219848 User submitted reviews online!!
Philadelphia / West Chester KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 62 user reviews. Phone: (610) 486-0447
CGID2495

Philadelphia / West Chester KOA

Camp Information
Sites
104
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$65



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   10   7   10   9   10   7   5   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$65
Be sure to follow the directions on the web site and not your GPS or you will be in trouble. Their web site directions take you down a country, curvy road but directly to the campground. The campground is laid out nicely and the staff are very efficient in checking you in. Any questions about the area, they have the answers. The Brandywine River runs by the campground and great for canoeing…they rent the canoes. The campsites are large enough and almost easy to level. They have a very large pool and camp store. If you have children, they have a nice playground area. The train station is only 15 minutes away for transportation into Philadelphia and very cheap. As seniors we paid only $1.00 each one way. Beats driving and the Philly station is right in center city. We definitely recommend the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$61
Camped in a 35 foot rig. Narrow, winding country roads to reach campground from Route 1. Escorted to pull-through site 56. Needed two boards to level on open, grass site with shade tree nearby. Site on a hill with easy access, but sloping ground for picnic table and chairs. Close to neighbors on hook-up side; otherwise spacious site. Good Wi-Fi connection. Did not use laundry, but looked clean. Spacious area and play equipment for children. Quiet and dark at night. Did not use bath house or pool. Convenient to historic sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$68
Very nice clean camp grounds. The bath houses were very clean and with plenty of hot water. A good many of the sites were on a hill but the owners has done a good job of leveling them for the campers. Very friendly helpful staff. Nice big pool with kiddie pool, putt putt golf, and even a volleyball net. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$17
The rate is based on the fact we had KOA points so it was cheaper than the normal rate. It is a nice park with grassy camping but not all places have full hookup. We were put on the side of the hill and it was difficult to get into. The road to the resort is 2 lane at best. There are no shoulders and in places it is hard to see--especially on the one lane bridge. Management was friendly. It is quite a distance to what I would call civilization. It was quiet. We scored it lower because of the difficult road to get into the park and because of that we will not stay there again. We travel in a fifth wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$80
Nicely taken care of. Premium spots are really nice, but should be for the price. Road in from US-1 (Kennett Square) is an adventure. Had some brush rubbing on side of rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$56
We stayed here one month, no monthly discount offered as we stayed in one of their 'best' sites (#40). Very pleased with site - level, excellent hookups and no neighbors on our 'yard' side. Interior roads and sites are grass/gravel. There are some steep hills, some potholes, but staff is working on roads. Many sites in upper area have good satellite view. Verizon voice and data reception poor. Laundry, restrooms and pool very clean. Eight miles to town of West Chester, 15 miles Walmart, 20 to COSTCO. Beautiful dog friendly nature preserve 1/2 mile. Nice dog park in KOA. Park well kept, nice views from lower sites across Brandywine Creek. NEGATIVE: All roads leading to KOA are narrow, shoulder-less, hilly, with many curves and routine 90 degree turns, difficult to maneuver 42' toy hauler. We may not return due to the difficult access roads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$67
We returned to this park, having stayed there last year on the spur of the moment. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The campground itself is well-tended, quiet, and provides an excellent family outing. The sites are level and pleasant. We had reserved a 30-amp pull-through site for our Class C motorhome, but were given a very nice 50 amp pull-through at the same price. While it is one of the more expensive campgrounds we've stayed in, the price seems on par for the Philadelphia area. One warning: as they state on their website, you cannot trust a GPS to lead you to this campground successfully, you must use their directions. We will return here again, the next time we are in the Philadelphia area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$61
People running front desk were very friendly and helpful. We were checked in quickly, and escorted to our site. I would have given this KOA a higher rating, however, the interior roads are in need of repair as they are very bumpy and rutted. Also, the roads leading to the campground are very tight and hilly with lots of curves, not to mention the many low hanging trees. It's not likely we will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$55
