206922 User submitted reviews online!!
Keen Lake Camping & Cottage Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (570) 488-6161
CGID2494

Keen Lake Camping & Cottage Resort

Camp Information
Sites
300
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$51



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   10   3   10   10   9   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$51
This is a very large park, with most sites located on a hillside across a road from the lake. It was a long ride to the far end of the park to our site. Our site was one of two tucked in with some seasonals. Sites are very tight and not very level, although we were able to get reasonable level. Hookups were excellent, but Wi-Fi was very weak, either nonexistent, or on for a short time and then off. The park is a long way from highways for an overnight stop. We would not stay here again just for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$53
Older park with many permanents. Narrow roads with a public road running right through it. Pool was too small for such a large park. Place like this should not charge extra, as they do, for kids and A/C. My low rating is based on value. Should be a $28 /day park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$55
This was our first time at this campground and we were very impressed. We've stayed at another campground in the area and it doesn't compare to Keen Lake. The camp store was nice and was open until 11 p.m. Staff was friendly and helpful. Our campsite was a bit of a tight squeeze getting into, but the staff warned us of that. There are a lot of seasonals and a large number of teens running around the campground and "hanging out", but they were not too loud and friendly. All the seasonals sites were clean and well-maintained. It is a nice campground and the only campground we said we would consider getting a seasonal site at. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$55
We stayed for two nights. It's dangerous to get in and out of from the main road. The entrance is on a turn and you can't see what is coming in or out. Some of the roads in the campground are just wide enough for your camper. The directions given to campsite 99 couldn't be made with the truck and 30 foot camper. My wife had to walk along to make sure I didn't hit anything. The campsites are small. Everything closes early: Laundry room - 4pm and swimming pool - 6pm. We had to watch our own kids in the pool. The lifeguard seem to be more interested in the babes sunbathing. I would say that 90% are seasonal sites. The people are friendly and helpful, except for directions to our site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
Very clean park with an excellent store. We are looking into a seasonal stay for next year! Has friendly staff, and is pet friendly. Great place to take the kids! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
Keen Lake campground is a wonderful, restful place. As always it ranks a 10 with me. This time I was at site L11 with a lakefront. Easy access for boating and the fishing was great. Keen Lake is a must visit! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
We have been camping here for 19 years. It is a great park with lots and lots of stuff for the kids. The Keen sisters are great. What a relaxing time each year at Keen Lake. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
Keen Lake was a nice campground. It was quiet at night which is one of our favorite things. The activities for the kids were plentiful and fun. The pool was VERY crowded, but clean. The lake is gorgeous, and the boating was nice. We will probably go back here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
Great campground; we come here every year! When not cooking in the RV or the camp fire we were at the Gravity Inn, a little known place in Waymart, very family friendly with awesome food and prices. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
We camped here one weekend and were pleasantly surprised. It really looks crowded from the road, but we camped up by the new bath house near the activity area and playground. The sites were roomy and the bath house great. It was modern and very clean. We enjoyed camping there very much and will do so again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$45
I recommend this park. I recommend sites on top of the hill as they are spacious and there is close access to two playgrounds. The staff were so helpful and friendly. There are hourly activities for the kids. The pool is crystal clear and not very crowded. We definitely will be camping here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
The sites are too close together. There is a main road right in the middle of the campground. It is very noisy. Will not return here. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
My kids loved this campground! The activities never stopped. We got a lot of bang for our buck. Some activities had a small charge but it would have cost me a lot more to take my kids out of the park to do something else. Our site was level and easy to back into. The pool looked good and the views of the lake were great. I would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2008
$49
We've been going to Keen Lake for several years. Always loved it. Great fishing, friendly people etc. But something happened. I don't know if management changed in the family or just the times are changing. There are a lot more seasonal sites now. A lot of rude people who don't seem to be the typical friendly campers that brought us back year after year. We booked our sites ( we usually go in small groups) at least six months in advance. We asked for and were told we'd be in a specfic area. Wooded near the lake. A couple weeks prior to our trip I called to find out what sites we were getting. They told me they couldn't tell me yet. I found that odd but after years of camping there I trusted them. When I got there I found my very small site in full sun nowhere near the lake. I immediately went to the office. I was told the only other sites I could change to were at the farthest point in the campground against the road. They didn't even apologize for their error. Unfortunately We won't be going back. They just don't seem to care so I won't either. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$48
