someone told us that they had a power problem. When I asked they said that the boro cuts them back every holiday so we would just have to cut back our usage. This is on an 80 degree day, with pets in our trailer. No discount because the power is cut back. They told me this happens every holiday and there is nothing they can do about it. However they never mentioned this when we checked in. So now we may have damaged our air conditioner by trying to run it on what we "thought" was 30 amps but wasn't. I might mention that their office was nice and cool with the AC running full blast while they told us we would have to cut back our usage. We will never camp here again. It's a dirty, unkempt park with staff who could care less. There is a KOA very nearby this campground that is 110% better in every way. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$31
We had a pull through site on a flat area of grass which worked well. The back to back hook-ups means you are set up facing your neighbors front door like you are sharing a site with them. Weird! Many seasonals but well maintained. Not the friendliest campground but it worked for our needs. Big rigs with slides should try to get into the Sparrow row - easiest maneuvering. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2008
$31
Roads are dusty. Mostly seasonals but found them all friendly. The staff was also friendly. Water pressure was a trickle in morning and evening. Campground is mostly flat, so bike riding and walking was very enjoyable. Worst part was getting into and out of the sites. Once we were set up, the site was nice. We have a 30' and our friends have a 32'. The staff does help you into your site, but exact positioning is up to you. Leaving took some tactical maneuvering, but we got out. Unsure if we would go here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2007
$32
We hated this CG. The only staff member we saw wasn't very friendly. He did take us to our site. There were plenty of front pull through sites, but I guess they keep them for any incoming bigger campers. We were placed next to a seasonal trailer. Our neighbor obviously had a lot of cats and the litter was all over our site. It wasn't the greatest smell! We had to share our hookups. However, we could not share the waterline if we wanted to. They had it all boxed in and locked.Since we had already winterized our plumbing we used their bathrooms. The bathrooms were quite a walk from our site and hard to find. My daughter and went to take a shower and the upper shower heads didn't work, so we resorted to Italian baths. The only outlet to blow dry our hair was high up next to the ceiling. The day we left we noticed that the bathroom floors were flooded. We let the worker know right away. He didn't seem to care. We also had a nasty view. Our view was obviously the maintenance area and things were everywhere. The kids playground was old and a joke. We did take a nice long walk and noticed some sites were kept very clean. However, they were nowhere near where we were. We will never come here again. We rated this our worst CG ever! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
Mostly seasonals, but good for an overnight if not crowded. We did not find staff over friendly. We followed Trailer Life's directions by going in Bus. 209, better to come in off regular 209. We were in one of the Sparrow sites and could barely pick up WiFi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
This campground is definitely a local vacation park. Most of the sites are dedicated for seasonal RVs and park models and most of those are of older vintage. However, there are a few pull through sites available for overnighters. The staff were not overly friendly and no campground maps and info were available. I spent considerable time trying to locate the laundry facilities and finely came across them approximately 1/2 mile from my overnight site. Our overnight neighbors also had difficulty locating the dumpster and left their garbage on their site when they departed. Yesterdays neighbor's garbage stayed there all day until new campers arrived late in the day. Their garbage is still sitting on their site late this afternoon after they departed early this morning. The 30 amp service was good and didn't drop in voltage while running the air conditioner. Water pressure was acceptable. The cable TV was good as was the free WiFi. The roads are very dusty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$31
We have a dually/36' high-profile fifth wheel and our pull-thru site was plenty long enough although side-by-side services made us a little closer to our neighbours than we prefer. Good accessibility, open with little tree shade - perfect for us. Mostly quiet, a little road noise at times. The 'Sparrow' sites we were on were the largest and others were might be short for rigs as large as ourselves. Streets were quite narrow - tight maneuvering if park is full. 50A service held up without problems despite my initial misgivings when I saw the apparently DIY installations. Free WiFi was excellent but we were close to the site office. Good cable TV service. Acceptable water pressure. Many scruffy seasonal units but these were well away from our site - there appeared to be a few touring sites amongst these however. Not so nice if that were your allocation. Overall we found good value for the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$36
Had been on the Interstate long enough. Called, and they said come on in, and gave us directions. We had difficulty finding the road and it was very curvy. Check in was good. Friendly people. Very Dusty. Thee were a very many seasonals. I think this to be a local summer place for people who live reasonably nearby. People were nice, but did I mention the dust? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2007
$26
We were forced to stay here over Memorial Day Weekend because of lack of advance reservations. Most sites seemed to hold long time permanent tenants. A lot of the permanent sites were not neat or attractive. The park is on a hilltop yet near a swampy area across the highway. We were parked in a dry, sunny, dusty area. The park totally filled up over the weekend and everyone seemed to drive golf carts. Young teens drove around with boomboxes blasting. The advertised WiFi did not work in spite of assertions by the office staff that it did work. You had to drive or walk up to the main office to pick up a signal. People who were long termers there were not aware they advertised WiFi. Be aware of this. We will never return here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$30
Certainly seemed a seasonal campground, not really an overnighter. We pulled into a tight, somewhat muddy spot on a rainy November day. Friendly staff. They do have Wifi now. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$32
Great park, very crowded but had a great time. The night we stayed they had a country western band called the sidekicks that were great. Lots of seasonals, but very friendly. Lots to do if you want. My kids had a blast. The seasonal kids got my kids involved in activites almost before we got hooked up. Will be back this year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2005
$35
This is a strong seasonal CG not great for a weekender. There is really nothing to do at the CG. Very few activities. Although the bathrooms were clean they did not have enough water pressure to flush toilets or give a good shower. They did have a nice snackbar area but everything else was very basic. We stayed in a travel trailer Memorial Day 2004. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2001
$25
Very clean friendly wide open park. Large pull through sites. Hay rides on weekends. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com