Campground is very hilly. Sites are not level. Sites are mostly gravel. Roadways to access campground are narrow and winding making it a challenge. Nice fenced area for dogs. Difficult access will influence if we return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$80
This is our second visit. I would not camp here except family is close. Stayed in premium site this time. The sites have nice patios but overall seem very neglected. The patio is paved while the parking spot is gravel. They are huge but are starting to get overgrown with some weeds. For the price, I expect better grounds maintenance, especially in the premium sites. Roads in campgrounds are still horrible. Some long term residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$47
Built on a hill, this is a KOA with some elevation variations. A small campground for RVs. Nice restrooms, the ones in the main building have definitely been remodeled. The roads to get to it can be a challenge. If you want to visit this part of Philadelphia, it's a spot to stay. I do not plan to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$50
Drive in from US-1 was horrible. Roads in the campground were horrible. Some spots really close to each other, some OK width. Cable on my spot was horrible. Had to use a tripod to get Directv. Wi-Fi was real slow. Nice appearance in campground. Clean looking. Camp here because it is the only place around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
This is a beautiful setting in a beautiful area. The hosts are very helpful. From this park you can walk to the Brandywine River and look across to a picturesque horse farm! Incredible. The restrooms and showers are very clean. This park is a jewel. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$60
First time that we stayed here. Convenient to our home, clean campground but there were several issues. Water pressure as low, electric was running low, causing the 30 amp breaker in the electrical box to trip (had to shut off electric hot water heater) and Wi-Fi was hit or miss. Will return as some point in time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$62
This is an excellent campground in the Brandywine Valley. Shows pride of ownership. Very clean and spacious lots. Excellent directions provided for all needs. We took a tour from the campground to Philly which was one of the best tours we have ever gone on. They do require at least 4 people to make a tour. I would have rated this campground a 10 but we had little or no Wi-Fi all week. We would recommend this spot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$43
Closest and most convenient to Philly. That's about all I can say. The $43 was for water/electric only. Very winding road and sharp curves to get to campground if you are coming from the west. There was low water pressure and it's in the middle of nowhere! But... location, location, location! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$115
Beautiful small, family owned and operated park on Brandywine Creek. Clean pool, really exceptional rec hall/arcade/restaurant building, and clean, well kept facilities and amenities. This park is big rig friendly (go easy on the winding road to the park), has courteous employees, and great service. Only complaint was the hefty holiday rate for a family of two adults and four kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$75
We stayed here for a single night, signed in relatively late with only a few minutes' phone warning to see if they had a last-minute vacancy. The staff was friendly and helpful. My site was level (I noticed others that required campers to use leveling jacks, but even these were not extreme), and it had good water, sewer, and 50 amp electric hookups. The campground was well-maintained and clean, and guests and staff were quiet and pleasant during our stay; a nice, family campground. The price seemed high compared to elsewhere we've been, but it was comparable to other campgrounds in the Philadelphia area. We will go back the next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$40
Rate indicates monthly stay. Clean, many activities, friendly staff. We had no problems with 50amps or water pressure. Both AT&T and Verizon coverage were spotty here, more off than on. Beautiful area. A couple of steep hillsides proved problematic - we spun our wheels and had to backup and try again in our 40' motorhome. Also, approach this campground from the east, not the south. There is a one-lane bridge with tight turns at either end. We won't try that again. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$47
Cute mini golf and decent pool. The sites were a bit unlevel, but they quickly moved us to a more level one. There was a bit of a large mosquito population here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2012
$75
Very expensive for the amenities offered. Curt staff. Extremely noisy staff golf carts (gas powered) speeding throuth the place all the time. Sites are small and very close together, and are just grass. No pads or patios. Dirt roads. Bath house was clean, but not air conditioned, stifling on a hot day. Barking dogs everywhere, and no rules were enforced. Saw one small pop-up with five dogs. I'd rather have stayed home. Would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$55