We love this campground. There is so much for kids to do at this campground. They have activities planned almost by the hour. Our site was level and clean upon our arrival. The bathrooms remained clean the entire holiday weekend. Staff was friendly and helpful. We rented paddleboats and swam in the heated pool numerous times. We will go back again next year. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
This has been an excellent park which has unfortunately declined over the last few years, in our opinion. It has become overcrowded, and seasonal sites are created without adequate parking for the campers and their families. Holiday weekends are miserable. Since there is almost no security or enforcement many guests show up to visit seasonal members overcrowding not only the campsite but the pool and other facilities as well. Any constructive criticism is disregarded by the management as they attempt to squeeze the most profit out of the campground. Seventeen year old children of the seasonal camper are charged as guests and there are fees for almost everything from boat storage (on your site) to air conditioner use ($2.00/day). The pool has become so inadequate for the number of campers, especially on weekends, that the water appears gray and cloudy at times. Sorry to say that Keen Lake surely isn't what it used to be and needs some attention to recover that "family" feeling. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$45
We just got back from a nice time at this CG. We've been here several times; it is still fun. We have a 36' motorhome, and it is still a tough place to get around. Just take your time, and have spotters help you. The only drawback I have is that they charge you for A/C use, children, and $6.00 to launch a boat. We had a 9' kayak! The bathrooms were good, and the showers are pay showers. All in all still a fun and quiet place. Remember the staff is strictly business so don't try and chit chat. You're not there for them anyway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$44
Wonderful place to get away to. New pool and new restrooms were great. Sitting around the pool you had a great view of the lake which was beautiful and were also right next to the store which was nice. Staff was friendly and helpful. Plenty of activities for kids all summer long. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$50
Definitely not big rig friendly. We camped here in a 36' MH and it was very tight. The overall campground is good. Lots of wooded sites and very quite. Large number of seasonals and most are very nicely decorated. The down side to this CG are the staff and most campers. The staff are over the top RUDE! I know I'm not there to converse with the staff but, a hi or thank you would work. Most campers hardly spoke which is unusual at CG now days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2004
$40
This is a very busy and crowded campground on the weekends. The public road that runs through the park is a big drawback. Many locals using the road do not obey the posted speed limit. It is extremely difficult to maneuver the narrow roads and small sites. We had a reservation for a lake front site but could not access it. Our trailer bottomed out trying to go down the road to the lake front site. Luckily they were able to accommodate us and put us in another site. If you have kids and you are looking for a lot of activities, it's great. If you want a more laid back atmosphere, stay away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2004
$45
8th generation Keen family members run this rv park. Confusing site numbering system, and two town roads coupled with private residences within the resort make this a confusing place to navigate. Old narrow roads, extra charges for practically every little amenity, really horrible showers, and a muddy non-beach lake swim area make this a do not return destination for us. On the better side, ceramics were first rate, the pool was nice and clean, and the kids activities were non stop all Saturday. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$35
The area around this campground is beautiful with a nice lake sitting in the middle of mountains. The campground however is older and made more for smaller units. There are no good accommodations for check in, so you have traffic jams or RV'ers sitting on a small township owned road which runs right through the middle of the camp and beside the camp office. Because the road is township owned, they won't let you sit there. Kind of hard to check in when you can't park to check in. There is a little lot just down from the office, but on the day I was there, it was filled with cars going to the swimming pool. The staff was friendly, but I believe they stretch the capacity of their campground. The roads are narrow and full of trees. It was very hard to make turns with 40 ft motor home. My brother even had trouble making the same turns with his extend cab truck and 27 ft TT. We are both excellent drivers and have been is some tight campgrounds and this was the most challenging for both of us. If you have a smaller rig and do not mind older style campgrounds, its worth the stay. If you have bigger unit - stay out. I believe their brochure is a little over rated when they state they are one of the top 6 campgrounds in PA. I have stay at nicer places. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com