221734 User submitted reviews online!!
Washington / Pittsburgh SW KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 45 user reviews. Phone: (724) 225-7590
CGID2493

Washington / Pittsburgh SW KOA

Camp Information
Sites
78
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   4   1   6   6   6   5   5   4   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
The staff are very friendly and helpful. For a new 5th wheel owner, the narrow, hilly, winding road through a neighborhood was a little intimidating. It looks like they are making some improvements to the interior roads by paving them.Very hilly inside the park and rough at the exit. Our stay was fairly quiet although we could here the traffic from the highway. The sites are very tight - we were almost touching the picnic table in the site next to us when we let out our slides. Could not get the Wi-Fi to connect. We were in a 50 amp pull-through site with full hookups - it was level. The park was clean overall and we did not use any of the facilities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2014
$38
We arrived when it was raining so we expected the park to be wet. But what we didn't expect were all the potholes and rough roads. The check-in process was fast and friendly but the road to our site was up hill, to say the very least, and the road was very rough. The site was level enough and quiet, however the Internet was practically nonexistent. Then we had to make our way down the hill on another rough road when we checked out. We will not stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2013
$38
Interior roads are terrible,narrow and full of holes. Sites are not level. Getting to park is well marked by signs which is good as it is buried in the hill on steep narrow roads. The roads in the campground are very steep and could damage units if not VERY careful. The worst KOA I have ever seen. Not worth $10 per night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
We have stayed at this park before but only because it is the only park in the area while visiting family/friends. It has not changed in 4 years, still pricey, interior roads are still bad and restrooms are still old. No cable TV, very slow WiFi. Mostly monthly campers due to work going on in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
We followed the KOA website directions from I-70 East at exit 20 in a motorhome w/toad. The few signs for the KOA were very small and covered with tape. In fact, we thought the place really didn't exist after traveling several miles on very narrow roads. So narrow and tight at places that cars had to pull over twice to let us by. As others mentioned, the KOA site is on a really steep hill and the access road is in poor condition. The pull thru site we had was near level, but getting there was a bit white knuckle. The sites were quite close together and not really what I would consider good "camping" sites. No matter for us because we were simply there for an overnight stay. The staff was friendly and helpful with giving better directions to get back to the interstate. Bottom line... I don't want to be tough on this place because the staff was nice and the campground could be appealing to many. That said, in my opinion this is an okay place for travel trailers, pop ups, tents and generally speaking smaller RV's. I personally would not suggest this for larger motorhomes and I would never subject our motorhome to the risks on the narrow roads leading to this KOA or more specifically to the very steep, twisted and narrow roads within the KOA. Not worth the risk. The free Wi-Fi was weak and kicked us offline readily. I used our own system. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
Hilly steep roads, narrow too. Site OK but on hillside not terraced very well; therefore, not level. Full hookup; however, water on wrong side. We carry a 50 ft. hose on reel so OK for us. Walked down hill to the restrooms when taking a walk around the property & it was clean. Staff nice. Store nice. Washington downtown was lots of fun. Very quiet park and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$42
Was unimpressed by the KOA in general, from the steep hills to the terrible roads inside the park. The pool was well kept, and I liked that they had a fenced in dog park, although the entire property, including the dog park, was on a steep grade. The dumpster was at the bottom of the hill and walking back up was a nightmare, so much so that we decided to drive to the office/pool/dumpster any time we needed to. The gravel roads weren't in very good shape and the sites were an average size. Well suited for an overnight stay, not a week long or even weekend camping trip in my opinion. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$38
The two lane road to the park is very narrow. My real issue was with the road within the park. The road is uphill and in need of repair. A sign near the top where the road turns sharply warns you to maintain your speed because of the loose rock they call a road. Wi-Fi signal was weak and very slow. Sites are very close together and required some leveling. Restrooms and showers were clean but dated. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
Getting in and out of the campground is on basically a one lane road. The roads in the campground itself are in poor shape. The Wi-Fi is not that good and has a terrible signal. The sites are very close together. This place is okay for an overnight stay and it is close to Pittsburgh and the southwest part of the state. That's the only reason I give it a 4. The office was closed from 11 am to 1 pm everyday. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
Good hookups, the interior roads require attention. Restrooms and showers are getting old. This park needs attention. It is good for an overnight stay. We were comfortable here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
Stayed just one night. Signage is poor on 40 & very few signs on narrow road leading to campground. Would not attempt in the dark. Roads within park need upgrading very badly. Go slow or one could damage their rig. We will stay elsewhere if we come this way again. We are full timers & have stayed in a lot of very nice campgrounds in the last 12 years we have been doing this, at half the cost. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$52