This CG is in an attractive rural setting quite close to West Chester and Wilmington. The site sizes are typical but seem larger because everything is set on a hillside. The hillside seems a bit intimidating at first, but we were able to get to our site with no difficult even with our toad still hitched. The sites are gravel and weren't all that level. With our jacks and having dumped our air we still couldn't get quite level. The roads approaching the CG are narrow but we managed them even with our 40' MH. Pay attention to the directions provided since the alternative routes are more difficult (believe me, we know that by experience). The staff at check-in was pleasant even though they were very busy with Halloween weekend activities. Contrary to a previous review, the golf carts didn't seem too noisy, nor were they out and about particularly early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
The park itself was neat and well-maintained with level gravel sites with good Wi-Fi, good water and decent cable TV. Staff was friendly and helpful. What would prevent us from returning is the roads county roads that lead to and from the park - narrow, winding, hilly with one-lane bridges. It was impossible to drive these roads without strafing our Class A motorhome with branches on roadsides and overhead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2011
$46
The reason for this low rating is due to the time of the year staying here. I have stayed here two other times but not in September. The camp has trees with a type of fruit called a horse apple (by one name). The first night we were woke by a loud bang on top of the camper. The second night the horse fruit fell all night. I moved my truck out from under the trees. When I arrived home I cleaned the camper which was very dirty and found a small hole in the top were the stem of this fruit embedded in the top. I would not stay here in September unless in an open area. The owners should have mentioned this prior. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$83
Nice clean CG with many amenities in a very peaceful setting. But there are some specific things to consider about this unique KOA. First of all, it is a KOA, which means "Keep On Adding." There are the expected KOA pricing and up-charges, like $7.50 for each guest exceeding two, regardless of age. Extra fees for vehicles (we had none) fees for guests visiting for a few hours, $1/stick for firewood and the like. Second, it is a very hilly campground. If you have issues walking steep hills, you don't want to leave your site for the pool or store, although the host may give you a ride in the golf-cart if things aren't too busy. They were nice folks. The pull-through sites are large (and exposed), but probably only doable if you have levelers. We had a great little wooded back-in site at the very back/top of the CG, and only needed two layers of legos on one side. Third, while it wasn't a problem for our 33' class-c, it may be a tricky approach from the Chadd's Ford direction if you are towing or in a monster-class-A, since the roads are tight and narrow, and there is a one-lane bridge to cross. But study a map and approach from the West Chester direction (via stargazer road) and it is not nearly as bad. It may be worth the re-route through that nice little town. They have a nice swimming pool with a lifeguard, a playground, and an arcade with coin-op video-games and pool-table. The micro-golf course was weak (and not free) but it's another available kid activity. My 3G modem was the best internet option, but that was spotty too. We chose this CG specifically because we have no tow-vehicle and wanted to see Philadelphia, as they offer guided tours leaving from the KOA (reserve in advance). Here are some details of the tour, for your consideration... A 14-passenger (plus driver) van leaves bright and early. (Four kids and ten adults rakes in $900.) The guide tells you about every horse-farm on the way to Philly, and then drops you off at the visitor's center with a map and tickets to Indenpendence Hall. You have just enough time to see that and the Liberty Bell (be glad it is early in the morning, as the lines grow quickly) and find your way to the pick-up point for an early lunch (again, be glad you beat the crowds.) No time to explore the downtown area on foot, and the only other stops were meticulously timed. 35 minutes at Betsy Ross house and 20 minutes at Christ Church. Most of the rest of the afternoon is spent driving around the historic district and hoping you can get a view from the moving vehicle. The guide was friendly and knowledgeable but most of the tour was from the vehicle, which was a huge disappointment. Then a 45-minute drive to Valley Forge for a 20-minute walk around Washington's encampment house and a 15 minute movie at the visitor's center. We drove (without further stops) around the Valley Forge park, then back to West Chester past lots of old houses, but no more stops. We were still away from the CG for ten hours. If all you want is a taste of every possible aspect of Philly history, then this tour is perfect for you. But for those who want to dig deeper (or have restless kids who need to get out of the van) then don't rely on this tour. Find a place to park your rig near public transport, or bring a tow-vehicle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$70
I can't recommend this campground. We were treated rudely by a member of the staff and received no apology from the park's owner. Called ahead two weeks before arrival and a staff member said we could stay up to three hours after the traditional noon checkout on a Monday. We agreed to pay the extra $3/hour fee for the privilege of staying late. On that Monday morning, to confirm that we would need to stay after noon, a different staff member rejected the promise made by her colleague. She demanded we leave by noon. Unfortunately, we were committed to visit a local college and could not return until 2 p.m. The staffer repeated her demand that we leave be noon, suggesting that the site would be immediately occupied at 2 p.m. Note this was a Monday - 75% of the campground was empty. We returned at 1:30, packed the trailer fast in 95 degree heat, and were able to leave before 2 p.m. We received no thanks or acknowledgement of our efforts by said staff member. Three days after I called the owner to complain, he acknowledged that our site remained vacant after we left and the rush was unnecessary. Despite this, the owner never apologized and never acknowledged the inconvenience and stress his staffer put us in. You can expect the same treatment for lesser issues. We won't be back. Ever. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$54
We stayed at the West Chester, KOA with some friends for a quick getaway weekend. The staff was very friendly and helpful upon check in. They told us about the weekend events and then showed us to our spot. Out site was an average size for a KOA campground. We have come to learn that most of the sites are not very roomy and there is no real divider between you and your neighbor. The site was on a hill and we had to back down into the area, but it looked like it was going to be tougher than it was. The good thing about the site, it was basically level. We may have had to rake a few stones under the levelers, but it did not require much effort. Our site was right across from the Dog Walk area and a short distance to the store, pool, community center, and restrooms. We found two drawbacks to this KOA. First the noisy golf carts the employees drove around. The golf carts were a bit older, with loud mufflers and with their tools in the back made them very loud when going over bumps and rough terrain. I probably would have not minded this so much if the employees had waited until 8am to use them instead of waking me up around 6:30am. The second drawback is the “fishing” area. There really is not a good spot for fishing off the bank. The tree branches hang rather low and the open areas to the banks are mainly occupied by tents. On a side note to anyone who is considering booking at a KOA (not just specific to this one), they tend to draw a certain type of people. Generally the guest stay between 1 - 3 nights, a week, and maybe the occasional monthly visitor. Though so many people use these campgrounds as a short overnight stay. This means people are coming in late and leaving early which can make for a noisy campground at odd hours. Also it seems like some of the transits are more relaxed when it comes to being quiet including the children. The children were out running and screaming around 7am the days we stayed. I am not faulting the campground for this as they do not (technically) have any control of this, but I am bringing it to your attention so before booking it is something to consider. Where I have found more seasonal campgrounds to be a bit more courteous during quiet hours. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$54
The location is good for visiting Philadelphia and Wilmington. We had a nice site for our 45' coach. Roomy and open for satellite reception. The Wi-Fi was not steady and kept going on and off which is frustrating. The roads getting to the campground are narrow and tricky. Take it slow. Be on the lookout for detours which seem to be prevalent in the area. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$56
A very nice campground, if small like most KOAs. Staff is friendly and facilities are kept neat and clean: including the pool. The pool gets really crowded: best time to go is right after lunch when the life guard comes back on duty. The river sites are really nice if you are tent camping, or have a small trailer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$47
Sites were the narrowest we've ever stayed at, but beautiful, well maintained, and great staff. Has a small mini golf course, pool, game room, activities, etc. Fewer sites than other places so reserve early. Convenient to Kennett and West Chester which both have nice down towns to walk, eat, and shop. Baltimore, Philly, DC, and Hershey are all within reach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$45
The only reason I rated this as a 9 was because the road to the campground is extremely narrow and very winding-very winding. The campground itself is absolutely spotless, and the sites were level and roomy. The fall foliage there was beautiful as is the surrounding area. The staff was very helpful and professional. The campground is about half an hour from the QVC Studio which provides tours for $7.50-a little high,but a different take. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$55