Csbin was clean but older--some noise from interstate. Bathrooms clean but could use updating. Staff was helpful--nice restaurant in town. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
This is one of the closest KOA's near Pittsburgh. We stayed here for 2 weeks while visiting family. Our family was near the airport and this park was about a 30 - 40 minute drive. The spaces are very narrow and the park is hilly. It is a bit difficult to find. There was also a lot of in and out in this park. It was sometimes noisy in the evening. They do have a pool, but it was always full of children. They do have a fenced dog run and there is a path through the woods that is good for walking dogs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$36
Pricing reflects KOA discount. We spent a little over a week at this campground while visiting family. We booked our reservation the day before we were due to arrive. The campground was full one of the nights we wanted to stay, but the staff went out of their way to find a place for us. The sites were roomy, fairly level, and long enough for our motorhome plus toad. Our Shih Tzu loved the pet playground where he ran and played off his leash. The laundry room, bathrooms and showers were decent sized and clean as well. The roads to get to the park were somewhat tricky to maneuver, but we took our time and made it without incident. We ended up using our own Wi-Fi instead of the park’s which was for email only. No facebook, MySpace or downloading/uploading allowed on their limited bandwidth. Also the office, bathrooms, showers, laundry, and dumpster are all down a steep hill from the sites. We would definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$38
Should have read the reviews before booking a site here. If the white knuckle driving through the construction on the I-79 wasn't enough for you , then the trip to this park will make your day. Scary drive to the park, on very narrow roads, glad nobody was coming the other way, very hilly (its Pennsylvania) sites are very close together, difficult if you have a RV over 35ft to get in and out of some sites, wouldn't come here again. The staff were very nice, the only plus I could give it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$34
I agree with the previous comments but I like this place anyway and will come back if I plan on staying more than one night. It’s a very hilly and tough climb to get into and through the park. Use the directions from I-79 exit 33. The route from I-70 is like being in a corn-maze. Don’t even attempt it in the dark. Truth is, it's easier to find Walmart or The Meadows Casino if that can meet your needs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
Stayed here for an overnight. The park looks to be well maintained although we did not use any of the facilities. That being said there were a number of small things that soured our opinion of the park. First the sites were small and not level. The park is on a hill and everything is at a slope. We could not fully extend our entry stairs and because of the narrow site were not able to get the trailer level. The hook ups were poorly laid out. Electric and sewer on one side and water on the other. I had 50 ft of electric cord so could make that connection, but only had one section of hose so had to really play around with positioning to make it reach. Finally, the park is very close to the highway (although you have to travel some narrow back roads to get there). As a result the road noise was very loud all night. We will look for another option when in the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
Not far off Interstate but roads into campground are narrow a motorhome and car can't pass without one pulling over . Family owned friendly staff. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
Just an overnight stay for us, way off the beaten path, by the time you wind through the very hilly entrance, you are steps from the freeway. Nice big pull throughs, friendly folks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$34
I agree with everything that has been written before. This campsite is tucked into a valley so it's a few miles to and from the main road. The hosts were very nice. Our complaint was their power. When we arrived, our site (27) was reading high voltage on our electrical management system read out. The host came over and tested it and agreed and switched it to the other side and all was well. The next day we came back and found that our A/C had continuously tried to kick on but kept shutting off because of a low voltage error message. We told them and they fixed it again. The next morning we had a high voltage reading again! Definitely not a good situation and especially when you are paying this kind of money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$37
The park has excellent signs for directions to the park. The roads to the park at first appear to be a disaster, but after traveling the route for the first time, they are really OK. The park swimming pool was being replaced. The staff are VERY HELPFUL. Many contractors were living in the park, but they were very nice people. The park needs some tender loving care. The sites and roads need some attention. The location is very good for visiting Pittsburgh. I would stay here again, but would hope that the management are able to make necessary improvements. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$36
Very nice campground. Interior roads need minor grading and fresh gravel. Entrance road steep but navigatable. Very good gravel on sites but gravel bed should be 2 feet wider to accommodate entering and exiting sites. Dumpster area in desperate need of litter control. Overall visual appeal of the campground is very nice with many deer active in the area. Very nice management. I would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