We agree with other reviewer's advice to follow the RV Park directions rather than GPS navigator; still tricky, but better. Well maintained park near Brandywine River Art Museum and the fascinating Dupont Family historical sites Longwood Gardens and Winterthur. We would go there again. We asked about recycling; the staff person looked anxious and embarrassed and said there was a container for aluminum cans outside and all other materials for recycling could be brought into the office. We both had a distinct (but unconfirmed) impression that material dropped off at the office to be recycled would quickly find its way to the trash bin. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Beautiful, well maintained campground nestled into the rolling hills of the Brandywine Valley. Concerns about roads leading to the campground may have been overstated by others. I pulled a 39 foot 5th wheel with little issue and crossed the bridge with room to spare (without on coming traffic). Restrooms and showers are clean and well maintained. Pool is nicely situated with late afternoon shade. Full hook-up sites on the hill area are spacious enough with room for two vehicles and the camper (we had my truck and my wife's van). Access roads are slightly better than gravel and our site was very level. Staff was friendly and courteous. We wish we could have stayed longer and will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$58
This is a nice enough park (pricey, even by KOA standards) in the middle of pretty country (or not near anything, depending on your point-of-view). In this area, it's really the only game in town. Access to the park is via winding back roads with low tree limbs and a challenging narrow bridge with 90 turns at each end. The park itself occupies a large hill with sites spread out all over it. There are a lot of family activities, and the "Kabins" get a lot of use on weekends. While we were here, all the interior gravel roads were top-coated with what appeared to be ground up waste asphalt from a road construction project; not sure I'd call them "paved", but "improved" might work. Pull-through sites are large and reasonably spaced. Back-in sites can be small and several are tucked away deep in the trees. We were able to get satellite reception with no problems, although some sites are blocked by trees. Staff are friendly and helpful and the park is well maintained. The store, cafe, and activities are good since the park is relatively isolated. Roughly equidistant from Lancaster, Reading, Philadelphia, and Wilmington (30-60 minutes each), there is a lot to do and see in the area (don't miss the mushrooms in Kennett Square), and this makes a reasonable base. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$46
I didn't get to try the pool or canoes because of bad weather. Campground is well-equipped with things to do, and has a store well-stocked with useful goods and souvenirs. Very hilly, and the sites are not large, but not cramped either. Approach roads are narrow, hilly and twisty. If you're not comfortable maneuvering your rig in tight quarters this is not the place for you. Some of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Others were Philadelphia-surly. Wi-fi was mediocre to poor. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$50
If you are looking to tour Brandywine/Chaddsford/Chester County and surrounds, this is your park. Campground is right on the Brandywine River. We Had site 48, up the hill. This site is great for Wi-Fi Reception. I don't know if there is a perfectly level site here. Used three leveler blocks on 3 of the four wheels to get level. Sites are pretty close together. Hey, if you want to stay in the rolling hill beauty of Horse Country, you have to make some concessions. If you like canoeing and don't own one, recommend using one of their rentals - inexpensive and family loved paddling past the old rail line, and the horse farms, and some "McMansions". Water clear enough to see catfish and trout at the bottom. The new activities building is beautiful, and offers a tempting cafe with full dinners to boot. The roads are gravel, as are the sites. Both could use a new coating. Showers were clean, and very friendly staff, attentive to the plantings and grounds. I'd rate the place higher, but they really need to re-gravel the roads and sites. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2009
$48
When we arrived after making reservations, we were led to a water/electric back-in site. After numerous attempts to try to get level and having to use 4 wheel drive to get out of site (It had rained there the day before), contacted office and asked if any sites available. They said use the next grass site next to us. I explained that we have a 39' 5th wheel weighing approx 17,000 lbs and would sink in that site also. Said all they had. We had to drive 2 hours to Allentown KOA. They did refund money after talking to them. I would not stay here after the narrow road and 1 lane bridge to the park (route was the one the park told to take) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
We were pleased with this KOA even though the sites were a bit closer than state parks we camp at, the way they had them staggered gave us enough room. Everything was top notch and well run, no problems with anything in the park at all. That said, as other posters have noted, the bridge and short distance from the bridge to the campground is VERY narrow, so you must watch for people crossing the bridge before you decide to cross. There were 40 ft. motorhomes and all types of fifth wheels there while we were there so it is doable, just be careful with the short distance described above. We would not hesitate to stay here again. They have a new restaurant open and the pool was very nice as was the game room and children's playground. No issues with water or electric. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$51
Clean, friendly, well run campground. We stayed down on the river on a water/electric site. The site was HUGE - we were able to park sideways in our 21 ft convertible so that we faced the river and still had room to park the truck and the kids to play. We weren't supposed to be able to get the Wi-Fi where were were but we actually were able to pick it up. We had the pancake breakfast on Sunday and it was great if a little slow. Only a couple of complaints - expensive for no sewer service, the grading on the sites wasn't great and when a really bad storm hit our site didn't drain at all, our mat actually started to float! Also, they messed up our reservations. We were camping with friends - they were supposed to have the site directly across from ours but when we got there, they were bumped to accommodate another group of three campsites and were on the other side of the river area from us. We weren't too happy about that. Great canoeing, pool. Lots of kids! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$52
Well run campground. Pretty well packed with RV's. One on top of the other. There was a steep hill to the various sites. Our site was on the side in the main area, convenient to rest rooms and relatively secluded. We would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
This campground is one of the best I have stayed in. I have stayed in campgrounds across the US. I read a review from someone who stayed in the cg in May 09. The weekend they were talking about was the KOA Come Camp with Us weekend that KOAs around the country have activities that raise money for children who have cancer & their siblings to attend camp in the Summer. I also was there on this weekend. The cg was full. The chicken dinner was priced as a fund raiser and was very good. It was 1/2 chicken, veggies, bread, drink and dessert. The Ice Cream Social also was a fund raiser. If they made their reservation close to arrival, they got what was left. The road into the cg is winding close to the cg, but I saw 40'+ rigs there with no damage to their rigs. This cg is a great place to come to on the Brandywine River and the Guided Tour to Philadelphia and Valley Forge was excellent. I highly recommend this cg if you are looking for a fun experience, clean restrooms/showers, clean sites, and friendly, helpful staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$52
I noticed that a lot of other reviewers were very happy with this campground. They mentioned the new facilities, immaculate bathrooms, friendly staff, and family-friendly activities. This is all true, but for us, it was all out-weighed by the size and orientation of the campsites. We had a very small, narrow site on the side of a hill. Getting into the site at all after dark was frightening. We had to back up a steep hill and negotiate a sharp curve. The narrow site only made things worse. We have a 18' popup camper with a slide out. With the slide out open and the awning up, we took up the entire width of the campsite. We had just enough room in front to park our car, and just enough room in back for a 10x10 sunshade to sit under. I am still in the site and my neighbor's fire is right outside my window. Speaking of my neighbor, I feel lucky compared to him. He only as enough level space to park the camper on. His picnic table is on a slope. The other problem that I have with this campground are the prices. Prices in the camp store are comparable to an expensive convenience store - $2.50 for a 4 oz tub of whipped cream cheese, and $7.00 for a small bundle of firewood (they won't let you bring in your own). My kids went to get ice cream cones. For $1.25, they give you one scoop of ice cream, which they painstakingly level off so you get precisely a level scoop (which is a quarter cup of ice cream). They are having a BBQ dinner tonight. For $15.00, you can get a half a chicken and some vegetables. Bottom line -- if we just wanted a place to use as home base so we could travel to local attractions, this would be fine. But if we want to go to "camping" -- i.e., spend all our time in the campground enjoying nature, peace & quiet, privacy, etc, this would not be the place to go. Unfortunately, we were here for peace & quiet & privacy, so the only thing that we're happy about is that we're only staying for the weekend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$51
Very nice cg, Very clean, helpful staff. Restrooms/showers were up to date and VERY clean. Nice store, one small playground for the kids, peaceful. 40 minutes to Lancaster, 15 minutes to Long Wood Gardens, 50 minutes to Wachovia arena where we saw a Allen Jackson Concert. Sites were good, one set of leveling blocks under one side of the TT to get it level. Next time we come to this area we will stay here again. One not tho, The last mile of road leading to the cg is pretty tight so go slow. We have a 32' TT some of the turns on the road were tight, after your into the cg the roads are gravel and not to bad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