This is a nice RV park, and from the look of the architecture of the building is one of the earlier KOAs. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. Sites are nice but not especially shady. Plenty of freeway noise in our hybrid, but not a sleepbuster for us heavy sleepers. The bathhouse is down a fair hill from most of the sites but it's not a bad walk, even in the dark. Be sure to follow the campground's directions and not your GPS or you might get stuck on some seriously narrow backstreets. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
Really nice hosts!!! The smiled and welcomed us to the campground. When we asked about propane filling, the reply was filling is available for another 15 minutes tonight. Then after parking another camper, he returned to pick up us and the propane tank! It was so nice to have a golf-cart ride back up the very steep hill with our heavy full-propane-tank! Very steep hill down to the dog park may be troublesome for some, but we had no difficulty. The smallish off-leash was nicely mowed and very clean. Road noise is to be expected from the location close to both interstates. Watch for the KOA signs, as our Google Map wanted us to stop too early. The turn-off is not at the top of the hill - keep going down and watch for the KOA sign to the left. We will return when passing through the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
Staff friendly and we received an escort to our site. Road from office to sites, is steep with a 180 degree turn. Was manageable in our 30 foot class C with a toad, but be ready for it. Water pressure was good, had a strong chlorine taste, but maybe it is just me. Has gravel sites which require minimal leveling. Road noise from both I-70 and I-79 is loud. This noise level will keep me from returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
We stayed at the Washington/Pittsburgh SW KOA on our travel home from New Jersey. The campground was amazingly clean and quite. The owners were on the porch waiting on us to arrive. They were very friendly. It was a very positive experience. There was even a doggy playground! Would definitely recommend the Washington/Pittsburgh KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$37
We will not come back unless I have 4 wheel drive to get into the park. When my wife got out of the truck she almost fell into the fire ring, as the sites are very small. This was not what I expected from a KOA. The other negative reviews pretty much sums it up, plus you have to be a mountain goat to walk to the comfort station. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$34
This campground needs some upgrading. Difficult to get in and out of with a large unit. Very steep and windy roads, plus when it rains it's hard to get out of due to being slippery with mud. Wi-Fi went in and out to the extent it was almost unusable. We were told that we needed to keep our user time short or they would not have service for a day if the park went over. May have been set up with the satellite TV service and may be metered? Anyway, sites are narrow and steep. Will avoid staying here in the future. A small unit that doesn't need wireless would have no problem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
Not a bad park. Since there are not a lot of choices and we were in town for 2 nights, we tried it. The park was clean: bathrooms were not old but also, were not new. Again, they were at least clean. Owners were friendly. Would stay here again if in the area. It was convenient to everywhere we were going. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
A good campground for overnight. Located close to the interstate highway but the noise was not a problem. Need to follow KOA signs and not GPS directions when you get off the interstate. Would camp here again if travelling through the area. Rates paid was with a KOA card. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$38
Very friendly park and the staff was a big help. We camped in a pull through but my definition of pull through is longer than their definition. The park was clean and neat even with the rain that was present when we arrived. A good stay for three days. Lots to see We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$34
This cg is not up to KOA standards. Going eastbound you must go on a three-mile series of narrow winding roads, then up a steep hill into the cg on a narrow dirt road. This place needs a lot of work. Wi-Fi went in and out. No cap on sewer connector. We will not stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2008
$38
We stayed here for one night and arrived late. Unfortunately, the posted leaflet did not include the access code for the wireless internet. When we got it next morning, we realized that it is a volume restricted access - definitely not what you normally consider as wireless service. The campground as such is nice but the sites require significant leveling. Unfortunately, our experience was totally spoilt by an unfriendly, actually rude, campground host. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Nice campground with easily accessible sights. Pull through sites were long enough to leave tow vehicle and trailer connected which was appreciated since we were only staying for one night. Staff was friendly and showed us to our sight. Pool was clean and well maintained. The bathrooms and showers were acceptable but could have used a little more attention in terms of cleaning. The campgrond is well signed when coming off the turnpike and easy to find. All in all I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$39
Significant improvements (new blacktop) to main entrance road from last year made arrival much better. However, this KOA is still difficult to get to. KOA directions must be followed in detail but long distances between KOA signs cause one to wonder if one is on the right road. Directions do not have distances marked. I cannot imagine finding this KOA in the dark. Wi-Fi, while excellent, is limited; i.e., the KOA/local ISP contract limits the KOA and in turn, the KOA limits campers who get a login password upon checking-in, will be booted-off the connection if too much data is uploaded/downloaded. There is a warning note above the password login, but it lacks specificity as to just how much time/megs can be used. Over all, the campground is clean and owners are clearly upgrading, but sites are not that level and small. This was our third time at this KOA, but are now considering other options w/easier access and longer internet connectivity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2008