Reading some of the prior posting, I do agree with the tight roads leading into the campground. I think we were given one of the worst sites they had, as it was too small for a 38’ 5th wheel. I was told their staff would guide us into the site and I repeatedly asked if I should slide my 5th wheel hitch back to allow for tighter maneuvering and I was told it wasn’t that tight and I didn’t need to do that. In my second attempt to back the 5th wheel in, I asked the campground staff member if my blind side was clear and he told me it was. Well, I nearly tore off my rear stabilizer jack that was on my blind side. If my wife wouldn’t have walked up I would have completely tore it off. He apologized and told me to bend it back. I have tried numerous times to talk with the campground owner, but he would not see me while we were there and will not take my calls either. With my “wife’s” help, we finally got the 5th wheel in, but could not use the picnic table and my slides all on the site, as it was too small. They were full and did not have any other sites available during the time period we were there. If we would have had a different site, and their employee would not have knowingly allowed me to back into debris, I would have rated this campground higher. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$52
We camped here in a 38' motorhome towing a Jeep, and the last 4 miles were white knuckled ones for the navigator due to sharp turns, small bridges and some low hanging tree branches. The campground itself is very scenic and the owners were very friendly and helpful. We were in a pull through, but there were nicely shaded back in spots that would be great in summer. The pool has been redone and there is a new common building with lots of weekend events including a pancake breakfast. The campground is on a hillside and the Brandywine River runs below the powered campsites and there are tent camping sites along the river. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$47
This is a nice quiet park. The sites are nicely spaced and the grass is green. The roads and parking pads are gravel. The county roads to the park are quite narrow in spots so be on the alert. The staff was very friendly. We would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$45
Nice, green campground, the drive to the campground was beautiful. Fireflies are visible at night and the only sound you hear are the beetles and grasshoppers around your site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$44
Very nice place. Well maintained, beautiful pool. Hilly, countryside setting but level sites. Narrow, winding road to get to this place, but we had no trouble in our 37'MH with toad. Liked this place so much we extended our stay a couple of days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
Very nice campground. The staff is pleasant, the facilities are clean and the pool is large enough to accommodate everyone who showed up. The staff ran activities for the kids, gave great directions to all the local tourist sites and even helped us find our campsite and back in. The campground is bordered by a river and the campground offers canoes for rent for a very reasonable $7.00/hour! The only draw-backs to this campground are the road in--long and narrow--and the bathroom facilities which seemed small for the size of the campground and were up a steep hill. I'd recommend this campground to anyone who wants to camp in the Philadelphia area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$55
Helpful staff. Nice pool area. Close to the river, fishing, and other activities available. Some sites are hilly. Good cable and WiFi connections. Quite a distance from the highway. Some narrow roads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$47
Nice park if you have places to go during the day, no activity for kids, outside of swimming pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$45
The area does boast low bridges and tight one-lane bridges so watch road signs carefully. The campground itself is perched on a hill and the gravel road up to our site did make us nervous. The wi-fi was hit and miss. We had no water for a portion of the time, but it was corrected. The laundry and bathrooms were clean and well kept. The river was gorgeous and we had deer in the adjoining field in the morning. We camped here with small children. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2006
$50
Directions to the campground involved crossing a 'barely double' lane bridge. RV need to cross this bridge by straddling the centerline. As cars approached from the other direction they failed to stop, nor did they back up (yield signs were hidden from view). Attempting to navigate the sharp right turn resulted in side-swiping the bridge causing extensive damage to 2 compartments. At the site there were 2 other motorhomes who also hit the bridge. When I got to my site, it wasn't level and Wi-Fi connectivity worked with a good rating but could not download any HTML pages. The office couldn't fix the problem and suggested I walk down to the laundry room. This is not site-Wi-Fi. My guess is that the service is inadequate for the number of users. (We were camped next to the Wi-Fi antenna). The office also needs to be trained when dealing with issues. They can't seem to correct any problems themselves and don't know how to get help. The campground is too expensive for the services they offer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$38