$41
We stopped in overnight to stay here. It was a nightmare to find in the dark. It was very hilly. The office is actually on a very steep hill. We had a hard time getting to the site. It was a pretty park, but the interstate could be disturbing. It would not suggest this for a overnight stay because just too inconvenient to get to, but could be nice for a extended stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2008
$38
Owners were very nice and friendly, but the campground is tired. The sites were quite un-level and small. The road to the sites is tricky for RV's and in need of repair. OK place for just passing through, but we won't stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
We stayed here for a long weekend while visiting Pittsburgh for business. The main road up to the office is in terrible shape. The pull through site we had was adequate but was sloped so using a chair outside was not possible. There are some campers and tents set up there for the season that look pretty bad. The noise from the highway is very loud. All advertised utilities worked good except for the wifi. Went out a couple of times and was slow. This is not a destination campground but would stay there again if passing through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$29
This is a fairly typical worn-out KOA campground. Unfortunately, most of the KOA system is made up of campgrounds that were built during the RV boom of the mid ’70’s, and a lot of the properties are simply worn out, with a tremendous amount of deferred maintenance evident. This is one such property. The road into the campground is very steep, and full of potholes, that can really jar the fillings right out of your teeth. The office is a typical KOA A-Frame. From the office, we were escorted to our site by the very friendly and helpful owners (or work campers - we weren’t sure which) The road from the office is VERY steep, and again, rough, with old broken picnic tables and other junk strewn along the side. The pull-through sites were adequate for our length, but barely so, and if we put our awning out, it would have definitely touched the rig in the next site. These sites are REALLY tight. The water and electric were OK, with no problems. We were able to get a good satellite signal for the TV. They have WiFi available, and the signal strength was great, but the campground’s internet is supplied via Satellite, so it’s response is slow, and the campground limits use to 50mB per day. They don’t have cable TV, but regular TV reception was good, with several Pittsburgh stations available. The campground has I-79 on one side, and I-70 on the other, so it’s extremely noisy. Earplugs were mandatory for sleeping. The walk from the office (where the showers are) to the campsites is via a long, steep set of steps, and we saw several older folks really struggling to make the climb. Some sites are level, while others are badly out of level, forcing people to break out the leveling blocks. Guess which one we had? This campground would benefit greatly from doing some of that deferred maintenance I mentioned earlier, and getting rid of all the accumulated junk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
This was a nice campground with all the amenities that you expect at a KOA. The owners were very friendly. The campground is on a hill which allows scenic views over the top of you neighbor's RV. Tents have their own section of the park as do the monthly campers. Will return when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$41
Well kept, interior roads quite narrow and hilly. Nice pool, loads of kids on weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$27
This KOA was very clean and well-maintained with average to slightly smaller than average site sizes. The staff was very, very pleasant, and the bathrooms and campstore were very clean and well-maintained. We would highly recommend it as a campground for passing through Washington. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$28
We visited this campground a day after hurricane Ivan dumped 5 inches of rain on it, so it was quite muddy, but the owner had spent the whole morning on a tractor trying to reconstruct the access roads. The roads are gravel and rather steep. If he had not graded the roads than I don't think I could have gotten in. The sites were fairly small but comfortable enough for overnight parking. There is not enough to do in the area to make this campground much more than a stop-over. The bathrooms were very clean. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We had reserved two nights but was not able to make the first night because of the rain storm and the owners were very understanding and refunded the money even though we had not cancelled in time. I enjoyed staying here and would stay here again if I was in the Pittsburgh area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$32
This campground has just recently changed ownership, Rich and Sharron are the the new owners first names. They are very friendly people. I believe the previous owners did not keep the place up prior to the sale. For now, just an average campground, but they have plans for improvements. The campground was clean and quiet. The sites are a little close together. However, the sites are long enough for 45 foot motor homes. The main road into the campground is in need or repair. I suspect that campground will improve over the next 1 - 2years. If I was back in the Pittsburgh area, I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2004
$30
Sites are too close, on a hill. Most sites were total mud and the grass was knee high. Mostly for motorhomes. Not suitable for a popup (we have). Some sites are shaded. There is a pool, playground needs updated. Not the greatest place for kids. Owners are nice and bathhouse was very clean. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com