Every June we come back here for a family reunion. All of us stay in the lower area near the creek. A lot of us come from out of state and probably should buy a fishing licence, but I'm not sure anyone has. The road to get to the campground does get my heart pumping when we get near because of a few narrow turns but haven't seen or heard about anyone have any misshaps. The only problem we have is the lower area has only 20 amp service, so our air conditioning won't work. but its well shaded haven't really needed it yet. I also did a nearby search on the internet and found a man that delivered to my site a quarter cord of wood at a reasonable price. Looking forward to camping here again next year. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$43
Nicest, cleanest bathrooms I've ever seen. Great hosts. Nice pool, all facilities nice. Wifi worked, but very slow. Heavy rains flooded river sites, but we were up on the hill. Store well stocked. Out in country, away from town. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$39
Just an update for May 2006. Agree with all positive comments previously posted and would add that the route in is quite easy for a class B. The WIFI is marginal because theres a hill between the antenna and most sites, but thats OK; we dont have a dog and I dont mind taking the laptop for a walk. Works fine in the parking lot. Staff was super helpful gave us directions to the nearest (15 mins) train station for the 1-1/2 hr train trip into Philadelphia and even had a train schedule! A real treat to sample the city without worrying about the traffic & parking. Very highly recommended to all and well return next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$45
Very nice campground in which we really enjoyed our stay and plan to stay again. It was quiet, clean, and well-maintained. The bathrooms which are cleaned thoroughly daily were spotless. The campground is very out of the way, several miles from "civilization". Getting there is a nerve-wracking drive across winding, narrow, hilly country roads and single lane bridges. The entire campground is laid out on rolling hills. Don't even consider the lower area down by the river in a large vehicle. It's primarily a tent area, although we saw one pop up. Bring lots of bug spray - the mosquitos were bad. They had a lifeguarded pool and a nice little camp store. The people who worked there were extremely friendly and helpful. One night while we were there was pizza night and a live Bluegrass band which we really enjoyed. The sites are tight. We were in site 64 in the woods and it was so narrow that our slide out touched a tree and we couldn't put up the canopy due to trees in the way. The site was relatively level. Some leveling blocks did the trick. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$38
A great campground with a very friendly staff. As one rater did say it's a bit hilly getting there (and some tight turns on a narrow road) but it was not too bad. We really enjoyed the campground. It too is hilly, but the sites for the most part are level. It is clean and well kept and was very quite when we were there even though most sites were occupied. We will return as there is a lot to do in the vacinity of this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2005
$38
This place is not at all near any major interstate. It is a nice place, very hilly getting to the CG and hilly inside CG. The road getting there is a white knuckle drive in class A 39ft. If in that area would stay again but not if traveling near there. I said yes to big rig but it is tight!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2004
$35
We had to travel to this area to meet with friends for a few days and selected this campground at random. We were very pleased. The facility is well maintained, quiet and kept clean. The sfaff very friendly and helpful. If on vacation this is a good central location to hit a lot of good places from Lancaster to Philadelphia. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2004
$38
We camp with a group at this KOA each year. It is a small, nice, clean campground. Very hilly. Previous reviews did not mention the lower section of the campground along the river. Riverfront sites best for tents. Must be able to get unit back up steep hill from river front sites. Our favorite part is the pool, and renting the canoes. This may be the closest campground to Philadelphia, but it's still quite a drive. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$30
Although some sites were nested on a hill, the individual sites were level. Staff was friendly and extremely helpful especially when our travel companions needed to find an RV repair facility. Very accommodating to us with several dogs as we were in PA for an agility trial. Bathrooms were very nice and clean. Laundry facilities, modem hookup in the laundry room. A lot of amenities for kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com